Tsawwassen Final Agreement: Tsawwassen Lands

PDF Version  
(506 Kb, 4 Pages)

 


The Tsawwassen Final Agreement was negotiated by the Government of Canada, the Government of British Columbia and Tsawwassen First Nation. The Final Agreement provides Tsawwassen First Nation with certain rights and benefits regarding land and resources, and self-government over its lands and resources and its members. It provides certainty with respect to ownership and management of lands and resources and the exercise of federal, provincial and Tsawwassen governmental powers and authorities.

Tsawwassen Lands

The Final Agreement land package consists of approximately 724 hectares of treaty settlement land for Tsawwassen First Nation. This includes approximately 290 hectares of former reserves and 372 hectares of former provincial Crown land. Tsawwassen First Nation will also own in fee simple an additional 62 hectares of other land comprised of the Boundary Bay and Fraser River parcels, but this land will remain under the jurisdiction of the Corporation of Delta.

Federal and provincial laws will apply to all lands owned by Tsawwassen First Nation. Under the treaty, Tsawwassen First Nation will own two types of land. The majority of the land, approximately 662 hectares, will be called Tsawwassen Lands. The First Nation will have law-making authority over this land and will own the subsurface resources beneath it.

Tsawwassen First Nation will own, but not have law-making authority over, the remaining 62 hectares of land (the Boundary Bay and Fraser River parcels) that will transfer to Tsawwassen First Nation as private fee-simple land. This land falls within the boundaries of the Corporation of Delta. Tsawwassen First Nation will not own the subsurface resources beneath this land.

Tsawwassen treaty settlement lands will be transferred to the First Nation as of the effective date of the treaty. The Final Agreement sets out that all parcels will be registered in the BC Land Title Office. Using the provincial land registration system for land administration will provide Tsawwassen First Nation with greater flexibility and efficiency than current systems for administering reserve lands.

The Highway 17 corridor and Deltaport Way are not part of Tsawwassen Lands and will remain provincial land.

Tsawwassen First Nation will have rights of refusal for 80 years after the treaty takes effect to purchase approximately 278 hectares of lands north of Tsawwassen Lands (Brunswick Point lands) if the people currently leasing these lands choose not to buy them or decide to sell them later.

While all parties agree that as a general principle Tsawwassen Lands will not be subject to expropriation, the Final Agreement contains processes that allow Canada or British Columbia to expropriate Tsawwassen Lands if certain requirements are met.

This map shows the different type of lands that make up the Tsawwassen Final Agreement land package: Tsawwassen Lands, Other Lands, Specified Lands, On Effective Date Former BC Crown Lands within ALR and On Effective Date Former BC Crown lands not within ALR.
This map shows the different type of lands that make up the Tsawwassen Final Agreement land package: Tsawwassen Lands, Other Lands, Specified Lands, On Effective Date Former BC Crown Lands within ALR and On Effective Date Former BC Crown lands not within ALR.

Additions to Tsawwassen Lands

If Tsawwassen First Nation purchases land within the Brunswick Point lands within 50 years after the effective date of the treaty, Tsawwassen First Nation may add these lands to its treaty settlement lands.

Following this 50-year period, Tsawwassen First Nation can add lands to its treaty settlement lands if it purchases the land from willing sellers, but the federal, provincial and municipal governments must consent to the addition.

Tsawwassen Lands and the Agricultural Land Reserve

All provincial Crown lands in the Tsawwassen Final Agreement are in the Agricultural Land Reserve (ALR). On the effective date of the treaty, 207 hectares of this land will be removed from the ALR. The remaining provincial Crown land component of about 227 hectares, including the Boundary Bay parcels, will remain in the ALR.

The ALR designation does not apply to federal land. The Final Agreement provides that the 290 hectares of former reserve land will remain excluded from the ALR to ensure that the designation does not apply once the land transfers to Tsawwassen First Nation.

In the future, if Tsawwassen First Nation wishes to have additional land removed from the ALR it can apply to the Agricultural Land Commission through the process set out in the Agricultural Land Commission Act.

Land use planning

Tsawwassen First Nation may participate in any provincial land use planning process affecting Tsawwassen territory.

Leases and licences on Tsawwassen Lands

The terms and conditions of continuing leases and licences on former Tsawwassen First Nation reserve land will be respected after the treaty comes into effect.

Tsawwassen water lots

When the treaty takes effect, British Columbia will issue water lot leases to Tsawwassen First Nation. Tsawwassen First Nation government will have the authority to regulate activities on the water lots to ensure public health and safety. All other authorities remain with the federal or provincial governments.

Access

The Final Agreement includes provisions to ensure public access for rights-of-way and navigable waters, and specific access for owners of adjacent fee-simple parcels and tenure-holders. Residents of Tsawwassen Lands, including leaseholders, will continue to have access to their properties.

Highways will remain provincial Crown land and are specifically excluded from Tsawwassen Lands. Other roads which may become Tsawwassen Lands will remain open to public use.

Access is also provided under specific terms in the Final Agreement to permit law enforcement, emergency responses and public utility installations.

