Common Experience Payments

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Choose a topic

Common Experience Payments Process

The Common Experience Payment (CEP) is a lump-sum payment that recognizes the experience of living at an Indian Residential School(s) and its impacts. All former students who resided at a recognized Indian Residential School(s) and were alive on May 30, 2005 were eligible for the CEP. This includes First Nations, Métis, and Inuit former students.

The deadline to apply for the CEP was September 19, 2011.

Applications are no longer being accepted.

Statistics on the implementation of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement

Decisions on payments

Government of Canada researchers use several ways to verify that former students resided at a recognized Indian Residential School:

  1. A computer search is an automatic search of over two million documents which produces clear answers in about 40 per cent of cases.
  2. If the computer search does not give a clear answer, a researcher must manually search through documents for each school named in the application in order to confirm eligibility.
  3. If a manual search does not produce a clear result, the CEP Response Centre will try to contact the applicant to find out more about their residential school experience.  If the applicant can provide information, their answers will be compared with what is known about the school and life there to support the application.

Once an application is processed, applicants receive a detailed letter explaining their assessment. Payment, if applicable, will arrive within a few days of the letter. If an applicant is not satisfied with the outcome of their application, they have an opportunity to have their application reconsidered.

Applying for reconsideration

Applicants can request reconsideration of their original decision. Reconsideration is an internal review of the initial CEP decision. It is completed by the government to ensure that the original decision is accurate and appropriate.

Applicants do not need to provide any new information for reconsideration but any information that can help prove residency at an IRS school is welcome.

Request reconsideration of your application for the Common Experience Payment

A notice of the decision will be sent to the applicant. Any payment should arrive within a few days of the decision letter.  The decision letter will include an explanation of any years for which there was no payment.

Deadline to apply for reconsideration

You have six months from the date noted on the top of your Common Experience Payment decision letter or from the date the letter from the National Administration Committee (NAC) letter was issued, whichever is later, to apply.

Important: If you do not apply for the reconsideration process, you will not be able to appeal your assessment any further.

Reconsideration eligibility

To be eligible for reconsideration, the former student must:

  • Have been a resident at an Indian Residential School(s) where previously they may have been a day student
  • Have resided at a school that is on the list of recognized Indian Residential Schools
  • Have been alive on May 30, 2005
Day school students

Former day school students who attended an Indian Residential School recognized by the Settlement Agreement may have the option of pursuing certain abuse claims through the Independent Assessment Process. They may also be eligible for other individual and collective initiatives under the Settlement Agreement.

Reconsideration decisions

Once the reconsideration process is completed (whether a supplemental payment was approved or not), the applicant will receive a letter that provides the details of the decision.

The majority of requests for reconsideration will be processed within 90 days. Some requests will be more complex and may take up to 160 days to process. In cases where a reconsideration decision is not possible within 90 days of receipt of the applicant's request, a letter will be sent to the applicant notifying them that work on their file is continuing and that additional time is required.

Applying for an appeal

If you are not satisfied with the outcome of the reconsideration process, you can request an appeal to the National Administration Committee (NAC), a committee of seven members made up of one representative from each party to the Settlement Agreement. Following the decision of the NAC, a payment will be made as required.

Appeal the decision of reconsideration for your CEP application

Eligible Indian Residential Schools

There are 139 recognized Indian Residential Schools. Eligible schools were agreed upon between all parties to the Indian Residential School Settlement Agreement involved in the negotiation process.  Read more about how schools were added as part of the Statistics on the implementation of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement.

Schools added to the Indian Residential School Settlement Agreement

Article 12 of the Settlement Agreement sets out a two-part test that is used to assess each requested institution to determine if it should be recognized as an Indian Residential School. To date, 9,469 people have asked for 1,530 distinct institutions to be added to the Settlement Agreement.

Since implementation of the Settlement Agreement, Canada has found that seven institutions met the Article 12 test criteria and they have been added to the list of recognized Indian Residential Schools for specific periods of time. The court has also added two institutions, for a current total of 139 residential schools eligible under the Settlement Agreement.

