Working with INAC in Nunavut

Iqaluit, Nunavut

ᐃᓄᒃᑎᑐᑦ

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) has a diverse mandate in Nunavut which offers employees at the Nunavut Region Office (NRO) a chance to play an important part in the development of the territory. INAC hires people from many different fields like business administration, communications, geology, finance, policy, information technology, environmental technology and resource management.

Whether you are a student looking for summer employment or a seasoned professional looking for a new and exciting job opportunity, INAC has career information for everyone!

Why work for INAC in Nunavut?

The INAC NRO is an exciting place to work with a skilled and energetic workforce from all over Nunavut, Canada and beyond. There are also many opportunities for students to match their interests and studies while working in the region.

Learning and Development Opportunities

The opportunity to learn is an important part of personal satisfaction at work. The Government of Canada offers a variety of learning opportunities, experiences and programs that can help you build a successful career. There is also on-the-job training, in the form of coaching, mentoring, regular feedback from your manager, conferences and workshops - all aimed to continue your development in the public service.

Attractive Compensation Package

INAC offers a competitive salary, excellent benefits, and flexible work arrangements. Employees of the NRO also receive benefits under the Isolated Posts and Government Housing Directive, such as a series of northern living allowances and vacation travel assistance. Subsidized housing is available for term and indeterminate employees of INAC's NRO.

For more information on life in Iqaluit and Nunavut visit these links:

Job Opportunities in Nunavut

INAC's NRO staffs vacancies mainly through advertised processes.

For current employment opportunities in the NRO and other Government of Canada job postings, check out these links:

Inuit Employment in the Nunavut Regional Office

One of the founding principles of the Nunavut Agreement is representative government. The goal is that Nunavut Inuit will be represented in government employment at a level proportionate to the percentage of Nunavut Inuit in the general territorial population. Article 23 of the Nunavut Agreement includes a series of provisions designed to achieve this goal.

As mandated by Article 23.4.1 of the Nunavut Agreement, INAC's NRO has prepared an Inuit Employment Plan, which focuses on achieving a representative workforce. The plan includes:

Student Employment Programs in Iqaluit

Working for the Government of Canada while you are a student, whether at INAC or elsewhere, is a rewarding experience that could kickstart your career.

INAC offers a competitive salary and a great working environment for students, allowing you to explore career options in between your full-time studies.

Inuit Summer Student Program

Attention students: Want a great summer job?

Job Poster (PDF)

Watch for this job poster in April/May around your community, at high schools and Nunavut Arctic College.

What is the Inuit Summer Student Program?

The Inuit Summer Student Program provides Inuit students with knowledge and experience that could help advance academic, interpersonal, workplace and teamwork skills. It also gives students an opportunity to explore employment opportunities with INAC for consideration post-graduation.

Jobs may be available in disciplines including GIS mapping, geology, water management, field operations, communications, human resources, and more.

Students hired through the Inuit Summer Student Program could have the opportunity to:

  • Produce maps
  • Participate in field work and data collection
  • Assist geologists in archiving rock samples
  • Work in finance, human resources or information technology
  • Learn more about Nunavut's environment
  • Help plan special events and much more!

Why work with INAC for the summer?

The INAC NRO is an exciting place to work with a skilled and energetic workforce from all over Nunavut and beyond. INAC has a diverse mandate in Nunavut which offers high school, college or university students a variety of summer opportunities to match their interests and studies.

INAC offers a competitive salary and a great working environment for students, allowing you to explore career options in between your full-time studies.

Who can apply?

To qualify, you must be a person enrolled under the Nunavut Agreement, in high school, college or university and returning to school in the fall. You must also be a resident of Iqaluit looking for an exciting and challenging summer job.

We are looking for someone who is proficient in English. Inuktut is a definite asset.

A security clearance check will be done for candidates who are being hired.

How do I apply?

You can submit your resumé and cover letter by fax, email or mail to Lori Tagoona at INAC's Nunavut Regional Office.

Please include the reference number IAN-SUM-17 when you apply.

Applications will be considered on an ongoing basis until May 31, 2017.

Nunavut Regional Office/Nunavut Arctic College Internship

What is the internship?

