Maa-nulth Final Agreement: Fisheries

PDF Version  
(973 Kb, 4 Pages)

  


The Maa-nulth Final Agreement was negotiated by the Government of Canada, the Government of British Columbia and the Maa-nulth First Nations. The five Maa-nulth First Nations are Ucluelet First Nation, Huu-ay-aht First Nations, Toquaht Nation, Ka:'yu:'k't'h'/Che:k'tles7et'h' First Nations, and Uchucklesaht Tribe, all located on the west coast of Vancouver Island. The Maa-nulth First Nations represent about 2,000 people. Maa-nulth means “villages along the coast” in the Nuu-chah-nulth language.

The Maa-nulth Final Agreement is among the first Final Agreements reached in the province under the British Columbia treaty process. The Final Agreement sets out each Maa-nulth First Nation's rights and benefits respecting land and resources, and self-government over its lands and resources and its citizens. The Final Agreement provides certainty for all parties with respect to ownership and management of lands and resources and the exercise of federal, provincial and Maa-nulth First Nation governmental powers and authorities.

The negotiation of a Final Agreement marks Stage Five of the six-stage British Columbia treaty process, and is the conclusion of substantive treaty negotiations. Once ratified by all parties, the Final Agreement will become a treaty through legislation. It will be a constitutionally-protected legal agreement which creates mutually binding obligations and commitments.

Fish caught for food, social and ceremonial purposes

Under the treaty, each Maa-nulth First Nation will have the right to harvest fish and aquatic plants for food, social and ceremonial purposes, limited by measures necessary for conservation, public health or public safety. This right will be exercised within a defined geographic area known as the Maa-nulth Domestic Fishing Area, as described in the Final Agreement.

The Final Agreement provides the following harvesting allocations for the Maa-nulth First Nations:

  • Ocean Chinook Salmon – abundance-based formula of 1,875 pieces plus 1.78 per cent of the Ocean Chinook Canadian Total Allowable Catch
  • Ocean Coho Salmon – fixed number of 7,000 pieces
  • Pink Salmon – fixed number of 7,250 pieces, over a two-year period
  • Somass Sockeye Salmon – abundance-based formula based on a percentage of Somass Sockeye Canadian Total Allowable Catch, and capped at 22,886 pieces
  • Henderson Sockeye – abundance-based formula based on a percentage of Henderson Total Allowable Catch, and capped at 17,055 pieces
  • Fraser River Sockeye – abundance-based formula of 0.13366 per cent of the Fraser River Sockeye Salmon Canadian Total Allowable Catch
  • Herring – 90 short tons
  • Halibut – 26,000 pounds plus 0.39 per cent of the Halibut Canadian Total Allowable Catch
  • Rockfish – 11,250 pounds plus 2.46 per cent of the West Coast of Vancouver Island ZN Category Licence Rockfish Commercial Total Allowable Catch of yelloweye, quillback, copper, china and tiger rockfish
  • Groundfish – 13,000 pounds
  • Sablefish – abundance-based formula of 0.082 per cent of the Sablefish Canadian Total Allowable Catch
  • The allowable catch from specified inter-tidal bivalve beaches, subject to existing interests on those beaches

Allocations for the Maa-nulth First Nations to harvest terminal returns of chinook, chum, coho, Jensen Lake sockeye and Power Lake sockeye are also described in the Final Agreement.

The Final Agreement sets out a process to establish, at the request of Canada, British Columbia or the Maa-nulth First Nations, allocations for food, social and ceremonial purposes for other fish species.

Each Maa-nulth First Nation will have the right to trade and barter fish caught for food, social and ceremonial purposes among themselves or with other Aboriginal people of Canada. Trade and barter does not include sale.

Maa-nulth Domestic Fishing Area
Maa-nulth Domestic Fishing Area

Fishery management and conservation

Canada and British Columbia retain authority to manage and conserve fish, aquatic plants and fish habitat, according to their respective jurisdictions. Each Maa-nulth First Nation government will have law-making authority with respect to the internal regulation of their fisheries, including who can participate in the harvest of fish and how the harvest will be distributed.

Canada and the Maa-nulth First Nations will establish a Joint Fisheries Committee (JFC) to undertake cooperative planning for Maa-nulth First Nation fishing, fisheries management activities and other fisheries-related matters. The committee may make recommendations to the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans on these matters.

The Maa-nulth First Nations will prepare an annual fishing plan for the harvest of fish under their treaty fishing rights. The JFC will review the plan and forward any recommendations to the Ministers.