Criteria to add a school to the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement

Under Article 12 of the Settlement Agreement, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is responsible for researching and assessing available information and deciding whether or not the requested institution satisfies the criteria to be added to the Settlement Agreement.

The criteria outlined in Article 12 of the Settlement Agreement are:

  • Children were placed in a residence away from the family home by or under the authority of the Government of Canada for the purpose of education
  • The Government of Canada was jointly or solely responsible for the operation of the residence and care of the children resident there.

The criteria emphasize the nature of the residence and not the school.

Requests can be made through the Settlement Agreement website or by calling 1-866-879-4913. The official court web site contains a list of all requests to add institutions to date, as well as status updates for decisions on requests to add institutions to the IRSSA.

AANDC is obliged under the Settlement Agreement to provide a response to requestors and the National Administration Committee, the multi-party committee overseeing the administration of the IRSSA, within 60 days of receiving the request. The department can also ask for an extension of time in the case of complex research.

Advanced payment program

On May 10, 2006, the government announced an Advance payment program for former students who resided at a recognized Indian Residential School and who were 65 years of age or older on May 30, 2005, the day the negotiations were initiated. Upon application and verification, eligible former students received an $8,000 advance payment, which would then be deducted from their future Common experience payment.

Advance payment application forms were accepted until December 31, 2006. A total of $82.6M was paid to individuals 65 and older under the program.

Canada’s role in the common experience payment

Canada is the trustee for the $1.9 billion set aside for the Common Experience Payment and is accountable to the parties of the Settlement Agreement and to the courts. In each stage of the process (initial application, reconsideration or appeal) Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada will contact applicants to gain clarification or additional information surrounding their residential school experience to help with the research assessment. When information is unclear or incomplete, interpretation will favor the applicant.

Personal credits

Deadlines to apply, redeem and use personal credits

Note: The deadline to apply for personal credits has now passed. It was March 9, 2015.

The deadlines to redeem and use personal credits have been extended:

  • June 8, 2015, is the new deadline for approved education groups to submit redemption forms for payment.
  • August 31, 2015, is the new deadline for CEP recipients, or their family members, to complete courses or programs for which personal credits are used.

Redeem or use personal credits

What are personal credits?

Personal credits may be used for a wide range of educational programs and services, including those provided by universities, colleges, trade or training schools, Indigenous institutions of higher learning. Programs or services could include literacy or trades as well as Aboriginal identities, histories, cultures or languages.

Value of personal credits

Personal credits have no cash value. They are redeemable only for individual or group educational services. They can only be used for programs and services at approved educational entities and groups. Each CEP recipient can receive up to $3,000 in personal credits, depending on the approved educational expenses.

The personal credits will be issued directly to the educational entity or group providing the service.

Who can use personal credits?

Common Experience Payment recipients can use the full amount themselves or give part or all of their personal credits to family members such as a spouse, child, grandchild or sibling, as defined in the terms and conditions of the Settlement Agreement. Personal credits of multiple CEP recipients can be combined to support a group learning activity.

How to redeem personal credits

Once approved, Common Experience Payment recipients will be sent a personalized redemption form for each individual using personal credits at each educational group. Once the form is received, they should provide it to the educational group listed. The educational group must then complete and mail back the redemption form to Crawford Class Action Services, the court-appointed administrator of the personal credits program.

Unused personal credits

The value of any unused personal credits will be given to the National Indian Brotherhood Trust Fund and Inuvialuit Education Foundation for educational programs as set out in the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement.

Date modified:

Paiement d’expérience commune

Choisissez un sujet :

Processus de Paiement d'expérience commune

Le Paiement d'expérience commune (PEC) est un paiement forfaitaire qui reconnaît les expériences vécues dans les pensionnats indiens et leurs répercussions. Tous les anciens élèves ayant vécu dans un pensionnat indien reconnu et qui étaient vivants au 30 mai 2005 sont admissibles au PEC. Cela comprend autant les anciens élèves des Premières Nations que les anciens élèves métis et inuits.

