Specific Claims:  Justice At Last

Specific Claims Action Plan 2007

Why we must act

Canada's Specific Claims Policy recognizes that the Crown has sometimes failed to uphold its lawful obligations under historic treaties or has mismanaged First Nation funds or other assets for which it is responsible under the Indian Act. The Policy also provides an avenue to resolve these historic grievances co-operatively through negotiation.

However, in recent years, First Nations have been frustrated with the specific claims process itself. It is slow, cumbersome and costly, creating new challenges for First Nations trying to resolve outstanding issues that have already languished long enough.

The number of unsettled claims in the federal system has doubled since 1993 and there is a growing backlog of claims awaiting attention or action. This is an unacceptable state of affairs for First Nation people and for all Canadians – a situation that delays economic and social progress in Canada, to the detriment of the country as a whole.

Decisive action

The Government of Canada is serious about living up to its lawful obligations. After years of debate and inaction, it is taking historic steps to retool the specific claims process in order to bring justice to First Nations and certainty to all Canadians.

The Specific Claims Action Plan proposes fundamental reforms to ensure:

  • impartiality and fairness
  • greater transparency
  • faster processing
  • better access to mediation

These very necessary and overdue changes will help restore confidence in the integrity and effectiveness of the process to resolve specific claims.

A New Approach

Canada will re-engineer the system and retool the specific claims process to bring it up to 21st century standards.

The new tools and structures respond to First Nations' concerns as well as the main recommendations in the 2006 Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples' Special Study of the Specific Claims Process. The reforms build on lessons learned from experience and are shaped by consultations with First Nations and other key stakeholders.

Specific Claims: Justice At Last will take action in four priority areas:

  • creation of an independent tribunal to bring greater fairness to the process
  • more transparent arrangements for financial compensation through dedicated funding for settlements
  • practical measures to ensure faster processing on smaller claims and more flexibility for extremely large claims
  • refocusing the work of the current Indian Specific Claims Commission (ISCC) to make better use of its dispute resolution services once the new tribunal is in place

With these improvements, the Specific Claims Action Plan will dramatically speed up the settlement of outstanding specific claims so First Nations and other Canadians can move on and move forward together.

Impartiality and fairness: An Independent Claims Tribunal

Canada will create an independent tribunal that can make binding decisions where claims are rejected for negotiation or when negotiations fail.

The independent tribunal will be made up of judges. These judges will have the necessary experience, capacity and credibility to examine historical facts and evidence. They will be able to address complex questions surrounding Canada's legal obligations and determine appropriate levels of compensation.

There are three scenarios in which a First Nation could file a claim with the tribunal:

  • when a claim is not accepted for negotiation by Canada;
  • where all parties agree that a claim that has already been accepted should be referred for a binding decision; or,
  • after three years of unsuccessful negotiations.

In the first scenario, the tribunal would determine whether Canada has an outstanding lawful obligation. In the remaining cases, the tribunal would establish how much monetary compensation is owed to the First Nation. These interventions will bring greater fairness to the process while accelerating the settlement of outstanding claims.

Decisions of the tribunal would not address claims valued at over $150 million, land or resources, punitive damages, cultural and spiritual losses, or non-financial compensation. Nor would they be binding on other levels of government, although provincial and territorial governments would be free to participate on a voluntary basis.

Periodic reports would be issued by the tribunal to keep governments, legislatures and taxpayers up to date on its activities.

Greater transparency: Dedicated Funding for Settlement

Finding information about spending on specific claims is not easy the way proposed spending has been presented to Parliament and others. Reports prepared by Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) have not provided a detailed breakdown of specific claims payments. This makes it difficult for First Nations and other interested Canadians to determine how well the government is handling claims or whether adequate funding is available.

Substantial and visible funding dedicated to specific claims settlements will be put in place. It will be visible in all public reporting documents. In addition to being more transparent, these funding arrangements will better meet the needs of the revamped program.

Dedicated funding for claims settlements will underscore Canada's commitment to honour its outstanding debts to First Nations. It will also ensure accountability by demonstrating how the federal government is delivering on these commitments.

There would be two triggers for authorized payments, which would have an upper limit of $250 million per year or $150 million per settlement:

  • jointly approved specific claims settlements; or
  • tribunal decisions.

To hold government to account, explicit targets will be set for resolving outstanding claims and results of these efforts routinely reported so Canadians can judge for themselves whether government is delivering on its commitment to resolve outstanding specific claims.

Faster processing: Improving internal government procedures

To complement the work of the new tribunal, changes will be made to improve INAC's internal processes.

