Matrimonial Real Property on Reserves

Find out what rights and protections are available after the end of a marriage, common-law relationship or death of a spouse or common-law partner.

On this page

About the Family Homes on-reserves and Matrimonial Interests or Rights Act

Real property is property that cannot be physically moved, like land or a family home. Matrimonial real property refers to real property that is shared by two people during a marriage or common-law relationship. When a marriage or common-law relationship ends, such as in divorce or the death of a spouse or common-law partner, there are often many aspects which require sorting out including the division of real property.

Off-reserve, the division of matrimonial real property is generally governed by the laws of the province or the territory. However, the Supreme Court of Canada decision Derrickson v. Derrickson ruled that because reserve lands fall under federal jurisdiction, certain provincial and territorial laws could not be applied to matrimonial real property on-reserve. The Family Homes on-reserves and Matrimonial Interests or Rights Act (the Act) was created to fill the gap. The Act provides provisional federal rules for First Nations that have not established their own specific laws about matrimonial real property. The Act was developed after a long consultation process between the Government of Canada, the provinces and territories, and National Indigenous Organizations, involving over 100 sessions were held across Canada. The act provides a mechanism for First Nations to create their own laws about matrimonial real property, and provides a set of provisional federal laws to be used until a First Nation establishes its own law.

As of March 2018, 13 First Nations have created their own laws under this Act; and another 37 have created their own matrimonial real property rules as a component of their Land Code laws under the First Nations Land Management Act. Most other First Nations operate under the provisional federal rules. A First Nation that has not yet enacted its own matrimonial real property laws may choose to do so at any time.

Unless or until, a First Nations community chooses to enact their own matrimonial real property laws, there are provisional federal rules in place to provide matrimonial real property rights and protections for spouses and common-law partners living on-reserve. Most First Nations operate under the provisional federal rules.

To find out more, consult the desk book.

Who is affected?

The Act applies to married couples or common-law partners living on-reserve, where at least one partner is a First Nation member or Status Indian. The Indian Act defines a common-law relationship as two people in a conjugal relationship who have been living together for a year or more.

First Nations with self-government agreements covering land management are not included within the scope of the Act, as the self-government agreement already determines which matrimonial real property matters are governed by the province, territory, or First Nation. However, self-governing First Nations with reserve lands may ask the Minister to make a declaration that the provisional federal rules apply to them.

The provisional federal rules also apply to any self-governing First Nation:

The Act establishes that the provisional federal rules do not apply to situations in which the relationship breakdown or death occurred before the provisional federal rules began to apply in the relevant First Nation community.

First Nations that were on the schedule to the First Nations Land Management Act prior to June 19, 2013, and had not brought their land code into force by December 16, 2014 had until June 19, 2016 to bring into force their own matrimonial rights laws, otherwise the provisional federal rules began to apply to them at that time.

Consult a complete list of First Nations with their own matrimonial rights or interest laws.

Enacting First Nations laws

The Act describes how First Nations can put in place their own matrimonial real property law. The law enacted by First Nations is subject to a community approval process. Neither Ministers nor any Government Department review, alter or approve a First Nation’s matrimonial real property law. To enact a matrimonial real property law, a First Nation must:

  1. notify the attorney general in its province of its intent to enact its own law
  2. inform eligible voters both on and off-reserve of the details of the proposed law, and their right to vote on the proposed law
  3. publish a notice of the date, time and place of the community ratification vote
  4. submit the laws for community approval. The law is considered ratified with a single majority vote with a voter turnout of at least 25% of eligible voters
  5. once the law is approved by the community, the council must notify the Minister in writing of the result of the vote
  6. send a copy of the approved laws to the Minister, the Centre of Excellence for Matrimonial Real Property, and the attorney general of any province where a reserve of the First Nation is situated

If a First Nation member believes the new law does not meet the requirements of the Act, violates the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, or otherwise is legally invalid, they can advocate for an amendment to the law, and if necessary challenge it in the courts.

Provisional federal rules

When a First Nation has not enacted its own matrimonial real property laws, the provisional federal rules are in place. They ensure that:

The provisional federal rules also provide protection to surviving spouses or common-law partners in the event of a death:

Generally speaking, remedies under the provisional federal rules are accessible through provincial and territorial superior courts when couples cannot solve a dispute out of court. This is the same as the process for individuals living off-reserve.

Under the provisional federal rules, the value of rights or interests is based on what a buyer would reasonably be expected to pay a seller for comparable interests or rights. This estimate also takes into account any related liabilities and outstanding debts.

The provisional federal rules are based on the types of rights and protections contained in provincial and territorial family laws. However, for a variety of reasons including the unique nature of land and housing on-reserves, the provisional federal rules differ from the provincial and territorial laws in some respects.