The NRO Internship provides Nunavut Arctic College students in the Environmental Technology, Office Administration, Computer Systems Technician, Interpreter Translator, and Management Studies programs with three-week work terms at INAC's NRO. As these are internships, students are not paid during the work term, but receive credits towards their diploma.

Why is the Nunavut Regional Office running an internship?

Our goal is to expose students to real work experience that is complimentary to their field of study. The greater benefit to both students and the Government of Canada is that after completing their program and participating in this internship, they may be eligible for an available position at INAC. Primarily, we want to provide a great learning experience.

How do I apply?

Eligible students must be currently enrolled in the Environmental Technology, Office Administration, Computer Systems Technician, Interpreter Translator, or Management Studies program at Nunavut Arctic College. Students apply for internship positions and go through an assessment process similar to what would be done if they were applying for a regular position at INAC including sending in their resumes, possibly meeting hiring managers for an interview, checking references, and completing a Government of Canada security clearance check.

Do you want to find out more about being an intern?

Contact the INAC Nunavut Regional Office to find out more about opportunities, deadlines and where to submit your resume.

Nunavut Regional Office's Human Resources Priorities

HR planning is of high importance in INAC's NRO. Planning is done to create and sustain a workforce that is reflective of the needs of the organization as well as the population we serve. Emphasis and focus are on vacancy reduction, creating a workforce to deliver on our mandate, providing career development opportunities for staff, and reaching a representative workforce as per Article 23 of the Nunavut Agreement.

HR priorities of the NRO are:

  1. Use sound recruitment and retention practices to overcome the high staff turnover rates, and
  2. Reaching representativeness by hiring Inuit who self identify as enrolled under the Nunavut Agreement.

Meeting our HR priorities is a shared goal for all members of the NRO's management team. Staff are engaged in recruitment and retention practices, and are encouraged to become part of the community in Nunavut and contribute to meeting these HR priorities.

Contact us

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Nunavut Regional Office – Human Resources
Qimugjuk Building, 969 Federal Road
PO Box 2200
Iqaluit, NU X0A 0H0

Questions?
Email: nunavuthr@aandc.gc.ca
Phone: 867-975-4744
Fax: 867-975-4560

Date modified:

Travailler avec AANC au Nunavut

Iqaluit, Nunavut

ᐃᓄᒃᑎᑐᑦ

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) a un mandat diversifié au Nunavut qui offre aux employés au bureau régional du Nunavut (BRN) une chance de jouer un rôle important dans le développement du territoire. AANC embauche des personnes provenant de différents domaines d'expertise tels que : l'administration des affaires, les communications, la géologie, la finance, les politiques, la technologie de l'information, les technologies environnementales et la gestion des ressources.

Que vous soyez un étudiant à la recherche d'un emploi d'été ou un professionnel qualifié en quête d'un nouveau travail stimulant, AANC peut vous fournir de l'information sur les carrières!

Pourquoi travailler pour AANC au Nunavut?

Le BRN d'AANC offre un milieu de travail stimulant, en plus d'être doté d'un personnel compétent et dynamique provenant de tous les coins du Nunavut, du Canada et d'ailleurs. Il existe de nombreuses possibilités pour les étudiants qui souhaitent concilier leurs intérêts et leurs études tout en travaillant dans la région pendant la saison estivale.

Possibilités d'apprentissage et de perfectionnement

La possibilité d'apprendre constitue un élément essentiel de la satisfaction personnelle au travail. Le gouvernement du Canada offre une variété de possibilités d'apprentissage, d'expériences et de programmes pour vous aider à bâtir une carrière fructueuse. Il est également possible de bénéficier d'une formation en cours d'emploi sous forme d'encadrement, de mentorat, de rétroaction constante de votre gestionnaire, de conférences et d'ateliers ayant pour but de vous aider à poursuivre votre perfectionnement au sein de la fonction publique.

Un régime de rémunération intéressant

AANC offre un salaire concurrentiel, d'excellents avantages sociaux et des conditions de travail souples. Les employés du BRN bénéficient des avantages prévus dans la Directive sur les postes isolés et les logements de l'État, telle qu'une série d'indemnités de vie dans le Nord et de compensations de voyage. Au BRN d'AANC, le logement subventionné est disponible pour les employés à mandat fixe et à mandat indéterminé.  