The Final Agreement also provides for the Maa-nulth First Nations' participation or representation in any multi-sectoral fisheries advisory process for the west coast of Vancouver Island, should one be established.

Maa-nulth commercial fishing

Maa-nulth commercial fishing will be fully integrated within the general commercial fishery on the west coast of Vancouver Island. Resources will be available for the Maa-nulth First Nations to obtain access to the commercial fishery. This access will be obtained from within the existing commercial fishery in the same manner as for all other fishers. [Note 1]

Licences issued to Maa-nulth will be fished according to comparable terms and conditions as those for other licences in the general commercial fishery. Maa-nulth commercial fishing will not take place unless a general commercial fishery is open for a given species. The same standards for catch monitoring and reporting will apply to Maa-nulth as to other commercial fishers.

The Maa-nulth First Nations' commercial fishing access for salmon, halibut, herring, rockfish, sablefish, crab and prawns may be included in the Maa-nulth Harvest Agreement, up to a maximum amount. The Harvest Agreement provides for Canada to issue commercial fishing licences to Maa-nulth and if this commitment is terminated, compensation may be payable to the Maa-nulth First Nations. The maximum number of licences that may be issued through the Harvest Agreement is:

  • Salmon – eight Salmon Area D Gillnet and Area G Troll licences
  • Terminal Salmon – one Area D Gillnet licence, comparable to 20 per cent of the Terminal Commercial Total Allowable Catch of Henderson Lake sockeye and 25 per cent of Terminal Commercial Total Allowable Catch of Jensen Lake sockeye
  • Halibut – Halibut licence(s) comparable to 2.00 per cent of the Halibut Canadian Commercial Total Allowable Catch
  • Rockfish – Rockfish licence(s) comparable to 2.6178 per cent of the Total Allowable Catch for Outside Area Commercial Rockfish Licences
  • Crab – one Area E crab licence
  • Roe Herring – four Roe Herring gillnet licences
  • Sablefish – 0.34 per cent of the Sablefish Commercial Total Allowable Catch
  • Prawn – one licence

The Maa-nulth Harvest Agreement is separate from the treaty and is not constitutionally protected. Commercial fishing licences issued to Maa-nulth through the Harvest Agreement will be fished according to comparable terms and conditions to those for licences held by other fishers in the general commercial fishery. Federal and provincial laws will continue to apply with respect to the sale of fish.

Ahousaht et al. Litigation

 If the highest court that considers the Ahousaht et al. litigation rules that the plaintiffs in that litigation have a right to fish commercially for a species described in the Maa-nulth Harvest Agreement, Canada and British Columbia agree to amend the Maa-nulth treaty by moving Canada's obligation to issue commercial licences for those species from the Maa-nulth Harvest Agreement into the Maa-nulth treaty.


If you would like more information about the Maa-nulth Final Agreement, contact:

Canada
British Columbia
Canada
Indian and Northern Affairs Canada BC Region
600-1138 Melville St.
Vancouver, BC V6E 4S3
1-800-567-9604
infopubs@inac.gc.ca
 
British Columbia
Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation  
PO Box 9100 Stn Prov Govt
Victoria, BC V8W 9B1
1-800-880-1022
ABRInfo@gov.bc.ca


Footnotes:

  1. The process involves an existing licence holder willingly relinquishing a licence and nominating Maa-nulth to be issued an equivalent licence.(return to source paragraph)

Entente définitive avec les Premières nations Maa-nulth: Pêches

format PDF  
(1 010 Ko, 4 pages)

 


L'Entente définitive avec les Premières nations Maa-nulth a été négociée par le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique et les cinq Premières nations Maa-nulth, c'est-à-dire la Première nation Ucluelet, les Premières nations Huu-ay-aht, la Première nation Toquaht, les Premières nations Ka:'yu:'k't'h'/Che:k'tles7et'h' et la tribu Uchucklesaht. Les Premières nations Maa-nulth, qui regroupent environ 2 000 membres, vivent toutes sur la côte Ouest de l'île de Vancouver. Dans la langue nuu-chah-nulth, Maa-nulth signifie « villages situés le long de la côte ».