Common questions

Non-Indian and non-member spouses

The provisional federal rules do not allow non-Indians or non-members to permanently gain possession of reserve lands. Non-member spouses or partners are entitled to a portion of the monetary value of matrimonial structures such as houses on-reserve lands, but not the value of the land itself. If a non-member spouse has directly paid to improve matrimonial real property, a court can order that they are compensated.

Courts cannot force the sale of a home on-reserve land

Non-members cannot make money from the value of reserve land. Non-members cannot sell the land or the family home or benefit from the increased value of the land.

Custom allotments

Many First Nations do not subscribe to the provisions of the Indian Act or other applicable legislation such as the First Nations Land Management Act in allotting land to individuals. They prefer to allow the use of lands to particular families or individuals through a custom or traditional holding referred to as custom allotments.

Several provisional federal rules, such as exclusive occupation orders, may affect "family homes" located on a custom allotment.

Rules dealing with the division of value of matrimonial interests or rights do not automatically apply to the value of custom allotments, but there are ways under the Act for these rules to be applied through First Nations recognition or by order of the court.

Emergency protection orders

In cases of family violence, a spouse or common-law partner can apply for an emergency protection order to gain sole occupancy of the family home. If necessary, a peace officer can remove the other spouse, or prohibit them from returning home unescorted for the length of the emergency protection order. Courts may also provide sole occupancy of the family home to one spouse or common-law partner.

In remote areas, you may be able to apply for an emergency protection order by telephone, email or fax. If you cannot apply in person, someone may apply on your behalf to ensure the immediate protection of the person or property at risk.

Emergency protection orders are currently only available in New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia. Until other provinces and territories designate judges for the purposes of hearing emergency protection orders, they will remain unavailable.

Centre of Excellence for Matrimonial Real Property

The Centre of Excellence for Matrimonial Real Property is hosted by the National Aboriginal Land Managers Association. The Centre’s main responsibilities are to:

The Centre of Excellence has been operating since November 20, 2013.

The Centre of Excellence, Indigenous Services Canada and Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs do not provide legal advice. The Centre of Excellence may be able to direct you to further resources. You may also be eligible for legal aid in your province or territory.

Visit the Centre of Excellence website to find out more.

Training and education

Training and education is provided for key officials applying or enforcing the Act, including police officers on-reserve.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police

As of December 2014, the Matrimonial Real Property Online Resource Guide became available nationally to all Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) officers. The online resource guide is available on the Canadian Police Knowledge Network, and is available to all police agencies that provide front line policing in on-reserve communities across Canada.

Public Safety Canada

Public Safety Canada had a contribution agreement with the First Nations Chiefs of Police Association to create matrimonial real property training and resources for police officers on-reserve, who are not RCMP officers. The course was designed to provide an introduction to MRP issues, the Act and policing in First Nations communities. The course is available on the Canadian Police Knowledge Network.

First Nations Chief of Police

The First Nations Chiefs of Police have a contribution agreement in place to extend the work they have done in the past for Public Safety through the Centre of Excellence for Matrimonial Real Property. They will be focused on adding scenario based training to what they previously developed and will be hosting MRP workshops aimed at First Nations police services who have registered for and/or have completed the online training.

Contact us

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Community Lands Development Directorate
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
17th floor
10 Wellington Street
Gatineau, QC K1A 0H4
Tel.: (toll-free) 1-800-567-9604
E-mail: mrp-bim@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves

Informez-vous des droits et protections qui existent en cas de rupture d’un mariage ou d’une union de fait, ou en cas de décès d’un conjoint ou d’un conjoint de fait.

Sur cette page

Au sujet de la loi

Les biens immobiliers sont des biens qui ne peuvent pas être déplacés, comme des terres ou le foyer familial. Les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux désignent les biens immobiliers partagés par deux personnes pendant un mariage ou d’une union de fait. À la dissolution du mariage ou de l’union de fait, par exemple, en cas de divorce ou de décès d’un époux ou conjoint de fait, il faut redistribuer les biens immobiliers.

À l’extérieur des réserves, la redistribution des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux est régie par la province ou le territoire. Toutefois, la Cour suprême du Canada a statué, dans l’arrêt Derrickson c. Derrickson, que les lois provinciales et territoriales ne s’appliquent pas aux biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves, car les terres de réserve sont de compétence fédérale. La Loi sur les foyers familiaux situés dans les réserves et les droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux, créée pour remédier à cette lacune, prescrit des règles fédérales provisoires pour les Premières Nations qui n’ont pas adopté leurs propres lois concernant les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux. La loi a été rédigée après une longue série de consultations comptant plus de 100 séances dans tout le Canada entre le gouvernement du Canada, les provinces et territoires, et les organisations autochtones nationales. La loi offre aux Premières Nations un moyen de rédiger leurs propres textes de loi sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux et contient une série de règles fédérales provisoires à utiliser jusqu’à ce qu’une Première Nation adopte sa propre loi.

