Fact Sheet: Aboriginal Self-Government

The long history and rich culture of Aboriginal people in Canada not only help define our national identity but also shape our social and economic well-being. Fostering good government and strong accountability in Aboriginal communities helps to increase investor confidence, support economic partnerships and improve living conditions.

Self-government agreements are one means of building sound governance and institutional capacity that allow Aboriginal communities to contribute to, and participate in, the decisions that affect their lives and carry out effective relationships with other governments. Self-government agreements give Aboriginal groups greater control and law-making authority over a comprehensive range of jurisdictions, including governance, social and economic development, education, health, lands and more.

Lands and resources under the control of these Aboriginal governments are more attractive to investors, and this facilitates partnerships between Aboriginal governments, other governments and the private sector. As a result, greater prosperity for Aboriginal people and a more promising future for all Canadians may be achieved. Learn more about the benefits of self-government.

Concluded Agreements

In collaboration with its negotiation partners, Canada has signed 21 self-government agreements recognizing a wide range of Aboriginal jurisdictions that involve 35 Aboriginal communities across Canada. Of those, 18 are part of a comprehensive land claim agreement (modern treaty). These figures include the Yale Final Agreement, the Tla’amin Final Agreement and the Sioux Valley Final Agreement which have been signed, but are not yet in effect.

In addition to the comprehensive self-government agreements referred to above, other forms of governance or self-government have been negotiated and implemented in Canada. One example is the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement, a comprehensive land claim agreement where self-government aspirations are expressed through public government. This self-government is unique due to the fact that the Nunavut government represents all the people residing in the territory.

Another example is the Cree in Quebec. Since the enactment of the Cree-Naskapi (of Quebec) Act in 1984, the nine Cree communities are not subject to the Indian Act. As such, the Cree community governments and the Cree Regional Authority manage a land regime, participate in an environmental and social protection regime and partner with various entities in economic development opportunities. Currently, negotiations are ongoing with the Cree Regional Authority to finalize a Cree Nation Governance Agreement, which would build upon the current governance arrangements.

Another form of self-government is sectoral negotiations, where only one or two jurisdictions are negotiated with an Aboriginal group. Examples of sectoral education negotiations include the Mi’kmaq Education Partnership in Nova Scotia and ongoing negotiations in British Columbia. A band can use the First Nation Land Management Regime to leave the Indian Act and take control of land management. The Regime accelerates First Nations' ability to manage their lands more effectively and efficiently than under the Indian Act.

Negotiation Tables

Currently there are about 90 self-government negotiation tables across the country. These tables are at various stages of the negotiation process and in most cases are being negotiated in conjunction with comprehensive land claims. Explore this map or consult this list of negotiation tables to learn more about these negotiations.

Ongoing Work with Partners to Accelerate Progress

To respond to calls for change, Canada is working with partners to accelerate progress in comprehensive land claim and self-government negotiations in a manner that is more equitable, sustainable and that better enables economic development for Aboriginal groups.

Canada remains committed to working with its partners to achieve results at negotiating tables for the benefit of all Canadians.

Good Governance

New self-government arrangements support the achievement of "good governance" – governance that is participatory, accountable, responsive, efficient and effective, transparent and that operates by the rule of law. Research, both domestic and international, points to good governance as being a critical component of achieving strong, healthy communities.

For self-government agreements to be effective, they need to address, among other things, the structure of the new government and its relationship with other governments, new fiscal arrangements, the relationship of laws between jurisdictions, program and service delivery, and implementation planning.

Accountability

Self-government agreements establish Aboriginal governments that are primarily responsible to their citizens, as well as establish a framework for intergovernmental relationships between the Aboriginal, federal and, where applicable, provincial governments. Accountability commitments are features of all of these relationships.

Agreements must address the need to strengthen key elements of governance, including fiscal and management regimes. They must also promote governance systems with the capacity, size, resources and legitimacy to provide effective governance, positioning Aboriginal communities to pursue opportunities for economic development.

While much has been done to ensure self-government agreement provisions address these fundamental needs, the Government of Canada acknowledges it must continue to collaborate with its agreement partners to strengthen its approach to treaty implementation.

Fiche d'information : Autonomie gouvernementale autochtone

La longue histoire et la riche culture des peuples autochtones du Canada contribuent non seulement à définir notre identité nationale, mais aussi à former nos bases sociales et économiques. En favorisant de bonnes pratiques gouvernementales et une solide reddition de comptes dans les collectivités autochtones, on peut améliorer les conditions de vie de leurs membres, accroître la confiance des investisseurs et soutenir les partenariats économiques.

Les ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale constituent l'un des moyens d'assurer une saine gouvernance et de mettre en place la capacité institutionnelle grâce à laquelle les collectivités autochtones peuvent contribuer à la prise des décisions touchant la vie de leurs membres et nouer de bonnes relations avec d'autres gouvernements. Les ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale confèrent aux groupes autochtones un contrôle accru et le pouvoir de légiférer sur une grande variété de champs de compétence, y compris la gouvernance, le développement social et économique, l'éducation, la santé et les terres.

Les terres et les ressources contrôlées par ces gouvernements autochtones sont plus attirantes pour les investisseurs, et cette situation facilite la création de partenariats entre les gouvernements autochtones, les autres gouvernements et le secteur privé. Cela mène à une plus grande prospérité pour les Autochtones et à un avenir plus brillant pour tous les Canadiens.

Ententes conclues

En collaboration avec ses partenaires aux négociations, le Canada a conclu 22 accords d'autonomie gouvernementale reconnaissant une grande variété de secteurs de compétence dans 36 collectivités autochtones au Canada. De ces ententes, 18 font partie d'un accord sur une revendication territoriale globale (traité moderne). Ce nombre comprend l'Accord définitif de la Première Nation de Yale, l'Accord définitif des Tla'amin et l'entente définitive sur l'autonomie gouvernementale de la Première Nation de Délı̨nę qui ont été signés, mais qui ne sont pas encore en vigueur.

En plus des ententes globales sur l'autonomie gouvernementale dont il est question ci dessus, d'autres formes de gouvernance ou d'autonomie gouvernementale ont été négociées et mises en œuvre au Canada. L'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut est un exemple d'accord sur les revendications territoriales globales où les aspirations d'autonomie gouvernementale s'expriment en tant que gouvernement public. Il s'agit d'un type unique d'autonomie gouvernementale, car le gouvernement du Nunavut représente tous les résidants du territoire.

Les Cris du Québec offrent un autre exemple. Depuis l'entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur les Cris et les Naskapis du Québec en 1984, les neuf collectivités cries ne sont plus assujetties à la Loi sur les Indiens. Ainsi, les gouvernements communautaires cris et l'Administration régionale crie gèrent un régime foncier, participent à un régime de protection environnementale et sociale et s'associent avec diverses entités pour saisir des occasions de développement économique. L'Entente concernant une nouvelle relation de 2008 établit une approche pour moderniser le régime de gouvernance actuel des Cris.

Une autre forme d'autonomie gouvernementale consiste en des négociations sectorielles dans le cadre desquelles on négocie un ou deux champs de compétence avec un groupe autochtone. Parmi les exemples de négociations sectorielles en matière d'éducation, citons les partenariats en éducation en Nouvelle-Écosse avec les Mi'kmaq et les négociations continues en Colombie-Britannique. Une bande peut utiliser le Régime de gestion des terres des Premières Nations pour se retirer de l'assujettissement à la Loi sur les Indiens et prendre le contrôle sur la gestion des terres. Le Régime améliore la capacité des Premières Nations à gérer leurs terres plus efficacement qu'en application de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Tables de négociation

En ce moment, on compte environ 90 tables de négociation sur l'autonomie gouvernementale au Canada. Toutes ces tables se trouvent à différentes étapes du processus de négociation et dans la plupart des cas, les négociations portent aussi sur les revendications territoriales globales. Explorez la carte pour en apprendre davantage sur les négociations en cours.

Des travaux permanents avec les partenaires afin d'accélérer les progrès

Dans le but de répondre aux demandes de changements, le Canada collabore avec ses partenaires afin d'accélérer les progrès dans la négociation des revendications territoriales globales et de l'autonomie gouvernementale afin qu'elles se déroulent d'une façon plus équitable et viable qui favorisera le développement économique pour les groupes autochtones.

Le Canada demeure résolu à travailler avec ses partenaires afin d'obtenir des résultats probants aux tables de négociation, et ce, au profit de tous les Canadiens.

Gouvernance saine

Les nouveaux accords de gouvernance visent la mise en place d'une gouvernance « saine », c'est-à-dire d'une gouvernance efficace, efficiente, adaptable et transparente, qui encourage la participation et la reddition de comptes et est fondée sur la primauté du droit. Les recherches réalisées au pays et à l'étranger montrent qu'une saine gouvernance est essentielle pour la création de collectivités dynamiques et en santé.

Pour que les accords d'autonomie gouvernementale puissent porter leurs fruits, ils doivent – entre autres choses – définir la structure du gouvernement qui sera mis en place, les relations de celui-ci avec les autres gouvernements, les nouvelles règles fiscales, les relations entre les lois des différents gouvernements, la prestation de programmes et de services ainsi que la façon de planifier la mise en œuvre.

Reddition de comptes

Les ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale établissent des gouvernements autochtones qui sont principalement responsables devant leurs citoyens, en plus de créer un cadre pour les relations intergouvernementales entre les Autochtones, le gouvernement fédéral et, le cas échéant, les gouvernements provinciaux. Des engagements en matière de reddition de compte sont inclus dans toutes ces relations.

Les accords doivent permettre de renforcer les éléments essentiels d'une bonne gouvernance, dont le régime fiscal et les modalités de gestion. Ils doivent aussi favoriser la mise en place de régimes de gouvernance qui ont la capacité, la taille, les ressources et la légitimité nécessaires pour assurer une gouvernance efficace et permettre aux collectivités autochtones de profiter des possibilités de développement économique.

Bien qu'on ait déjà beaucoup fait pour que les accords d'autonomie gouvernementale répondent à ces besoins fondamentaux, le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît qu'il doit continuer de collaborer avec ses partenaires afin de renforcer ses méthodes de mise en œuvre des traités.