Pour plus d'informations sur la vie à Iqaluit et le Nunavut visitez ces liens:

Offres d'emploi au Nunavut

Le BRN d'AANC dote les postes vacants principalement au moyen de processus annoncés.

Pour vous renseigner sur les possibilités d'emploi au BRN et au Gouvernement du Canada, visitez ces liens :

Initiatives d'emploi pour les Inuits au bureau régional du Nunavut

Un gouvernement représentatif constitue l'un des principes fondateurs de l'Accord du Nunavut. L'objectif de ce principe est de s'assurer que le taux de représentation des Inuits du Nunavut au sein de la fonction publique corresponde de façon proportionnelle au taux d’Inuit du Nunavut présent dans la population générale du territoire. L'article 23 de l'Accord du Nunavut comprend une série de dispositions conçues pour permettre d'atteindre cet objectif.

Comme le prescrit l'article 23.4.1 de l'Accord du Nunavut, le BRN d'AANC a préparé un Plan d'emploi des Inuits (PEI), qui se concentre sur l'atteinte d'un effectif représentatif. Le PEI comprend :

Programmes d'emploi pour étudiants à Iqaluit

Travailler pour le gouvernement du Canada en tant qu'étudiant, que ce soit pour AANC ou pour tout autre ministère, représente une expérience enrichissante qui pourrait lancer votre carrière.

AANC offre un salaire concurrentiel et un environnement de travail idéal permettant aux étudiants d'explorer les possibilités de carrière pendant des études à temps plein.

Programme d'emploi d'été pour les étudiants inuits

Étudiants et étudiantes : Vous cherchez un emploi d'été passionnant?

PDF- Offres d'emploi

Pendant les mois d'avril et de mai, surveillez les offres d'emploi affichées dans la collectivité, les écoles secondaires et au Collège de l'Arctique du Nunavut.

Qu'est-ce que le Programme d'emploi d'été pour les étudiants inuits?

Le Programme d'emploi d'été pour les étudiants inuits permet à ces derniers d'acquérir les connaissances et l'expérience nécessaires au perfectionnement de leurs aptitudes aux études, de leurs habiletés en communications interpersonnelles, de leurs compétences essentielles au travail et de leurs aptitudes au travail d'équipe. Il donne aussi l'occasion aux étudiants d'explorer les possibilités d'emploi au sein d'AANC qui pourrait s'ouvrir à eux après l'obtention de leur diplôme.

Des emplois pourraient être disponibles dans diverses disciplines telles que: la cartographie SIG, la géologie, la gestion des eaux, les opérations régionales, les communications, les ressources humaines, etc.

Les étudiants embauchés dans le cadre du Programme d'emploi d'été pour les étudiants inuits pourraient avoir les possibilités suivantes :

  • Produire des cartes;
  • Participer à des travaux sur le terrain et à la collecte de données;
  • Aider les géologues à archiver les échantillons de roche;
  • Travailler dans le domaine des finances, des ressources humaines ou de la technologie de l'information;
  • En apprendre davantage sur l'environnement du Nunavut;
  • Collaborer à la préparation d'événements spéciaux… et bien plus encore!

Pourquoi travailler pour AANC pendant l'été?

Le BRN d'AANC offre un milieu de travail stimulant et est doté d'un personnel compétent et énergique provenant de tous les coins du Nunavut et d'ailleurs. Le mandat d'AANC au Nunavut étant diversifié il permet d'offrir aux étudiants des niveaux secondaire, collégial ou universitaire de nombreuses possibilités estivales se conciliant avec leurs intérêts et leurs études.

AANC offre aux étudiants un salaire concurrentiel et un environnement de travail stimulant qui permettent d'explorer des options de carrière tout en poursuivant des études à temps plein.

Qui peut présenter une demande?

Pour être admissible, vous devez être une personne inscrite en vertu de l'Accord du Nunavut, étudier dans une école secondaire, un collège ou une université et retourner aux études à l'automne. Vous devez aussi être un résidant d'Iqaluit à la recherche d'un emploi d'été passionnant et stimulant.

