Negotiations in Atlantic Canada

Canada has a mandate to negotiate issues of Aboriginal and treaty rights and self-government with Mi'kmaq and Maliseet groups in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and the Gaspé region of Québec.

Progress report on Aboriginal and Treaty Rights negotiations in the Maritimes and the Gaspésie

In the Marshall decision of September 17, 1999, the Supreme Court of Canada (SCC) found that the Peace and Friendship Treaties of 1760-61 affirmed the right of certain Aboriginal groups to provide for their own sustenance by taking the products of their hunting, fishing and gathering activities, and trading them in the pursuit of a "moderate livelihood". This decision potentially affects 34 Mi'kmaq and Maliseet First Nations in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and the Gaspésie region of Québec.

Under the Peace and Friendship Treaties of 1760 and 1761 in the Maritimes, the Mi'kmaq and the Maliseet signatories did not surrender rights to lands or resources. Today, the Mi'kmaq and the Maliseet First Nations maintain that they continue to hold Aboriginal rights and title throughout their traditional territory. Also, the Supreme Court ruling in the Marshall decision confirmed that the Mi'kmaq and Maliseet possess a treaty right to hunt, fish, and gather for a moderate livelihood.

Over the years, the courts have recognized the existence and validity of Aboriginal and treaty rights but have only partially defined the nature and scope of these rights. A consistent theme throughout these decisions has been the need for governments and Aboriginal people to resolve their issues and find a fair and equitable solution through negotiation, rather than litigation.

Canada is discussing Aboriginal and treaty rights and self-government with provincial governments and Mi'kmaq and Maliseet groups in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and the Gaspésie region of Québec. As a result of these discussions, a number of agreements have been signed and the parties are working on strengthening their relationship, broaching issues of mutual concern and making progress towards addressing outstanding Aboriginal and treaty rights.

Nova Scotia

The Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia, the Province of Nova Scotia and Canada signed an Umbrella Agreement on June 7, 2002, and a Framework Agreement on February 23, 2007. The Parties have agreed to enter into a negotiation process which provides a constructive and practical way of addressing the treaty and Aboriginal rights and title of the Mi'kmaq in Nova Scotia. On August 31, 2010, the Parties also signed the Terms of Reference for a Mi'kmaq-Nova Scotia-Canada Consultation Process which established an orderly process for Crown consultation with the Mi'kmaq. Most recently, in May 2012, the Parties signed the National Parks Interim Arrangement.

The Parties are currently negotiating an Agreement-in-Principle and discussions are in progress on issues related to wildlife, lands, governance and fish.

Prince Edward Island

The Mi'kmaq of Prince Edward Island, the Province of Prince Edward Island and Canada signed a Partnership Agreement on December 1, 2007 which strengthens their relationship and establishes a tripartite process to address issues of mutual concern such as education, health, child and family services, justice and economic development.

In August 2012, a Consultation Agreement was signed by all Parties establishing an orderly process for Crown consultations with the Mi'kmaq.

Gaspésie

In September 2008, the Mi'gmaq of Québec, the Province of Québec and Canada signed the Niganita'suatas'gl Ilsutagann Agreement (NI).  The NI is an Umbrella Agreement which establishes a results-oriented process to discuss issues of mutual concern with a view of reaching a Framework Agreement.  In June 2012, the parties signed a Consultation Agreement which establishes a streamlined, one-window process through which federal and provincial governments can consult the Mi'gmaq in Québec.

New Brunswick

The Mi'kmaq and Maliseet of New Brunswick, the Province of New Brunswick and Canada are involved in tripartite exploratory discussions. These discussions are currently focused on setting up a tripartite process that would address issues of mutual concern, including Aboriginal and treaty rights and self-government.

Looking forward

Canada is committed to addressing its treaty obligations and any other potential rights that may continue to exist. Negotiation is the most practical and constructive means to achieve this and help build a new relationship between Government, First Nations people and Atlantic Canadians.

Negotiating treaty rights, at the same time as Aboriginal rights and title, creates a unique situation. There is no model or a generic approach to follow on how to proceed in these negotiations. They take time and can only succeed through understanding, good will and cooperation on all sides.

Together, we have to develop approaches and agreements in each province that provide clarity to Aboriginal and treaty rights and lead to the long-term goal of empowering First Nations, enhancing their capacity to manage their own affairs, and improving their economic outcomes.

Related link

Date modified:

Négociations dans la région de l'Atlantique

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est vu confier le mandat de négocier avec les groupes mi'kmaq et malécites de la Nouvelle-Écosse, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l'Île‑du‑Prince-Édouard et de la Gaspésie, au Québec.

Rapport d'étape sur la négociation des droits ancestraux et issus de traités dans les Maritimes et en Gaspésie

Dans l'arrêt Marshall du 17 septembre 1999, la Cour suprême du Canada a statué que les traités de paix et d'amitié de 1760-1761 confirmaient le droit de certains groupes autochtones de réaliser des activités de chasse, de pêche et de collecte et d'effectuer le commerce des produits tirés de ces activités comme moyen de « subsistance convenable ». Cette décision a des conséquences éventuelles sur 34 Premières nations de Mi'kmaq et de Malécites de la Nouvelle‑Écosse, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et de la région de Gaspé, au Québec.

