CHAP. 17. An Act to amend "The Indian Act, 1880."

Date: Assented to 21st March, 1881

PDF Version   (231 Kb, 4 Pages)

Accessibility Notice

Help on accessing documents in PDF format
can be obtained on the help page.



Preamble.
Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate and House of Commons of Canada, enacts as follows:-

Governor in Council may make regulations for prohibiting or regulating sale of produce by Indians.



Publication.
1. The Governor in Council may make such provisions and regulations as may, from time to time, seem advisable for prohibiting or regulating the sale, barter, exchange or gift, by any band or irregular band of Indians, or by any Indian of any band or irregular band, in the North-West Territories, the Province of Manitoba, or the District of Keewatin, any grain or root crops, or other produce grown upon any Indian Reserve in the North-West Territories, the Province of Manitoba, or the District of Keewatin ; and may further provide that such sale, barter, exchange or gift shall be absolutely null and void unless the same be made in accordance with the provisions and regulations made in that behalf. All provisions and regulations made under this Act shall be published in the Canada Gazette

Penalty for buying from Indians contrary to such regulations.
2. Any person who buys or otherwise acquires from any such Indian, or band, or irregular band of Indians, contrary to any provisions or regulations made by the Governor in Council under this Act, is guilty of an offence, and is punishable, upon summary conviction, by fine, not exceeding one hundred dollars, or by imprisonment for a period not exceeding three months, in any place of confinement other than a penitentiary, or by both fine and imprisonment.

Superintendent General may direct seizure of produce unlawfully possessed by any person.
3. If any such grain or root crops or other produce as aforesaid, be unlawfully in the possession of any person, within the intent and meaning of this Act, and of any provisions or regulations made by the Governor in Council, under this Act, any person acting under the authority, either general or special, of the Superintendent General may, with such assistance in that behalf as he may think necessary, seize and take possession of the same, and he shall deal therewith, as the Superintendent General or any officer or person thereunto by him authorized, may direct.

Governor in Council may prohibit cutting
of trees on reserves.
4. The Governor in Council may make such provisions and regulations as may, from time to time, seem advisable, for prohibiting the cutting, carrying away or removing from any reserve or special reserve, of any hard or sugar-maple tree or sapling.

Penalty for contravention of such regulations.
5. Any person who cuts, carries away or removes from any reserve or special reserve any hard or sugar-maple tree or sapling, or buys or otherwise acquires from any Indian or non-treaty Indian or other person, any hard or sugar maple tree or sapling so cut, carried away or removed from any reserve or special reserve, contrary to any provisions or regulations made by the Governor in Council under this Act, is guilty of an offence, and is punishable upon summary conviction by fine not exceeding one hundred dollars, or by imprisonment for a period not exceeding three months, or by both fine and imprisonment.

Who may act as a Justice, or as two Justices of the Peace.


43 V., c. 28.
6. Any one Judge, Judge of Sessions of the Peace, Recorder, Police Magistrate, District Magistrate or Stipendiary Magistrate, sitting at a police court or other place appointed in that behalf, for the exercise of the duties of his office, shall have full power to do alone whatever is authorized by "The Indian Act, 1880," to be done by a Justice of the Peace or by two Justices of the Peace.

Jurisdiction in city or town to give jurisdiction in surrounding county or district.
7. Any Recorder, Police Magistrate or Stipendiary Magistrate, appointed for or having jurisdiction to act in any city or town shall, with respect to offences and matters under "The Indian Act, 1880," have and exercise jurisdiction over the whole county or union of counties or judicial district in which the city or town for which he has been appointed or in which he has jurisdiction, is situate.

Section 23 of 43 V., c. 28, repealed.
8. Section twenty-three of "The Indian Act, 1880," is hereby repealed, and the following substituted therefor:-

New section.











