CHAP. 34. An Act to amend "The Indian Act, 1876."

Date: Assented to 15th May, 1879

PDF Version   (75 Kb, 3 Pages)

Accessibility Notice

Help on accessing documents in PDF format
can be obtained on the help page.



Preamble.
HER Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate and House of Commons of Canada, enacts as follows:-

Sect. 3 of 39 V., c. 18, subsection 3 amended.
1. Paragraph (e) of sub-section three, of section three of "The Indian Act 1876," is hereby amended by adding at the end thereof the words "And any half-breed who may have been admitted into a treaty shall be allowed to withdraw therefrom on refunding all annuity money received by him or her under the said treaty, or suffering a corresponding reduction in the quantity of any land, or scrip, which such half-breed as such may be entitled to receive from the Government."

Section 16 repealed.
2. Section sixteen of the Act aforesaid is hereby repealed, and the following section substituted in lieu thereof :-

New section substituted.



Punishment of persons trespassing on Indian Reserves.







Recovery of penalties if not
forthwith paid.



Or by imprisonment.



And if the amount is not levied
under the warrant.





Application of penalties.
16. If any person or Indian, other than an Indian of the band to which the reserve belongs, without the license in writing of the Superintendent-General, or of some officer or person deputed by him for that purpose, trespasses upon any of the said land, roads or allowances for roads in the said reserve, by cutting, carrying away, or removing therefrom any of the trees, saplings, shrubs, underwood, timber or hay thereon, or by removing any of the stone, soil, minerals, metals or other valuables, off the said land, roads or allowances for roads, the person or Indian so trespassing shall, on conviction thereof before any Stipendiary Magistrate, Police Magistrate or Justice of the Peace, for every tree he cuts, carries away or removes, forfeit and pay the sum of twenty dollars ; and for cutting, carrying away, or removing any of the saplings, shrubs, underwood, timber or hay, if under the value of one dollar, the sum of four dollars ; but if over the value of one dollar, then the sum twenty dollars ; and for removing any of the stone, soil, minerals, metals or other valuables aforesaid, the sum of twenty dollars, with costs of prosecution in all cases ; and in default of immediate payment of the said penalties and costs, the Superintendent-General, or such other person as he may have authorized in that behalf, may issue a warrant, directed to any person or persons by him named therein, to levy the amount of the said penalties and costs by distress and sale of the goods and chattels of the person liable to pay the same ; and similar proceedings may be had upon such warrant as if it had been issued by the magistrate or Justice of the Peace before whom the person was convicted ; or the Superintendent-General, or such other person as aforesaid, without proceeding by distress or sale, may, upon non-payment of the said penalties and costs, order the person liable therefor to be imprisoned in the common gaol of the county or district in which the said reserve or any part thereof lies, for a period not exceeding thirty days when the penalty does not exceed twenty dollars, or for a period not exceeding three months when the penalty does exceed twenty dollars; and upon the return of any warrant for distress or sale, if the amount thereof has not been made, or if any part of it remains unpaid, the said Superintendent-General, or such other person as aforesaid, may commit the person in default to the common gaol, as aforesaid, for a period not exceeding thirty days, if the sum claimed upon the said warrant does not exceed twenty dollars, or for a time not exceeding three months if the sum does exceed twenty dollars : all such penalties shall be paid to the Receiver-General to be disposed of for the use and benefit of the band of Indians for whose benefit the reserve is held, in such manner as the Governor in Council may direct."

Section 17 amended.
3. Section seventeen of the said Act is hereby amended by adding thereto the words "and similar proceedings may be had for the recovery thereof as are provided for in the next preceding section."

Section 63 amended.
4. Section sixty-three of the said Act is hereby amended by adding to the fourth subsection thereof the words "also for the protection of sheep ;"

And by substituting for the words "maintenance of" in the fifth subsection thereof, the words "construction and maintenance of water courses ;"

And by adding to the said section the two following subsections:-

9. The repression of noxious weeds ;

10. The imposition of punishment, by fine or penalty, or by imprisonment, or both, for infraction of any of such rules or regulations,- the fine or penalty in no case to exceed thirty dollars, and the imprisonment in no case to exceed thirty days."

Section 69 amended.



Additional provisions as to presents to Indians.
5. Section sixty-nine of the said Act is hereby amended by striking out the words "or otherwise, howsoever," in the fourth line thereof, and by adding at the end of the said section the words "If any presents given to Indians or non-treaty Indians, or any property purchased or acquired with or by means of any annuities granted to Indians be unlawfully in the possession of any person, within the true intent and meaning of this section, any person acting under the authority (either general or special) of the Superintendent-General, may, with such assistance in that behalf as he may think necessary, seize and take possession of the same, and he shall deal therewith as the Superintendent-General may direct."

