ARCHIVED - Ontario First Nations Map

Archive: This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

 

QS-T009-000-BB-A1 Map Bilingual

Ontario First Nations Map

The Ontario First Nations Map has been in print since 1991. It serves the information needs of the public by providing a useful geographical base and thematic reference for the policies, programs, services and initiatives of interest to Aboriginal people provided by the Government of Canada and Province of Ontario.

If you would like to order a free copy of the map, or have a suggestion for a future version of the map, please contact:

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Executive Services and Communications
25 St-Clair Avenue East, 8th Floor
Toronto, Ontario M4T 1M2
Telephone: 416-973-2158

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers to the most Frequently Asked Questions about the Ontario First Nations Map.

How can I get permission to reproduce the Ontario First Nations map?

For commercial reproduction, please contact:

Public Works and Government Services Canada
Publishing and Depository Services
350 Albert Street, 4th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1A 0S5
copyright.droitdauteur@pwgsc.gc.ca

As this map is created in partnership with the Province of Ontario, any commercial reproduction requires the Province of Ontario's as well as the Government of Canada's licensing permission. For further information, please contact:

Senior Copyright Analyst
Service Ontario Publications
(416) 326-5153
Copyright@ontario.ca

For non-commercial reproduction:
We ask users to exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced. The reproduction must not be represented as an 'official' version of the materials reproduced, nor as having been made, in affiliation with or with our endorsement. Crown copyright must also be acknowledged.

What do the symbols on the map represent?

The border of the poster shows symbols that are particularly meaningful to First Nations in Ontario.

  • At the top centre the Two Row Wampum represents treaties of peace and friendship made when the Haudensaunee, and Iroquois Confederacy, first came into contact with European nations. The two rows symbolize two paths or two vessels travelling down the same rivers together. One, a birch bark canoe, is for First Nations, their laws, customs and ways. The other, a ship, is for Europeans with their laws, customs and ways.
  • The three beads separating the rows symbolize peace, friendship and respect. The wampum represents travelling the river together, side by side, but in different vessels. The principle of the Two Row Wampum became the basis for treaties and agreements between First Nations and European nations.
  • At the bottom centre of the border, the Hiawatha Wampum symbolizes formation of the Iroquois League. Four of the five founding nations are represented as rectangles. Onondaga, the central nation, is symbolized by the Tree of Peace. All are linked by paths that extend outwards towards other nations.
  • The border also includes representations of the eagle, wolf, bear, heron, turtle, eel, deer, snipe and hawk which are prominent in the culture of First Nations. The border also contains representations of beadwork, porcupine beadwork, tamarack goose, moose, muskrat, porcupine, raven, catfish, mink, turkey, rabbit, loon, frog, deer, snake, fox, otter, martin and raccoon, which are prominent in Cree and Ojibway culture.
  • Behind the index of the poster is the Tree of Peace, which is central to the culture of many First Nations in Ontario.

What are the information sources for the listing of First Nations?

  • The index on the right of the large map contains a listing of First Nations recognized under the Indian Act, by band number along with their cultural affiliation. The names of communities are checked against several sources (i.e., the First Nations Profiles, federal schedules, media releases, several interactive First Nations Maps, representative First Nation political organization websites and community websites). Whenever possible, the map gives preference to the traditional name preferred on a community's website which may sometimes differ from the official name. This keeps with in the intent of the map to create awareness of First Nations in Ontario. As names sometimes change, and errors can occur, it is always best to contact the community directly to verify its information.

What are the sources for the main map?

  • The main map is a display map, which includes First Nation communities recognized under the Indian Act along with some municipalities, lakes and rivers for the reader to use as reference points. The map is composed of several thematic and base layers, and is not designed to be a road map or topographical map. The intent of the map is to create awareness of First Nations in Ontario. It is a snapshot of the best available information at the time it was published. This information can quickly become out of date.
  • This print version of the map coincides with the recent release of several interactive First Nations maps by other organizations. We have attempted to visually edit the map to match these new sources. The Canada Lands - Ontario First Nations Lands and National Parks map is also used as a reference for reserves that and is then checked against the reserves and addresses listed on First Nations Profiles.
  • Locations are also visually checked against the Official Road Map of Ontario, and several other online mapping tools and viewers. Some First Nations have more than one reserve, in which case, we always try to place the locator on either the largest or most populated community. Also, some communities are very close together, in which case we try our best to keep the names as close as possible to the location. Further still, some communities don't have a reserve land base but are identified through agreements, and the majority of members may live off-reserve. In this case, we usually use the community's mailing address for its location.

What are the sources for the Tribal Council and Representative First Nations Political Organizations?

  • These listings are checked against the organization's website, the First Nation Profiles, posted federal schedules and other sources.

