Tsawwassen Final Agreement: General Overview

PDF Version  
(1,546 Kb, 6 Pages)

 


The Tsawwassen Final Agreement was negotiated by the Government of Canada, the Government of British Columbia and Tsawwassen First Nation. The Final Agreement provides Tsawwassen First Nation with certain rights and benefits regarding land and resources, and self-government over its lands and resources and its members. It provides certainty with respect to ownership and management of lands and resources and the exercise of federal, provincial and Tsawwassen governmental powers and authorities.

Benefits of a treaty

A treaty with Tsawwassen First Nation will bring certainty with respect to all of Tsawwassen First Nation's Aboriginal rights throughout the Tsawwassen First Nation claimed traditional territory, which covers approximately 279,600 hectares including the waters of the southern Strait of Georgia. It will provide Tsawwassen First Nation with the modern governance tools to build strong and workable relationships with federal, provincial and local governments.

Canada, British Columbia and Tsawwassen First Nation expect that a treaty will resolve long-standing issues regarding undefined Aboriginal rights and title, and bring certainty and economic benefits not only to Tsawwassen members but to the entire region.

This map shows the geographic location of the Tsawwassen Territory, the provincial parks within the territory and nearby national parks.
This map shows the geographic location of the Tsawwassen Territory, the provincial parks within the territory and nearby national parks.

Tsawwassen government

The Tsawwassen Final Agreement will operate within the framework of the Constitution of Canada, and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms will apply to the Tsawwassen First Nation government.

With the exception of determining Indian status, after a transition period the Indian Act will no longer apply to Tsawwassen First Nation, its lands or members. Instead, constitutionally-protected self-government provisions will enable Tsawwassen First Nation to make its own decisions on matters related to the preservation of its culture, the exercise of its treaty rights and the operation of its government.

The Final Agreement requires Tsawwassen First Nation to have a constitution that provides for government that is democratically and financially accountable to its members.

Residents on Tsawwassen Lands who are not Tsawwassen members may participate in the decision-making processes of a Tsawwassen public institution, such as a school or health board, if the activities of that institution directly and significantly affect them. Non-members may vote in, and stand for, election to a Tsawwassen public institution, or the Tsawwassen government may appoint non-members to sit as board members of these institutions. However, Tsawwassen First Nation may provide that a majority of the members of a Tsawwassen public institution must be Tsawwassen members. Non-members will have the same rights of appeal as members.

There will be non-member representation on any Tsawwassen First Nation public institution that makes decisions relating to taxation matters that directly and significantly affect non-members. The non-member representative will be selected by non-members and will have the ability to participate in discussions and vote on taxation matters that directly and significantly affect non-members.

Tsawwassen Lands

The Final Agreement land package consists of approximately 724 hectares of treaty settlement land for Tsawwassen First Nation. This includes approximately 290 hectares of former reserves and 372 hectares of former provincial Crown land. Tsawwassen First Nation will also own in fee simple an additional 62 hectares of other land comprised of the Boundary Bay and Fraser River parcels, but this land will remain under the jurisdiction of the Corporation of Delta.

This map shows the different type of lands that make up the Tsawwassen Final Agreement land package: Tsawwassen Lands, Other Lands, Specified Lands, On Effective Date Former BC Crown Lands within ALR and On Effective Date Former BC Crown lands not within ALR.
This map shows the different type of lands that make up the Tsawwassen Final Agreement land package: Tsawwassen Lands, Other Lands, Specified Lands, On Effective Date Former BC Crown Lands within ALR and On Effective Date Former BC Crown lands not within ALR.

Wildlife and migratory birds

Under the treaty, Tsawwassen First Nation will have the right to harvest wildlife and migratory birds for food, social and ceremonial purposes within the Tsawwassen traditional territory, including in national and provincial parks. This right is limited by measures necessary for conservation, public health and public safety.

Federal and provincial laws will apply on Tsawwassen Lands and throughout the Tsawwassen traditional territory. Tsawwassen laws with respect to the management of the harvesting of wildlife and migratory birds will apply to Tsawwassen members. Federal and provincial laws on the use and possession of firearms will apply.