Removal of persons or Indians settling, &c., illegally on Indian reserves.
23. If any person or Indian other than an Indian of the band, without the license of the Superintendent General (which license, however, he may at any time revoke) settles, resides, or hunts upon, or occupies, or uses, any such land or marsh ; or settles, resides upon, or occupies any such roads or allowances for roads, on such reserve ; or if any Indian is illegally in possession of any land in a reserve,- the Superintendent General, or such officer or person as he may thereunto depute and authorize, shall, on complaint made to him, and on proof of the fact to his satisfaction, issue his warrant, signed and sealed, directed to any literate person willing to act in the premises, commanding him forthwith to remove from the said land, or marsh, or roads or allowances for roads or land, every such person or Indian and his family, so settled, residing, or hunting upon, or occupying, or being illegally in possession of the same, or to notify such person or Indian to cease using as aforesaid the said lands, marshes, roads, or allowances for roads : and such person shall accordingly remove or notify every such person or Indian, and for that purpose shall have the same powers as in the execution of criminal process ; and the expenses incurred in any such removal or notification shall be borne by the party removed or notified, and may be recovered from him as the costs in any ordinary suit."

Section 30 repealed.
9. Section thirty of "The Indian Act, 1880," is hereby repealed, and the following substituted therefor :-

New section.





Sheriffs, &c. to assist in such removal.
30. All sheriffs, gaolers or peace officers, to whom any such process is directed by the Superintendent General, or by any officer or person by him deputed as aforesaid, and all other persons to whom such process is directed with their consent, shall obey the same ; and all other officers shall, upon reasonable requisition, assist in the execution thereof."

Section 90 of 43 V., c, 28, amended.
10. Section ninety of the said Act is hereby amended by adding after the words, "or non-treaty Indian," in the ninth line thereof, the words, "or of any person, or upon any other part of the reserve or special reserve, or sells, exchanges with, barters, supplies or gives to any person on any reserve or special reserve, any kind of intoxicant-."

Section 91 of 43 V., c. 28, amended.
11. Section ninety-one of  "The Indian Act, 1880," is hereby amended by striking out of the eleventh line thereof the word "may," and inserting in lieu thereof the words, "or suspected to be upon any reserve or special reserve, may, upon a search warrant in that behalf being granted by any Judge, Stipendiary Magistrate or Justice of the Peace-."

Indian Commissioner, &c., to be ex officio Justices of the Peace.
12. Every Indian Commissioner, Assistant Indian Commissioner, Indian Superintendent, Indian Inspector or Indian Agent shall be ex officio a Justice of the Peace for the purposes of this Act.

Informer may give evidence under 43 V., c.28.
13. In all cases in "The Indian Act, 1880," where it is provided that the conviction must take place on the evidence of one credible witness other than the informer or prosecutor, the informer or prosecutor shall nevertheless be allowed to give evidence.

Appointment of Assistant Indian Commissioners.
14. The Governor in Council may appoint an Assistant Indian Commissioner for Manitoba, Keewatin and the North-West Territories or an Assistant Indian Commissioner for Manitoba and Keewatin, and an Assistant Indian Commissioner for the North-West Territories, with such of the powers and duties of the Commissioner, and such other powers and duties as may be provided by Order in Council.

ARCHIVÉE - CHAP. 17. Acte pour amender " l'Acte relatif aux sauvages, 1880."

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

date : Sanctionné le 21 mars 1881

PDF format
(116 Kb, 4 Pages)

Avis d'accessibilité

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder le format PDF,
visitez la section d'aide.

Préambule. SA Majesté, par et de l'avis et du consentement du Sénat et de la Chambre des Communes du Canada, décrète ce qui suit :-
Le Gouverneur en conseil peut établir
des règlements pour prohiber ou régler la vente des produits par les Sauvages.