The goal is for all new claims to receive a preliminary assessment within six months to identify those that qualify for negotiation and to sort them for faster processing. Similar claims will be bundled at the research and assessment stages to speed up decisions regarding their validity. Small value claims will undergo an expedited legal review to quickly conclude whether they will be accepted for negotiation.

There will be a streamlined approach to processing in order to better address the diversity and complexity of specific claims. Special efforts will be made to negotiate small value claims – which account for about 50% of cases now in the system – more quickly.

Separate arrangements will be established outside the specific claims process to handle larger claims, valued at $150 million or more. These relatively rare, but more difficult, claims bog down the system due to their size and complexity. Removing them from the specific claims process and dedicating separate resources to these files will speed up the processing of remaining claims.

Greater use will be made of existing data bases and other easily accessible research sources to support the early review process. This will also help to accelerate claims settlements.

While these major changes will revitalize and greatly improve the current process, the fundamental principles of the Specific Claims Policy will not change. Negotiations remains the preferred method to settle claims; and the test for confirming an outstanding lawful obligation is an objective measure that ensures fairness for all.

Better access to mediation: Refocusing the work of the current Claims Commission

Negotiated settlements will always be Canada's first choice. However, sometimes negotiations break down. When they do, a neutral observer can help to get both sides back to the table to work out their differences. Mediation is an excellent tool that can help to jump-start stalled negotiations and lead to mutually beneficial agreements.

Canada is committed to using mediation more frequently.

The Indian Specific Claims Commission (ISCC) has been of assistance to Canada and First Nations over the years, providing valuable facilitation and mediation services. Once the new tribunal is in place, it will be important not to lose the Commission's experience and expertise in this crucial area.

To make sure this doesn't happen, the ISCC's mandate will be changed to focus exclusively on resolution services. These services can help Canada and First Nations to overcome impasses at all stages of the process. The Commission will no longer conduct any new inquiries into claims that have been rejected.

The refocused Commission would only consider claims as defined by the Specific Claims Policy.

A transition plan will be developed to ensure that work presently underway by the current Commission can be properly completed in the coming year, if that is the wish of the First Nation with the rejected claim.

Next steps

Over the summer of 2007, discussions will take place between federal officials and First Nation leaders about these changes. Discussions will focus on transforming the Indian Specific Claims Commission and on shaping the legislation intended for introduction in Fall 2007.

As there have been numerous studies and extensive consultations with First Nations on these issues in the past, the goal is to conclude these discussions quickly. The overarching objective is to implement these solutions to the longstanding problems surrounding the specific claims process to bring justice to First Nations and certainty for all Canadians.

Find out more

If you wish to get more information on this initiative or to share your views on related implementation matters (such as refocusing the work of the current Commission and/or improving information sharing on specific claims in general), please contact us at:

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
10 Wellington Street, Room 1660
Gatineau, QC K1A 0H4
Web: Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
Toll free number: 1-800-567-9604
TTY (toll free): 1-866-553-0554

Revendications particulières : La justice, enfin

Plan d'action relatif aux revendications particulières – 2007

Pourquoi il nous faut agir

La politique du Canada sur les revendications particulières permet de reconnaître que la Couronne a parfois manqué aux obligations légales que lui ont conférées les traités historiques ou n'a pas su bien gérer les fonds des Premières nations ou d'autres biens dont elle a la responsabilité en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens. En revanche, pour remédier aux griefs historiques qui en ont découlé, la politique ouvre la voie à la tenue de négociations dans un cadre de coopération.

Au cours des dernières années, les Premières nations ont toutefois éprouvé des frustrations à l'égard du processus rattaché aux revendications particulières; en effet, le processus est long, lourd et coûteux, et il représente une nouvelle source de difficultés avec lesquelles doivent composer les Premières nations qui, déjà, tentent de résoudre des problèmes qui perdurent.

Depuis 1993, le nombre de revendications non réglées dans l'appareil fédéral a doublé, et leur traitement ne cesse de prendre du retard. Cette situation est intenable pour les peuples des Premières nations et pour toute la population canadienne, et elle retarde la progression de l'ensemble du pays sur les plans économique et social.

Mesures déterminantes

Le gouvernement du Canada prend ses obligations légales au sérieux. Après des années de débats et d'inaction, il prend maintenant des mesures historiques pour la refonte du processus de règlement des revendications particulières, ce qui lui permettra de veiller à ce que les Premières nations soient traitées avec justice et d'offrir des certitudes à l'ensemble de la population canadienne.

Le Plan d'action relatif aux revendications particulières vise une réforme fondamentale qui aboutira aux résultats suivants :

  • impartialité et équité
  • transparence accrue
  • accélération du traitement
  • meilleur accès à la médiation

Ces changements nécessaires et attendus depuis trop longtemps contribueront à rétablir la confiance dans l'intégrité et l'efficacité du processus visant le traitement des revendications particulières.

Nouvelle approche

Le Canada s'emploiera à réorganiser et à refondre le processus de règlement des revendications particulières pour qu'il respecte des normes dignes du 21e siècle.

Les nouveaux outils et les nouvelles structures répondent aux préoccupations des Premières nations ainsi qu'aux principales recommandations formulées dans l'étude spéciale (2006) du Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones sur le processus de règlement des revendications particulières. La réforme s'inspire des leçons que nous apporte l'expérience ainsi que des consultations menées auprès des Premières nations et d'autres intervenants clés.

Revendications particulières : La justice, enfin est un plan misant sur quatre priorités :

  • création d'un tribunal indépendant afin d'assurer l'équité du processus;
  • transparence accrue dans les ententes sur les indemnisations financières, grâce à des fonds réservés au règlement des revendications;
  • mesures pratiques visant à accélérer le traitement des revendications de moins grande envergure et à assouplir le processus applicable aux revendications de très grande envergure;
  • redéfinition du travail de l'actuelle Commission des revendications particulières des Indiens afin d'utiliser à bon escient ses mécanismes de résolution de conflits une fois le tribunal créé.

Grâce à ces améliorations, le Plan d'action relatif aux revendications particulières fera accélérer de façon notable le règlement des revendications particulières, ce qui permettra aux Premières nations et à toute la population canadienne d'unir leurs efforts et de se tourner ensemble vers l'avenir.

Impartialité et équité : création d'un tribunal indépendant

Le Canada mettra sur pied un tribunal indépendant qui pourra rendre des décisions exécutoires lorsque des revendications ne seront pas admises aux fins de négociation ou lorsque les négociations n'auront abouti à rien.

Ce tribunal sera composé de juges qui auront l'expérience, les compétences et la crédibilité voulues pour examiner des preuves et des faits historiques. Ils seront en mesure de régler des questions complexes relatives aux obligations légales du Canada et de déterminer les indemnisations qui conviennent.

Une Première nation pourrait présenter une revendication au tribunal dans les trois cas suivants :

  • le Canada rejette, aux fins de négociation, une revendication;
  • toutes les parties s'entendent pour confier au tribunal une revendication déjà acceptée, pour que ce dernier prenne une décision exécutoire;
  • des négociations ont eu lieu pendant trois ans, et rien n'a abouti.

Dans le premier cas, le tribunal serait chargé de déterminer si le Canada a une obligation légale qu'il n'a pas acquittée. Dans les deux autres cas, le tribunal devrait établir le montant de l'indemnisation financière à laquelle une Première nation donnée a droit. Grâce à ces interventions, le processus sera plus juste, et le règlement des revendications, plus rapide.

Le tribunal ne rendra aucune décision relative aux revendications de plus de 150 millions de dollars qui visent des terres ou des ressources, des dommages-intérêts exemplaires, des pertes culturelles et spirituelles ou encore des indemnisations autres que financières. Par ailleurs, le tribunal ne pourra pas obliger d'autres gouvernements à appliquer ses décisions, bien que les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux pourront s'y conformer de façon volontaire.

Le tribunal publiera des rapports périodiques afin d'informer les gouvernements, les assemblées législatives et les contribuables de ses activités.

Transparence accrue : fonds réservés au règlement des revendications

Il n'est pas facile de trouver des renseignements sur les fonds consacrés aux revendications particulières compte tenu, notamment, de la façon dont les dépenses proposées sont présentées au Parlement. Les rapports d'Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC) ne détaillent pas les paiements consacrés aux revendications. Il en découle qu'il est difficile, pour les Premières nations et les autres Canadiens qui s'intéressent au dossier, de juger de l'habileté du gouvernement à gérer les revendications ou de déterminer si les fonds disponibles sont suffisants.

Des fonds substantiels, communiqués avec transparence, seront consacrés au règlement des revendications, et toute l'information à ce sujet sera rendue publique. En plus d'être plus transparentes, les ententes de financement répondront de façon plus adéquate aux exigences du programme renouvelé.

Le fait de réserver des fonds au règlement des revendications soulignera l'engagement du Canada à régler la dette qu'il a envers les Premières nations. Le gouvernement fera preuve de responsabilité en présentant les mesures prises pour remplir ses engagements.

Les paiements, d'au plus 250 millions par année ou de 150 millions par revendication, seront autorisés dans les deux cas suivants :

  • règlements de revendications particulières approuvés conjointement;
  • décisions du tribunal.

Pour tenir le gouvernement responsable, des objectifs bien définis seront fixés pour le règlement des revendications en suspens, et les résultats obtenus seront systématiquement rendus publics afin que la population canadienne puisse juger d'elle-même dans quelle mesure le gouvernement remplit son engagement à l'égard de la résolution des revendications particulières.