Given the limited wildlife harvest opportunities and the likelihood of fewer opportunities in the future, Canada and British Columbia will provide Tsawwassen First Nation $50,000 to establish a Wildlife Fund.

This map shows the geographic location of the Tsawwassen Territory, the Tsawwassen Lands, the Tsawwassen Migratory Bird and Wildlife Harvest Areas and the provincial parks within Tsawwassen Territory.
This map shows the geographic location of the Tsawwassen Territory, the Tsawwassen Lands, the Tsawwassen Migratory Bird and Wildlife Harvest Areas and the provincial parks within Tsawwassen Territory

Tsawwassen food, social and ceremonial fishery

Under the treaty, Tsawwassen First Nation will have the right to harvest fish and aquatic plants for food, social and ceremonial purposes, subject to conservation, public health and public safety. This right will be exercised within defined geographic areas known as the Tsawwassen Fishing Area and Tsawwassen Intertidal Bivalve Fishing Area, as described in the Final Agreement. Fishing will be in accordance with a harvest document issued by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans.

The Final Agreement provides for Tsawwassen First Nation's treaty allocations of salmon for food, social and ceremonial purposes. Allocations for sockeye, chum and chinook are based on annual abundance and will vary depending on the size, in any given year, of the Canadian Total Allowable Catch (CTAC) for Fraser River sockeye and chinook salmon and the Terminal Surplus for Fraser River chum salmon. The CTAC and Terminal Surplus are determined by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans every year.

This map shows the geographic location of the Tsawwassen Territory, the Tsawwassen Fishing Area and the Tsawwassen Intertidal Bivalve Area.
This map shows the geographic location of the Tsawwassen Territory, the Tsawwassen Fishing Area and the Tsawwassen Intertidal Bivalve Area.

Allocations of fish for food, social and ceremonial purposes

Sockeye salmon

  • When the CTAC for Fraser River sockeye is 500,000 or lower, Tsawwassen First Nation's allocation will be 1.0 per cent of the CTAC for Fraser River sockeye.
  • When the CTAC for Fraser River sockeye is more than 500,000 and less than 3,000,000, the Tsawwassen First Nation allocation will be 5,000 Fraser River sockeye plus 0.40904 per cent of any portion of Fraser River sockeye CTAC that is greater than 500,000 (but still less than 3,000,000).
  • When the CTAC for Fraser River sockeye is 3,000,000 or more, the treaty allocation will not exceed a maximum of 15,226 Fraser River sockeye for the year.

If the allocation were applied to the abundance levels for the years 1992 to 2003, it would have averaged 12,000 Fraser River sockeye per year over those years.

Chinook salmon

  • The Tsawwassen First Nation allocation for chinook is a formula based on the CTAC. If the formula were applied to the abundance levels for the years 1982 to 2004, the allocation would have averaged 625 Fraser River chinook over those years.

Coho salmon

  • The Tsawwassen First Nation allocation for Fraser River coho is the amount caught incidentally during fisheries for other species, or using selective harvesting techniques to target specific coho stocks. The annual average harvest is to be 500 Fraser River coho.

Chum salmon

  • In any year, the Tsawwassen First Nation allocation for chum will be 2.58 per cent of the Terminal Surplus of Fraser River chum, to a maximum of 2,576 pieces.

Pink salmon

  • The Tsawwassen First Nation allocation for pink salmon is set at the number caught incidentally as part of the sockeye harvest, to a maximum of 2,500 Fraser River pink salmon per year.

Non-allocated species – food, social and ceremonial purposes

The Final Agreement leaves some species of fish and aquatic plants non-allocated, such as crab and intertidal bivalves. A process has been set out in the Final Agreement to establish allocations at the request of Tsawwassen First Nation, Canada or British Columbia. Crab fisheries for food, social and ceremonial purposes will be non-allocated for a period of 12 years after the effective date of the treaty, during which time Tsawwassen First Nation may harvest crabs using up to 50 traps per vessel. A crab allocation will be established after 12 years, in accordance with the process set out in the Final Agreement.