Promulgation.
1. Le Gouverneur en conseil pourra établir les dispositions et règlements qui lui paraîtront de temps à autre convenables pour prohiber ou régler la vente, le troc, l'échange ou le don, par toute bande ou toute bande irrégulière de sauvages, ou par tout sauvage d'une bande ou d'une bande irrégulière, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, la province de Manitoba ou le district de Kéwatin, des grains, racines ou autres produits récoltés sur une réserve de sauvages dans les territoires du Nord-Ouest, la province de Manitoba ou le district de Kéwatin ; et il pourra de plus régler que la vente, le troc, l'échange ou le don en seront absolument nuls et sans effet à moins d'avoir été faits conformément aux dispositions et règlements établis à ce sujet. Toutes dispositions et règlements, établis en vertu du présent acte seront publiés dans la Gazette du Canada.
Amende pour achat des Sauvages contrairement aux règlements. 2. Toute personne qui achètera ou acquerra d'autre manière d'un sauvage, d'une bande ou d'une bande irrégulière de sauvages, contrairement aux dispositions ou règlements établis par le Gouverneur en conseil en vertu du présent acte, sera coupable d'offense, et sera, sur conviction du fait par voie sommaire, passible d'une amende de cent piastres au plus, ou d'un emprisonnement de trois mois au plus dans un lieu de détention autre qu'un pénitencier, ou des deux peines de l'amende et de l'emprisonnement.
Le surintendant général pourra ordonner
la saisie des produits illégalement possédés.
3. Si de tels grains, racines ou autres produits, comme susdit, sont en la possession de quelque individu, d'une manière illégale au sens et selon l'intention du présent acte et des dispositions ou règlements établis par le Gouverneur en conseil en vertu du présent acte, toute personne agissant d'après une autorisation, soit générale, soit spéciale, du surintendant-général pourra, avec telle aide qu'elle jugera nécessaire, les saisir et en prendre possession, et elle en disposera comme le surintendant général ou tout agent ou individu par lui autorisé à cette fin, le lui ordonnera.
Le Gouverneur en conseil peut défendre d'abattre des arbres sur les réserves. 4. Le Gouverneur en conseil pourra établir les dispositions et règlements qui lui paraîtront de temps à autre convenables pour prohiber l'abatage, l'emport ou l'enlèvement de tout grand ou jeune érable d'espèce dure ou à sucre sur une réserve ou une réserve spéciale.
Amende pour contravention. 5. Toute personne qui abattra, sur une réserve ou réserve spéciale, ou en emportera ou enlèvera quelque grand ou jeune érable d'espèce dure ou à sucre, ou achètera ou acquerra d'autre manière d'un sauvage ou sauvage non compris dans les traités, ou autre personne, quelque grand ou jeune érable d'espèce dure ou à sucre ainsi abattu, emporté ou enlevé d'une réserve ou d'une réserve spéciale, contrairement aux dispositions ou règlements établis par le Gouverneur en conseil en vertu du présent acte, sera coupable d'offense, et sera, sur conviction du fait par voie sommaire, passible d'une amende de cent piastres au plus, ou d'un emprisonnement de trois mois au plus, ou des deux peines de l'amende et de l'emprisonnement.
Qui pourra agir comme un seul ou deux juges de paix.

