First Nations Oil and Gas and Moneys Management Act (FNOGMMA)

Overview

The First Nations Oil and Gas and Moneys Management Act (FNOGMMA) is an optional legislation that allows a First Nation to opt out of the moneys management provisions of the Indian Act and provide for the release of capital and revenue moneys under the management and control of the First Nation.

Program Description

Implementation of the moneys management provisions of FNOGMMA falls under the Band Moneys Program within the Resolution and Individual Affairs Sector, which is responsible for ensuring that the legislative requirements of FNOGMMA are fulfilled prior to the release of capital and revenue moneys to First Nation management and control.

Summary

Any First Nation with capital and/or revenue moneys held in trust by Her Majesty for the use and benefit of the First Nation can opt for the moneys management provisions of FNOGMMA. Through FNOGMMA a First Nation will be required to develop a financial code specifying, but not limited to, the mode of holding moneys, the manner of expending moneys, accountability for the expenditure of those moneys, procedures for disclosing conflicts of interests in the expenditure of those moneys, and provisions for the amendment of the code by the First Nation.

Upon the First Nation completing its financial code, the First Nation and Minister enter into a payment agreement which will set out how capital and revenue moneys will be paid out to the First Nation. Once the payment agreement has been concluded between a First Nation and the Minister, the First Nation is to conduct a community vote to ratify its financial code and approve the payment of capital and revenue moneys to the First Nation.

Upon a successful community vote and the addition of the First Nation to the schedule of FNOGMMA, the First Nation's capital and revenue moneys will be transferred to the First Nation for its control and management. Future capital and revenue moneys collected or received by Her Majesty on behalf of the First Nation will also be transferred.

Client Group

First Nations with capital and/or revenue moneys held in trust by Her Majesty for the use and benefit of the First Nation.

Contact Information

For more information, contact INAC at 1-800-567-9604, TTY: (toll-free) 1-866-553-0554.

Additional Information

  • Fact Sheet
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Department of Justice – First Nations Oil and Gas and Moneys Management Act
  • Department of Justice – First Nations Oil and Gas and Moneys Management Voting Regulations
Date modified:

La Loi sur la gestion du pétrole et du gaz et des fonds des Premières nations (LGPGFPN)

Aperçu

La Loi sur la gestion du pétrole et du gaz et des fonds des Premières nations (LGPGFPN), dont l'application est facultative, permet aux Premières nations qui le désirent de se soustraire aux dispositions relatives à la gestion de l'argent dans le cadre de la Loi sur les Indiens et de prendre en charge et de gérer elles-mêmes leur capital et leur revenu.

Description du Programme

La mise en œuvre des dispositions relatives à la gestion des fonds en vertu de la LGPGFPN relève du Programme de gestion de l'argent des bandes, du Secteur de la résolution et des affaires individuelles (SRAI). Ce secteur est chargé de veiller au respect des exigences législatives de la LGPGFPN avant le transfert de la gestion et du contrôle du capital et du revenu aux Premières Nations.

Résumé

Une Première nation dont le capital ou le revenu est détenu en fiducie par Sa Majesté, à l'usage et au profit de cette Première nation, peut opter pour une gestion de ses fonds en vertu de la LGPGFNP. La Première nation devra alors établir un code financier précisant, sans toutefois s'y limiter : le mode de détention des fonds; les modalités de dépenses des fonds; la responsabilité relative aux dépenses; les modalités de divulgation des conflits d'intérêts; ainsi que les modalités entourant la modification du code par la Première nation.

Lorsque ce code financier est établi, la Première nation et le ministre concluent un accord de transfert qui précise la façon dont le capital et le revenu seront transférés à la Première nation. La Première nation doit ensuite tenir un vote au sein de la collectivité en vue de ratifier son code financier et de faire approuver le transfert du capital et du revenu à la Première nation.

Une fois que la collectivité a voté en faveur du transfert et que le nom de la  Première nation est inscrit à l'annexe de la LGPGFNP, le capital et le revenu sont pris en charge et gérés par la Première nation. Le capital et le revenu futurs perçus ou reçus par la suite par Sa Majesté au nom de la Première nation seront également transférés.

Groupe bénéficiaire

Les Premières nations dont le capital et le revenu sont détenus en fiducie par Sa Majesté à l'usage et au profit de la Première nation.

Information

Pour en savoir plus, communiquez avec AANC en appelant au numéro sans frais 1-800-567-9604. ATS (sans frais) : 1-866-553-0554.

Information supplémentaire

  • Fiche d'information
  • Foire aux questions
  • Ministère de la Justice – Loi sur la gestion du pétrole et du gaz et des fonds des Premières nations
  • Ministère de la Justice – Règlement sur la tenue des votes relatifs à la gestion du pétrole et du gaz et des fonds des Premières nations
Date de modification :