Tsawwassen harvest agreement

A Harvest Agreement, separate from the Final Agreement, provides for commercial fishing licences to be issued to Tsawwassen First Nation. These licences would authorize Tsawwassen First Nation to harvest up to 0.78 per cent of the Canadian commercial total allowable catch for Fraser River sockeye, 3.27 per cent of terminal commercial catch of Fraser River chum, and 0.78 per cent of the Canadian commercial total allowable catch of Fraser River pink salmon.

The Harvest Agreement also allows for up to five commercial crab licences to be issued to Tsawwassen First Nation.

Forestry

Tsawwassen First Nation will own all timber resources on Tsawwassen Lands, and will receive $100,000 from Canada and British Columbia to establish a Forest Resources Fund.

Inter-governmental relations

After the effective date of the treaty, Tsawwassen First Nation will become a member of the Greater Vancouver Regional District (GVRD) and will appoint a director to the GVRD board. Tsawwassen First Nation will pay for core mandatory services in the GVRD, such as air quality, strategic planning, 911, regional parks and general government.

Tsawwassen First Nation and the Greater Vancouver Water District may enter into a water services agreement, and Tsawwassen First Nation may also enter into service agreements with other local governments.

Financial components

The Tsawwassen Final Agreement will provide Tsawwassen First Nation with a capital transfer of approximately $13.9 million over 10 years. Tsawwassen First Nation will pay back to Canada, over the same period, the loans taken to negotiate the treaty.

In consideration of the release by Tsawwassen First Nation of the rights to the mines and minerals under previously surrendered reserve lands, Canada will provide Tsawwassen First Nation $2.0 million.

Funding for the programs and services that the Tsawwassen government has agreed to administer will be provided through the Fiscal Financing Agreement, renegotiated every five years, which provides for fiscal transfers from Canada and British Columbia. These transfers support program and service delivery by Tsawwassen First Nation to its members and residents, as well as funding to support activities to implement the treaty. The agreement provides for one-time and ongoing funding: one-time funding is $15.8 million; ongoing funding in the first Fiscal Financing Agreement will be $2.8 million per year.

The Tsawwassen Final Agreement represents a fundamental change in the fiscal relationship between the federal government and Tsawwassen First Nation. The Tsawwassen government will have strengthened autonomy and be fully accountable to its members and residents of its treaty settlement lands for financial decisions. The Tsawwassen government will also be accountable to other public governments for the financial transfers it receives, so the government that provides the funding can ensure that public funds were used for their intended purposes.

Tsawwassen First Nation will contribute to the funding of agreed upon programs and services from its own sources of revenue. The Own Source Revenue Agreement negotiated among Canada, British Columbia and Tsawwassen First Nation sets out how the First Nation's contribution to the costs of programs and services it delivers to its members and residents will change in step with its capacity to generate revenues.

Taxation is an important element of the Tsawwassen Final Agreement as it can contribute to the foundation of future revenue capacity for the Tsawwassen First Nation government. The Indian Act tax exemption for Tsawwassen citizens will be phased out after eight years for transaction (i.e., sales) taxes and 12 years for other taxes, including income tax. The Tsawwassen government will have the ability to levy direct taxes on its members within Tsawwassen Lands.

Public input into the Final Agreement

Treaty negotiators rely on the advice of local stakeholders to ensure that the interests of the broader community are fairly represented. Over the past decade, consultations on a wide range of subjects have been held with local and regional governments, third parties and community interests. Since 2002, over 20 public meetings have been held, including public information open houses and open main tables in the community. There have also been numerous ongoing consultations with local governments and third parties.

After the Final Agreement is initialled and the ratification process begins, Canada, British Columbia and Tsawwassen First Nation will continue to communicate with local stakeholders and the general public on the Final Agreement.

Overlaps

First Nations' claimed traditional territories can and do overlap. In British Columbia, there are often multiple, overlapping claims. As part of the British Columbia treaty process, First Nations must establish a process to resolve overlaps.

Canada, British Columbia and Tsawwassen First Nation are consulting with neighbouring First Nations and will continue to work to resolve any remaining overlap issues. The harvesting areas set out in the Final Agreement are not exclusive, and other First Nations and the general public may fish and hunt there as they do now on provincial Crown land.