43 V., c. 28.
6. Tout juge, juge des sessions de paix, recorder, magistrat de police, magistrat de district ou magistrat stipendiaire, siégeant en cour de police ou dans un autre lieu désigné à cette fin pour l'exercice de ses fonctions juridiques, aura plein pouvoir de faire seul tout ce que l'"Acte relatif aux sauvages, 1880," autorise un juge de paix ou deux juges de paix à faire.
La juridiction dans une cité ou ville donne juridiction dans le comté ou district voisin. 7. Tout recorder, magistrat de police ou magistrat stipendiaire nommé pour une cité ou ville ou ayant juridiction dans une cité ou ville, aura droit de connaître des offenses et des matières tombant sous l'application de l'"Acte relatif aux sauvages, 1880," dans toute l'étendue du comté, des comtés-unis ou du district judiciaire où sera située la cité ou ville pour laquelle il aura été nommé ou dans laquelle il aura juridiction.
Sec. 23 de 43 V., c. 28, abrogée et remplacée. 8. La section 23 de l' "Acte relatif aux sauvages 1880," est par le présent abrogée et remplacée par la suivante :
Expulsion des individus ou Sauvages s'établissant, etc., illégalement sur les .réserves des Sauvages. 23. Si un individu ou Sauvage autre qu'un Sauvage de la bande, sans la permission du surintendant général (permission qui sera en tout temps révocable), s'établit, réside ou chasse sur quelque terre ou marais, ou l'occupe, ou en fait usage, ou s'établit ou réside sur quelque chemin ou réserve de chemin, ou l'occupe dans les limites de la réserve : ou si un Sauvage est illégalement en possession de quelque terrain dans une réserve, le surintendant général, ou l'officier ou personne qu'il pourra déléguer et autoriser à cet effet, devra, sur plainte à lui faite, et sur preuve des faits à sa satisfaction, émettre un mandat sous ses seing et sceau, adressé à toute personne lettrée qui consentira à agir- lui enjoignant d'expulser immédiatement de cette terre ou marais, de ce chemin ou réserve de chemin, ou de ce terrain, tout tel individu ou Sauvage et sa famille ainsi établis, ou y résidant ou y chassant, ou l'occupant, ou en étant illégalement en possession, ou de notifier à cet individu ou à ce Sauvage d'avoir à cesser à d'en faire usage comme susdit ; et cette personne expulsera cet individu ou ce Sauvage ou lui donnera la notification en conséquence, et aura à cette fin, les mêmes pouvoirs que ceux exercés pour l'exécution de mandats en matières criminelles ; et les frais faits pour toute telle expulsion ou notification seront supportés par l'individu expulsé ou ayant eu notification, et pourront être recouvrés de lui comme peuvent l'être les frais de toute poursuite ordinaire."
Sec. 30 abrogée et remplacée. 9. La section 30 de l'Acte relatif aux Sauvages, 1880, est par présent abrogée et remplacée par la suivante ;-
Les shérifs, etc., aideront à cette expulsion. "30. Tous shérifs, geôliers ou officiers de paix auxquels un ordre de cette nature sera adressé par le surintendant général, ou par tout officier ou personne par lui déléguée comme il est dit ci-haut, et toutes autres personnes à qui cet ordre sera adressé de leur consentement, devront y obéir ; et tous autres officiers devront, sur réquisition raisonnable, aider à son exécution."
Sec. 90 de 43 V., c. 28, amendée. 10. La section quatre-vingt-dix du dit acte est par le présent amendée en insérant à la suite des mots "sauvage non compris dans les traités," en la dixième ligne de cette section, les mots, "ou de quelque personne que ce soit, ou sur tout autres point de la réserve ou de la réserve spéciale; ou qui vendra, echangera, troquera, fournira ou donnera à quelque personne que ce soit, sur une réserve ou une réserve spéciale, quelque substance enivrante."
Sec. 91 de 43 V., c. 28, amendée. 11. La section quatre-vingt-onze de l'"Acte relatif aux sauvages, 1880," est par le présent amendée en substituant dans la ligne douze de cette section aux mots "pourront être" les mots suivants : "ou supposés se trouver sur une réserve ou une réserve spéciale- pourront être, en vertu d'un mandat de perquisition décerné par un juge, magistrat stipendiaire ou juge de paix."
Les commissaires, etc, seront juge de paix d'office. 12. Tout commissaire des sauvages, commissaire-adjoint des sauvages, surintendant des sauvages, inspecteur des sauvages ou agent des sauvages, sera juge de paix ex-officio pour les fins du présent acte.
Le dénonciateur peut témoigner en vertu de 43 V., c. 28. 13. Dans tous les cas où l'"Acte relatif aux sauvages, 1880," statue que la conviction ne peut avoir lieu que sur le témoignage d'un témoin digne de foi autre que le dénonciateur ou poursuivant, il sera néanmoins permis au dénonciateur ou poursuivant de faire sa déposition comme témoin.
Nomination de commissaires adjoints des Sauvages. 14. Le Gouverneur en conseil pourra nommer un commissaire-adjoint des sauvages pour le Manitoba, le Kéwatin et les territoires du Nord-Ouest : ou un commissaire-adjoint des Sauvages pour le Manitoba et le Kéwatin, et un commissaire-adjoint des sauvages pour les territoires du Nord­Ouest, et assigner à chacun d'eux tels pouvoirs et devoirs du commissaire et tels autres qui seront déterminés par ordre en conseil.
Date de modification :