Accélération du traitement : amélioration des procédures internes du gouvernement

Pour compléter les travaux du nouveau tribunal, des améliorations seront apportées aux processus internes d'AINC.

L'objectif consiste à effectuer une évaluation préliminaire de toutes les nouvelles revendications dans un délai de six mois afin de déterminer celles qui sont admissibles à la négociation et d'en faire le tri pour les traiter plus rapidement. On regroupera les revendications semblables aux étapes de la recherche et de l'évaluation pour accélérer les décisions relatives à leur légitimité. On fera un examen juridique accéléré des revendications de faible valeur afin de conclure rapidement si elles seront admises pour la négociation.

Une approche simplifiée sera appliquée au traitement afin de mieux tenir compte de la diversité et de la complexité des revendications particulières. On fera des efforts particuliers pour négocier plus rapidement les revendications de faible valeur, qui comptent pour environ 50 p. 100 des cas présentement dans le système.

Les revendications de très grande valeur, évaluées à 150 millions de dollars ou plus, seront traitées séparément en dehors du cadre du processus de règlement des revendications particulières. Ces revendications, assez rares, mais plus difficiles à régler, paralysent le système en raison de leur taille et de leur complexité. En les retirant du processus de règlement des revendications particulières et en y affectant d'autres ressources, on accélérera leur traitement.

On fera plus grand usage des bases de données existantes et d'autres sources de renseignements facilement accessibles pour appuyer le processus d'examen préliminaire. Cette mesure permettra également d'accélérer le traitement des revendications.

Bien que ces changements d'envergure permettront de revigorer et d'améliorer considérablement le processus actuel, lesprincipes fondamentaux de la politique sur les revendications particulières demeureront les mêmes. Ainsi, les négociations continueront d'être la voie privilégiée pour régler des revendications, et le critère permettant de confirmer l'existence d'une obligation légale en suspens constitue une mesure objective qui assure l'équité pour tous.

Recours amélioré à la médiation : redéfinition du mandat de la Commission des revendications

Encore une fois, le Canada continuera de privilégier les règlements négociés. Toutefois, il arrive que les négociations achoppent, et un observateur neutre peut alors aider les deux parties à revenir à la table de négociation et à régler leurs différends. La médiation constitue un excellent outil pouvant relancer des négociations susceptibles d'aboutir à des ententes avantageuses pour toutes les parties.

Le Canada est résolu à faire appel plus fréquemment à la médiation.

Au fil des années, la Commission des revendications particulières des Indiens a apporté son aide au Canada et aux Premières nations, en dispensant de précieux services de facilitation et de médiation. Une fois le nouveau tribunal en place, il sera important de ne pas perdre l'expérience et l'expertise accumulées par la Commission dans ce domaine crucial.

Pour éviter que cela se produise, le mandat de la Commission sera modifié et visera désormais exclusivement la prestation de services de résolution, des services qui peuvent aider le Canada et les Premières nations à résoudre les impasses pouvant survenir aux différentes étapes du processus. La Commission ne mènera plus de nouvelle enquête relativement aux revendications rejetées.

Conformément à son nouveau mandat, la Commission ne se penchera que sur les revendications répondant à la définition de la politique sur les revendications particulières.

Un plan de transition sera formulé pour faire en sorte que les travaux entrepris par la Commission soient menés à terme au cours de la prochaine année, si toutefois il s'agit du souhait des Premières nations dont la revendication a été rejetée.

Prochaines étapes

Des représentants du gouvernement fédéral et des Premières nations tiendront des discussions sur ces changements pendant l'été 2007. Ils discuteront de façon plus particulière de la réorganisation de la Commission des revendications particulières des Indiens et de l'élaboration du projet de loi devant être déposé à l'automne 2007.

Étant donné que le dossier a fait l'objet de nombreuses études et que les Premières nations ont été largement consultées, nous souhaitons que ces discussions se concluent rapidement. Les solutions aux problèmes de longue date touchant au processus de traitement des revendications particulières ont pour objectif premier d'assurer un traitement équitable aux Premières nations et d'offrir des certitudes à toute la population canadienne.

Renseignements

Si vous souhaitez obtenir plus d'information sur cette initiative ou nous faire part de vos commentaires sur des questions de mise en oeuvre (comme la réorientation du mandat de la Commission ou l'amélioration de la diffusion de renseignements sur les revendications particulières en général), n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous :

Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada
10, rue Wellington, pièce 1660
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H4
Site Web : Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada
Numéro sans frais : 1-800-567-9604
ATS (sans frais) : 1-866-553-0554

Date de modification :