Agreements and Legislation

Before Confederation, the Dominion of Canada signed treaties with First Nations. Since Confederation, the Government of Canada continues to negotiate modern treaties. Between 1701 and 1923, over 70 Indian treaties were negotiated in Canada.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is the federal department responsible for negotiating and implementing treaties, including comprehensive and specific land claims.

The Indian Act

The Indian Act is the Canadian federal legislation, first passed in 1876, that sets out certain federal government obligations, and regulates the management of Indian reserve lands, Indian moneys and other resources. The Act has been amended several times, most recently in 1985.

The Indian Act currently requires the Minister of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada to manage certain moneys belonging to First Nations and Indian lands and to approve or disallow First Nations by-laws.

Treaties

Treaties are solemn agreements between the Government of Canada and First Nations that set out promises and benefits for both parties.

Of the over 70 treaties in Canada, three – Treaty 6, 7 and 8 – cover most of Alberta. The province consists of a combined 140 reserves spread over 812,771 hectares of land.

Use the links below to access specific Alberta treaty documents and the corresponding Treaty Guides.

Produits connexes

Date modified:

Ententes et lois

Avant la Confédération, le Dominion du Canada avait conclu des traités avec les Premières nations. Depuis la confédération, le gouvernement du Canada poursuit la négociation de traités modernes. Entre 1701 et 1923, on a assisté à la négociation de plus de 70 traités au Canada.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) est le ministère fédéral chargé de la négociation et de la mise en œuvre des traités, y compris les revendications territoriales globales et particulières.

La Loi sur les Indiens

Promulguée à l'origine en 1876, la Loi sur les Indiens constitue l'instrument législatif fédéral qui stipule certaines obligations fédérales, en plus de réglementer la gestion des terres de réserve indienne, des fonds des Indiens et d'autres ressources. La loi a été modifiée à plusieurs reprises, plus récemment en 1985.

En vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens, le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien est tenu de : gérer certains fonds appartenant aux Premières nations et afférents aux terres indiennes; et d'approuver ou d'interdire, selon le cas, les règlements municipaux des Premières nations.

Traités

Les traités sont des ententes solennelles conclues entre le gouvernement du Canada et les Premières nations qui énoncent des promesses et des avantages de part et d'autre.

Des quelques 70 traités signés au Canada, il y en trois – Traités nos 6, 7 et 8 – qui s'appliquent à la majeure partie de l'Alberta. La province se compose de 140 réserves réparties sur une superficie de 812,771 hectares.

Produits connexes

Date de modification :