La date limite pour faire une demande au titre du Paiement d'expérience commune était le 19 septembre 2011. Veuillez noter que les demandes de Paiement d'expérience commune ne sont plus acceptées.

Statistiques sur la mise en œuvre de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens

Décisions au sujet des paiements

Les agents de recherche du gouvernement du Canada disposent de plusieurs moyens afin de vérifier que l'ancien élève a résidé dans un pensionnat indien reconnu et de déterminer le nombre d'années de résidence :

  1. La fonction de recherche informatisée effectue une recherche automatique parmi plus de deux millions de documents et génère des réponses claires dans environ 40 % des cas. 
  2. Si la réponse obtenue n'est pas claire, un agent de recherche doit examiner des documents pour trouver chaque pensionnat mentionné dans la demande et vérifier l'année scolaire précédant et suivant la période de fréquentation du pensionnat en vue de confirmer l'admissibilité (recherche manuelle). 
  3. Si la recherche manuelle ne permet pas d'obtenir un résultat clair, le Centre de réponse du PEC tentera de communiquer avec le demandeur pour lui poser une série de questions sur son expérience au pensionnat. Si le demandeur est en mesure de fournir l'information demandée, ses réponses seront comparées avec les renseignements connus sur le pensionnat et les conditions de vie dans ce dernier afin de justifier la demande.

Une fois qu'une demande a été traitée, le demandeur reçoit une lettre détaillée expliquant l'évaluation qui a été faite. Le paiement, s'il y a lieu, sera versé quelques jours après l'arrivée de la lettre. S'il n'est pas satisfait de la décision rendue relativement à sa demande, le demandeur a la possibilité de faire réexaminer sa demande.

Faire une demande de réexamen

Les demandeurs du PEC peuvent demander un réexamen de la décision initiale. Le Processus de réexamen consiste en un examen interne de la décision initiale du PEC. L'examen est complété par le gouvernement afin de s'assurer que la décision initiale est exacte et adéquate.

Le demandeur peut, sans y être obligé, faire parvenir des renseignements supplémentaires prouvant qu'il a fréquenté un pensionnat indien reconnu.

Formulaire de demande de réexamen du Paiement d’expérience commune

Une lettre sera envoyée par la poste au demandeur l'avisant de la décision. Le paiement, s'il y a lieu, sera versé quelques jours après l'arrivée de la lettre. La lettre comprendra une explication dans le cas où le paiement de certaines années scolaires est refusé.

Date limite pour présenter une demande de réexamen

Le demandeur a six mois à compter de la date inscrite au haut de sa lettre de décision ou de la lettre du Comité d'administration national (CAN) pour présenter une demande de réexamen.

Important : Le demandeur doit soumettre une demande au processus de réexamen avant d'en appeler autrement de l'évaluation du PEC.

Admissibilité pour le processus de demande de réexamen

Pour être admissible au réexamen, l'ancien élève doit satisfaire aux critères suivants :

  • avoir été pensionnaire dans un pensionnat indien (PI) où le demandeur aurait pu précédemment être considéré comme un externe
  • avoir vécu dans un pensionnat indien figurant dans la liste des pensionnats indiens reconnus
  • avoir été encore en vie le 30 mai 2005
Élèves ayant fréquenté un externat

Les anciens élèves qui fréquentaient l'externat de pensionnats indiens reconnus dans la Convention de règlement peuvent soumettre certaines réclamations pour abus au Processus d'évaluation indépendant (PEI), comme le prévoit la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens (CRRPI). Ces personnes peuvent également être admissibles à d'autres initiatives individuelles et collectives en vertu de la CRRPI.

Décision à la suite du réexamen

Lorsque le processus de réexamen est terminé (qu'un paiement supplémentaire ait été approuvé ou non), le demandeur recevra une lettre expliquant la décision.

