Nunavut – September 2003

PDF Version  
(369 kb, 3 Pages)

Accessibility Notice

Help on accessing documents in PDF format
can be obtained on the help page.



Creation of Nunavut

On April 1, 1999, the map of Canada changed. The former Northwest Territories (NWT) was divided in two, creating a new territory called Nunavut. In the Inuit language, Inuktitut, the word "Nunavut" means "our land."

Nunavut is made up of the central and eastern parts of the former NWT. These are the traditional lands of Inuit who live in the Canadian North above the tree line–lands their ancestors lived on for thousands of years. The Nunavut population is 85 percent Inuit.

The territory fulfils a long-time dream for Inuit of the Eastern Arctic. They govern a territory of about two million square kilometres, one fifth of Canada's total land mass.

The Nunavut government is a public government, elected by all residents, Inuit and non-Inuit. But because Inuit make up the majority of the population, they can shape the government to reflect their culture, traditions and goals. The Government of Nunavut enables Inuit to assume their rightful place in Canada and take charge of their destiny.

The largest land claim settlement in Canadian history

The federal and territorial governments and Inuit in the Eastern Arctic talked about dividing the NWT for many years. In 1976, the Inuit Tapirisat of Canada (now known as the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami [ITK]) asked the federal government to map out a boundary between the eastern and western regions of the NWT. ITK represents Inuit across Canada. It wanted the eastern region of the NWT to be the Nunavut Territory because of Inuit land claims in that area.

After years of negotiations, the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement was settled in 1993. It was the largest land claim ever settled in Canadian history. The settlement gives Inuit control of more than 350,000 square kilometres of land, of which 36,000 square kilometres include mineral rights. In addition, the land claim settlement gives Inuit more than $1 billion over 14 years, and guaranteed participation in making decisions for managing lands and resources.

The land claim settlement agreement included a reference to establish a Nunavut territory "as soon as possible." The governments of Canada and the NWT and the Tungavik Federation of Nunavut (which represented Nunavut Inuit during the land claim process) negotiated a political agreement. The federal government also created the Nunavut Implementation Commission to oversee the implementation of the land claim settlement and prepare for the creation of the territory.

The political agreement, signed in 1992, outlined how the Government of Nunavut would operate. It also fixed 1999 as the year the territory would become a reality. In 1993, the Parliament of Canada passed the legislation enacting both the land claim settlement and the agreement to create the territory of Nunavut. The creation of Nunavut changed the map of Canada for the first time since Newfoundland joined Confederation in 1949.

Taking on new challenges

The Nunavut government faces many challenges, including creating job opportunities for a large workforce of young people. About 56 percent of Nunavut's population is under the age of 25. Other challenges facing the territory are how to increase residents' income and education levels, and find ways to cope with a cost of living that is two to three times higher than that of southern Canadians.

The Government of Nunavut lets residents of the territory decide themselves how they want to meet these challenges. The government has similar powers as those of the NWT government. It has an elected legislative assembly, a cabinet and a territorial court. The capital of Nunavut is Iqaluit on Baffin Island.

To respond to the needs of its 25 far-flung communities, the Nunavut government is highly decentralized. Ten of its government departments are located in 23 different communities. Up-to-date communications technology plays an important role in this decentralized government structure.

The Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (the former Tungavik Federation of Nunavut), Nunavut Arctic College, the NWT government and Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) organized training programs to prepare Inuit for government and private sector jobs in the territory. These training programs focused on management, administration and support services.

Through their government, Nunavut residents are in charge of education, health, social services and many other provincial-type responsibilities. The government helps stimulate the regional economy, creating government jobs as well as spin-off jobs in the private sector.

The birth of the territory opened doors for development corporations in businesses as diverse as shrimp fishing, hotels and construction. There are also possibilities for mining copper, gold, silver, lead, zinc and diamonds. The tourism industry is also expanding, especially as three new national parks are being created in Nunavut.

Nunavut fast facts

  • Area – Two million square kilometres (about one fifth of Canada's land mass)
  • Population – 85 percent Inuit out of a total population of 29,000
  • Capital city – Iqaluit (population 6000)
  • Geographic regions – Qikiqtaaluk, Kivalliq (formerly known as "Baffin" and "Keewatin") and Kitikmeot
  • Communities – Nunavut has 25 communities of which Iqaluit is the largest
  • Parks – Three national parks are being created in Nunavut

Terminology

Aboriginal peoples
The descendants of the original inhabitants of North America. The Canadian Constitution recognizes three groups of Aboriginal people–Indians, Métis and Inuit. These are three separate peoples with unique heritages, languages, cultural practices and spiritual beliefs.

Inuit
An Aboriginal people in Northern Canada, who live in Nunavut, Northwest Territories, Northern Quebec and Northern Labrador. The word means "people" in the Inuit language–Inuktitut. The singular of Inuit is Inuk.