En date de mars 2018, 13 Premières Nations ont rédigé leurs propres lois en vertu de la loi, 37 autres ont intégré la question des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux à leur code foncier au titre de la Loi sur la gestion des terres des premières nations. La plupart des Premières Nations fonctionnent sous le régime des règles fédérales provisoires.

Une Première Nation qui n’a pas encore adopté ses propres lois sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux peut choisir de le faire à tout moment.

À moins qu’une communauté des Premières Nations choisisse de promulguer ses propres lois sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux, des règles fédérales provisoires sont en place pour assurer les droits et les protections en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux pour les conjoints et les conjoints de fait vivant dans des réserves. La plupart des Premières Nations sont assujetties aux règles fédérales provisoires.

Pour en savoir davantage, consultez le manuel.

Personnes touchées

Les couples mariés ou les conjoints de fait vivant dans une réserve, dont au moins un des deux partenaires est membre d’une Première Nation ou est un Indien inscrit. La Loi sur les Indiens définit l’union de fait comme deux personnes engagées dans une relation conjugale et qui vivent ensemble depuis au moins un an.

La loi ne touche pas les Premières Nations qui ont une entente d’autonomie gouvernementale qui inclut la gestion foncière, puisque celle-ci précise déjà si les droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux sont régis par la province, le territoire ou la Première Nation. Cependant, les Premières Nations autonomes peuvent demander à la ministre de faire une déclaration indiquant que les règles fédérales provisoires s’appliquent à elles.

Les règles fédérales provisoires s’appliquent aussi à toute Première Nation autonome :

La Loi prévoit que les règles fédérales provisoires ne s’appliquent pas aux cas où la rupture de la relation ou le décès survient avant le début de l’application des règles fédérales provisoires dans la collectivité de la Première Nation en cause.

Les Premières Nations inscrites à l’annexe de la Loi sur la gestion des terres des premières nations avant le 19 juin 2013 et qui n’avaient pas mis en vigueur leur code foncier au plus tard le 16 décembre 2014 avaient jusqu’au 19 juin 2016 pour adopter leurs propres lois sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux avant l’entrée en vigueur des règles fédérales provisoires.

Consultez la liste des Premières Nations qui ont adopté une loi sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux en vertu de la loi.

Adoption de lois par les Premières Nations

La loi explique comment les Premières Nations peuvent créer leur propre loi sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux, cette dernière loi étant assujettie à un vote de ratification communautaire. Ni la ministre ni aucun ministère gouvernemental n’examine, ne modifie ou n’approuve une loi d’une Première Nation sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux. Pour adopter une telle loi, toute Première Nation doit :

  1. informer le procureur général de sa province de son intention d’adopter sa propre loi;
  2. informer les électeurs admissibles, tant dans la réserve qu’à l’extérieur, des détails de la loi proposée et de leur droit de voter la loi proposée;
  3. publier un avis de la date, l’heure et le lieu du vote de ratification communautaire;
  4. soumettre la loi à l’approbation de la collectivité. Une loi est considérée ratifiée si elle est votée à la majorité simple, avec un taux de participation d’au moins 25 % des électeurs admissibles;
  5. après que la collectivité a approuvé la loi, le conseil doit communiquer par écrit à la ministre le résultat du vote;
  6. envoyer un exemplaire des lois approuvées à la ministre, au Centre d’excellence en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux et au procureur général de toute province où est située une réserve de la Première Nation.

Si un membre d’une Première Nation estime que la nouvelle loi ne répond pas aux critères de la loi, contrevient à la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, ou est de quelque façon juridiquement invalide, il peut militer pour une modification de la loi, et au besoin la contester devant les tribunaux.

Règles fédérales provisoires

Les règles fédérales provisoires sont en place lorsqu’une Première Nation n’a pas adopté ses propres lois sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux. Elles garantissent que :

En cas de décès, les règles fédérales provisoires protègent aussi les époux ou conjoints de fait survivants :

Un couple qui ne parvient pas à un règlement extrajudiciaire peut recourir aux règles fédérales provisoires par voie des cours supérieures provinciales et territoriales. Cette façon de faire est la même que pour les personnes qui vivent à l’extérieur des réserves.

Les règles fédérales provisoires prescrivent que la valeur des droits ou intérêts se fondent sur ce qu’un acheteur peut être raisonnablement tenu de verser au vendeur pour un intérêt ou droit comparable. Cette estimation tient compte aussi de tout passif connexe et des dettes non réglées.

Les règles fédérales provisoires reposent sur des éléments communs du droit des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux fixés par les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux. Mais en raison de la nature collective particulière des terres et du logement dans les réserves, les règles provinciales diffèrent sous certains aspects des lois provinciales et territoriales.