L'Entente définitive avec les Premières nations Maa-nulth est l'une des premières à être conclues dans la province dans le cadre du processus de négociation de traités de la Colombie-Britannique. Elle procure des droits et des avantages à chaque Première nation Maa-nulth relativement aux terres et aux ressources, ainsi que l'autonomie gouvernementale sur leurs terres, leurs ressources et leurs citoyens. De plus, elle offre une certitude à toutes les parties en ce qui concerne la propriété et la gestion des terres et des ressources ainsi que l'exercice des pouvoirs par le gouvernement fédéral, le gouvernement provincial et les gouvernement des Premières nations Maa-nulth.

La négociation d'une entente définitive constitue la cinquième de six étapes dans le processus de négociation de traités de la Colombie-Britannique et marque la fin des négociations de fond. Une fois ratifiée par toutes les parties, l'entente devient un traité par voie législative, c'est-à-dire une entente légale, protégée par la Constitution, et assortie d'obligations et d'engagements liant toutes les parties.

Poisson pêché à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles

En vertu du traité, les Premières nations Maa-nulth auront le droit, à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles, de pratiquer la pêche et de recueillir des plantes aquatiques, et ce, conformément aux exigences en matière de conservation et en matière de santé et de sécurité publiques. Ce droit sera exercé dans une zone géographique délimitée, soit la zone de pêche locale des Maa-nulth, décrite dans l'accord définitif.

L'accord définitif procure aux Premières nations Maa-nulth les quotas suivants :

  • Saumon quinnat – formule fondée sur le taux d'abondance; quota établi à 1 875 poissons plus 1,78 % du total admissible des captures au Canada pour le saumon quinnat
  • Saumon coho – quota établi à 7 000 poissons
  • Saumon rose – quota établi pour deux ans à 7 250 poissons
  • Saumon rouge de la rivière Somass – formule fondée sur le taux d'abondance; quota calculé en fonction d'un pourcentage du total admissible des captures au Canada pour le saumon rouge de la rivière Somass, jusqu'à concurrence de 22 886 poissons
  • Saumon rouge du lac Henderson – formule fondée sur le taux d'abondance; quota calculé en fonction d'un pourcentage du total admissible des captures au Canada pour le saumon rouge du lac Henderson, jusqu'à concurrence de 17 055 poissons
  • Saumon rouge du fleuve Fraser – formule fondée sur le taux d'abondance; quota équivalant à 0,13666 % du total admissible des captures au Canada pour le saumon rouge du fleuve Fraser
  • Hareng – 90 tonnes américaines
  • Flétan – 26 000 livres plus 0,39 % du total admissible des captures au Canada pour le flétan
  • Sébaste – 11 250 livres plus 2,46 % du total admissible des captures au Canada pour le sébaste
  • Poisson de fond – 13 000 livres
  • Morue charbonnière – formule fondée sur le taux d'abondance; quota équivalant à 0,082 % du total admissible des captures au Canada pour la morue charbonnière
  • La récolte autorisée de lamellibranches sur les plages intertidales spécifiées, sous réserve des intérêts déjà détenus sur ces plages

L'accord définitif décrit également les quotas consentis aux Premières nations Maa-nulth pour la prise de poisson pendant la remonte finale du saumon quinnat, du saumon kéta, du saumon coho et du saumon rouge des lacs Henderson, Jensen et Power.

Une mesure sera prévue à l'accord définitif afin de fixer, à la demande du Canada, de la Colombie-Britannique ou des Premières nations Maa-nulth, les prises permises à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles, pour les autres espèces de poisson.

Chaque Première nation Maa-nulth aura le droit de s'adonner au troc du poisson capturé à des fins alimentaires, sociales et cérémonielles, avec d'autres membres du groupe ou d'autres Autochtones du Canada. Cette activité ne comprend pas les activités commerciales de vente.

Zone de pêche locale des Premières nations Maa-nulth
Zone de pêche locale des Premières nations Maa-nulth

Gestion et conservation du poisson

Le Canada et la Colombie-Britannique conservent leurs pouvoirs de gestion et de conservation du poisson, des plantes aquatiques et de l'habitat piscicole, conformément à leurs domaines de compétence respectifs. Chaque gouvernement des Premières nations Maa-nulth aura le pouvoir de légiférer et de prendre des règlements internes en matière de pêche et de poisson, notamment s'agissant des personnes autorisées à récolter le poisson et des modalités de distribution de la récolte.

Le Canada et les Premières nations Maa-nulth établiront un comité mixte de gestion des pêches (CMGP) qui assurera la planification concertée des activités de pêche des Premières nations Maa-nulth, des activités de gestion des pêcheries et autres questions connexes. Le comité pourra faire des recommandations au ministre des Pêches et Océans concernant ces matières.

