Government

Our Role

Intergovernmental Affairs facilitates and monitors the implementation of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement. To do so, the division works with other federal departments, the Government of Nunavut and Inuit organizations on projects of common interest under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement such as government contracting and Inuit employment.

We also work on a number of activities such as awareness workshops to ensure our employees and other federal employees know their obligations under the Agreement.

Our Activities

Intergovernmental Affairs Division

Everyday, we deal with a wide variety of issues. First and most important, the division makes sure that Canada lives up to its obligations under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement. For example, the division deals with Nunavut Land Claims Agreement obligations such as Article 23 (Inuit Employment within Government) and Article 24 (Government Contracts).

Second, we are committed to building relationships and partnerships with the Government of Nunavut and Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated. We play an active role on the Article 23 Working Group, a group dedicated to reaching full representative Inuit employment in the government. Also, we take part in efforts to renew the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement Implementation Contract. This is a partnership between the federal and territorial governments and Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated to update a 10-year contract for implementing the Agreement.

Third, the division identifies and coordinates partnerships and relations involving the federal and territorial governments. An example of these includes the Nunavut Senior Officials Working Group, a group of senior officials from Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, the Government of Nunavut, and Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated who develop joint understandings on common issues in Nunavut.

Finally, we provide input into the development of national policies. We do this in a number of ways:

Through these activities, we help make sure that opportunities for partnerships and problems concerning the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement are identified, so that all parties can help implement the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement in an effective and timely manner.

Additional Information:

Contact Us

Intergovernmental Affairs Manager
Tel.: 867-975-4538
intergov@ainc-inac.gc.ca

AANDC-NRO
Intergovernmental Affairs Division

P.O. Box 2200
Iqaluit NU X0A 0H0

Date modified:

Gouvernement

Notre rôle

La division des affaires intergouvernementales facilite et surveille la mise en application de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut. À cette fin, la division travaille de concert avec d'autres ministères fédéraux, le gouvernement du Nunavut et des organisations inuites à des projets d'intérêt commun en vertu de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut, comme les contrats du gouvernement et l'emploi des Inuits.

En outre, la division travaille à de nombreuses activités, comme des ateliers de sensibilisation visant à ce que ses employés et les autres employés fédéraux connaissent leurs obligations au titre de l'Accord.

Nos activités

Division des affaires intergouvernementales

Chaque jour, la division s'occupe de divers dossiers. D'abord et avant tout, elle s'assure que le Canada s'acquitte de ses obligations en vertu de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut. Par exemple, la division s'occupe des obligations en vertu de l'Accord, comme l'article 23 (Embauche des Inuits au sein du gouvernement) et l'article 24 (Marchés de l'État).

Deuxièmement, la division s'engage à établir des partenariats avec le gouvernement du Nunavut et la Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated. Elle joue un rôle actif au sein du groupe de travail sur l'article 23, groupe voué au plein emploi des Inuits et à la représentativité des Inuits dans la fonction publique. De plus, la division des affaires intergouvernementales participe aux efforts de renouvellement du marché de mise en oeuvre de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut. Il s'agit d'un partenariat entre le gouvernement fédéral et le gouvernement territorial et la Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated visant à redéfinir un marché de dix ans pour la mise en oeuvre de l'entente.

Troisièmement, la division recense et coordonne les partenariats et les liens entre le gouvernement fédéral et le gouvernement territorial. Un exemple de collaboration est le groupe de travail des cadres du Nunavut, un groupe de cadres du ministère des Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, du gouvernement du Nunavut et de la Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated qui trouvent des terrains d'entente sur des questions communes au Nunavut.

Finalement, la division participe à l'élaboration de politiques nationales, et ce, de diverses manières :

Grâce à ces activités, elle fait en sorte de répertorier les possibilités de partenariat et les problèmes relatifs à l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut, afin que toutes les parties puissent contribuer à le mettre en oeuvre efficacement et en temps opportun.

Information supplémentaire

Communiquez avec nous

Gestionnaire des affaires intergouvernementales
Tél. : 867-975-4538
intergov@ainc-inac.gc.ca

AADNC-BRN
Division des affaires intergouvernementales

CP 2200
Iqaluit NU X0A 0H0

Date de modification :