Musqueam and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations share in the 2010 Winter Olympic Legacy

With the 2010 Winter Olympics just around the corner, the Musqueam and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations now have the opportunity to enjoy their own “Olympic Moment.”

On June 13, 2008, Canada and the two First Nations signed historic Olympic Legacy Agreements. The agreements will ensure that members of the Tsleil-Waututh and Musqueam First Nations share in the economic, social and cultural benefits of hosting the 2010 Winter Games.

Through the sounds of drums and applause, Musqueam Chief Ernest Campbell and Tsleil-Waututh Chief Leah George-Wilson spoke to their communities about the immense opportunity that the legacy agreements provide.

Indian and Northern Affairs Minister Chuck Strahl, Chief Leah George-Wilson and Chief Len George
Tsleil-Waututh Chief Leah George-Wilson raises the Tsleil-Waututh First Nation's Olympic Legacy Agreement as Indian and Northern Affairs Minister Chuck Strahl and Tsleil-Waututh Hereditary Chief Len George look on.

“Tsleil-Waututh welcomes all athletes, participants and visitors to our territory to celebrate the 2010 Games,” said Chief Leah George-Wilson. “Our culture, our land and our people are our most valuable assets. This legacy will enable us to repatriate some of the land that is critical to us for our community's future.”

The First Nations will be able to use the legacy funds for the acquisition of lands, capacity building, business development, skills enhancement and other economic development opportunities. Both First Nations will be able to decide how they want to share in the 2010 legacy for their current and future generations.

“The Musqueam people are proud to welcome the Olympics, and the world, to our traditional territory,” said Chief Campbell. “This honourable agreement will help us build a stronger, healthier community and ensure that current and future generations of the Musqueam people, will share in the legacy of the Olympics.”

Indian and Northern Affairs Minister Chuck Strahl and Chief Ernest Campbell
Indian and Northern Affairs Minister Chuck Strahl congratulates Musqueam Chief Ernest Campbell on the signing of the Musqueam First Nation's Olympic Legacy Agreement.

The Musqeuam and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations, along with the Lil'Wat and Squamish, are collectively known as the Four Host First Nations, and will host most of the 2010 events on their asserted traditional land. The contributions and support from the Four Host First Nations during the 2010 Winter Olympic bid process played a key role in Canada being awarded the Games. The Olympics represents a major opportunity to share Aboriginal traditions and culture with the world.

Les Premières nations Musqueam et Tsleil-Waututh participent à l’héritage des Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2010

Les Jeux olympiques d'hiver de 2010 approchant, les Premières nations Musqueam et Tsleil-Waututh ont maintenant la possibilité de vivre leur propre « moment olympique ».

Le 13 juin 2008, le Canada et les deux Premières nations ont signé des Accords de legs en vue des jeux olympiques. Ces accords historiques visent à permettre aux membres des Premières nations Tsleil-Waututh et Musqueam de bénéficier des retombées économiques, sociales et culturelles des Jeux olympiques d'hiver de 2010.

C'est au son des tambours et sous les applaudissements que le chef de Musqueam, Ernest Campbell, et le chef de Tsleil-Waututh, Leah George-Wilson, se sont adressés à leurs collectivités pour leur expliquer les immenses avantages de ces accords.

Ministre Chuck Strahl, Chef Leah George-Wilson, Chef Len George
Le chef de Tsleil-Waututh, Leah George-Wilson, brandit l'Accord de legs en vue des jeux olympiques avec la Première nation Tsleil-Waututh sous le regard du ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, Chuck Strahl, et du chef héréditaire de Tsleil-Waututh, Len George.

« Tsleil-Waututh souhaite la bienvenue à tous les athlètes, participants et visiteurs sur son territoire pour les Jeux de 2010, a déclaré le chef Leah George-Wilson. Notre culture, notre terre et notre peuple sont nos plus précieux atouts. Cet accord de participation aux acquis des jeux nous permettra de récupérer une partie du territoire qui est si important pour l'avenir de notre collectivité. »

Les Premières nations pourront utiliser les fonds de legs pour acheter des terres, développer leurs capacités, développer leurs activités commerciales, accroître leurs compétences et tirer parti des diverses possibilités de développement économique qui s'offrent à elles. Les deux Premières nations pourront décider de la façon dont elles partageront les retombées des Jeux de 2010 pour les besoins de leurs générations actuelles et futures.

« Le peuple Musqueam est très fier d'accueillir les Jeux olympiques, et le monde entier, sur son territoire traditionnel, a déclaré le chef Campbell. Cet accord honorable nous aide à construire une collectivité plus forte et plus saine, et à faire en sorte que les générations actuelles et futures du peuple Musqueam bénéficieront des retombées des Jeux olympiques. »

Ministre Chuck Strahl, Chef Ernest Campbell
Le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, Chuck Strahl, félicite le chef de Musqueam, Ernest Campbell, à l'occasion de la signature de l'Accord de legs en vue des jeux olympiques avec la Première nation Musqueam.

Les Premières nations Musqeuam et Tsleil-Waututh, ainsi que les Premières nations Lil'Wat et Squamish, sont collectivement considérées comme les quatre Premières nations hôtes, et à ce titre, elles accueilleront la plupart des événements de 2010 sur ce qu'elles considèrent comme leur territoire ancestral. Les contributions et l'appui des quatre Premières Nations hôtes au processus de soumission pour les Jeux olympiques d'hiver de 2010 ont joué un rôle clé dans le fait que le Canada a été choisi pour ces jeux. Les Olympiques offrent une excellente occasion de faire connaître au monde les traditions et la culture des Autochtones.