What are the sources for the Reserve Settlement/Village listing?

  • The list of reserves is manually compiled from the First Nation Profiles.

What are the sources for the Treaties map?

  • The Historical Treaties of Canada map, which portrays treaties from 1725 to 1923, is the main information source for this display map. We also cross check information against several websites and treaty research reports. Indian treaties have been generally classified into two groups: Pre-Confederation and Post-Confederation.
  • Pre-Confederation treaties were made with the Crown through representatives of the British Government. Post-Confederation treaties were made with the Government of Canada. Peace and Friendship Treaties did not involve the transfer of land title, and are therefore not individually represented on the map. All the boundary lines represent the approximate extent of treaty boundaries. Adhesion boundaries are mapped to show the extension of a treaty boundary as a result of later signatories who adhered to the terms of the original treaty. Also shown are the boundaries for the major land cessions or surrenders in the Upper Canada Treaties area.

You may also be interested in

ARCHIVÉE - ARCHIVÉ - Carte des Premières Nations

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

QS-T009-000-BB-A1 carte bilingue

La carte des Premières Nations de l'Ontario existe en format papier depuis 1991. Elle sert à informer le public en fournissant une base géographique utile et une référence thématique pour les politiques, les programmes, les services et les initiatives d'intérêt pour les peuples autochtones qu'offrent le gouvernement du Canada et la Province de l'Ontario.

Pour obtenir la carte gratuitement ou formuler une suggestion en vue des versions à venir de la carte, communiquez avec :

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Services à la haute direction et communications
25, avenue St. Clair Est, 8e étage
Toronto (Ontario)  M4T 1M2
Téléphone : 416-952-0056

Foire aux questions

Cette section répond aux questions les plus souvent posées au sujet de la carte des Premières Nations de l'Ontario.

Comment puis-je obtenir l'autorisation de faire des copies de la carte des Premières nations de l'Ontario?

Pour les reproductions à des fins commerciales :

Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada
Éditions et Services de dépôt
350, rue Albert, 4e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0S5
copyright.droitdauteur@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca
Comme la carte a été créée en collaboration avec la Province de l'Ontario, il faut obtenir l'autorisation de la Province et du gouvernement du Canada pour la reproduire à des fins commerciales. Autres renseignements :

Analyste principal, droits d'auteur
Service Ontario - Publications
Téléphone : 416-326-5153
Copyright@ontario.ca

Pour les reproductions à des fins non commerciales :
Nous demandons aux utilisateurs de faire preuve de diligence en s'assurant de l'exactitude du matériel reproduit. La copie ne doit pas être présentée comme une version « officielle » du document, ni comme ayant été produite conjointement avec nous ou avec notre approbation. Il faut aussi signaler le droit d'auteur de la Couronne.

Que représentent les symboles sur la carte?

La bordure de l'affiche présente des symboles qui sont particulièrement importants pour les Premières Nations de l'Ontario.

  • En haut au centre, le wampum à deux rangs représente les traités de paix et d'amitié conclus quand les Haudenosaunee, et la Confédération iroquoise, sont entrés en contact avec les nations européennes pour la première fois. Les deux rangs symbolisent les deux voies ou les deux bateaux qui naviguent ensemble sur les mêmes eaux. L'un d'entre eux, un canot d'écorce de bouleau, représente les Premières nations, leurs lois, leurs coutumes et leur mode de vie. L'autre, un navire, représente les Européens, leurs lois, leurs coutumes et leur mode de vie.
  • Les trois rangées de perles séparant les rangs symbolisent la paix, l'amitié et le respect. Le wampum représente le fait de voyager ensemble sur les eaux, côte à côte, mais dans des bateaux différents. Le principe du wampum à deux rangs est devenu la base de traités et d'accords entre les Premières nations et les Nations européennes.
  • Au milieu de la bordure du bas, la ceinture wampum d'Hiawatha symbolise la formation de la Ligue des Iroquois. Quatre des cinq nations fondatrices sont représentées par des rectangles. L'Onondaga, la nation centrale, est représentée par l'arbre de la paix. Les nations sont reliées par des sentiers qui s'étendent vers d'autres nations.
  • La bordure comprend aussi des représentations de l'aigle, du loup, de l'ours, du héron, de la tortue, de l'anguille, du cerf, de la bécassine et du faucon qui occupent une place importante dans la culture des Premières Nations. La bordure contient aussi des représentations de broderie de perles, d'objets de perles brodées avec des piquants de porc-épic, d'oies faites de branches de mélèzes tressées, d'orignaux, de rats musqués, de porcs-épics, de corbeaux, de poissons-chats, de visons, de dindons, de lapins, de huards, de grenouilles, de cerfs, de serpents, de renards, de loutres, d'hirondelles et de ratons laveurs, qui occupent une place importante dans la culture des Cris et des Ojibway.
  • En filigrane, derrière l'index de l'affiche, il y a l'arbre de la paix, qui est au cœur de la culture de nombreuses Premières Nations de l'Ontario.

