AANDC in Nunavut

This is an exciting time for Nunavut. Since its creation in 1999, the territory has experienced consistent economic and population growth and is poised for continued expansion in key sectors of the economy, such as the service industry, mining, construction and transportation. Investments in public infrastructure continue to bring new schools, health centres, airport improvements and research facilities and also continue to improve broadband Internet access. Local and regional social and cultural development efforts are encouraging Nunavummiut to take advantage of economic opportunities while remaining firmly rooted in their culture.

Our Mission

"To work in partnership to help improve the quality of life of Nunavummiut through economic and social development, environmental stewardship and effective management of natural resources."

The Nunavut Regional Office (NRO), Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) offers a variety of programs and services and is responsible for a number of key regulatory activities in Nunavut. NRO staff work with Nunavummiut to manage land and water and mineral resources, and to remediate contaminated sites. The NRO also supports the positive and productive relationship shared between the Government of Canada and the Government of Nunavut, and works with a number of territorial stakeholders, such as Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated, to implement the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement.

The NRO welcomes your involvement in working together to respond to the challenges and opportunities before Nunavut.

Our Offices

The AANDC Nunavut Regional Office has four office locations throughout the territory. Two of these offices are located in Iqaluit, one in Rankin Inlet, and one in Kugluktuk.

Executive Services, Corporate Services Directorate, Intergovernmental Affairs and Inuit Relations Directorate, the Lands and Contaminated Sites Directorate and the Mining Recorders Office AANDC-Nunavut Region are now located in Qimugjuk Building 969, (Government of Canada Building at the corner of Federal Road & Nunavut Drive).
The Resource Management Directorate comprised of the Mineral Resources, Water Resources, Impact Assessment and Land Use Planning Divisions, as well as the Lands Division of the Lands and Contaminated Sites Directorate are located in Building 918 in Iqaluit.
The Resource Management Officer for the Kivalliq region is located in Rankin Inlet's District Office.
The Resource Management Officer for the Kitikmeot region is located in Kugluktuk's District Office.

AADNC au Nunavut

C'est une période remarquable pour le Nunavut. Depuis sa création en 1999, le territoire a connu une croissance économique et démographique stable et on s'attend à ce que l'expansion se poursuive dans des secteurs clés de l'économie tels ceux des services, de l'exploitation minière, de la construction et des transports. Les investissements dans les infrastructures publiques continuent de permettre au Nunavut de construire des écoles, des centres de santé et des installations de recherche, d'apporter des améliorations aéroportuaires et d'accroître l'accès Internet à large bande. Les efforts de développement social et culturel, tant à l'échelle locale que régionale, encouragent les Nunavummiut à tirer profit des possibilités économiques tout en demeurant fermement enracinés dans leur culture.

Notre mission

« Travailler en partenariat à améliorer la qualité de vie des Nunavummiut par le développement économique et social, l'intendance de l'environnement et la gestion efficace des ressources naturelles. »

Le bureau régional du Nunavut (BRN) d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) offre divers programmes et services et s'occupe d'un certain nombre d'activités réglementaires importantes au Nunavut. Les employés du BRN travaillent avec les Nunavummiut en vue de gérer les terres, les eaux et les ressources minérales et de remettre en état les sites contaminés. Le BRN soutient aussi les relations positives et productives qu'entretiennent le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Nunavut et travaille avec un certain nombre d'intervenants territoriaux, comme la société Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated, afin de mettre en œuvre l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut.

Le BRN vous invite à contribuer à ses efforts en vue de relever les défis et de saisir les occasions qui se présentent au Nunavut.

Nos bureaux

Le bureau régional du Nunavut d'AADNC est présent à quatre endroits dans le territoire. Deux bureaux sont situés à Iqaluit, un à Rankin Inlet et un autre à Kugluktuk.

Les Services exécutifs, la Direction des services ministériels, la Direction des affaires intergouvernementales et des relations avec les Inuits, la Direction des terres et des sites contaminés et le Bureau du conservateur des registres miniers sont maintenant situés dans l’Édifice Qimugjuk no 969 (immeuble du gouvernement du Canada situé au coin de Federal Road et de Nunavut Drive).
La Direction de la gestion des ressources, qui comprend les divisions des Ressources minérales, des Ressources hydriques, de l'Évaluation des répercussions et de l'Aménagement des terres, de même que la Division des terres de la Direction des terres et des sites contaminés sont situés dans le bâtiment 918 à Iqaluit.
L'agent de la gestion des ressources de la région de Kivalliq travaille au bureau de district à Rankin Inlet.
L'agent de gestion des ressources de la région de Kitikmeot travaille au bureau de district à Kugluktuk.
Date de modification :