Next steps

The Tsawwassen Final Agreement was ratified by Tsawwassen First Nation through a community vote held in July 2007. In October, the province of British Columbia introduced, and subsequently passed, settlement legislation to ratify the Tsawwassen Final Agreement.

Canada's ratification process requires that an authorized federal Cabinet Minister sign the Final Agreement, and that federal settlement legislation be approved and come into force. Once these steps are completed, the Tsawwassen Final Agreement will become a treaty and will be brought into effect on a date agreed to by the parties.

 

Tsawwassen First Nation – Land Facing the Sea

The Tsawwassen are proud, sea-faring Coast Salish people who have long travelled and fished the waterways of the southern Strait of Georgia and lower Fraser River. The main Tsawwassen community is located on the waterfront adjacent to Delta. Tsawwassen First Nation lists its membership at 358 people, about half of whom live on reserve.


If you would like more information about the Tsawwassen Final Agreement, contact:

Canada
Tsawwassen First Nation
British Columbia
Canada
Indian and Northern Affairs Canada BC Region
600-1138 Melville St.
Vancouver, BC V6E 4S3
1-800-567-9604
infopubs@inac.gc.ca
Tsawwassen First Nation
Tsawwassen First Nation  
#131 N Tsawwassen Drive
Delta, BC V4M 4G2
604-943-2112
info@
tsawwassen
firstnation.com
British Columbia
Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation  
PO Box 9100 Stn Prov Govt
Victoria, BC V8W 9B1
1-800-880-1022
ABRInfo
@gov.bc.ca

Accord définitif Tsawwassen: Aperçu

format PDF  
(1 558 Ko, 6 pages)

 


L'Accord définitif Tsawwassen a été négocié par le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique et la Première nation de Tsawwassen. Il accorde à la Première nation de Tsawwassen certains droits et avantages quant aux terres et ressources, et un pouvoir d'autonomie gouvernementale sur ses terres, ses ressources et ses citoyens. De plus, il lève les incertitudes quant à la propriété et à la gestion des terres et des ressources et à l'exercice des pouvoirs gouvernementaux du fédéral, de la province et de la Première nation.

Avantages d'un traité

Un traité avec la Première nation de Tsawwassen permettra d'établir la certitude quant aux droits ancestraux de la Première nation de Tsawwassen sur l'ensemble du territoire traditionnel qu'elle réclame, lequel s'étend sur environ 279 600 hectares, y compris les eaux du sud du détroit de Georgia. Un traité permettra à la Première nation de Tsawwassen d'acquérir les outils de gouvernance modernes nécessaires pour établir des relations solides et pratiques avec les gouvernements fédéral, provincial et locaux.

Le Canada, la Colombie-Britannique et la Première nation de Tsawwassen s'attendent à ce que le traité permette de résoudre les questions, depuis longtemps en suspens, des droits et du titre ancestraux non définis, et d'établir la certitude quant à ces droits, avec les avantages économiques que cela comporte, non seulement pour les membres de Tsawwassen, mais encore pour toute la région.

Cette carte montre l'emplacement géographique du territoire Tsawwassen, de même que les parcs provinciaux au sein de ce territoire et les parcs nationaux à proximité.
Cette carte montre l'emplacement géographique du territoire Tsawwassen, de même que les parcs provinciaux au sein de ce territoire et les parcs nationaux à proximité.

Gouvernement Tsawwassen

L'Accord définitif Tsawwassen sera appliqué dans le cadre de la Constitution du Canada, et la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés s'appliquera au gouvernement de la Première nation de Tsawwassen.

Sauf pour ce qui est de l'inscription des Indiens, après une période de transition, la Loi sur les Indiens cessera de s'appliquer à la Première nation de Tsawwassen, à ses terres et à ses membres. À la place, des dispositions d'autonomie gouvernementale protégées par la constitution permettront à la Première nation de Tsawwassen de prendre elle-même des décisions sur les questions concernant la préservation de sa culture, l'exercice de ses droits issus de traité et le fonctionnement de son gouvernement.

