Interpretation Bulletin - Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Business

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version   (21 Kb, 4 pages)

 




Introduction:

The Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Business (PSAB) is a program designed to increase Aboriginal business participation in supplying government procurement requirements through a program of mandatory and selective set-asides and supplier development activities leading to increased representation of Aboriginal business in contract awards by individual departments and agencies.

Interpretation of Aboriginal Content Requirement

In regards to the issue at question, CPN 1996-2 specifically notes:

"Required Aboriginal Content means at least 33 percent of the total value of the work to be performed under a contract is performed by an Aboriginal business contractor or by a combination of that contractor and other Aboriginal businesses".

The interpretation of this section is that, in instances where one or more Aboriginal businesses (as defined under the rules of PSAB) are involved in a contract with one or more non-Aboriginal businesses, or individual contractors, 33% of the total monetary value of the work contracted for must be performed by the Aboriginal business or businesses. For instance, where contracts have been let under PSAB to an Aboriginal business or businesses and the business or businesses are either involved in partnerships, joint ventures, or subcontracting relationships with non-Aboriginal entities, no more than 2/3 of the total monetary value of the work contracted can be done by the non-Aboriginal firms or contractors.

Rationale for Interpretation:

The Federal Government Procurement Community as well as the Aboriginal Business Community shared concerns about the clarity of the policy on the application of "Required Aboriginal Content".

Following consultation sessions with the business community and government officials, the Department of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC), who administers the Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Business, requested, from the Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS), a clarification in regards to the interpretation of "Required Aboriginal Content" as it appears in the Contracting Policy via Contracting Policy Notice (CPN) 1996-2.

Confusion regarding this section of CPN 1996-2 appears to stem from different understandings of specific language found in this section.

To clarify:

  • In this section, the term "Aboriginal business contractor' refers to an Aboriginal business (as defined under the rules of PSAB) with which the Government has contracted.
  • In this section the term "value of the work" refers to the monetary compensation assigned to contracted deliverables.

Additional confusion around this and other Contracting Policy Notices regarding PSAB may also stem from the two distinctive instances in which a requirement involving "33%" is noted. Under the Policy, an Aboriginal contractor must certify that it meets certain criteria to qualify as an Aboriginal business.

According to CPN 1996-2 an Aboriginal Business is defined as:

  1. sole proprietorship, limited company, cooperative, partnership, or not-for-profit organization

    • in which Aboriginal persons have majority ownership and control meaning at least 51 percent, and
    • in which, in the case of a business enterprise with six or more fulltime employees, at least 33 percent of the fulltime employees are Aboriginal persons,

    or
     
  2. a joint venture or consortium in which an Aboriginal business or Aboriginal businesses as defined in (a) have at least 51 percent ownership and control, and
     
  3. which certifies in bid documentation that it meets the above eligibility criteria, agrees to comply with required Aboriginal content in the performance of the contract, and agrees to furnish required proof and comply with eligibility auditing provisions.

The criteria that entities must meet to be considered an Aboriginal business and the Aboriginal content requirement should not be confused. Under the rules governing Aboriginal businesses, businesses with 6 or more employees must maintain an Aboriginal employment rate of 33%. This is not the Aboriginal content requirement. The Aboriginal content requirement states that in instances where several businesses (both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal) are working together on a single contract issued under the PSAB, 33% of the value of the work must be completed by one or more Aboriginal businesses.

The Aboriginal content requirement should not be interpreted to apply to the "status" of the employees of an Aboriginal business working on a contract. This requirement applies only in instances in which multiple businesses or contractors, Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal, are involved in a contract via partnerships, joint ventures, or subcontracting relationships.

It may be of value to suggest the use of 1/3 to describe the requirement for Aboriginal employment when a business' employees exceed 6, and 33% to describe the requirement of Aboriginal firms to do that percentage of the value of the work in a contract - relevant in situations involving partnerships, joint ventures, and subcontracting.

CPN 1996-2 could have been interpreted to mean that 33% of the people doing the actual work must be Aboriginal people. As noted above this is not TBS's interpretation.

Considerations:

To calculate the 33% of the total monetary value of the work contracted to be done by the Aboriginal firm or firms, managerial and administrative costs incurred by the Aboriginal firm or firms is included.

Examples: (could include but not limited to)

  • Contract management
  • Recruiting (resources needed for the actual contract)
  • Resources pay (resources working on the actual contract)
  • Administrative work (related to the actual contract)

Examples of the partnership (one Aboriginal Prime and Subcontractor) structure:

(If the contract valued at $100,000 requiring 10 resources)

Partnership (one Aboriginal Prime and Subcontractor)

$33,333.33 worth of work has to be done by the Aboriginal business or businesses, which means in this instance The firm's employees are part of the Aboriginal firm even the non Aboriginal one - if the firm and its employees can not meet the 33% content, they can rely of the Aboriginal subcontractor - the 7 non Aboriginal subcontractor can not do more than 2/3 or the value of the work.

