First Nations in Manitoba

As of July 2014, there were 148,455 registered First Nation members in Manitoba. A total of 88,076 members (59.3 per cent) lived on reserves. Manitoba is second only to Ontario in terms of total on-reserve population and in total First Nation population.

Manitoba has 63 First Nations, including six of the 20 largest bands in Canada. Twenty-three First Nations are not accessible by an all-weather road. This accounts for more than half of all Manitoba First Nations people who live on reserve.

There are five First Nations linguistic groups in Manitoba: Cree, Ojibway, Dakota, Ojibway-Cree and Dene.

There are seven treaties with First Nations in the province, though five Manitoba First Nations are not signatory to any treaty with Canada (Birdtail Sioux, Sioux Valley, Canupawakpa, Dakota Tipi and Dakota Plains).

First Nations in Manitoba are represented by three active provincial political organizations divided on a north-south basis.

The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC) is the main political organization representing chiefs from across Manitoba. It provides information on the latest issues in First Nation politics, history and events. The AMC is involved in policy areas such as Child and Family Services, education, environment, health and many others.

The Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak (MKO) is a non-profit, political advocacy organization that provides a collective voice on issues of inherent, treaty, Aboriginal and human rights for the citizens of the province's northern First Nations. MKO explores ways to strengthen and promote the interests of its members by achieving autonomy and self-sufficiency in all areas that affect the lives of northern First Nations' citizens. It is affiliated with the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) and Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs.

The Southern Chiefs Organization (SCO) works with southern First Nations in Manitoba, and is also affiliated with the Assembly of First Nations and Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs. Its mission statement is to establish an independent political forum to protect, preserve, promote, and enhance First Nations peoples' inherent rights, languages, customs, and traditions through the application and implementation of the spirit and intent of the treaty-making process.

Manitoba's seven tribal councils include Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council, Interlake Reserves Tribal Council, Island Lake Tribal Council, Keewatin Tribal Council, Southeast Resource Development Council, Swampy Cree Tribal Council and the West Region Tribal Council. Thirteen Manitoba First Nations are not represented by tribal councils.

The Treaty Relations Commission of Manitoba was established in June 2005 to function as an independent and neutral office. The Commission's mandate includes engaging in public education activities to improve understanding of the treaty relationship and treaty-related issues, providing facilitation for discussing treaty issues, and conducting independent research.

Geographic isolation has segregated Manitoba First Nation communities socially and economically from mainstream Manitoba. This has created unique challenges in the region regarding economic development and delivery of services, as First Nation economies historically have been dependent on federal transfers.

You may also be interested in:

Date modified:

Les Premières Nations au Manitoba

En juillet 2014, le Manitoba comptait 148 455 membres inscrits des Premières Nations, dont 88 076 membres (59,3 p. cent) habitent dans les réserves.

Au Manitoba il y a 63 Premières Nations, parmi lesquelles on retrouve 6 des 20 plus importantes bandes indiennes au Canada. On note aussi que 23 Premières Nations ne disposent pas de route d'accès praticable en tout temps. Ce dilemme touche plus de la moitié de tous les membres des Premières Nations qui vivent dans les réserves.

Il existe cinq groupes linguistiques au sein des Premières Nations du Manitoba: cri, ojibway, dakota, oji-cri et déné.

À l'exception de cinq Premières Nations du Manitoba - sioux Birdtail, Sioux Valley, Canupawakpa, Dakota Tipi et Dakota Plains - qui ne sont signataires d'aucun traité avec le Canada, celui-ci a signé sept traités avec toutes les autres Premières Nations de la province.

Les Premières Nations du Manitoba sont représentées par trois organismes politiques provinciaux répartis selon un axe nord-sud.

Principale organisation politique, The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (site Web non disponible en français) représente chefs du Manitoba. Elle diffuse de l'information sur les sujets d'actualité liés à la politique des Premières Nations, à leur histoire et aux évènements les concernant. L'Assemblée s'intéresse notamment aux dossiers des services à l'enfance et à la famille, de l'éducation, de l'environnement et de la santé.

Organisme de défense d'intérêts politiques sans but lucratif, Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak (site Web non disponible en français) agit comme porte-parole dans le dossier des droits (inhérents, issus de traités, ancestraux et de la personne) des citoyens des Premières Nations du Nord du Manitoba. L'organisme cherche des moyens de soutenir et de promouvoir les intérêts de ses membres en favorisant l'autonomie et l'autosuffisance dans tous les aspects influençant la vie des citoyens des Premières Nations du Nord. Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak est affilié à l'Assemblée des Premières Nations et The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs.

The Southern Chiefs Organization (site Web non disponible en français) travaille avec Premières Nations du Sud du Manitoba et est affiliée à l'Assemblée des Premières Nations et The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs. En vertu de son énoncé de mission, l'Organisation vise à établir une tribune politique indépendante pour protéger, préserver, promouvoir et renforcer les droits inhérents, langues, coutumes et traditions des Premières Nations en mettant en œuvre l'esprit et l'intention du processus d'élaboration de traités.

Les sept conseils tribaux du Manitoba sont les suivants: Conseil tribal de Dakota Ojibway, Conseil tribal d'Interlake Reserves, Conseil tribal d'Island Lake, Conseil tribal de Keewatin, Southeast Resource Development Council, Conseil tribal de Swampy Cree et Conseil tribal West Region. En outre, on observe au Manitoba qu'il y a treize Premières Nations qui ne sont représentées par aucun conseil tribal.

Organisme indépendant et impartial, The Treaty Relations Commission of Manitoba (site Web non disponible en français) a étémise sur place en juin 2005. La nouvelle commission aura pour mandat d'aiden le grand public à mieux. comprendre les relations issues des traités et les questions liées aux traités; de facliter les discussions sur les questions liées auz traités; et de mener des travaux de rechereche indépendants.

L'éloignement géographique a eu pour effet d'isoler certaines collectivités des Premières Nations de la vie sociale et économique du Manitoba. Cela a créé des défis uniques à relever dans la région en ce qui a trait au développement économique (les économies des Premières Nations dépendent historiquement des paiements de transfert) et à la prestation de services.

Autres liens d'intérêt :

Date de modification :