ARCHIVED - Indian Residential Schools Statement of Apology - Patrick Brazeau, National Chief, Congress of Aboriginal Peoples

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Download: MP4 format

Transcript

Chief Patrick Brazeau (National Chief of the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples): Members of the House, it is indeed an honour and a pleasure to be here witnessing this historic day.

Not only is it a historic day, but it is a positive step forward in the history of this great country of ours.

I would like to thank the Prime Minister for his leadership, and for something that none of his predecessors has done, and that is to do the humane, moral and right thing.

Thank you.

More importantly, this day is about the survivors and those of you in the gallery. I am proud to be here on this floor and representing some of you.

I want you to know that even though you have attended residential schools, in my heart and in my soul you are true role models. Because of your resiliency, your courage and your strength, you have made me the strong aboriginal Algonquin Canadian that I am today, as you have others across this great land of ours.

Surely in a country that the entire world knows because of its great opportunities and hope, surely that belongs to those from whom it was taken so long ago. Today for me personally, not only is it a great day to be an aboriginal person or an Algonquin, but I am proud to be an aboriginal Canadian.

Meegwetch.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Les excuses aux anciens élèves des pensionnats Indiens - Patrick Brazeau, chef national du Congrès des peuples autochtones

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Téléchargement : Format MP4

Transcription

Chef Patrick Brazeau (Chef national du Congrès des Peuples autochtones, PCC) : Mesdames et messieurs les députés, c'est un honneur et un plaisir d'être ici pour prendre part à cet événement en cette journée unique dans notre histoire.

Non seulement ce jour est unique dans notre histoire, mais il constitue un pas dans la bonne direction pour notre magnifique pays.

J'aimerais remercier le premier ministre d'avoir fait preuve de leadership en faisant ce qu'aucun de ses prédécesseurs n'avait fait, en prenant une mesure qui s'imposait tant sur le plan humain que moral.

Merci.

Plus important encore, ce jour honore les survivants, dont certains sont parmi nous à la tribune. Je suis fier d'être ici et de représenter certains d'entre vous.

Je veux que vous sachiez que même si vous avez séjourné dans les pensionnats, au plus profond de moi, vous représentez de véritables modèles à suivre. Votre résilience, votre courage et votre force ont fait de moi le Canadien autochtone, l'Algonquin fort, que je suis aujourd'hui, comme il s'en trouve d'autres dans notre magnifique pays.

Ce pays reconnu dans le monde entier comme un pays débordant de possibilités et d'espoir appartient aussi à ceux qui en ont été privés il y a si longtemps. En ce qui me concerne, aujourd'hui, je suis non seulement fier d'être un Autochtone et un Algonquin, mais je suis aussi fier d'être un Canadien autochtone.

Meegwetch

Date de modification :