En vertu des traités de paix et d'amitié de 1760 et 1761 conclus dans les Maritimes, les signataires Mi'kmaq et Malécites n'ont pas renoncés à des droits sur des terres ou des ressources.  Aujourd'hui, les Premières nations Mi'kmaq et Malécites affirment toujours détenir des droits ancestraux et des titres autochtones sur l'ensemble de leur territoire traditionnel.  De plus, la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada sur l'arrêt Marshall a confirmé que les Mi'kmaq et les Malécites possèdent un droit de chasse, pêche et cueillette pour assurer une subsistance convenable.

Pendant des années, différentes cours ont reconnu l'existence et la validité des droits ancestraux et issus de traités, mais n'ont jamais donné de définition complète de la nature et de l'étendue de ces droits. Le même thème a été répété dans toutes les décisions prises par ces cours pour rappeler aux gouvernements et aux peuples autochtones la nécessité de résoudre leurs problèmes et de trouver des solutions justes et équitables en faisant appel à la négociation plutôt qu'aux litiges.

Le Canada discute en ce moment des droits ancestraux, des droits issus de traités et de l'autonomie gouvernementale avec les gouvernements provinciaux et des groupes de Mi'kmaq et de Malécites de la Nouvelle-Écosse, du Nouveau‑Brunswick, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et de la région de Gaspé, au Québec. À la suite de ces discussions, plusieurs accords ont été conclus, et les parties s'efforcent de resserrer leur relation, d'aborder des questions d'intérêt commun et de réaliser des progrès quant à la résolution des droits ancestraux et issus de traités en suspens.

Nouvelle-Écosse

Les Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse, la province de la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Canada ont signé une entente générale le 7 juin 2002 et une entente-cadre le 23 février 2007. Les parties ont accepté d'entamer un processus de négociation visant à trouver un moyen constructif et pratique de résoudre les questions liées aux droits issus de traités ainsi qu'aux droits ancestraux et au titre autochtone des Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Le 31 août 2010, les parties ont également signé les termes de référence pour un processus de consultation Mi'kmaq-Nouvelle-Écosse-Canada qui a établi un processus ordonné de consultation de la Couronne avec les Mi'kmaq. Plus récemment, en mai 2012, les parties ont signé l'Entent intérimaire sur les Parcs nationaux.

Les parties négocient actuellement une entente de principe et des discussions sont en cours sur les questions liées à la faune, les terres, la gouvernance et les pêches.

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Les Mi'kmaq de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, la province de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et le Canada ont signé un accord de partenariat le 1er  décembre 2007 ce qui renforce leur relation et établit un processus tripartite pour aborder les questions d'intérêt commun tels que l'éducation, la santé, services à l'enfance et la famille, la justice et le développement économique.

En août 2012, un accord de consultation (Ajouter lien hypertexte à l'accord de consultation a été signé par toutes les parties établissant un processus ordonné pour des consultations de la Couronne avec les Mi 'kmaq.

Gaspésie

En septembre 2008, les gouvernements du Canada et du Québec et les Mi'gmaq de la province ont signé l'Accord Niganita'suatas'gl Ilsutagann, une entente générale qui établit un processus axé sur les résultats afin de discuter des questions d'intérêt commun et de conclure un entente-cadre. En juin 2012, les parties ont signé une entente sur la consultation qui établit un processus simplifié, à guichet unique par lequel les gouvernements fédéral et provincial peuvent consulter les Mi'gmaq au Québec.

Nouveau-Brunswick

Les Mi'kmaq et les Malécites du Nouveau-Brunswick, la province du Nouveau‑Brunswick et le Canada sont engagés dans des discussions exploratoires tripartites. Ces discussions portent en ce moment sur l'adoption d'un processus tripartite qui règlerait les questions d'intérêt commun comme les droits ancestraux et issus de traités et l'autonomie gouvernementale.

Regard sur l'avenir

Le gouvernement du Canada doit s'acquitter de ses obligations découlant des traités tout en tenant compte des autres droits qui pourraient demeurer en vigueur. La négociation constitue le moyen le plus constructif et pratique d'atteindre cet objectif et de contribuer à établir une nouvelle relation entre le gouvernement, les Premières nations et les Canadiens de l'Atlantique.

La négociation simultanée de droits issus de traités ainsi que de droits et de titres ancestraux crée un contexte particulier. Il n'existe ni modèle ni approche globale desquels s'inspirer pour savoir comment mener ces négociations. Elles demandent du temps et leur réussite ne tient qu'à la compréhension, la bonne volonté et la collaboration de toutes les parties.  

Ensemble, nous devons concevoir des approches et des accords dans chaque province qui apportent un éclairage sur les droits ancestraux et issus de traités et mènent à l'objectif à long terme visant à renforcer les moyens d'action des Premières nations, à améliorer leur capacité de gérer leurs propres affaires et à accroître leurs résultats économiques.

Lien connexe

Date de modification :