La majorité des demandes seront traitées dans un délai de 90 jours. Certaines demandes seront extrêmement complexes et leur réexamen pourrait prendre jusqu'à 160 jours. Dans les situations où une décision ne peut être rendue dans les 90 jours suivant la réception d'une demande, une lettre sera acheminée au demandeur l'informant que l'étude de son dossier se poursuit et qu'un délai supplémentaire est nécessaire.

Interjeter appel

Si vous n'êtes pas satisfait de la décision rendue lors du processus de réexamen, vous pouvez interjeter appel au Comité d'administration national (CAN), comité de sept membres formé d'un représentant de chaque partie signataire de la Convention de règlement. À la suite de la décision du CAN, le paiement sera versé.

Formulaire d’appel du Paiement d’expérience commune (site non offert en français)

Pensionnats indiens reconnus

Le nombre total de pensionnats indiens reconnus est maintenant de 139.Toutes les parties à la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens (CRRPI) ayant participé au processus de négociation se sont entendues sur les établissements admissibles, c'est-à-dire les pensionnats indiens reconnus, en vertu de la CRRPI approuvée par les tribunaux. Apprenez en plus sur comment des établissements ont été ajoutés lors de la mise en œuvre de la Convention de règlement.

Établissements ajoutés à la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens

L'article 12 de la CRRPI établit les deux critères en fonction desquels chaque demande d'ajout est évaluée en vue de déterminer si l'établissement doit être reconnu ou non à titre de pensionnat indien. À ce jour, 9 469 personnes ont demandé l'ajout de 1 530 établissements distincts à la liste de la CRRPI.

Depuis la mise en œuvre de la CRRPI, sept établissements visés par les demandes correspondant aux critères précisés à l'article 12 ont été ajoutés à la liste des pensionnats indiens pour des périodes de temps bien précises. Les tribunaux ont aussi ajouté deux établissements à la liste, portant le nombre total d'établissements reconnus en vertu de la CRRPI à 139 à l'heure actuelle.

Critères pour ajouter des établissements à la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens

Aux termes de l'article 12 de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens (CRRPI), Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a la responsabilité d'effectuer les recherches nécessaires et d'évaluer l'information disponible afin de décider si l'établissement visé satisfait aux critères pour l'ajout d'un établissement à la CRRPI.

Les critères énoncés à l'article 12 de la CRRPI sont les suivants :

  • l'enfant avait été placé dans un pensionnat, hors de son foyer familial, par le Canada ou en vertu de son autorité aux fins d'éducation;
  • le Canada était conjointement ou exclusivement responsable du fonctionnement du pensionnat et de la garde des pensionnaires.

Les critères mettent l'accent sur la nature de la résidence et non sur l'école.

On peut soumettre les demandes sur le site Web de la CRRPI ou en composant le 1-866-879-4913. Le site Web officiel de la Convention de règlement contient une liste de tous les établissements ayant fait l'objet d'une demande jusqu'à maintenant, ainsi qu'un tableau régulièrement mis à jour indiquant les décisions rendues à l'égard des demandes d'ajout d'établissements à la CRRPI.

AADNC est tenu par la CRRPI de fournir une réponse au requérant et au Comité d'administration national, le comité multipartite chargé de superviser l'administration de la CRRPI, dans les 60 jours suivant la réception de la requête. Il peut aussi demander une prolongation du délai pour effectuer des recherches complexes.

Programme de paiement anticipé

Le 10 mai 2006, le gouvernement a annoncé un Programme de paiement anticipé destiné aux anciens élèves ayant séjourné dans un pensionnat indien reconnu et âgés de 65 ans ou plus au 30 mai 2005, date du début des négociations. Sur demande et après vérification, les anciens élèves admissibles ont reçu un paiement anticipé de 8 000 $ a été déduit de leur paiement d'expérience commune ultérieur.