Section 87 amended.
6. Section eighty-seven is hereby amended by adding thereto the words "and in such cases compliance with the provisions of sections twenty-five and twenty-six and the sub-sections thereof shall not be necessary."

Penalties on keepers of public houses committing certain offences.

How enforced.
7. If any person, being the keeper of any house, allows or suffers any Indian woman to be or remain in such house, knowing, or having probable cause for believing, that such Indian woman is in or remains in such house with the intention of prostituting herself therein, such person shall be deemed guilty of an offence against this Act, and shall, on conviction thereof, in a summary way, before any Stipendiary Magistrate, Police Magistrate or Justice of the Peace, be liable to a fine of not less than ten dollars, or more than one hundred dollars, or to imprisonment in any gaol or place of confinement other than a penitentiary, for a term not exceeding six months.

Who shall be deemed master or mistress
of such house.
8. Any person who appears, acts or behaves as master or mistress, or as the person having the care, government or management of any house in which any Indian woman is, or remains for the purpose of prostituting herself therein, shall be deemed and taken to be the keeper thereof, notwithstanding he or she may not in fact be the real keeper thereof.

CHAP. 34. Acte à l'effet d'amender "l'Acte des Sauvages, 1876."

date : Sanctionné le 15 mai 1879

format PDF PDF
(265 Ko, 3 pages)

Avis d'accessibilité

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder le format PDF,
visitez la section d'aide.



Préambule.
SA Majesté, par et de l'avis et du consentement du Sénat et de la Chambre des Communes du Canada, décrète ce qui suit :-

Sec. 3 de 39 V., c. 18, parag. 3, amendée.
1. L'alinéa (e) du paragraphe trois de la troisième section de "l'Acte des Sauvages, 1876," est par le présent amendé en y ajoutant à la fin les mots suivants : "Et tout Métis qui pourra avoir été admis à un traité aura le droit de s'en retirer en remboursant tous les deniers qu'il ou elle aura reçus comme annuité en vertu du dit traité ou en subissant une réduction correspondante en la quantité de toute terre ou certificat de terre que le dit Métis pourra avoir droit, comme tel, de recevoir du gouvernement."

Sec. 16 abrogée.
2. La seizième section du dit acte est par le présent abrogée, et la section suivante y est substituée :-

Nouvelle section substituée.







Punition de ceux qui empièteront sur les réserves.







Recouvrement des amendes si elles ne sont pas payées de suite.







Emprisonne­ment du délinquant.






Et si le montant n'est pas prélevé
en vertu du mandat.








Emploi des amendes
16. Si quelque individu ou Sauvage autre qu'un Sauvage de la bande à laquelle appartient la réserve, sans la permission par écrit du Surintendant-général, ou de quelque officier ou personne par lui délégué à cette fin, entre sur les terres, chemins ou réserves de chemins dans la dite réserve, et y commet des déprédations (trespasses), en y coupant, emportant ou enlevant des arbres, arbustes, arbrisseaux, broussailles, bois de service, ou du foin, ou en enlevant des pierres, de la terre, des minéraux, des métaux ou autres choses de valeur des dites terres, chemins ou réserves de chemins ; le délinquant sera passible, sur conviction du fait devant un magistrat stipendiaire, un magistrat de police ou un juge de paix, pour chaque arbre qu'il coupera, emportera ou enlèvera, d'une amende de vingt piastres,- et pour les arbustes, arbrisseaux, broussailles, bois de service, ou le foin qu'il coupera, emportera ou enlèvera, s'ils sont d'une valeur moindre qu'une piastre, d'une amende de quatre piastres, mais s'ils ont une valeur de plus d'une piastre, alors d'une amende de vingt piastres,- et pour les pierres, la terre, les minéraux, métaux ou autres choses de valeur qu'il enlèvera, d'une amende de vingt piastres, avec les frais de poursuite dans tous les cas ; et à défaut de paiement immédiat des dites amendes et des frais, le Surintendant-général, ou telle autre personne qu'il pourra avoir autorisé à cet effet, pourra lancer un mandat, adressé à toute personne ou à toutes personnes y dénommées par lui, pour prélever le montant des dites amendes et des frais par la saisie et vente des biens et effets de la personne passible de les payer; et les mêmes procédures pourront être adoptées sur ce mandat que s'il eût été émis par le magistrat ou le juge de paix devant lequel cette personne a été convaincue; ou bien, le Surintendant-général, l'officier ou la personne, sans procéder par voie de saisie et vente comme il est dit ci-haut, pourra, si l'amende et les frais ne sont pas payés, ordonner que la personne passible de les payer soit incarcérée dans la prison commune du comté ou district dans lequel la dite réserve ou une partie de la réserve est située, pendant une période de pas plus de trente jours, si l'amende n'excède pas vingt piastres, ou pendant une période de pas plus de trois mois, si l'amende excède vingt piastres; et s'il appert, d'après le rapport du mandat de saisie ou vente, que le montant n'en a pas été recouvré ou qu'il en reste une partie non payée, le Surintendant-général, ou tel officier ou personne, pourra ordonner que la partie en défaut soit incarcérée dans la prison commune comme il est dit ci-haut, pour une période de pas plus de trente jours, si la somme réclamée, aux termes du mandat, n'excède pas vingt piastres, ou pour une période de pas plus de trois mois si la somme réclamée excède vingt piastres; et toutes ces amendes seront versées à la caisse du Receveur-général, pour être employées et appliquées à l'usage et au bénéfice de la bande de Sauvages au nom de laquelle la réserve est possédée, en la manière que le Gouverneur en conseil pourra prescrire." ­

Section 17 amendée.
3. La dix-septième section du dit acte est par le présent amendée en y ajoutant les mots : "Et l'on pourra avoir recours aux mêmes procédures, pour leur recouvrement, que celles prescrites dans la section immédiatement précédente."

Section 63 amendée.
4. La soixante-troisième section du dit acte est par le présent amendée en ajoutant au paragraphe quatre les mots suivants : "et aussi à la protection des moutons;" ­

Et en substituant au mot "l'entretien," dans le paragraphe cinq, les mots "l'aménagement et l'entretien des
cours d'eau, et à la construction et l'entretien ; "

Et en ajoutant à la dite section les deux paragraphes suivantes :-

9. A la destruction des mauvaises herbes ;

10. A l'imposition de punitions, par amende ou pénalité, ou par emprisonnement, ou des deux manières, pour l'infraction de ces règles et règlements; l'amende ou pénalité ne devant en aucun cas dépasser trente piastres, et l'emprisonnement ne devant en aucun cas dépasser trente jours."

Section 69 amendée.




Nouvelle disposition au sujet des
présents faits aux Sauvages.
5. La soixante-neuvième section du dit acte est par le présent amendée en en retranchant les mots "ou de quelque autre manière que ce soit," dans la quatrième ligne, et en ajoutant les mots suivants à la fin de la dite section : "Si des présents donnés à des Sauvages ou à des Sauvages sans traités, ou si des propriétés acquises ou achetées au moyen d'annuités accordées aux Sauvages, sont illégalement en la possession de quelque personne, suivant la véritable intention et signification de la présente section, toute personne agissant en vertu d'une autorisation (soit générale, soit spéciale,) du Surintendant-général, pourra, avec telle aide qu'elle jugera nécessaire à cet effet, les saisir et en prendre possession, et elle en fera ce que le Surintendant-général pourra lui ordonner d'en faire." ­

Section 87 amendée.
6. La quatre-vingt-septième section est par le présent amendée en y ajoutant les mots suivants : "Et dans ce cas il ne sera pas nécessaire de se conformer aux dispositions des sections vingt-cinq et vingt-six et des paragraphes de cette, dernière." ­

Pénalités contre ceux qui tiennent des maisons publiques et commettent certaines offenses.

Comment appliquées.
7. Si une personne qui tient une maison, permet ou souffre qu'une femme Sauvage soit ou habite dans cette maison, sachant ou ayant cause probable de croire que cette femme Sauvage est dans cette maison ou l'habite dans l'intention de s'y prostituer, cette personne sera réputée coupable d'offense contre le présent acte, et sera, sur conviction du fait, d'une manière sommaire, devant un magistrat stipendiaire, magistrat de police ou juge de paix, passible d'une amende de pas moins de dix piastres, ni de plus de cent piastres, ou d'une incarcération dans toute prison ou tout lieu de détention autre qu'un pénitencier, pour une période de pas plus de six mois.

Qui sera réputé tenir cette maison.
8. Toute personne qui se montrera, agira ou se conduira comme maître ou maîtresse, ou comme la personne qui a le soin, la direction ou l'administration d'une maison où une femme Sauvage se trouvera ou habitera dans l'intention de s'y prostituer, sera réputée la tenir, nonobstant qu'elle puisse ne pas la tenir en réalité.