Reconciliation Fund

On the effective date of the treaty, British Columbia and Canada will pay Tsawwassen First Nation $440,000 to establish a Reconciliation Fund for purposes related to legacy projects.

Overlaps with neighbouring First Nations

In British Columbia , traditional territories claimed by First Nations often overlap. As part of the British Columbia treaty process, First Nations must establish a process to resolve overlaps and report to the British Columbia Treaty Commission on the progress of discussions with other First Nations.

 

Tsawwassen First Nation – Land Facing the Sea

The Tsawwassen are proud, sea-faring Coast Salish people who have long travelled and fished the waterways of the southern Strait of Georgia and lower Fraser River. The main Tsawwassen community is located on the waterfront adjacent to Delta. Tsawwassen First Nation lists its membership at 358 people, about half of whom live on reserve.


If you would like more information about the Tsawwassen Final Agreement, contact:

Canada
Tsawwassen First Nation
British Columbia
Canada
Indian and Northern Affairs Canada BC Region
600-1138 Melville St.
Vancouver, BC V6E 4S3
1-800-567-9604
infopubs@inac.gc.ca
Tsawwassen First Nation
Tsawwassen First Nation  
#131 N Tsawwassen Drive
Delta, BC V4M 4G2
604-943-2112
info@
tsawwassen
firstnation.com
British Columbia
Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation  
PO Box 9100 Stn Prov Govt
Victoria, BC V8W 9B1
1-800-880-1022
ABRInfo
@gov.bc.ca

Accord définitif Tsawwassen: Terres Tsawwassen

format PDF  
(516 Ko, 4 pages)

 


L'Accord définitif Tsawwassen a été négocié par le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique et la Première nation de Tsawwassen. Il accorde à la Première nation de Tsawwassen certains droits et avantages quant aux terres et ressources, et un pouvoir d'autonomie gouvernementale sur ses terres, ses ressources et ses citoyens. De plus, il lève les incertitudes quant à la propriété et à la gestion des terres et des ressources et à l'exercice des pouvoirs gouvernementaux du fédéral, de la province et de la Première nation.

Terres Tsawwassen

L'Accord définitif comporte une enveloppe foncière comprenant environ 724 hectares de terres visées par le règlement conventionnel à la Première nation de Tsawwassen. Cela comprend environ 290 hectares d'anciennes réserves et 372 hectares d'anciennes terres publiques provinciales. La Première nation de Tsawwassen détiendra en outre en fief simple 62 hectares d'autres terres comprises dans les parcelles de la baie Boundary et du fleuve Fraser, mais ces terres resteront du ressort de la Corporation de Delta.

Les lois fédérales et provinciales s'appliqueront à toutes les terres appartenant à la Première nation de Tsawwassen. Aux termes du traité, la Première nation de Tsawwassen sera propriétaire de deux types de terres. La plupart des terres, d'une superficie d'environ 662 hectares, seront appelées terres Tsawwassen. La première nation aura un pouvoir législatif sur ces terres et sera propriétaire de leurs ressources tréfoncières.

La Première nation de Tsawwassen aura le titre de propriété, mais pas de pouvoir législatif, sur les 62 hectares de terre restants (les parcelles de la baie Boundary et du fleuve Fraser) qui seront transférés à la Première nation de Tsawwassen à titre de terres privées en fief simple. Ces terrains sont dans les limites de la Corporation de Delta. La Première nation de Tsawwassen ne sera pas propriétaire des ressources tréfoncières de ces terrains.

Les terres visées par le règlement conventionnel avec Tsawwassen seront transférées à la Première nation à la date d'entrée en vigueur du traité. L'Accord définitif prévoit que toutes les parcelles seront enregistrées auprès du bureau du cadastre de la Colombie-Britannique. Le système provincial d'enregistrement des terres offrira à la Première nation de Tsawwassen une plus grande marge de manœuvre et plus d'efficacité en matière d'administration foncière que les systèmes actuels d'administration des terres de réserve.

Le couloir de la route 17 et du chemin Deltaport ne font pas partie des terres Tsawwassen et resteront terres provinciales.

La Première nation de Tsawwassen aura, pendant 80 ans après l'entrée en vigueur du traité, un droit de premier refus sur l'achat d'environ 278 hectares de terres au nord des terres Tsawwassen (terres de Brunswick Point) si les personnes qui actuellement prennent ces terres en location décident de ne pas les acheter ou décident ultérieurement de les vendre.

Quoique toutes les parties soient d'accord en principe avec le fait que les terres Tsawwassen ne seront pas sujettes à expropriation, l'Accord définitif prévoit des processus permettant au Canada et à la Colombie-Britannique d'exproprier des terres Tsawwassen dans certaines circonstances.

Cette carte montre les différents types de terres de l'Accord définitif de la Première nation Tsawwassen : Terres Tsawwassen, autres terres, terres visées, anciennes terres de la Couronne en Colombie-Britannique dans la RTA à la date d’entrée en vigueur et terres de la Couronne en Colombie-Britannique qui ne relèvent pas de la RTA à la date d’entrée en vigueur.
Cette carte montre les différents types de terres de l'Accord définitif de la Première nation Tsawwassen : Terres Tsawwassen, autres terres, terres visées, anciennes terres de la Couronne en Colombie-Britannique dans la RTA à la date d’entrée en vigueur et terres de la Couronne en Colombie-Britannique qui ne relèvent pas de la RTA à la date d’entrée en vigueur.

