Federal Contracting in Comprehensive Land Claims Areas

Comprehensive claims are negotiated, tripartite agreements between Canada, an Aboriginal group and the relevant province or territory. Comprehensive land claims deal with the unfinished business of treaty making with Aboriginal peoples in Canada. These claims generally arise in areas of Canada where Aboriginal land rights have not been addressed by treaty or through other legal means.

Comprehensive land claims agreements, also known as modern treaties, define the ongoing legal, political and economic relationships between Aboriginal parties, the federal government and the provincial or territorial governments who are signatories to these agreements. To date, 24 comprehensive land claim agreements (CLCAs), covering roughly 50 percent of Canada's land mass, have been ratified and brought into effect since the announcement of the Government of Canada's claims policy in 1973.

Comprehensive land claim agreements often contain provisions for economic development that oblige Canada to conduct procurement, or the purchase of goods, services or construction, in such a way that is fair, transparent, and opens the bidding process to Aboriginal groups in comprehensive land claim agreement areas.

In June 2008, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) changed contracting reporting requirements in order to improve transparency and accountability relating to the Government of Canada's contracting activities in comprehensive land claim areas. This was expressed in TBS Contracting Policy Notice 2008-04. These guidelines require government departments and agencies to collect information about federal contracting activity in comprehensive land claim agreement areas and for this information to be compiled in quarterly and annual reports that are posted online.

These reports also fulfill a commitment made by the federal government, in response to the Auditor General's 2007 report concerning the Inuvialuit Final Agreement, to improve the reporting and monitoring of federal contracting activities in comprehensive land claim agreement areas. The reports are also in keeping with the Government of Canada's commitment to accountability and transparency to Canadians.

What information is available?

Quarterly Reports

In these reports, you will find up-to-date information about the contracting activity of federal departments and agencies in comprehensive land claim areas, along with a brief description of the contract, its value and the name of the contractor. You can access these reports and search them for specific information about federal contracting activity in land claim areas. Search the quarterly reports.

Annual Reports

Because the collection of information regarding federal contracting activity started in 2009, the first annual report was posted in October 2010.

To learn more about the new reports, please review the key definitions and frequently asked questions.

Related Publications

Marchés fédéraux dans les régions visées par des revendications territoriales globales

Les accords sur les revendications territoriales globales sont des ententes tripartites négociées entre le Canada, un groupe autochtone et la province ou le territoire concerné. Elles portent sur des affaires non réglées dans des traités canadiens. Ces négociations concernent généralement des régions du pays où les droits fonciers des Autochtones n'ont pas été déterminés par un traité ou par une autre mesure juridique.

Les accords sur les revendications territoriales globales, aussi connus sous le nom de traités modernes, définissent la relation juridique, politique et économique continue entre les parties autochtones, le gouvernement fédéral et les gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux qui sont signataires de ces accords. Jusqu'à maintenant, 24 accords sur des revendications territoriales globales, qui couvrent environ 50 % de la masse terrestre du Canada, ont été conclus et mis en vigueur depuis que le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé sa politique sur les revendications territoriales globales, en 1973.

Les accords sur les revendications territoriales globales renferment bien souvent des dispositions en matière de développement économique qui contraignent le Canada à mener des marchés – c'est-à-dire à se procurer des biens, des services ou des travaux de construction – d'une manière juste et transparente qui ouvre le processus de soumission aux groupes autochtones dans les régions visées par des accords sur les revendications territoriales globales.

En juin 2008, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada a modifié ses exigences de rapport concernant les marchés, dans le but de rehausser la transparence et la responsabilisation relatives aux activités de passation de marchés du gouvernement du Canada dans des régions visées par des accords sur les revendications territoriales globales. Ces changements ont été annoncés dans l'Avis sur la politique des marchés 2008-4. Les lignes directrices exigent que les ministères et les organismes gouvernementaux recueillent des données sur les activités fédérales de passation de marchés dans les régions visées par des accords sur des revendications territoriales globales et que ces renseignements soient compilés dans des rapports trimestriels et annuels publiés en ligne.

Ces rapports concordent aussi avec un engagement pris par le gouvernement fédéral en réponse au rapport publié en 2007 par la vérificatrice générale au sujet de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit. Cet engagement consistait à améliorer la reddition de comptes et le suivi des activités fédérales de passation de marchés dans des régions visées par des accords sur des revendications territoriales globales. De plus, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé envers les Canadiens à faire preuve de transparence et à rendre des comptes; les rapports respectent aussi cet engagement.

Quels sont les renseignements disponibles?

Rapports trimestriels

Dans ces rapports, vous trouverez des renseignements à jour sur les activités de passation de marchés menées par des ministères et des organismes fédéraux dans les régions visées par des revendications territoriales globales, ainsi qu'une courte description du marché, sa valeur et le nom du fournisseur. Vous pouvez accéder aux rapports et faire des recherches sur les marchés. Faire une recherche dans les rapports trimestriels.

Rapports annuels

Puisque la collecte de données sur les activités fédérales de passation de marchés a débuté en 2009, le premier rapport annuel a été affiché en octobre 2010.

Pour en savoir plus sur les nouveaux rapports, veuillez consulter les principales définitions et la foire aux questions.

Publications connexes

Date de modification :