Questions fréquentes

Conjoints non indiens et non membres

Les règles fédérales provisoires ne permettent pas aux non-Indiens ou non-membres d’acquérir des terres de réserve en permanence. Les époux ou conjoints non membres ont droit à une portion de la valeur monétaire de structures matrimoniales comme les maisons dans les terres de réserve, mais non à la valeur de la terre elle-même. Le tribunal peut ordonner l’indemnisation d’un conjoint non membre qui a payé directement des améliorations des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux.

Les tribunaux ne peuvent forcer la vente d’un foyer dans des terres de réserve

Un non-membre d’une Première Nation ne peut faire des gains monétaires à partir de la valeur de terres de réserve. Les non-membres ne peuvent pas vendre les terres ou le foyer familial, ou profiter de l’accroissement de la valeur d’une terre.

Attributions selon la coutume

De nombreuses Premières Nations ne souscrivent pas aux dispositions de la Loi sur les Indiens ou d’autres lois applicables, comme la Loi sur la gestion des terres des Premières Nations, en ce qui a trait à l’attribution des terres à des particuliers. Elles préfèrent autoriser l’utilisation des terres par des familles ou des particuliers par le truchement d’une propriété de droit coutumier ou traditionnelle appelée « attributions selon la coutume ».

Différentes règles fédérales provisoires, comme les ordonnances d’occupation exclusive, peuvent s’appliquer aux « foyers familiaux » situés dans un lieu attribué selon la coutume.

Les règles de division de la valeur des intérêts ou droits matrimoniaux ne s’appliquent pas automatiquement à la valeur des terres attribuées selon la coutume, mais elles peuvent être appliquées par les Premières Nations ou par les tribunaux conformément à la loi.

Ordonnances de protection d’urgence

Un époux ou conjoint de fait peut, en situation de violence familiale, faire une demande d’ordonnance de protection d’urgence afin d’obtenir l’occupation exclusive du foyer familial. Un agent de la paix peut au besoin contraindre l’autre conjoint à partir ou lui interdire de revenir au foyer sans escorte tant que l’ordonnance de protection d’urgence est en vigueur. Les tribunaux peuvent aussi accorder l’occupation exclusive du foyer familial à un époux ou conjoint de fait.

Dans les régions éloignées, la demande d’ordonnance de protection d’urgence peut être faite par téléphone, par courriel ou par télécopieur. Si vous ne pouvez pas faire une demande en personne, quelqu’un d’autre peut le faire en votre nom afin d’assurer la protection immédiate de la personne ou du bien à risque.

À l’heure actuelle, les ordonnances de protection d’urgence ne peuvent être obtenues qu’au Nouveau-Brunswick, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Centre d’excellence en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux

Le Centre d’excellence en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux, qui est hébergé par l’Association nationale des gestionnaires des terres autochtones, a pour principales responsabilités de :

Le centre d’excellence fonctionne depuis le 20 novembre 2013.

Le centre d’excellence, Services aux Autochtones Canada et Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada n’offrent pas de conseils juridiques. Il est possible que le centre d’excellence puisse vous orienter vers des ressources supplémentaires. Vous êtes peut-être aussi admissible à une aide juridique dans votre province ou territoire.

Consultez le site Web du centre d’excellence pour en savoir davantage.

Formation et éducation

De la formation est offerte aux principaux responsables de l’application ou de l’exécution des lois, y compris aux agents de police dans les réserves.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada

En décembre 2014, tous les agents de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) du pays avaient accès au Guide de ressources en ligne sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux. Le Guide de ressources en ligne est disponible sur le Réseau canadien du savoir policier, et tous les services de police qui offrent des services de première ligne dans les collectivités des Premières Nations vivant dans des réserves du Canada y ont accès.

Sécurité publique Canada

Sécurité publique Canada avait conclu un accord de contribution avec l’Association des chefs de police des Premières Nations en vue d’élaborer une formation et des ressources sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux à l’intention des policiers travaillant dans des réserves qui ne sont pas des agents de la GRC. La formation visait à initier ces policiers aux questions relatives aux biens immobiliers matrimoniaux, à la Loi et aux services de police dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. La formation est offerte sur le Réseau canadien du savoir policier.

Chefs de police des Premières Nations

Les chefs de police des Premières Nations ont conclu un accord de contribution pour élargir le travail qu’ils ont déjà accompli en matière de sécurité publique par le truchement du Centre d’excellence pour les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux. Ils ajouteront une formation fondée sur des scénarios à celle qu’ils ont déjà élaborée et organiseront des ateliers sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux à l’intention des services de police des Premières Nations qui se sont inscrits à la formation en ligne et/ou qui l’ont suivie.

Communiquer avec nous

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
Direction du Développement des terres communautaires
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
17e étage
10, rue Wellington
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H4
Téléphone : (sans frais) 1-800-567-9604
Courriel : mrp-bim@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date de modification :