But if the contract requires only 2 resources - the 2 resources do not have to be Aboriginal if the Aboriginal firm can show that they are doing work related to this contract that is valued at $33,333.33

Example of a Joint Venture (one Aboriginal company with a non-Aboriginal firm) structure:

Joint Venture (One Aboriginal company with a non-Aboriginal firm)

JV "AN" as a new entity owned and controlled by "A" an Aboriginal firm hold the contract and can subcontract as long as 33% of the value of the work is done by JV "AN" in combination with a number of Aboriginal subcontractors.

But for the majority of Joint Venture that we see, no new entity is created and the two firm "A" and "N" work together and put their resources together.

Joint Venture

In this case, the Aboriginal firm "A", holding the contract, has to show that they are doing work related to this contract for a value of 33% - They can use non Aboriginal resources from the non Aboriginal firm "N" as long as these resources do not do more than 2/3 of the value of the work.

What program does this apply to:

The Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Business - Required Aboriginal Content on Service contracts

Bulletin d'interprétation - Stratégie d'approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones

Format PDF   (31 Ko, 6 pages)

 




Introduction

Le Stratégie d'approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones (SAEA) est un programme conçu pour accroître la participation des entreprises autochtones à son processus d'approvisionnement. Ce programme prévoit des mesures obligatoires et sélectives de commandes réservées, des activités de promotion des fournisseurs et l'attribution d'une plus grande part des marchés aux entreprises autochtones par chacun des ministères et organismes fédéraux.

Teneur autochtone exigée : interprétation

À l'égard de cette question, l'avis sur la Politique des marchés 1996-2 stipule ce qui suit :

« Teneur autochtone exigée signifie qu'au moins 33 p. 100 de la valeur globale des travaux à exécuter en vertu d'un marché ira à un entrepreneur autochtone ou à un entrepreneur autochtone associé à d'autres entreprises autochtones. »

L'interprétation à donner à cette section est la suivante : dans les cas où une ou plusieurs entreprises autochtones (définies dans les règles du SAEA) sont parties à un marché en association avec une ou plusieurs entreprises non autochtones, ou entrepreneurs individuels non autochtones, 33 p. 100 de la valeur monétaire totale du travail à exécuter doit être accompli par la ou les entreprises autochtones. Par exemple, lorsque des marchés ont été attribués au titre du SAEA à une ou plusieurs entreprises autochtones qui sont parties à des partenariats, à des coentreprises ou à des relations de sous-traitance avec des entités non autochtones, pas plus de deux-tiers (2/3) de la valeur monétaire totale des travaux à exécuter peuvent être réalisés par les entreprises ou les entrepreneurs non autochtones.

Justification de cette interprétation

Les responsables de l'approvisionnement au gouvernement fédéral et les entreprises autochtones entretenaient des réserves au sujet de la clarté de la Politique pour ce qui était de l'application de la « teneur autochtone exigée ».

À la suite de séances de consultation auprès des entreprises et des responsables du gouvernement, Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC), qui administre la Stratégie d'approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones, a demandé au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) de clarifier l'interprétation de l'expression « teneur autochtone exigée » employée dans la Politique des marchés par le truchement de l'avis sur la Politique des marchés 1996-2.

Apparemment, la confusion entourant cette partie de l'avis 1996-2 viendrait des différents sens prêtés à certains termes qui s'y trouvent.

Plus précisément :

  • dans cette section, l'expression « entrepreneur autochtone » fait référence une entreprise autochtone (définie dans les r gles du SAEA) avec laquelle le gouvernement a passé un marché;
  • dans cette section, l'expression « valeur globale des travaux exécuter » fait référence l'indemnisation monétaire attribuée aux produits livrables prévus.

Il semble que les deux occurrences distinctes où on exige « 33 p. 100 » portent elles aussi à confusion dans le cas de cet avis et d'autres avis sur la Politique des marchés qui concernent le SAEA. Selon la Politique, un entrepreneur autochtone doit attester qu'il répond à certains critères afin d'être admissible à titre d'entreprise autochtone.

L'avis sur la Politique des marchés 1996-2 définit comme suit l'entreprise autochtone :

  1. une entreprise à propriétaire unique, une société à responsabilité limitée, une coopérative, une société en nom collectif ou une entité sans but lucratif :
    • dans laquelle des Autochtones détiennent le contrôle et une participation majoritaire, c'est- -dire au moins 51 p. 100 des actions, et
    • dans laquelle, s'il s'agit d'une entreprise commerciale de six employés temps plein ou plus, au moins 33 p. 100 des employés temps plein sont des Autochtones;
    ou

  2. une coentreprise ou un consortium dans lequel une ou plusieurs entreprises autochtones définies au paragraphe a) ci-dessus détiennent le contrôle et au moins 51 p. 100 des actions;

    et

  3. qui, dans les documents de soumission, atteste répondre aux critères d'admissibilité ci-dessus, consent à respecter les critères relatifs à la teneur autochtone dans l'exécution du marché et qui accepte de fournir les preuves requises et de se conformer aux dispositions sur la vérification d'admissibilité.

