Land and Environment

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) has a wide variety of responsibilities in Nunavut. Land, water, and mineral resources on Crown land are managed through the Operations directorate. The Intergovernmental Affairs and Inuit Relations directorate looks after Inuit interests as they pertain to their development, economic development, and the implementation of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement. The Contaminated Sites directorate handles the management and remediation of contaminated sites in Nunavut under AANDC's responsibility.

Regional employees also perform internal functions related to finance, human resources, informatics, contracts and administrative services, and information management.

Overseeing and coordinating all of these programs, services and operational responsibilities in Nunavut is the Executive Office, which includes the Regional Director General, advisors, policy and planning, and communications. The Executive Office maintains a close reporting relationship with AANDC headquarters in Ottawa.

Operations Directorate

Five divisions operate within this directorate. The Environment division coordinates regional environmental and land use planning activities associated with Article 11 and 12 of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement in order to guide resource use and development in Nunavut. The Land Administration division is responsible for the management of surface and subsurface rights on Crown land in Nunavut to ensure the wise use of land resources through legislation and policies. The Mineral Resources division manages sustainable mineral resource development on Nunavut's Crown land. The Water Resources division's role is to conserve, protect and increase understanding of Nunavut's water resources. The Field Operations division inspects and enforces leases, licences, and permits issued by the department in Nunavut.

Contaminated Sites Directorate

The Contaminated Sites directorate manages contaminated sites located on Crown land in Nunavut that fall under Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada's control. This is done by identifying waste/contaminated sites located on Crown land for which the department is liable, assessing environmental impacts, cleaning up and managing contaminated sites on a priority basis, providing advice to Northerners, and educating Nunavummiut on contaminants.

Date modified:

Terres et environnement

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) assume une vaste gamme de responsabilités au Nunavut. La direction des opérations gère les terres, les eaux et les ressources minérales sur les terres de la Couronne. La direction des affaires intergouvernementales et des relations avec les Inuits défend les intérêts des Inuits en ce qui a trait à leur perfectionnement, au développement économique et à la mise en oeuvre de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut. La direction des sites contaminés s'occupe de la gestion et de l'assainissement des sites contaminés du Nunavut qui relèvent d'AADNC.

Par ailleurs, les employés de la région remplissent des fonctions internes dans les domaines suivants : finances, ressources humaines, informatique, contrats et services administratifs et gestion de l'information.

Le Bureau de la direction générale supervise et coordonne les programmes, les services et les responsabilités opérationnelles au Nunavut. Il comprend le directeur général régional, des conseillers, ainsi que les services de l'élaboration des politiques et de la planification et le service des communications. Le Bureau de la direction générale maintient des relations étroites avec l'administration centrale d'AADNC, à Ottawa.

Direction des opérations

On trouve cinq divisions au sein de cette direction. La division de l'environnement coordonne les activités régionales en matière d'environnement et d'aménagement du territoire, en lien avec les articles 11 et 12 de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut, de façon à orienter l'utilisation et l'exploitation des ressources au Nunavut. La division de l'administration des terres est responsable de la gestion des droits de surface et des droits d'exploitation du sous-sol sur les terres de la Couronne au Nunavut; elle assure l'utilisation judicieuse des ressources foncières par l'entremise de lois et de politiques. La division des ressources minérales gère la mise en valeur durable des ressources minérales sur les terres de la Couronne au Nunavut. Le rôle de la division des ressources hydriques consiste à préserver et à protéger les ressources hydriques du Nunavut et à mieux les faire connaître. La division des opérations régionales inspecte les baux, les licences et les permis émis par le Ministère au Nunavut et s'assure que les conditions qui y sont associées soient respectées.

Direction des sites contaminés

La direction des sites contaminés gère ceux qui sont situés sur les terres de la Couronne au Nunavut et qui sont sous le contrôle d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada. Elle détermine quels sites contaminés se trouvant sur les terres de la Couronne relèvent du Ministère, évalue les répercussions environnementales, nettoie et gère les sites contaminés en ordre de priorité, donne des conseils aux résidants du Nord, et informe les Nunavummiuts au sujet des contaminants.

Date de modification :