Quelles sont les sources d'information pour la liste des Premières Nations?

  • L'index qui se trouve à la droite de la grande carte contient une liste des Premières Nations reconnues en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens, classées par numéro de bande, avec leur affiliation culturelle. Le nom des collectivités a été vérifié auprès de plusieurs sources (profils des Premières nations, listes du gouvernement fédéral, communiqués de presse, cartes interactives sur les Premières Nations, sites Web d'organisations politiques représentant les Premières Nations et sites Web des collectivités). Dans la mesure du possible, nous favorisons le nom traditionnel utilisé sur le site Web de la collectivité, ce qui ne correspond pas toujours au nom officiel du groupe. Nous tentons ainsi de respecter l'objectif de la carte de faire connaître les Premières nations de l'Ontario. Comme les noms changent parfois et que des erreurs peuvent se produire, il est toujours préférable de communiquer directement avec la collectivité pour vérifier les renseignements.

Quelles sont les sources pour la carte principale?

  • La carte principale est une affiche, qui comprend les collectivités des Premières Nations reconnues en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens de même que des municipalités, des lacs et des cours d'eau, dont le lecteur pourra se servir comme points de référence. Elle comporte plusieurs aspects thématiques et de base, et n'est ni une carte routière ni une carte topographique. Elle vise à faire connaître les Premières Nations de l'Ontario. Il s'agit d'un instantané de la meilleure information disponible au moment où elle a été publiée, information qui peut rapidement devenir dépassée.
  • Des éléments de la carte coïncident avec le contenu de plusieurs cartes interactives des Premières Nations récemment publiées par d'autres organisations. Nous avons tenté de modifier la carte pour qu'elle se conforme aux nouvelles sources. La carte des parcs nationaux et des terres des Premières Nations de l'Ontario de la Société immobilière du Canada a aussi été utilisée comme référence pour les réserves, et les renseignements ont ensuite été vérifiés à l'aide de la liste de réserves et d'adresses des profils des Premières Nations.
  • Nous avons aussi procédé à une vérification visuelle des emplacements par rapport à la carte routière de l'Ontario et à l'aide de plusieurs autres visionneuses et outils cartographiques en ligne. Si une Première Nation compte plus d'une réserve, nous essayons de placer le localisateur à l'endroit où se trouve la collectivité la plus grande ou la plus peuplée. En outre, certaines collectivités sont très proches les unes des autres; le cas échéant, nous faisons de notre mieux pour garder le nom le plus près possible de l'emplacement. Il peut aussi arriver que des collectivités n'aient pas de terres de réserve, mais soient nommées dans des accords et que la majorité des membres d'une collectivité vit hors réserve. Dans ces cas, nous utilisons généralement l'adresse postale de la collectivité pour désigner son emplacement.

Quelles sont les sources pour les Conseils tribaux et les organisations politiques représentant les Premières Nations?

  • Ces listes ont été vérifiées notamment à l'aide des sites Web des organisations, des profils des Premières Nations et des listes fédérales publiées.

Quelles sont les sources pour la liste intitulée Réserve, Établissement/Village?

  • La liste des réserves a été dressée manuellement à partir des profils des Premières Nations.

Quelles sont les sources pour la carte des traités?

  • La carte Traités historiques au Canada, qui présente les traités signés entre 1725 et 1923, est la principale source d'information pour cette carte. Nous avons aussi vérifié l'information dans plusieurs sites Web et rapports de recherche sur les traités. Les traités avec les Indiens ont généralement été classés dans deux groupes : ceux qui ont été signés avant la Confédération et ceux qui ont été signés après la Confédération.
  • Les traités datant d'avant la Confédération ont été signés avec la Couronne par l'entremise des représentants du gouvernement britannique. Les traités datant d'après la Confédération ont été signés avec le gouvernement du Canada. Les traités de paix et d'amitié ne supposaient aucun transfert de titres de propriété de terres; par conséquent, ils ne sont pas représentés individuellement sur la carte. Toutes les lignes frontalières représentent les limites approximatives du territoire visé par le traité. Les limites d'adhésion sont cartographiées de façon à montrer l'étendue du territoire visé par un traité après que des signataires se sont ajoutés en adhérant aux conditions du traité initial. Aussi, la carte présente les frontières des principales cessions de terre ou renonciations dans la région des traités du Haut-Canada.

Voici des liens qui pourraient aussi vous intéresser

Date de modification :