Il ne faudrait pas confondre les critères auxquels doivent répondre les entités pour être considérées des entreprises autochtones et l'exigence relative à la teneur autochtone. Les règles régissant les entreprises autochtones stipulent que les entreprises ayant six employés ou plus doivent maintenir un taux d'emploi autochtone de 33 p. 100. Il ne s'agit pas ici de la teneur autochtone exigée. Cette dernière stipule que lorsque plusieurs entreprises (tant autochtones que non autochtones) travaillent ensemble dans le cadre d'un seul et même marché attribué au titre du SAEA, 33 p. 100 de la valeur du travail doit être exécuté par une ou plusieurs entreprises autochtones.

La teneur autochtone exigée ne doit pas être interprétée comme s'appliquant au « statut » des employés d'une entreprise autochtone partie à un marché. Cette exigence s'applique seulement dans les cas où de multiples entreprises ou entrepreneurs, autochtones et non autochtones, sont parties à un marché au moyen de partenariats, de coentreprises ou de relations de sous-traitance.

Il serait peut-être valable de proposer l'emploi d'un-tiers (1/3) pour décrire l'exigence applicable à l'embauche d'Autochtones lorsque le nombre d'employés d'une entreprise dépasse six, et de 33 p. 100 pour décrire l'exigence selon laquelle les entreprises autochtones doivent exécuter ce pourcentage de la valeur du travail dans le cadre d'un marché - pertinent dans les situations de partenariat, de coentreprises et de sous-traitance.

On aurait pu interpréter l'avis 1996-2 comme voulant dire que 33 p. 100 des personnes qui exécutent le travail proprement dit doivent être autochtones. Tel que nous l'avons indiqué plus haut, il ne s'agit pas de l'interprétation du SCT.

Considérations

Les coûts de gestion et d'administration engagés par la ou les entreprises autochtones sont compris dans le calcul du pourcentage (33 p. 100) de la valeur monétaire totale du travail à exécuter par la ou les entreprises autochtones.

Exemples : (entre autres coûts possibles)

  • Gestion du marché
  • Recrutement (les ressources requises pour exécuter le marché en question)
  • Paye des ressources (les ressources qui exécutent le marché en question)
  • Tâches administratives (liées au marché en question)

Exemple de structure de partenariat (un entrepreneur principal autochtone et un sous-traitant) :

(Pour un marché ayant une valeur de 100 000 $ et nécessitant 10 ressources.)

structure de partenariat (un entrepreneur principal autochtone et un sous-traitant)

La partie du travail équivalant à 33 333,33 $ doit être accomplie par la ou les entreprises autochtones; ce qui veut dire, dans le cas présent, que les employés de l'entreprise font partie de l'entreprise autochtone, même les employés non autochtones. Si l'entreprise et ses employés ne peuvent pas satisfaire au critère de 33 p. 100 applicable à la teneur, ils peuvent tenir compte du sous-traitant autochtone. Les sept sous-traitants non autochtones ne peuvent pas exécuter plus que deux-tiers (2/3) de la valeur du travail.

Cependant, si le marché requiert seulement deux ressources, ces deux ressources n'ont pas besoin d'être autochtones si l'entreprise autochtone peut prouver qu'elles exécutent du travail lié au marché et ayant une valeur de 33 333,33 $.

Exemple d'une structure de coentreprise (une entreprise autochtone et une entreprise non autochtone) :

structure de coentreprise (une entreprise autochtone et une
entreprise non autochtone)

La coentreprise « AN », à titre de nouvelle entité appartenant à « A » (une entreprise autochtone) et contrôlée par elle, est titulaire du marché et peut attribuer du travail en sous-traitance pourvu que 33 p. 100 de la valeur du travail soit exécuté par la coentreprise « AN » en combinaison avec des sous-traitants autochtones.

La majorité des coentreprises que nous voyons, toutefois, ne créent pas de nouvelle entité : les deux entreprises, « A » et « N », travaillent ensemble et fusionnent leurs ressources.

structure de coentreprise

Dans ce cas, l'entreprise autochtone « A », titulaire du marché, doit prouver qu'elle exécute du travail lié à ce marché et ayant une valeur de 33 p. 100. Elle peut se servir des ressources non autochtones de l'entreprise non autochtone « N », pourvu que ces ressources n'exécutent pas plus de deux-tiers (2/3) de la valeur du travail.

À quel programme cette directive s'applique-t-elle?

À la Stratégie d'approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones - Teneur autochtone exigée dans le cas des marchés de services.