L'Accord définitif exige que la Première nation de Tsawwassen ait une constitution prévoyant un gouvernement démocratiquement et financièrement responsable envers ses membres.

Les personnes qui résident sur les terres Tsawwassen mais qui ne font pas partie de la Première nation de Tsawwassen peuvent participer au processus de prise de décision d'une institution publique de la Première nation de Tsawwassen, par exemple une école ou un conseil de santé, si les activités de cette institution les touchent directement et de façon notable. Les non-membres peuvent se présenter et voter aux élections à une institution publique de la Première nation de Tsawwassen, ou, à défaut, le gouvernement Tsawwassen peut nommer des non-membres pour siéger au conseil d'administration de ces institutions. Cependant, la Première nation de Tsawwassen peut prendre des dispositions prévoyant que la majorité des membres d'une institution publique Tsawwassen seront des membres Tsawwassen. Les non-membres auront les mêmes droits d'appel que les membres.

Les non-membres seront représentés aux institutions gouvernementales et publiques Tsawwassen susceptibles de prendre des décisions fiscales qui touchent les non-membres de façon directe et notable. Le représentant sera choisi par les non-membres, et cette personne aura la possibilité de participer aux discussions et de voter sur les questions fiscales qui touchent les non-membres de façon directe et notable.

Terres Tsawwassen

L'Accord définitif octroie environ 724 hectares de terres visées par le règlement conventionnel à la Première nation de Tsawwassen. Cela comprend environ 290 hectares d'anciennes réserves et 372 hectares d'anciennes terres publiques provinciales. En outre, la Première nation de Tsawwassen détiendra en fief simple 62 hectares d'autres terres comprises dans les parcelles de la baie Boundary et du fleuve Fraser, mais ces terres resteront du ressort de la Corporation de Delta.

Cette carte montre les différents types de terres de l'Accord définitif de la Première nation Tsawwassen : Terres Tsawwassen, autres terres, terres visées, anciennes terres de la Couronne en Colombie-Britannique dans la RTA à la date d’entrée en vigueur et terres de la Couronne en Colombie-Britannique qui ne relèvent pas de la RTA à la date d’entrée en vigueur.
Cette carte montre les différents types de terres de l'Accord définitif de la Première nation Tsawwassen : Terres Tsawwassen, autres terres, terres visées, anciennes terres de la Couronne en Colombie-Britannique dans la RTA à la date d’entrée en vigueur et terres de la Couronne en Colombie-Britannique qui ne relèvent pas de la RTA à la date d’entrée en vigueur.

Faune et oiseaux migrateurs

Aux termes du traité, la Première nation de Tsawwassen aura le droit d'exploiter la faune et les oiseaux migrateurs à des fins alimentaires, sociales et cérémonielles dans le territoire traditionnel Tsawwassen, y compris les parcs nationaux et provinciaux. Ce droit est limité par les mesures nécessaires à la conservation, à la santé publique et à la sécurité publique.

Les lois fédérales et provinciales s'appliqueront sur les terres Tsawwassen et dans tout le territoire traditionnel Tsawwassen. Les lois Tsawwassen concernant la gestion de la récolte de la faune et des oiseaux migrateurs s'appliqueront aux membres de Tsawwassen. Les lois fédérales et provinciales sur l'utilisation et la possession des armes à feu s'appliqueront.

Compte tenu du caractère limité des possibilités d'exploitation des ressources fauniques et de la probabilité de voir ces possibilités réduites encore davantage à l'avenir, le Canada versera 50 000 $ à la Première nation de Tsawwassen en vue de l'établissement d'un fonds de ressources fauniques.

Cette carte montre l'emplacement géographique du territoire Tsawwassen, des terres Tsawwassen, des secteurs de gestion de la faune et des oiseaux migrateurs Tsawwassen et des parcs provinciaux au sein du territoire Tsawwassen.
Cette carte montre l'emplacement géographique du territoire Tsawwassen, des terres Tsawwassen, des secteurs de gestion de la faune et des oiseaux migrateurs Tsawwassen et des parcs provinciaux au sein du territoire Tsawwassen.