Land claims
In 1973, the federal government recognized two broad cases of claims–comprehensive and specific. Comprehensive claims are based on the assessment that there may be continuing Aboriginal rights to lands and natural resources. These kinds of claims come up in those parts of Canada where Aboriginal title has not previously been dealt with by treaty and other legal means. The claims are called "comprehensive" because of their wide scope. They include such things as land title, fishing and trapping rights and financial compensation. Specific claims deal with specific grievances that First Nations may have regarding the fulfillment of treaties. Specific claims also cover grievances relating to the administration of First Nations lands and assets under the Indian Act.

The North
Land in Canada located north of the 60th parallel. INAC's responsibilities for land and resources in the Canadian North relate only to Nunavut, Northwest Territories and Yukon.

This general information is provided as a brief overview only. The terms of the Indian Act, its regulations, other federal statutes and their interpretation by the courts take precedence over the content of this information sheet.
Public Enquiries Kiosk
Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
Ottawa, ON K1A 0H4
Telephone: (819) 997-0380
Internet: Indian and Northern Affairs Canada

Le Nunavut – Septembre 2003

format PDF  
(314 Ko, 3  pages)

Avis d'accessibilité

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder le format PDF,
visitez la section d'aide.



La création du territoire du Nunavutt

Le 1er avril 1999, la carte du Canada a été modifiée. Les anciens Territoires du Nord-Ouest ont été divisés en deux territoires distincts, créant ainsi un nouveau territoire appelé Nunavut. Ce mot signifie « notre terre » en inuktitut, la langue des Inuit.

Le Nunavut est composé des parties centrale et orientale des anciens Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Il est formé des terres traditionnelles des Inuit qui vivent dans le Nord canadien, au-delà de la limite forestière, terres que leurs ancêtres ont habitées pendant des milliers d'années. Les Inuit représentent 85 % de la population.

La création du Nunavut vient concrétiser un rêve caressé depuis longtemps par les Inuit de l'Arctique de l'Est. Ces derniers administreront désormais un territoire d'environ deux millions de kilomètres carrés, soit le cinquième de la superficie du Canada.

Le gouvernement du Nunavut est un gouvernement populaire, élu par tous les résidants, tant inuits que non inuits. Cependant, comme les Inuit forment la majorité de la population, ils peuvent élire un gouvernement qui reflète leur culture, leurs traditions et leurs objectifs. Le gouvernement du Nunavut permet aux Inuit d'occuper la place qui leur revient au sein du Canada et de prendre en main leur destinée.

Le plus important règlement de revendication territoriale dans l'histoire du Canada

Pendant de nombreuses années, les gouvernements fédéral et territorial ainsi que les Inuit vivant dans l'Arctique de l'Est ont discuté de la division des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. En 1976, l'Inuit Tapirisat du Canada (maintenant appelé l'Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami [ITK]) a demandé au gouvernement fédéral de tracer une frontière entre les régions est et ouest des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. L'ITK, qui représente les Inuit d'un bout à l'autre du Canada, désirait que la partie est des Territoires du Nord-Ouest forme le Nunavut en raison des terres que les Inuit revendiquaient dans cette région.

L'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut a été conclu en 1993, après plusieurs années de négociation. Il s'agit de la plus importante revendication territoriale jamais réglée dans l'histoire du Canada. Le règlement attribue aux Inuit des pouvoirs sur un territoire de plus de 350 000 kilomètres carrés, dont une étendue de 36 000 kilomètres carrés assortie de droits miniers. De plus, il accorde aux Inuit la somme de plus de 1 milliard de dollars répartie sur 14 ans ainsi qu'une participation garantie aux décisions touchant la gestion des terres et des ressources.

L'Accord comprenait une disposition prévoyant l'établissement du territoire du Nunavut « aussitôt que possible ». Le gouvernement du Canada, celui des Terrotoires du Nord-Ouest et la Fédération Tungavik du Nunavut (qui représentait les Inuit au Nunavut durant le processus de revendication territoriale) ont négocié un accord politique. Le gouvernement fédéral a également constitué la Commission d'établissement du Nunavut, qui avait pour mission de superviser la mise en œuvre du règlement de la revendication territoriale et de préparer la création du territoire.

L'accord politique, signé en 1992, décrivait les grandes lignes de la façon dont le gouvernement du Nunavut fonctionnerait. Il prévoyait en outre que le territoire verrait le jour en 1999. En 1993, le Parlement du Canada a adopté une mesure législative promulguant à la fois le règlement de la revendication territoriale et l'accord visant à créer le territoire du Nunavut. La création du Nunavut a modifié la carte du Canada pour la première fois depuis l'entrée de Terre-Neuve dans la Confédération en 1949.