Les demandes de paiement anticipé ont été acceptées jusqu'au 31 décembre 2006. Au total, 82,6 millions de dollars ont été versés à des anciens élèves âgés de 65 ans et plus dans le cadre du programme.

Le rôle du Canada dans le PEC

Le Canada est le fiduciaire de la somme de 1,9 milliard de dollars réservée pour le PEC et doit rendre des comptes aux parties signataires de la Convention de règlement et aux tribunaux. À chaque étape du processus du PEC (demande initiale, réexamen ou appel) et au besoin, AADNC communiquera avec les demandeurs pour obtenir des clarifications ou des renseignements supplémentaires au sujet de leur expérience au pensionnat indien, et ce, afin d'aider à effectuer l'évaluation de la recherche.  Lorsque l'information disponible est floue ou incomplète, on l'interprète de manière à favoriser le demandeur.

Crédits personnels

Dates limites pour présenter une demande, échanger et utiliser les crédits personnels

Veuillez prendre note que la date limite pour présenter une demande pour les crédits personnels est passée. C'était le 9 mars 2015.

Les dates limites pour échanger ou utiliser des crédits personnels ont été prolongées:

  • La nouvelle date limite pour que les entités et les groupes éducatifs approuvés puissent soumettre un formulaire d'échange est le 8 juin 2015.
  • Les bénéficiaires du PEC ou les membres de leur famille ont jusqu'au 31 août 2015 pour terminer les cours ou les programmes pour lesquels ils utilisent leurs crédits personnels.

Échanger ou utiliser des crédits personnels (site non offert en français)

Que sont les crédits personnels?

Les crédits personnels peuvent être utilisés pour obtenir une vaste gamme de programmes ou services éducatifs, fournis notamment par des universités, des collèges, des écoles de métiers ou de formation, des établissements autochtones offrant un enseignement supérieur ou des cours d'alphabétisation ou d'enseignement de métiers, de même que pour des programmes ou services portant sur les identités, histoires, cultures ou langues autochtones.

Valeur des crédits personnels

Les crédits personnels sont des crédits qui n'ont pas de valeur monétaire et qui peuvent uniquement être échangés auprès d'entités ou de groupes éducatifs approuvés (site non offert en français) afin de recevoir des services éducatifs fournis individuellement ou à des groupes.  Des fonds sont disponibles pour permettre à chacun des bénéficiaires du PEC de recevoir jusqu'à 3 000 $ en crédits personnels, selon les frais d'études qui auront été approuvés.

Les chèques seront émis directement au nom de l'entité ou du groupe éducatif qui fournit le service.

Qui peut utiliser les crédits personnels?

Les bénéficiaires du PEC peuvent utiliser la totalité du montant pour eux-mêmes, ou donner une partie ou la totalité de leurs crédits personnels à certains membres de leur famille, comme un conjoint, des enfants, des petits-enfants, des frères et sœurs, comme définis dans les modalités et conditions. Les crédits personnels de plusieurs bénéficiaires du PEC peuvent être regroupés pour financer une activité d'apprentissage de groupe.

Comment échanger les crédits personnels?

Une fois les crédits approuvés, le bénéficiaire recevra un formulaire de rachat d'échange personnalisé pour chacune des personnes qui utiliseront les crédits personnels, pour chaque entité ou groupe éducatif. Ils doivent soumettre ce formulaire à l'entité ou au groupe éducatif dont le nom figure sur la liste. L'entité ou le groupe devra remplir le formulaire d'échange et le retourner à Crawford Class Action Services (site non offert en français), le cabinet nommé par les tribunaux à titre d'administrateur du programme de crédits personnels.

Crédits personnels inutilisés

Conformément à la Convention de règlement, la valeur des crédits personnels sera transférée au fonds fiduciaire de la Fraternité des Indiens (National Indian Brotherhood Trust Fund) et à la fondation pour l'éducation des Inuvialuits (Inuvialuit Education Foundation) pour des programmes éducatifs.

Date de modification :