Maa-nulth Final Agreement: Parks

PDF Version  
(462 Kb, 2 Pages)

Accessibility Notice

Help on accessing documents in PDF format
can be obtained on the help page.




The Maa-nulth Final Agreement was negotiated by the Government of Canada, the Government of British Columbia and the Maa-nulth First Nations. The five Maa-nulth First Nations are Ucluelet First Nation, Huu-ay-aht First Nations, Toquaht Nation, Ka:'yu:'k't'h'/Che:k'tles7et'h' First Nations, and Uchucklesaht Tribe, all located on the west coast of Vancouver Island. The Maa-nulth First Nations represent about 2,000 people. Maa-nulth means “villages along the coast” in the Nuu-chah-nulth language.

The Maa-nulth Final Agreement is among the first Final Agreements reached in the province under the British Columbia treaty process. The Final Agreement sets out each Maa-nulth First Nation's rights and benefits respecting land and resources, and self-government over its lands and resources and its citizens. The Final Agreement provides certainty for all parties with respect to ownership and management of lands and resources and the exercise of federal, provincial and Maa-nulth First Nation governmental powers and authorities.

The negotiation of a Final Agreement marks Stage Five of the six-stage British Columbia treaty process, and is the conclusion of substantive treaty negotiations. Once ratified by all parties, the Final Agreement will become a treaty through legislation. It will be a constitutionally-protected legal agreement which creates mutually binding obligations and commitments.

Pacific Rim National Park Reserve

Under the Final Agreement, Canada may establish as part of Pacific Rim National Park those portions of Pacific Rim National Park Reserve lying within the Maa-nulth First Nation Areas. The federal Minister will retain authority for the overall management and administration of parks. However, a separate agreement between Canada and the Maa-nulth First Nations defines how the parties will work together to cooperatively plan and manage Pacific Rim National Park.

Canada will consult with the affected Maa-nulth First Nations prior to the establishment of any new national park or national marine conservation area within the applicable Maa-nulth First Nation Areas.

Thunderbird's Nest

Thunderbird's Nest (T'iitsk'in Paawats) is located on the west side of Henderson Lake on Vancouver Island, covering an area of approximately 2,185 hectares. The area is of cultural and spiritual significance to the Maa-nulth First Nations. Under the Final Agreement, British Columbia has agreed to remove Thunderbird's Nest from the working forest and protect it as a provincial protected area.

Power River Watershed

Under the Final Agreement, British Columbia has also agreed to establish Power River Watershed as a provincial protected area.

Provincial park planning processes

A Maa-nulth First Nation may participate in any provincial park or protected area public management process established in respect of a park or protected area that is wholly or partly within its Maa-nulth First Nation Area.


If you would like more information about the Maa-nulth Final Agreement, contact:

Canada
British Columbia
Canada
Indian and Northern Affairs Canada BC Region
600-1138 Melville St.
Vancouver, BC V6E 4S3
1-800-567-9604
infopubs@inac.gc.ca
British Columbia
Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation  
PO Box 9100 Stn Prov Govt
Victoria, BC V8W 9B1
1-800-880-1022
ABRInfo@gov.bc.ca

Entente définitive avec les Premières nations Maa-nulth: Parcs

format PDF  
(462 Ko, 2 pages)

Avis d'accessibilité

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder le format PDF,
visitez la section d'aide.




L'Entente définitive avec les Premières nations Maa-nulth a été négociée par le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique et les cinq Premières nations Maa-nulth, c'est-à-dire la Première nation Ucluelet, les Premières nations Huu-ay-aht, la Première nation Toquaht, les Premières nations Ka:'yu:'k't'h'/Che:k'tles7et'h' et la tribu Uchucklesaht. Les Premières nations Maa-nulth, qui regroupent environ 2 000 membres, vivent toutes sur la côte Ouest de l'île de Vancouver. Dans la langue nuu-chah-nulth, Maa-nulth signifie « villages situés le long de la côte ».

L'Entente définitive avec les Premières nations Maa-nulth est l'une des premières à être conclues dans la province dans le cadre du processus de négociation de traités de la Colombie-Britannique. Elle procure des droits et des avantages à chaque Première nation Maa-nulth relativement aux terres et aux ressources, ainsi que l'autonomie gouvernementale sur leurs terres, leurs ressources et leurs citoyens. De plus, elle offre une certitude à toutes les parties en ce qui concerne la propriété et la gestion des terres et des ressources ainsi que l'exercice des pouvoirs par le gouvernement fédéral, le gouvernement provincial et les gouvernement des Premières nations Maa-nulth.

La négociation d'une entente définitive constitue la cinquième de six étapes dans le processus de négociation de traités de la Colombie-Britannique et marque la fin des négociations de fond. Une fois ratifiée par toutes les parties, l'entente devient un traité par voie législative, c'est-à-dire une entente légale, protégée par la Constitution, et assortie d'obligations et d'engagements liant toutes les parties.

Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim

Aux termes de l'entente définitive, le Canada pourrait établir les sections de la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim qui se trouvent dans les secteurs appartenant aux Premières nations Maa-nulth comme faisant partie du parc national Pacific Rim. Le ministre fédéral conservera ses pouvoirs à l'égard de la gestion et de l'administration d'ensemble des parcs. Toutefois, une entente distincte entre le Canada et les Premières nations Maa-nulth précise la façon dont les parties collaboreront à la planification et à la gestion du parc national Pacific Rim.

Le Canada consultera les Premières nations Maa-nulth concernées avant la création de tout nouveau parc national ou de toute aire de conservation marine à l'intérieur des secteurs touchés des Premières nations Maa-nulth.

Thunderbird's Nest

Thunderbird's Nest (T'iitsk'il Paawats) est situé sur la rive ouest du lac Henderson, sur l'île de Vancouver, et compte approximativement 2 185 hectares. Il s'agit d'un secteur qui a une importance culturelle et spirituelle pour les Premières nations Maa-Nulth. Conformément à l'entente définitive, la Colombie-Britannique a convenu de retirer Thunderbird's Nest de la forêt exploitable et d'en faire une zone protégée provinciale.

Bassin hydrographique de la rivière Power

Conformément à l'entente définitive, la Colombie-Britannique a également convenu de faire du bassin hydrographique de la rivière Power une zone protégée provinciale.

Processus de planification du parc provincial

es Premières nations Maa-nulth peuvent participer à tout processus public concernant la gestion du parc provincial ou de l'aire protégée qui font partie, en entier ou en partie, de leur secteur.



Canada
British Columbia
Canada
Affaires Indiennes et du Nord Canada Region de la C.-B.
1138 rue Melville, bureau 600
Vancouver, (C.-B.) V6E 4S3
1-800-567-9604
infopubs@ainc-inac.gc.ca
Colombie-Britannique
Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation   (site web non disponible en français)
PO Box 9100 Stn Prov Govt
Victoria, BC V8W 9B1
1-800-880-1022
ABRInfo@gov.bc.ca