Pêche aux fins alimentaires, sociales et cérémonielles de Tsawwassen

Aux termes du traité, la Première nation de Tsawwassen aura le droit de récolter du poisson et des plantes aquatiques à des fins alimentaires, sociales et cérémonielles, sous réserve des impératifs de la conservation, de la santé publique et de la sécurité publique. Ce droit sera exercé dans les limites de deux zones géographiques précises connues sous le nom de zone de pêche Tsawwassen et de zone de pêche des bivalves intertidaux Tsawwassen, décrites dans l'Accord définitif. L'activité de pêche se déroulera conformément au document de récolte délivré par le ministre des Pêches et Océans.

L'Accord définitif prévoit l'établissement, aux termes du traité avec la Première nation, d'allocations de saumon à des fins alimentaires, sociales et cérémonielles. Les allocations de saumon sockeye, de saumon kéta et de saumon quinnat seront fondées sur l'abondance annuelle des populations et dépendront de la taille, en une année donnée, du total des prises admissibles canadiennes (TPAC) de saumon sockeye et de saumon quinnat du fleuve Fraser, et de l'excédent en estuaire de saumon kéta du fleuve Fraser. Le TPAC et l'excédent en estuaire sont déterminés chaque année par le ministre des Pêches et Océans.

Cette carte montre l'emplacement géographique du territoire Tsawwassen, la zone de pêche Tsawwassen et du secteur des bivalves intertidaux Tsawwassen.
Cette carte montre l'emplacement géographique du territoire Tsawwassen, la zone de pêche Tsawwassen et du secteur des bivalves intertidaux Tsawwassen.

Allocations de poissons à des fins alimentaires, sociales et cérémonielles

Saumon sockeye

  • Lorsque le TPAC de saumon sockeye du Fraser est égal ou inférieur à 500 000, l'allocation de la Première nation de Tsawwassen sera de 1 pour cent du TPAC de saumon sockeye du Fraser.
  • Lorsque le TPAC de saumon sockeye du Fraser est de plus de 500 000 et de moins de 3 000 000, l'allocation de la Première nation de Tsawwassen sera de 5 000 pièces de saumon sockeye du Fraser plus 0,40904 pour cent de la partie de ce TPAC qui excède 500 000 (mais sans dépasser 3 000 000).
  • Lorsque le TPAC de saumon sockeye du Fraser est égal ou supérieur à 3 000 000, l'allocation prévue par le traité sera plafonnée à 15 226 pièces de saumon sockeye du Fraser pour l'année.

Si l'allocation avait été calculée en fonction des niveaux d'abondance des années 1992 à 2003, elle aurait été en moyenne de 12 000 pièces de saumon sockeye du Fraser par an pendant cette période.

Saumon quinnat

  • L'allocation de quinnat de la Première nation de Tsawwassen est fonction d'une formule fondée sur le TPAC. Si la formule avait été appliquée aux niveaux d'abondance des années 1982 à 2004, l'allocation se serait élevée en moyenne à 625 pièces de quinnat du Fraser pendant cette période.

Saumon coho

  • L'allocation annuelle de saumon coho du Fraser de la Première nation de Tsawwassen correspond à la quantité de poissons pris fortuitement pendant la pêche d'autres espèces ou au moyen de techniques de récolte sélective visant des stocks de cohos précis. La récolte moyenne annuelle sera de 500 cohos du Fraser.

Saumon kéta

  • L'allocation annuelle de saumon kéta de la Première nation de Tsawwassen sera de 2,58 pour cent de l'excédent en estuaire de kéta du Fraser, sans dépasser 2 576 pièces.

Saumon rose

  • L'allocation de saumon rose de la Première nation de Tsawwassen correspond au nombre de prises fortuites au moment de la récolte de saumon sockeye, jusqu'à un maximum de 2 500 pièces de saumon rose du Fraser par an.

Espèces sans allocation – récolte à des fins alimentaires, sociales et cérémonielles

L'Accord définitif ne prévoit pas l'établissement d'allocations pour certaines espèces de poissons et de plantes aquatiques, telles que les crabes et les bivalves intertidaux. L'Accord définitif prévoit cependant un processus permettant d'établir des allocations à la demande de la Première nation de Tsawwassen, du Canada ou de la Colombie-Britannique. La pêche du crabe à des fins alimentaires, sociales et cérémonielles sera dépourvue d'allocations pendant une période de 12 ans après la date d'entrée en vigueur du traité, période pendant laquelle la Première nation de Tsawwassen pourra pratiquer la récolte des crabes en utilisant jusqu'à 50 casiers par bateau. Une allocation de crabes sera établie après 12 ans, conformément au processus défini dans l'Accord définitif.

Accord sur la récolte de Tsawwassen

L'Accord sur la récolte, séparée de l'Accord définitif, prévoit que des permis de pêche commerciaux seront délivrés à la Première nation de Tsawwassen. Ces permis autoriseront la Première nation de Tsawwassen à récolter jusqu'à 0,78 pour cent du total des prises commerciales admissibles canadiennes de saumon sockeye du Fraser, 3,27 pour cent des prises commerciales en estuaire de saumon kéta du Fraser, et 0,78 pour cent du total des prises commerciales admissibles canadiennes de saumon rose du Fraser.

L'Accord sur la récolte prévoit également la délivrance de jusqu'à cinq permis de pêche commerciale au crabe à la Première nation de Tsawwassen.

Ressources forestières

La Première nation de Tsawwassen sera propriétaire des ressources en bois d'œuvre des terres Tsawwassen, et recevra 100 000 $ du Canada et de la Colombie-Britannique pour la création d'un fonds de ressources forestières.

Relations inter-gouvernementales

Après la date d'entrée en vigueur du traité, la Première nation de Tsawwassen deviendra membre du District Régional du Grand Vancouver (DRGV) et à ce titre nommera un représentant au conseil d'administration du DRGV. La Première nation de Tsawwassen paiera les services obligatoires de base fournis dans le DRGV (p. ex. qualité de l'air, planification stratégique, 911, parcs régionaux et administration générale).

La Première nation de Tsawwassen pourra conclure une entente d'approvisionnement en eau avec le district hydraulique du Grand Vancouver, et des ententes de services avec les autres administrations locales.

Composantes financières

L'Accord définitif Tsawwassen prévoit le versement à la Première nation de Tsawwassen d'un transfert de capital d'environ 13,9 millions de dollars échelonné sur 10 ans. Tsawwassen remboursera au Canada, pendant la même période, les prêts souscrits pour la négociation du traité.

En compensation de la libération, par la Première nation de Tsawwassen, des droits sur les ressources minières et minérales du sous-sol de terres de réserve précédemment cédées, le Canada versera 2 millions de dollars à la Première nation de Tsawwassen.

Les programmes et services que le gouvernement Tsawwassen a convenu d'administrer seront financés dans le cadre de l'Accord de financement budgétaire, qui prévoit des transferts budgétaires du Canada et de la Colombie-Britannique et qui sera renégociée tous les cinq ans. Ces transferts serviront à financer la prestation, par la Première nation, des programmes et des services à ses membres et résidents, ainsi que diverses activités de mise en œuvre du traité. L'Accord prévoit un financement initial et un financement récurrent. Le financement initial sera de 15,8 millions de dollars, et le financement récurrent prévu par le premier accord de financement budgétaire s'élève à 2,8 millions de dollars par an.

L'Accord définitif avec la Première nation de Tsawwassen transforme fondamentalement les relations financières entre le gouvernement fédéral et la Première nation. Le gouvernement Tsawwassen jouira d'une autonomie accrue et sera pleinement responsable envers ses membres et les personnes qui habitent sur les terres visées par le traité quant à ses décisions financières. En outre, il devra rendre des comptes à d'autres gouvernements publics sur les transferts financiers reçus de sorte que les gouvernements qui exécutent ces transferts puissent s'assurer que les fonds publics ont été utilisés comme prévu.

La Première nation de Tsawwassen utilisera ses recettes autonomes pour contribuer au financement des programmes et des services convenus. L'Accord sur les recettes autonomes négocié par le Canada, la Colombie-Britannique et la Première nation définit la façon dont la contribution de Tsawwassen sera progressivement adaptée à sa capacité de lever des recettes.

