Why is Canada Negotiating Treaties in BC?

Treaties have been called the great unfinished business of British Columbia. Through the 19th and early 20th centuries, the federal government signed the majority of treaties with Aboriginal people across the rest of Canada. However, very few treaties were negotiated or concluded in BC.

Today, Canada, BC and First Nations are negotiating modern treaties to resolve questions of uncertainty with respect to ownership or use of land and resources and the application of laws. Modern treaty negotiations flow from the agreement of Canada, BC and First Nations to establish a new relationship based on trust, mutual respect and understanding.

Unfinished Business

Treaty making in Canada began soon after European settlers landed in the Americas. The British government, favouring cooperation with Aboriginal people, declared that only the Crown could acquire land from Aboriginals. This set the stage for the negotiation of treaties with Canada's indigenous people. This approach was generally respected across the country.

In BC, however, very few treaties were signed. The Douglas Treaties, completed in the 1850s, covered part of Vancouver Island and, in 1899, Treaty 8 was extended to include part of northeastern British Columbia. That agreement was made between First Nations and the federal government. The Province of British Columbia, created in 1871, did not recognize Aboriginal title. Its policy stated that all issues relating to "Indians" were the exclusive jurisdiction of the federal government.

Canada stopped treaty negotiations in 1921, but resumed in 1973 in response to a ruling from the Supreme Court of Canada. In 1990, the province joined negotiations, paving the way for the current BC treaty negotiation process.

Canada's Constitution Act (1982) – the supreme law of the land – states that "the Aboriginal and treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada are hereby recognized and affirmed." The Supreme Court of Canada has also affirmed in several cases that Aboriginal rights exist in law.

However, neither the Constitution nor the Supreme Court have defined or described the nature, scope and extent of Aboriginal rights and title across BC. In fact, the courts have repeatedly encouraged governments and First Nations to settle the question of rights through negotiation, rather than litigation.

Treaty negotiations will allow us to fairly and fully resolve legal questions about Aboriginal rights and title through respectful negotiations. Negotiated resolutions are essential to avoid protracted and expensive legal disputes and related economic disruptions.

Closing the Gap

The socio-economic conditions of First Nation communities lag behind other communities in BC. British Columbians and other Canadians have said that they would like to see improvements in these conditions.

Treaties will provide First Nations in BC with the economic and social tools to promote self-reliant communities, and with the capacity to identify and implement their own solutions to difficult economic and social problems. As well, the province's overall economic and social well-being will benefit from strong, self-reliant First Nation communities.

A Stronger Economy

Ongoing questions about Aboriginal rights and title in BC cost potentially billions of dollars in lost investment. Economic activities are sometimes delayed or disrupted, and court cases over rights and title have consumed millions of dollars.

Negotiated treaties will provide the certainty BC needs, and help create a strong economic base for First Nations communities and their neighbours.

Pourquoi le Canada négocie-t-il des traités?

On a dit des traités qu'il s'agit de la grande page inachevée de l'histoire de la Colombie-Britannique. Tout au long du XIXe et au début du XXe siècles, le gouvernement fédéral a conclu des traités avec la majorité des Autochtones du reste du Canada. Toutefois, très peu de traités ont été négociés ou signés ici.

Aujourd'hui, le Canada, la Colombie-Britannique et les Premières nations négocient des traités modernes afin d'éliminer l'incertitude relative aux droits de propriété et d'exploitation des terres et des ressources, ainsi qu'à l'application des lois. Les traités modernes reposent sur la volonté du Canada, de la C.-B. et des Premières nations d'établir une nouvelle relations fondée la confiance, et sur le respect et la compréhension mutuels.

La page inachevée

L'établissement des traités au Canada a commencé peu après l'arrivée des Européens en Amérique. Le gouvernement britannique, favorable à la coopération avec les Autochtones, a déclaré que seule la Couronne pouvait faire l'acquisition de leurs terres. Ainsi furent jetées les bases de la négociation des traités avec les peuples autochtones du Canada. Cette démarche a généralement été adoptée dans l'ensemble du pays.

Toutefois, très peu de traités ont été signés en Colombie-Britannique. Les traités Douglas, conclus dans les années 1850, visaient une partie de l'île de Vancouver, et la portée du Traité no 8, établi en 1899, a été élargie pour qu'il inclue une partie du nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique. Cette dernière entente liait les Premières nations et le gouvernement fédéral. La province de la Colombie-Britannique, créée en 1871, ne reconnaissait pas le titre ancestral des Autochtones. Elle avait pour principe déclaré que toutes les questions concernant les « Indiens » étaient de la compétence exclusive du gouvernement fédéral.

Le Canada a cessé de négocier des traités en 1921, puis recommencé en 1973 en conséquence d'une décision de la Cour suprême du Canada. En 1990, la province s'est jointe aux négociations, ouvrant la voie à l'actuel processus des traités de la Colombie-Britannique.

La Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, loi suprême du Canada, établit que « [l]es droits existants – ancestraux ou issus de traités – des peuples autochtones du Canada sont reconnus et confirmés. » La Cour suprême du Canada a en outre statué dans plusieurs affaires que les droits ancestraux des Autochtones existent en droit.

Cependant, ni la Constitution ni les décisions de la Cour suprême n'ont défini ou décrit la nature, la portée et l'étendue des droits des Autochtones de la Colombie-Britannique. De fait, les cours ont sans cesse encouragé les gouvernements et les Premières nations à régler la question des droits par la négociation plutôt que par des litiges.

Les traités nous permettront de résoudre de manière équitable l'ensemble des questions juridiques relatives aux droits et aux titres ancestraux par le biais de négociations menées dans le respect. La négociation de solutions est essentielle si l'on veut éviter de longs et coûteux litiges et les perturbations économiques qui en découlent.

Combler l'écart

Les conditions socioéconomiques des communautés autochtones sont bien moins bonnes que celles des autres communautés de la Colombie-Britannique. Les citoyens de la province et du reste du Canada ont affirmé qu'ils aimeraient voir ces conditions s'améliorer.

L'établissement de traités donnera aux Premières nations de la Colombie-Britannique les outils sociaux et économiques dont elles ont besoin pour arriver à l'autosuffisance et leur permettra de trouver et de mettre en œuvre leurs propres solutions aux problèmes auxquels elles font face. De plus, le bien-être socioéconomique général de la province se trouvera renforcé par l'établissement de collectivités autochtones saines et autonomes.

Une économie saine

L'incertitude qui règne relativement aux droits et aux titres ancestraux en Colombie-Britannique coûte des milliards de dollars en investissements potentiels. Elle entraîne le report ou la perturbation de certaines activités économiques, et des millions de dollars ont été engloutis par les litiges sur ces sujets.

Les traités négociés établiront la certitude dont la province a besoin et faciliteront la création d'une assise économique solide pour les collectivités autochtones, ainsi que pour les collectivités qui les entourent.