Relever de nouveaux défis

Le gouvernement du Nunavut fait face à de nombreux défis, dont celui de créer des emplois pour de nombreux jeunes. Environ 56 % de la population du Nunavut a moins de 25 ans. Les autres défis qui attendent le territoire ont trait aux façons d'accroître les revenus, de hausser le niveau de scolarité des résidants et de supporter un coût de la vie qui est de deux à trois fois plus élevé que dans le Sud du Canada.

Le gouvernement du Nunavut permet aux résidants du territoire de décider eux-mêmes comment ils entendent relever ces défis. Le gouvernement dispose de pouvoirs semblables à ceux du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Il compte une assemblée législative élue, un cabinet et un tribunal territorial. Iqaluit, la capitale du Nunavut, est située sur l'île de Baffin.

Afin de répondre aux besoins de ses 25 collectivités dispersées, le gouvernement du Nunavut est très décentralisé. Les bureaux de 10 ministères sont situés dans 23 collectivités différentes. Une technologie de communications de pointe joue un rôle important dans une telle structure gouvernementale.

La Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (connue auparavant sous le nom de Fédération Tungavik de Nunavut), le Collège de l'Arctique au Nunavut, le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. et Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC) ont élaboré divers programmes de formation afin de préparer les Inuit à occuper des emplois dans les secteurs public et privé du territoire. Ces programmes de formation étaient axés sur la gestion, l'administration et les services de soutien.

Par l'intermédiaire de leur gouvernement, les résidants du Nunavut sont chargés de l'éducation, de la santé, des services sociaux et de nombreuses autres responsabilités de type provincial. Le gouvernement contribue à stimuler l'économie régionale par la création directe de postes de fonctionnaires ainsi que par la création indirecte d'emplois dans le secteur privé.

La naissance de ce territoire a offert des possibilités aux sociétés de développement dans des secteurs variés tels que la pêche à la crevette, l'hôtellerie et la construction. L'industrie minière pourrait également y extraire du cuivre, de l'or, de l'argent, du plomb, du zinc et des diamants. De plus, le tourisme prend de l'expansion, surtout grâce à la création de trois parcs nationaux au Nunavut.

Quelques données sur le Nunavut

  • Superficie – 2 millions de kilomètres carrés (environ le cinquième de la superficie du Canada)
  • Population – 85 % d'Inuit sur une population totale de 29 000 personnes
  • Capitale – Iqaluit (population de 6 000 habitants)
  • Régions géographiques – Qikiqtaaluk et Kivalliq (connues auparavant sous les noms de Baffin et de Keewatin) et Kitikmeot
  • Collectivités – Le Nunavut comprend 25 collectivités dont Iqaluit, qui est la plus importante.
  • Parcs – Création de trois parcs nationaux au Nunavut

Terminologie

Autochtone
Personne qui descend des premiers habitants de l'Amérique du Nord. La Constitution canadienne reconnaît trois groupes d'Autochtones : les Indiens, les Métis et les Inuit. Il s'agit de trois peuples, chacun se distinguant des autres par son patrimoine particulier, sa langue, ses habitudes culturelles et ses croyances spirituelles.

Inuit
Autochtone du Nord canadien qui vit au Nunavut, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, dans le Nord québécois ou dans le Nord du Labrador. Dans la langue inuite, l'inuktitut, le mot inuit signifie « les gens ».

Revendications territoriales
En 1973, le gouvernement fédéral a reconnu deux grandes catégories de revendications : les revendications globales et les revendications particulières. Les revendications globales s'appuient sur la reconnaissance de l'existence possible des droits ancestraux sur les terres et les ressources naturelles. Ces revendications sont issues de régions du Canada où les titres ancestraux n'ont jamais fait l'objet de traités et d'autres dispositions légales. Ces revendications sont appelées « globales » en raison de leur vaste portée. Elles comprennent des éléments comme les titres fonciers, les droits de pêche et de piégeage et les mesures d'indemnisation financière. Les revendications particulières désignent des griefs bien précis formulés par les Premières nations à l'égard du respect des engagements énoncés dans les traités. Les revendications particulières désignent aussi les griefs concernant l'administration des terres et des biens des Premières nations en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Le Nord
Territoire du Canada situé au nord du 60e parallèle. Les responsabilités d'AINC à l'égard du territoire et des ressources dans le Nord canadien visent seulement le Nunavut, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le Yukon.

 Cette fiche d'information ne vise qu'à donner un aperçu. Les dispositions énoncées dans la Loi sur les Indiens, dans ses règlements et dans d'autres lois du Parlement ainsi que leur interprétation par les tribunaux ont préséance sur son contenu.

Publications et renseignements au public
Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H4
Tél. : (819) 997-0380
Site Internet : Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada