CHAP 36. An Act respecting the administration of criminal justice in the territory in dispute between the Governments of the Province of Ontario and of the Dominion of Canada.

Date: Assented to 7th May, 1880

PDF Version   (90 Kb, 4 Pages)

Accessibility Notice

Help on accessing documents in PDF format
can be obtained on the help page.



Preamble.
WHEREAS certain territory on the western and northern boundary of Ontario is claimed by the Government of Ontario as being within the said Province, and whereas such claim is disputed ;

And whereas the Parliament of Canada is desirous of making suitable provision for the administration of criminal justice within the said territory until the dispute is determined :

Therefore Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate and House of Commons of Canada, enacts as follows:-

Where crimes and offences committed in the disputed territory may be prosecuted and tried.
1. Every crime or offence committed in any part of the said territory may be enquired of, tried and punished within any county or district in the Province of Ontario or the Province of Manitoba, or in the District of Keewatin, and such crime or offence shall be within the jurisdiction of any court, judge, magistrate or magistrates, or justice or justices of the peace, or other functionary having jurisdiction over crimes or offences of the like nature committed within the limits of the county or district in which such crime or offence is prosecuted ; and such court, judge, magistrate or magistrates, justice or justices or other functionary, shall proceed thereon by way of preliminary investigation, and to trial, judgment and execution, or other punishment, for such crime or offence, in the same manner as if such crime or offence had been committed within the county or district where such trial is had.

Where such crime or offence may be laid.
2. Such crime or offence shall be sufficiently laid and charged, whether it is laid and charged to have been committed in Ontario or in the District of Keewatin, and any sentence which might have been imposed upon the offender had the offence been committed either in an undisputed part of Ontario or in an undisputed part of Keewatin, may be imposed upon an offender convicted under this Act.

Retroactive effect of ss. 1 and 2.
3. The next preceding two sections shall apply to any crime or offence heretofore committed, as well as to every crime or offence hereafter committed, in the said territory.

Order of Court or Judge where the offender is in custody in one Province and it is intended to try him in another or elsewhere in the same Province.




If in gaol in the disputed territory.
4. Where any person charged with the commission of any crime or offence within the territory above described is in custody in any gaol within the Province of Ontario, or within the Province of Manitoba, charged with the said crime or offence, and it is intended that such person shall be tried in a province other than the province in a gaol of which he is confined, or in a different part of the same province, then any judge of any superior court of the province in a gaol of which such prisoner is confined, having criminal jurisdiction, or any such court, on application by or on behalf of the Minister of Justice of Canada, or of the Attorney General of Ontario, or in case the prisoner is in custody at Prince Arthur's Landing and it is intended to try him at Sault St. Marie, then the judge of the District of Algoma, on application as aforesaid, may make an order upon the keeper of such gaol to deliver the said prisoner to the person named in such order to receive him ; and such person shall, at the time prescribed in such order, convey such prisoner to the place at which he is to be tried, there to remain in custody subject to the order of the court by which it is intended he shall be tried, or of any other court which may have jurisdiction to try him. In case the prisoner is confined in any gaol or lock-up in the said disputed territory, any judge of a superior court of Ontario or Manitoba having criminal jurisdiction may make the like order.

Judge or Court may by such order limit time of trial, &c.
5. The judge or court, on granting the said order, may, if the judge or court thinks fit, direct that unless the prisoner is tried within a time limited in the said order, he shall be either discharged from custody on his own recognizance or on bail, or returned forthwith to the gaol from which he was taken, as the said judge or court may consider proper, and the terms of the said order shall be duly obeyed; provided that the judge or any other judge of the same court or the court may, at any time, upon application made in that behalf, vary the terms of the said order.

Act cumulative.
6. The provisions of this Act are merely cumulative to the law as it now stands.

Provision for case of conviction in N. W. T., or Keewatin, and no proper place of confinement in the locality.
7. Whenever, under any law of Canada, any judge, Stipendiary Magistrate, justice of the peace or other functionary is authorized to commit to a common gaol, house of correction or lock-up house, or to the custody of the North-West Mounted Police, any person convicted before him of an offence committed in any part of the North-West Territories, or of the District of Keewatin, or in any part of the said disputed territory, then if there be no proper place of confinement for or within the locality in which the conviction is had or the offence was committed, or if for any reason, it would, in his opinion, be more convenient or less expensive so to do, the said judge, Stipendiary Magistrate, justice of the peace or other functionary may commit such person to the gaol at Winnipeg, or to the gaol at Prince Arthur's Landing, whichever may, in his opinion, be nearest to, or most conveniently accessible from the place of conviction.

Power to convey a prisoner sent to gaol under sect. 7.
8. Whenever any person is committed to gaol under the preceding section, any constable or other person, in whose charge such person is to be conveyed to the place of imprisonment, shall have the same power to hold and convey such person and to re-take him in case of an escape, and otherwise deal with such person as if he had been committed to such gaol by some court or authority competent (independently of the said section) to so commit him.

Certain statements not required in conviction or commitment.
9. It shall not be necessary in any warrant of commitment under this Act, or in any conviction or sentence upon which such warrant is issued, that any reason should be stated which renders it more convenient or less expensive, or that it should be stated that, in the opinion of the convicting judge, Stipendiary Magistrate, justice of the peace or other functionary, it is more convenient or less expensive that the offender should be committed to the gaol mentioned in the warrant, or that such gaol is in his opinion nearer to or more conveniently accessible from the place of conviction.

Arrangements may be made as to expenses under this Act.
10. The Governor in Council may, from time to time, make arrangements with the Governments of Ontario and Manitoba, respectively, for the payment of such sums as may be agreed upon for the confinement in the said gaols at Prince Arthur's Landing and Winnipeg, respectively, of such persons as may have been committed to either of such gaols for offences not committed within the Province in which such gaol is situate.

Duration of Act.
11. This Act shall remain in force until the end of the next Session of Parliament and no longer.

ARCHIVÉE - CHAP 36. Acte concernant l'administration de la justice criminelle dans le territoire en contestation entre les gouvernements de la province de l'Ontario et de la Puissance du Canada.

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

date : Sanctionné le 7 mai 1880

format PDF
(144 Kb, 4 pages)

Avis d'accessibilité

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder le format PDF,
visitez la section d'aide.

Préambule. CONSIDÉRANT que certain territoire situé sur la frontière occidentale et septentrionale de la province de l'Ontario est réclamé par le gouvernement de l'Ontario comme faisant partie de la dite province, et considérant que cette prétention est contestée ;

Et considérant que le parlement du Canada est désireux de prendre les dispositions nécessaires pour l'administration de la justice criminelle dans le dit territoire jusqu'à ce que la question soit réglée: A ces causes, Sa Majesté, par et de l'avis et du consentement du Sénat et de la Chambre des Communes du Canada, décrète ce qui suit :-
Où peuvent être jugés les crimes
et délits commis dans le territoire en contestation.
1. Tout crime ou délit commis dans quelque partie du dit territoire peut être recherché, jugé et puni dans les limites de tout comté ou district de la province de l'Ontario, ou de la province du Manitoba, ou du district de Kéwatin, et tel crime ou délit ressortira à toute cour ou à tout juge, magistrat ou magistrats, juge ou juges de paix, ou autre fonctionnaire ayant juridiction sur les crimes ou délits de même nature commis dans les limites du comté ou district où ce crime ou délit est l'objet de poursuites ; et la cour, le juge, le ou les magistrats, le ou les juges de paix, ou autre fonctionnaire, procéderont par voie d'instruction préliminaire, et aux procès, jugement et exécution, ou autre peine, de tel crime ou délit, de la même manière que si ce crime ou délit eût été commis dans le comté ou district où telle poursuite a lieu.
Où l'acte d'accusation peut être porté. 2. Tel crime ou délit sera suffisamment imputé, s'il est imputé comme ayant été commis dans l'Ontario, ou dans le district de Kéwatin ; et toute sentence qui aurait pu être prononcée contre le délinquant si le délit avait été commis soit dans une partie incontestée de l'Ontario soit dans une partie incontestée de Kéwatin, pourra être prononcée contre un délinquant trouvé coupable en vertu des dispositions du présent acte.
Effet rétroactif des ss. l et 2. 3. Les deux précédentes sections s'appliqueront à tout crime ou délit commis jusqu'à présent, ainsi qu'à tout crime ou délit qui se commettra à l'avenir dans le dit territoire.
Ordres de la cour ou du juge si le
prévenu est détenu dans une province
et doit subir son procès dans une
autre ou ailleurs dans la même province.



S'il est en prison dans le territoire contesté.
4. Lorsqu'une personne accusée d'avoir commis un crime ou délit dans le territoire ci-haut décrit est détenue dans une prison de la province de l'Ontario ou de la province de Manitoba sous l'inculpation de tel crime ou délit, et que l'on se propose de faire juger cette personne dans une province autre que la province dans une prison de laquelle elle est détenue, ou dans une autre partie de la même province, alors tout juge d'une cour supérieure de la province dans une prison de laquelle ce prisonnier est détenu, ayant juridiction criminelle, ou toute telle cour, sur requête du ministre de la Justice du Canada ou en son nom, ou du procureur-général de l'Ontario ou en son nom, ou, si le prisonnier est incarcéré à Prince Arthur's Landing et que l'on ait l'intention de lui faire subir son procès au Sault Ste.-Marie, alors le juge du district d'Algoma, sur requête comme susdit, pourra décerner un ordre enjoignant au gardien de telle prison de remettre le dit prisonnier à la personne nommée dans tel ordre pour le recevoir, et cette personne devra, au temps prescrit par le dit ordre, transporter le prisonnier au lieu où il doit subir son procès, pour là demeurer en prison, sujet à l'ordre de la cour par laquelle il doit être jugé ou de toute autre cour qui peut avoir juridiction pour le juger. Dans le cas où le prisonnier serait détenu dans une prison ou un lieu de détention dans le dit territoire contesté, tout juge d'une cour supérieure de l'Ontario ou du Manitoba ayant juridiction criminelle pourra décerner cet ordre.
La cour ou le juge peut prescrire l'époque du procès. 5. Le juge ou la cour, en décernant le dit ordre, pourra, si le juge ou la cour le croit à propos, prescrire que, à moins que le prisonnier ne subisse son procès dans un délai fixé par le dit ordre, il soit élargi sur son propre cautionnement ou en fournissant caution, ou renvoyé incontinent à la prison d'où il a été tiré, suivant que le dit juge ou la cour le jugera à propos, et les termes du dit ordre devront être ponctuellement suivis ; pourvu que le juge, ou tout autre juge de la même cour, ou la cour, puisse, en aucun temps, sur requête présentée à cet effet, changer les termes du dit ordre.
Acte cumulatif. 6. Les dispositions du présent acte sont purement cumulatives de la loi telle qu'elle existe aujourd'hui.
Ce qui sera fait dans les cas de condamnation dans les T. N.-O. ou Kéwatin, s'il n'y a pas de lieu de détention dans la localité. 7. Chaque fois que, en vertu de quelque loi du Canada, un juge, magistrat stipendiaire, juge de paix ou autre fonctionnaire est autorisé à faire incarcérer dans une prison commune, une maison de correction ou un violon, ou à mettre sous la garde de la police à cheval du Nord-Ouest quelque personne convaincue devant lui d'un délit commis dans quelque partie des territoires du Nord-Ouest, ou du district de Kéwatin, ou dans quelque partie du dit territoire en contestation, s'il n'existe pas de lieu de détention convenable pour ou dans la localité où la condamnation a eu lieu ou le délit a été commis, ou si, pour toute autre raison, il serait, à son avis, plus commode ou moins dispendieux d'en agir ainsi, le dit juge, magistrat stipendiaire, juge de paix ou autre fonctionnaire, pourra faire incarcérer cette personne dans la prison de Winnipeg ou dans celle de Prince Arthur's Landing, suivant que l'une ou l'autre sera, à son avis, plus rapprochée ou d'un accès plus facile de l'endroit où la condamnation a été prononcée.
Pouvoir de conduire un prévenu envoyé
en prison en vertu de la 7e section.
8. Chaque fois qu'une personne sera emprisonnée en vertu de la section immédiatement précédente, tout constable ou tout autre individu qui sera chargé de la conduire au lieu de l'emprisonnement aura le même droit de la détenir et conduire, et de la reprendre si elle s'évade, et de la traiter d'ailleurs comme si cette personne eût été condamnée à l'incarcération dans cette prison par quelque cour ou autorité compétente (indépendamment de la dite section) à l'y envoyer.
Certains énoncés ne sont pas
nécessaires dans la conviction ou la sentence.
9. Il ne sera pas nécessaire, dans aucun mandat d'emprisonnement décerné en vertu du présent acte, ni dans aucune conviction ou sentence à la suite de laquelle est lancé le mandat, d'énoncer aucune raison pour laquelle il est plus commode ou moins dispendieux, ou d'énoncer que, de l'avis du juge, magistrat stipendiaire, juge de paix ou autre fonctionnaire, il est plus commode ou moins dispendieux que le délinquant soit incarcéré dans la prison mentionnée au mandat, ou que cette prison est, à son avis, plus rapprochée ou d'un accès plus facile de l'endroit où la conviction a eu lieu.
Des arrangements peuvent être faits au sujet des dépenses faites en vertu de cet acte. 10. Le Gouverneur en conseil pourra de temps à autre prendre des arrangements avec les gouvernements de l'Ontario et du Manitoba, respectivement, pour le paiement de telles sommes qui pourront être convenues pour la détention dans les dites prisons de Prince Arthur's Landing et de Winnipeg, respectivement, des personnes qui pourront avoir été incarcérées dans l'une ou l'autre de ces prisons pour des délits commis en dehors de la province où est située cette prison.
Durée de cet acte. 11. Le présent acte restera en vigueur jusqu'à la fin de la prochaine session du parlement, et pas plus longtemps.
Date de modification :