Nous sommes à la recherche de candidats qui possèdent une excellente maîtrise de l'anglais. La maîtrise de l'inuktut est assurément un atout.

Une vérification de sécurité sera effectuée pour ceux et celles dont la candidature aura été retenue.

Que dois-je faire pour présenter une demande?

Envoyez votre CV et une lettre de présentation par télécopieur, par courriel ou par la poste à Lori Tagoona du bureau régional du Nunavut d'AANC.

Prière d'inscrire le numéro de référence IAN-SUM-17 avec votre application.

Nous étudierons les demandes reçues jusqu'au 31 mai, 2017.

Stages du bureau régional du Nunavut/Collège de l'Arctique du Nunavut

Que sont les stages?

Dans le cadre de son programme de stages, le BRN d'AANC offre des stages de trois semaines aux étudiants des programmes de technologie de l'environnement, d'administration de bureau, de technicien spécialiste des systèmes informatiques, de traducteur interprète et d'études en gestion du Collège de l'Arctique du Nunavut. À titre de stagiaires, les étudiants ne sont pas rémunérés pendant la période de travail, mais ils obtiennent des crédits en vue d'obtenir leur diplôme.

Pourquoi le bureau régional du Nunavut offre-t-il des stages?

Notre but est de donner aux étudiants une expérience de travail réelle qui correspond à leur programme d'études. Le plus grand avantage pour les étudiants et le Gouvernement du Canada est qu'à la fin de leurs études et du stage, les étudiants pourraient être admissibles à postuler pour un poste vacant au sein d'AANC. Nous souhaitons d'abord et avant tout offrir une excellente expérience d'apprentissage.

Que dois-je faire pour présenter une demande?

Pour être admissibles, les étudiants doivent être inscrits au Collège de l'Arctique du Nunavut au programme de technologie de l'environnement, d'administration de bureau, de techniques des systèmes informatiques, de traducteur interprète ou à l'un des programmes d'études en gestion. Les étudiants qui présentent une demande de stage en milieu de travail doivent passer par un processus d'embauche similaire à un poste régulier à AANC. Ceci inclut l'envoi de leur curriculum vitae et la possibilité de rencontrer les gestionnaires pour une entrevue d'embauche. De plus, une vérification de sécurité du Gouvernement du Canada devra être complétée.

Vous voulez obtenir plus de renseignements sur les stages?

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les possibilités de stage en milieu de travail au BRN, les dates limites d'admission et comment soumettre votre curriculum vitae, contactez le BRN d'AANC.

Priorités des ressources humaines au bureau régional du Nunavut

Le BRN d'AANC porte une grande importance à la planification des ressources humaines. Cette planification a pour but de créer et maintenir une équipe de travail qui reflète les besoins de l'organisation ainsi que de la population que nous desservons.  L'accent est mis sur les efforts à réduire les postes vacants, créer une main-d'œuvre apte à réaliser notre mandat, offrir des occasions de développement professionnel et bâtir une équipe de travail représentative en conformité avec l'Article 23 de l'Accord du Nunavut.

Les priorités en Ressources humaines du BRN sont les suivantes :

  1. Utiliser des pratiques saines de recrutement et de rétention afin de surmonter les taux élevés de roulement du personnel;
  2. Atteindre la représentation démographique avec l'embauche d'Inuits qui s'identifient en vertu de l'Accord du Nunavut.

Pour tous les membres de l'équipe de gestion du BRN, l'objectif est d'atteindre nos priorités en matière de ressources humaines. Le personnel est engagé à participer aux pratiques de recrutement et de rétention, en plus d'être encouragé à faire partie de la communauté du Nunavut et de contribuer à la réalisation des priorités en matière de Ressources humaines.

Communiquez avec nous

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
Bureau régional du Nunavut - Ressources humaines
Immeuble Qimugjuk, 969 Federal Road
C.P. 2200
Iqaluit (Nunavut)  X0A 0H0

Vous avez des questions?
Courriel : nunavuthr@aadnc.gc.ca
Téléphone : 867-975-4744
Télécopieur : 867-975-4560

Date de modification :