La fiscalité est un élément important de l'Accord définitif Tsawwassen en raison de son rapport fondamental avec la capacité du gouvernement Tsawwassen de lever des recettes. L'exonération d'impôt dont bénéficient les citoyens Tsawwassen en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens sera progressivement supprimée en huit ans dans le cas des taxes sur les transactions (c.-à-d. de vente) et de 12 ans dans le cas des autres impôts, y compris l'impôt sur le revenu. Le gouvernement Tsawwassen aura le pouvoir de lever des impôts directs sur ses membres qui résident sur les terres Tsawwassen.

Participation du public à l'Accord définitif

Pour que les intérêts de l'ensemble de la communauté soient équitablement représentés, les négociateurs du traité se fondent sur les communications des intervenants locaux. Au cours de la dernière décennie, les gouvernements locaux et régional, les tierces parties et les groupes communautaires, ont été consultés sur des sujets variés. Depuis 2002, plus de 20 réunions publiques ont eu lieu dans la communauté, y compris des séances d'information « portes ouvertes » et des réunions publiques des tables de négociation principales. Il y a eu en outre de nombreuses activités de consultation des administrations locales et des tierces parties.

Lorsque l'Accord définitif sera paraphé et que le processus de ratification sera enclenché, le Canada, la Colombie-Britannique et la Première nation de Tsawwassen resteront en communication avec les intervenants locaux et avec le grand public.

Chevauchements

Il arrive que les territoires traditionnels revendiqués par les Premières nations se chevauchent. En Colombie-Britannique, les chevauchements multiples sont fréquents. Dans le cadre du processus des traités de la Colombie-Britannique, les Premières nations doivent établir une procédure permettant de résoudre la question des chevauchements.

Le Canada, la Colombie-Britannique et la Première nation de Tsawwassen consultent les Premières nations voisines et continueront de travailler pour résoudre les questions en suspens à cet égard. Les zones de récolte définies dans l'Accord définitif ne sont pas exclusives, et d'autres Premières nations ainsi que le grand public peuvent y chasser et pêcher comme ils le font maintenant sur les terres publiques provinciales.

Prochaines étapes

L'Accord définitif Tsawwassen a été ratifié par la Première nation de Tsawwassen par un vote communautaire tenu en juillet 2007. En octobre, la province de la Colombie-Britannique a déposé, puis adopté par après, une loi de mise en vigueur ratifiant l'Accord définitif Tsawwassen.

Le processus de ratification par le Canada exige qu'un ministre du cabinet fédéral autorisé signe l'Accord définitif et que la loi fédérale de mise en vigueur soit adoptée et qu'elle entre en application. Une fois ces étapes franchies, l'Accord définitif Tsawwassen deviendra un traité et prendra effet à une date convenue par les parties.



Première nation de Tsawwassen – La Terre face à la mer

Les Tsawwassen sont un fier peuple de navigateurs appartenant au groupe des Salish du littoral qui ont pendant longtemps voyagé et pêché dans les voies d'eau du sud du détroit de Georgia et du bassin du bas Fraser. La principale collectivité Tsawwassen est située sur le front de mer limitrophe de la municipalité de Delta. La Première nation de Tsawwassen compte 358 membres, dont la moitié environ vivent dans une réserve.



Canada
Tsawwassen First Nation
British Columbia
Canada
Affaires Indiennes et du Nord Canada Région de la C.-B.
1138 rue Melville, bureau 600
Vancouver, (C.-B.) V6E 4S3
1-800-567-9604
infopubs@ainc-inac.gc.ca
Tsawwassen First Nation
Tsawwassen First Nation   (site web non disponible en français)
#131 N Tsawwassen Drive
Delta, BC V4M 4G2
604-943-2112
info@
tsawwassen
firstnation.com
Colombie-Britannique
Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation   (site web non disponible en français)
PO Box 9100 Stn Prov Govt
Victoria, BC V8W 9B1
1-800-880-1022
ABRInfo
@gov.bc.ca