Ajouts aux terres Tsawwassen

Si la Première nation de Tsawwassen achète des terres dans le secteur dit Brunswick Point dans un délai de 50 ans après la date d'entrée en vigueur du traité, la Première nation de Tsawwassen pourra ajouter ces terres aux terres visées par son règlement conventionnel.

Après cette période de 50 ans, la Première nation de Tsawwassen pourra ajouter aux terres visées par son règlement conventionnel des terres achetées à des vendeurs agissant de leur plein gré, mais les gouvernements fédéral, provincial et municipaux doivent consentir aux ajouts.

Terres Tsawwassen et réserve de terres agricoles

Toutes les terres provinciales de la Couronne qui font partie de l'Accord définitif Tsawwassen appartiennent à la réserve de terres agricoles (RTA). À la date d'entrée en vigueur du traité, 207 hectares de ces terres seront retirés de la RTA. L'autre composante foncière des terres provinciales de la Couronne, qui comporte environ 227 hectares et comprend les parcelles de la baie Boundary, demeurera dans la RTA.

La désignation RTA ne s'applique pas aux terres fédérales. L'Accord définitif prévoit que les 290 hectares d'anciennes terres de réserve resteront exclus de la RTA pour garantir que cette désignation ne s'appliquera pas lorsque les terres seront transférées à la Première nation.

À l'avenir, si la Première nation de Tsawwassen souhaite que d'autres terres soient retirées de la RTA, elle pourra en faire la demande à la commission des terres agricoles dans le cadre de la procédure prévue par l'Agricultural Land Commission Act.

Aménagement du territoire

La Première nation de Tsawwassen peut participer à tout processus provincial d'aménagement du territoire qui concerne son territoire.

Baux et permis sur les terres Tsawwassen

Les modalités et conditions des baux et permis en vigueur sur les anciennes terres de réserve de la Première nation de Tsawwassen seront respectées après l'entrée en vigueur du traité.

Lots d'eau Tsawwassen

Lorsque le traité sera en vigueur, la Colombie-Britannique délivrera des baux de lots d'eau à la Première nation de Tsawwassen. Le gouvernement de la Première nation de Tsawwassen aura le pouvoir de réglementer les activités sur les lots d'eau pour les besoins de la santé publique et de la sécurité publique. Tous les autres pouvoirs pertinents restent l'attribution du gouvernement fédéral ou provincial.

Accès

L'Accord définitif contient des dispositions garantissant l'accès du public aux emprises et aux eaux navigables, et un droit d'accès spécifique pour les propriétaires de parcelles adjacentes en fief simple et les détenteurs de tenures. Les résidents des terres Tsawwassen, y compris les locataires, continueront d'avoir accès à leurs propriétés.

Les routes resteront terres publiques provinciales et sont expressément exclues des terres Tsawwassen. Les voies d'accès susceptibles de devenir des terres Tsawwassen resteront ouvertes au public.

L'Accord définitif prévoit également un droit d'accès explicite pour les besoins du maintien de l'ordre, de la protection civile et des services publics.

Fonds de réconciliation

À la date d'entrée en vigueur du traité, la Colombie-Britannique et le Canada verseront à la Première nation de Tsawwassen 440 000 $ pour établir un fonds de réconciliation en rapport avec divers projets commémoratifs.

Chevauchements avec les Premières nations voisines

En Colombie-Britannique, les territoires traditionnels revendiqués par les Premières nations se chevauchent souvent. Dans le cadre du processus des traités de la Colombie-Britannique, les Premières nations doivent établir un processus pour résoudre les chevauchements et faire rapport à la Commission des traités de la Colombie-Britannique sur l'état des discussions entre Premières nations.



Première nation de Tsawwassen – La Terre face à la mer

Les Tsawwassen sont un fier peuple de navigateurs appartenant au groupe des Salish du littoral qui ont pendant longtemps voyagé et pêché dans les voies d'eau du sud du détroit de Georgia et du bassin du bas Fraser. La principale collectivité Tsawwassen est située sur le front de mer limitrophe de la municipalité de Delta. La Première nation de Tsawwassen compte 358 membres, dont la moitié environ vivent dans une réserve.



Canada
Tsawwassen First Nation
British Columbia
Canada
Affaires Indiennes et du Nord Canada Région de la C.-B.
1138 rue Melville, bureau 600
Vancouver, (C.-B.) V6E 4S3
1-800-567-9604
infopubs@ainc-inac.gc.ca
Tsawwassen First Nation
Tsawwassen First Nation   (site web non disponible en français)
#131 N Tsawwassen Drive
Delta, BC V4M 4G2
604-943-2112
info@
tsawwassen
firstnation.com
Colombie-Britannique
Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation   (site web non disponible en français)
PO Box 9100 Stn Prov Govt
Victoria, BC V8W 9B1
1-800-880-1022
ABRInfo
@gov.bc.ca