Les Premières nations Maa-nulth prépareront un plan annuel d'activité de pêche pour les activités de récolte du poisson exercées en vertu des droits conférés par le traité. Ce plan sera revu par le comité mixte qui formulera ses recommandations aux ministres concernés.

L'Accord définitif prévoit également la participation ou la représentation des Premières nations Maa-nulth auprès de tout mécanisme consultatif multisectoriel qui pourrait être établi sur l'activité de pêche concernant la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver.

Pêche commerciale des Premières nations Maa-nulth

La pêche commerciale des Premières nations Maa-nulth sera entièrement intégrée à l'activité de pêche commerciale générale portant sur la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver. Des ressources seront mises à disposition des Premières nations Maa-nulth pour qu'elles aient accès à l'activité de pêche commerciale générale. Cet accès sera obtenu auprès des instances de pêche commerciale existantes, de la même manière que pour tous les autres pêcheurs.[Note 1]

Les permis délivrés aux Maa-nulth seront exploités aux mêmes conditions que ceux de la pêche commerciale générale. L'activité de pêche commerciale des Maa-nulth portant sur une espèce donnée ne peut avoir lieu que dans la mesure où celle-ci est ouverte à l'activité de pêche commerciale générale. Les Maa-nulth sont astreints aux mêmes conditions de surveillance et de déclaration des captures que les autres pêcheurs commerciaux.

L'entente de récolte des Maa-nulth peut prévoir, jusqu'à concurrence d'une quantité maximale donnée, la pêche commerciale du saumon, du flétan, du hareng, du sébaste, de la morue charbonnière, du crabe et de la crevette. L'entente de récolte prévoit que le Canada peut délivrer des permis de pêche commerciale aux Maa-nulth et que toute abrogation de permis est susceptible d'indemnisation. Nombre de permis pouvant être délivrés dans le cadre de l'entente de récolte :

  • Saumon – 8 permis pour les fileyeurs du secteur D et pour les ligneurs du secteur G.
  • Saumon (en estuaire) – 1 permis pour les fileyeurs du secteur D, équivalant à 20 % du TAC en estuaire de l'activité de pêche générale portant sur le saumon rouge du lac Henderson et à 25 % du TAC en estuaire de l'activité de pêche générale portant sur le saumon rouge du lac Jensen.
  • Flétan – Régime de permis équivalant à 2,0 % du TAC canadien de l'activité de pêche générale portant sur cette espèce.
  • Sébaste – Régime de permis équivalant à 2,6178 % du TAC des permis de pêche générale en zone externe.
  • Crabe – 1 permis de pêche portant sur le secteur E.
  • Hareng rogué – 4 permis de pêche au fileyeur.
  • Morue charbonnière – 0,34 % du TAC commercial portant sur cette espèce.
  • Crevette – 1 permis.

L'entente de récolte Maa-nulth est un dispositif séparé du traité et ne bénéficie pas de la protection constitutionnelle. Les permis de pêche commerciale délivrés aux Maa-nulth par le biais de cette entente seront exploités aux mêmes conditions que pour l'activité de pêche commerciale générale. Les lois fédérales et provinciales s'appliquant à la vente du poisson auront cours.

Affaire Ahousaht et al.

Si le plus haut tribunal saisi de l'affaire Ahousaht et al. reconnaît aux plaignants le droit de pratiquer la pêche commerciale d'une espèce décrite à l'accord sur les prises maa-nulth, le Canada et la Colombie-Britannique accepteront de modifier le traité des Maa-nulth en y transférant l'obligation du Canada de délivrer des permis de pêche commerciale pour cette espèce, depuis l'accord sur les prises maa-nulth.



 
Canada
British Columbia
Canada
Affaires Indiennes et du Nord Canada Region de la C.-B.
1138 rue Melville, bureau 600
Vancouver, (C.-B.) V6E 4S3
1-800-567-9604
infopubs@ainc-inac.gc.ca
Colombie-Britannique
Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation   (site web non disponible en français)
PO Box 9100 Stn Prov Govt
Victoria, BC V8W 9B1
1-800-880-1022
ABRInfo@gov.bc.ca


Notes en bas de page :

  1. Le processus implique qu'un titulaire de permis actuel acceptera de céder son permis et qu'un permis équivalent sera délivré aux Maa-nulth. (retourner au paragraphe source)