ARCHIVED - CHAP. 7. An Act to amend the North-West Territories Act, 1875.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

[Date: Assented to 28th April, 1877.]

PDF Version (135 Kb, 8 Pages)

Preamble.

38. V. c. 49.

In amendment of the Act passed in the thirty-eighth year of Her Majesty's reign, intituled "An Act to amend and consolidate the laws respecting the North-West Territories"; Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate and House of Commons of Canada, enacts as follows :—

Section two amended.

1. The second section of the said Act is hereby amended by repealing sub-section two and inserting the following sub-sections :—

Administrator may be appointed."

2. The Governor in Council may, from time to time, appoint an Administrator to execute the office and functions of the Lieutenant-Governor during his absence, illness or other inability.

Lieutenant-Governor or Administrator to take oath of office.

"3. Every Lieutenant-Governor or Administrator so appointed shall, before assuming the duties of his office, take and subscribe before the Governor General or some person duly authorized to administer such oaths, an oath of allegiance or office similar to those prescribed to be taken by a Lieutenant-Governor under "The British North America Act, 1867."

Section three repealed.

2. The third section of the said Act is repealed, and the following substituted for it :—

New section substituted.

Appointment of Council.

Oaths of allegiance and office.

Quorum.

"3. The Governor General with the advice of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada, by warrant under his privy seal, may constitute and appoint such and so many persons, from time to time, not exceeding in the whole six persons, of which number the Stipendiary Magistrates hereinafter mentioned shall ex officio, form part, to be a Council to aid the Lieutenant-Governor in the administration of the North-West Territories: Before entering upon the duties of their offices, the persons so appointed shall take and subscribe before the Lieutenant-Governor such oath of allegiance and such oath of office as the Governor in Council may prescribe; and the majority of the Council so appointed shall form a quorum.

Clerk's oath.

"2. The Clerk of the said Council shall take before the Lieutenant-Governor such oath of office as the Governor in Council may prescribe."

Section seven repealed.

3. The seventh section of the said Act is repealed, and the following substituted for it :—

New section substituted.

Powers of Council.

Proviso.

"7. The Lieutenant-Governor in Council or the Lieutenant- Governor, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly, as the case may be, shall have such powers to make ordinances for the government of the North-West Territories as the Governor in Council may, from time to time, confer upon him; Provided always, that such powers shall not at any time be in excess of those conferred by the ninety-second section of "The British North America Act, 1867," upon the Legislatures of the several Provinces of the Dominion:

Further proviso as to ordinances.

Fines.

"2. Provided that no ordinance to be so made shall,—(l) be inconsistent with or alter or repeal any provision of any Act of the Parliament of Canada in Schedule B. of this Act, or of any Act of the Parliament of Canada, which may now, or at any time hereafter, expressly refer to the said Territories, or which or any part of which may be at any time made by the Governor in Council, applicable to or declared to be in force in the said Territories, or,—(2) impose any fine or penalty exceeding one hundred dollars:

Copy to Secretary of State. May be disallowed.

Proviso: information to Parliament.

"3. And provided that a copy of every such ordinance shall be mailed for transmission to the Secretary of State, within ten days after its passing, and it may be disallowed by the Governor in Council at any time within two years after its receipt by the Secretary of State; Provided, also, that all ordinances so made, and all Orders in Council disallowing any ordinance so made, shall be laid before both Houses of Parliament, as soon as conveniently may be after the making and enactment thereof respectively."

Lieutenant-Governor to sit with Council.

Form of enacting ordinances;

Until a Legislative Assembly is formed.

4. The Lieutenant Governor shall sit in Council with the Councillors as an integral part thereof, and not separately from them, and such ordinances as aforesaid shall be made by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council, and shall be expressed to be so made; and wherever in the Act hereby amended the expression---- "The Lieutenant-Governor and Council" occurs, the expression "The Lieutenant-Governor in Council" shall be understood, and is hereby substituted for it; but this section shall cease to have effect when the number of members of the Council elected under section thirteen of the said Act amounts to twenty-one, and a Legislative Assembly has been formed for the said Territories.

Clerical error in section 13 corrected.

5. The word "Province," in the fourth line of the second sub-section of the thirteenth section of the said Act is hereby struck out, and the words "said Territories" substituted for it.

Sections 59, 60 repealed.

6. Sections fifty-nine and sixty of the said Act are hereby repealed.

Sections 62, 63, 64 repealed and new substituted.

7. Sections sixty-two, sixty-three and sixty-four of the said Act are hereby repealed and the following sections, respectively, substituted in lieu thereof :—

Stipendiary Magistrates' oath of office.

And jurisdiction.

"62. Each Stipendiary Magistrate having taken the following oath before the Lieutenant-Governor or any Stipendiary Magistrate in the North-West Territories, that is to say:—

"I do swear that I will truly and faithfully execute the several powers, duties and trusts committed to me by or under 'The North-West Territories Acts, 1875 and 1877,' without fear, without favor, and without malice: So help me God ;"-- shall have jurisdiction throughout the North-West Territories, as hereinafter mentioned, and shall also have jurisdiction and may exercise within the North-West Territories, the magisterial, and other functions appertaining to any Justice of the Peace, or any two Justices of the Peace, under any laws or ordinances which may, from time to time, be in force in the North-West Territories."

Further powers, for summary trial of certain offenders under section 3 of 36 V. c. 35.

Said section to remain in force.

"63. Each Stipendiary Magistrate shall further have power to try in a summary way, and without the intervention of a jury, in addition to any other charge which he may by law have the power so to try, any charge against any person or persons for any offence committed within the North-West Territories, mentioned in the third section of the Act passed in the thirty-sixth year of Her Majesty's reign, chapter thirty-five, intituled "An Act respecting the Administration of Justice and for the establishment of a Police Force in theNorth- West Territories,"—Which section is hereby re-enacted and shall be and remain in force notwithstanding the coming into force of the Act hereby amended.

Trial without a jury by assent of offender in certain cases.

"64. When the maximum punishment for a crime not triable in a summary way under the next preceding section, or under any other provision of the criminal law does not exceed seven years'imprisonment, the Stipendiary Magistrate— if the accused assents thereto—may try in a summary way and without the intervention of a jury, any charge against any person or persons for any such crime, but if the accused does not so consent then the trial shall be had as provided in the next following sub-section:

Trial by jury of six.

"2. When the maximum punishment for a crime other than punishment by death exceeds seven years' imprisonment, the Stipendiary Magistrate and a Justice of the Peace, with the intervention of a jury of six, may try any charge against any person or persons for any such crime:

When the crime is capital.

"3. When the punishment for a crime is death, one Stipendiary Magistrate and two Justices of the Peace, with the intervention of a jury of six, may try any charge against any person or persons for any such crime:

Procedure in such cases.

Notes by Magistrate.

Defence by Counsel.

"4. The procedure upon trials under sub-sections two and three of this section shall be as far as possible similar to the procedure upon summary trials; but the Stipendiary Magistrate shall, upon every such trial, take, or cause to be taken, in writing, full notes of the evidence and other proceedings thereat; and all persons tried under the said sub-sections shall be admitted after the close of the case for the prosecution to make full answer and defence by counsel learned in the law:

Death sentence to be reported.

Stay of execution.

"5. When any person is convicted of a capital offence and is sentenced to death, the Stipendiary Magistrate shall forward to the Minister of Justice full notes of the evidence with his report upon the case, and the execution shall be stayed until such report is received and the pleasure of the Governor thereon is communicated to the Lieutenant-Governor:

Summoning jurors: until ordinance is made.

"6. In default of any ordinance in that behalf,made under sub-section nine of this section, persons required as jurors for a trial under the said sub-sections two and three, shall be summoned by a Stipendiary Magistrate from among such male persons as he may think suitable in that behalf; and the jury required on such trials shall be called from among the persons so summoned as such jurors, and sworn by the Stipendiary Magistrate who presides at the trial:

Peremptory challenges by prisoners.

"7. Any person arraigned for treason or felony may challenge peremptorily and without cause not more than six jurors:

Void beyond six.

"Every peremptory challenge beyond the number so allowed shall be entirely void; By Crown."The Crown may peremptorily challenge not more than four jurors;

Challenges for cause.

"Challenges for cause shall be the same as now provided for under the Act, chapter twenty-nine, thirty-second and thirty-third Victoria, (1869) intituled "An Act respecting procedure in criminal cases and other matters relating to criminal law";

Provision if the list of jurors is exhausted.

Tales.

Fine on juror summoned and not serving.

"If, from challenges or otherwise, the jurors summoned for the trial are exhausted, the Stipendiary Magistrate shall direct some constable or other person to summon by word of mouth from among the by-standers or from the neighbourhood, such number of persons as may be necessary to make up a jury, the persons so summoned being subject to challenge as those summoned by the Magistrate in the first instance, and the like proceedings shall be repeated, if necessary, until a jury be formed, competent to try the case; and any person summoned, as hereby provided, to serve as a juror, and making default or refusing to serve as such without lawful excuse to the satisfaction of the Magistrate, may be fined by him in a sum not exceeding ten dollars, and committed to prison until such fine be paid :

Provision when imprisonment for two years or more is awarded.

"8. If imprisonment in jail for not less than two years, or in the penitentiary, be awarded in any case, the convict may be ordered to be imprisoned in the North-West Territories or be conveyed to the penitentiary in the Province of Manitoba; in which latter case he shall undergo such punishment therein as if convicted in the Province of Manitoba, and shall be so conveyed by any constable or constables, and received and detained therein by the authorities of the penitentiary on the warrant of the Stipendiary Magistrate:

Lt.-Governor in Council, or with Assembly, may make jury laws.

No Grand Jury.

"9. The Lieutenant-Governor in Council, or the Lieutenant-Governor, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly, as the case may be, may, from time to time, make any ordinance in respect to the mode of calling juries, and when, and by whom, and how they may be summoned or taken, and in respect of all matters relating to the same; but no Grand Jury shall be called in the North-West Territories:

Returns to Lt.-Governor.

"10. Returns of all trials and proceedings, civil and criminal, shall be made to the Lieutenant-Governor in such form and at such times as he may direct."

Section 71 repealed.

"8. Section seventy-one of the said Act is hereby repealed, and the following substituted for it :—

New section.

"71. Every Stipendiary Magistrate shall have jurisdiction, power and authority to hear and determine any claim, dispute or demand as hereinafter mentioned, that is to say:—

Jurisdiction in civil cases.

Without a jury.

"1. Where the claim, dispute or demand is for a tort, wrong or grievance in which the amount claimed does not exceed five hundred dollars, or if for a debt or on a contract, in which the amount claimed does not exceed one thousand dollars, in a summary way, and without the intervention of a jury:

With a jury, in a summary way.

Judgment according to equity and good conscience.

No suit allowed for gambling debt or intoxicant.

"2. In all other claims, disputes or demands than those above-mentioned, or for the recovery of the possession of real estate, if neither party demands a jury, in a summary way and without the intervention of a jury; but if either party demands a jury, then with the intervention of a jury of six in number, summoned in the manner hereinbefore provided as to criminal trials: and the Stipendiary Magistrate shall give such judgments and make such orders and decrees as shall appear to him just and agreeable to equity and good conscience; but the Stipendiary Magistrate shall not have cognizance of any action for a gambling debt, or for any intoxicating liquor or intoxicant, or of any action by any person on a note of hand orother document, the consideration or any part of the consideration for which was for a gambling debt or for any such intoxicating liquor or intoxicant:

Execution of judgment.

"3. Execution of any such judgment shall be carried into effect in the manner prescribed by any ordinance of the Lieutenant-Governor in Council or the Lieutenant-Governor and Legislative Assembly, as the case may be, or if no such ordinance be then in force, then in like manner as a judgement to the same amount, in the Province of Manitoba."

Part of s. 74 repealed.

9. Sub-section nine of the seventy-fourth section of the said Act is hereby repealed, and the following substituted for it :—

New provision substituted.

"9. Intoxicating liquors imported or brought from any place out of Canada into the North-West Territories, by special permission, in writing, of the Lieutenant-Governor of the said Territories, shall be subject to the several Customs and Excise laws of Canada.

39 V. c. 22, repealed.

"10. The Act passed in the thirty-ninth year of Her Majesty’s reign, intituled 'An Act to amend the Acts therein mentioned as respects the importation or manufacture of intoxicants in the North-West Territories,'is hereby repealed."

Schedule B amended.

10. Schedule B of the said Act is amended by striking out of the article referring to the Act thirty-two and thirty-three Victoria, chapter thirty, the words "committed in the North-West Territories and triable in Manitoba, or"—.

English or French language may be used in Council or Courts.

11. Either the English or the French language may be used by any person in the debates of the said Council, and in the proceedings before the Courts, and both those languages shall be used in the records and journals of the said Council, and the ordinances of the said Council shall be printed in both those languages.

Powers of Stipendiary Magistrates in Keewatin.

12. Stipendiary Magistrates appointed under the said Act or under this Act shall have the same power and authority for trying offences in the District of Keewatin as, under the said Act, they have in the North-West Territories, and the provisions herein made as to such trials and as to imprisonments under sentences shall apply to the District of Keewatin.

Powers of County Judges and Judges of Q. B.Manitoba, in N.W.T.

Proviso.

2. The Chief Justice or any Judge of the Court of Queen's Bench, of the Province of Manitoba, shall have the same power and authority for trying offences in the District of Keewatin as under said Act or this Act a Stipendiary Magistrate or two Stipendiary Magistrates or a Stipendiary Magistrate and two Justices of the Peace have in the North-West Territories, and the provisions herein made as to trials shall, so far as applicable, apply to trials before such Chief Justice or Judge in the District of Keewatin: Provided always, that the Chief Justice or Judge shall not proceed to any such trial unless requested by the Governor in Council.

Interpretation.

13. This Act shall be construed as forming one Act with that amended by it.

Short titles.

14. This Act may be cited as "The North-West Territories Act, 1877,"and the Act hereby amended and this Act may be together cited as "The North- West Territories Acts, 1875 and 1877."

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - CHAP. 7. Acte pour amender l'Acte des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, 1875.

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

[Sanctionné le 28 avril 1877.]

format PDF (109 Kb, 8 pages)

Préambule

38 Vic. c. 49

COMME amendement à l'acte passé en la trente-huitième année du règne de Sa Majesté, intitulé " Acte pour amender et refondre les lois relatives aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest," Sa Majesté, par et de l'avis et du consentement du Sénat et la Chambre des Communes du Canada, décrète ce qui suit :—

Section 2 amendee

1. La seconde section du dit acte est par le présent amendée en en retranchant le paragraphe deux, et en y substituant les suivants :—

Un administrateur peut être nommé.

2. Le Gouverneur en conseil pourra de temps à autre nommer un administrateur pour remplir la charge et les fonctions du LieutenantGouverneur, pendant l'absence, la maladie ou l'incapacité d'agir de ce dernier :

Le lieutenant gouverneur ou l'administrateur prêteront serment

"3. Tout lieutenant-gouverneur ou administrateur ainsi nommé devra, avant d'entrer en fonctions, prêter et signer devant le Gouverneur-Général ou quelque personne dûment autorisée à faire prêter tels serments, un serment d'allégeance d'office semblable à ceux qui doivent être prêtés par les lieutenants-gouverneurs en vertu de " l'Acte de l’Amérique Britannique du Nord,1867."

Section 3 abrogée

2. La troisième section du dit acte est abrogée, et la suivante substituée :—

Nouvelle section substituée

Nomination d’un conseil

Serments d'allégeance et d'office

Quorum.

"3. Le Gouverneur-Général pourra, de l'avis du conseil privé de la Reine pour le Canada, constituer et nommer de temps à autre, par mandat sous son seing manuel, des personnes, en tout et tel nombre qui en aucun temps ne sera de plus de six, au nombre desquelles les magistrats stipendiaires ci-dessous mentionnés seront membres ex-officio, pour former un conseil chargé d'assister le Lieutenant-Gouverneur dans l'administration des territoires du Nord-Ouest : avant d'entrer dans l'exercice des devoirs de leurs charges, les personnes ainsi nommées prêteront et souscriront devant le Lieutenant-Gouverneur tel serment d'allégeance et tel serment d'office que le Gouverneur en conseil pourra prescrire ; et la majorité des membres du conseil ainsi nommés en formera le quorum :

Serment du greffier

"2. Le greffier du dit conseil prêtera devant le Lieutenant-Gouverneur tel serment d'office que le Gouverneur en conseil pourra prescrire."

Section 7 abrogée

3. La septième section du dit acte est abrogée et la suivante y est substituée :—

Nouvelle section substituée

Pouvoirs du conseil

Proviso.

"7. Le Lieutenant-Gouverneur en conseil, ou le Lieutenant-Gouverneur, par et de l'avis et du consentement de l'Assemblée législative, selon le cas, sera revêtu de tels pouvoirs de promulguer des ordonnances pour le gouvernement des territoires du Nord-Ouest, que le Gouverneur en conseil pourra de temps à autre lui conférer ; pourvu toujours que ces pouvoirs ne pourront en aucun cas excéder ceux conférés par la quatre-vingt-douzième section de " l'Acte de l'Amérique Britannique du Nord, 1867," aux législatures des différentes provinces du Canada :

Autre proviso quant aux ordonnances

Amendes.

"2. Pourvu qu'aucune ordonnance qui sera ainsi faite,—[1] Ne sera incompatible avec aucune disposition, ou ne modifiera ou n'abrogera aucune disposition d'aucun acte du parlement du Canada inséré dans l'annexe B du présent acte ou d’aucun acte, du parlement du Canada qui peut actuellement, ou qui pourra en aucun temps à l'avenir, s’appliquer expressément aux dits territoires, ou qui pourra, ou dont quelque partie pourra, en aucun temps, être rendu applicable, par le Gouverneur en conseil, aux dits territoires du Nord-Ouest, ou y être mis en vigueur ; ou [2] N'imposera aucune amende ou pénalité excédant cent piastres :

Copie au Secrétaire d'Etat

Pourra être désavouée.

Proviso : information au Parlement

"3. Et pourvu qu'une copie de chaque telle ordonnance sera déposée à la poste pour être transmise au Secrétaire d'Etat dans les dix jours de son adoption, et qu'elle pourra être désavouée par le Gouverneur en conseil en tout temps dans les deux ans de sa réception par le Secrétaire d'Etat ; pourvu aussi que toutes les ordonnances ainsi promulguées, et tous les ordres en conseil désavouant les ordonnances ainsi promulguées, seront soumis aux deux chambres du parlement aussitôt que la chose pourra convenablement se faire après leur adoption et promulgation, respectivement."

Le lieutenant-gouverneur siégera en conseil.

Manière de décréter les ordonnances.

Jusqu'à ce qu'une assemblée législative soit constituée

4. Lieutenant-Gouverneur siégera en conseil avec les conseillers comme en formant partie intégrale, et non pas séparément d'avec eux, et les ordonnances ci-dessus mentionnées seront faites par le Lieutenant-Gouverneur en conseil, et exprimeront qu'elles sont ainsi faites ; et partout où, dans l'acte par le présent amendé, l'expression " le Lieutenant-Gouverneur et son conseil " se rencontre, l'expression " le Lieutenant-Gouverneur en conseil " sera sous-entendue, et elle y est par le présent substituée ; mais la présente section cessera d'avoir effet lorsque le nombre des membres du conseil élus en vertu de la treizième section du dit acte, s’élèvera à vingt et un, et qu'une Assemblée législative aura été constituée pour les dits territoires.

Section 13 amendée.

5. Le second paragraphe de la treizième section du dit acte est par le présent amendé, en ajoutant, après le mot " conseil, " dans la quatrième ligne du dit paragraphe, les mots " pour les dits territoires."

Sections 59 et 60 abrogées

6. Les sections cinquante-neuf et soixante du dit acte sont par le présent abrogées.

Sections 62, 63 et 64 abrogées et sections substituées.

7. Les sections soixante-deux, soixante-trois et soixante-quatre du dit acte sont par le présent abrogées, et les suivantes y sont respectivement substituées :—

Magistrats stipendiaires : serment d'office

Et juridiction

"62. Chaque magistrat stipendiaire, après avoir prêté le serment suivant devant le Lieutenant-Gouverneur ou un magistrat stipendiaire dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, savoir :

" Je jure que je remplirai fidèlement les devoirs et fonctions qui me seront imposés, et que j'exercerai les pouvoirs qui me seront conférés par ou sous l'autorité de " l'Acte des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, 1875 et 1877," sans crainte, sans faveur, et sans malice. Ainsi Dieu me soit en aide,"— aura juridiction dans toute l'étendue des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, tel que ci-dessous mentionné, et aura aussi juridiction et pourra exercer dans les territoires du Nord-Ouest, les fonctions de magistrat, judiciaires et autres, du ressort de tout juge de paix, ou de deux juges de paix, en vertu et des lois et ordonnances qui pourront de temps à autre être en vigueur dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest."

Autres pouvoirs pour entendre et juger d'une manière sommaire certains accusés en vertu de la sec. 3 de 36 Vic. ch. 35.

Cette section restera en vigueur

"63. Chaque magistrat stipendiaire aura aussi le pouvoir d’entendre et décider, d'une manière sommaire, et sans l'intervention d'un jury, outre toute autre accusation qu'il est autorisé d'entendre et décider par la loi, toute accusation portée contre une ou des personnes pour des offenses commises dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, mentionnées dans la troisième section de l'acte passé en la trentesixième année du règne de Sa Majesté, chapitre trente-cinq, intitulé " Acte concernant l'administration de la justice et l'établissement d'un corps de police dans les Territoires du NordOuest," laquelle section est par le présent réédictée et sera et restera en vigueur nonobstant la mise à exécution de l’acte par le présent amendé.

Procès sans un jury du consentement de l'accusé dans certains cas.

"64. Lorsque le maximum de la peine décrétée pour un crime qui ne peut être jugé d'une manière sommaire en vertu de la section immédiatement précédente, ou en vertu de quelque autre disposition de la loi criminelle, n'excède pas sept ans d'emprisonnement, le magistrat stipendiaire—si l'accusé y consent—pourra entendre et décider d’une manière sommaire et sans l'intervention d'un jury toute accusation portée contre une ou des personnes pour ce crime ; mais si l'accusé n'y consent pas, alors le procès aura lieu tel que prescrit par le paragraphe immédiatement suivant :—

Procès par un jury de six

"2. Lorsque le maximum de la peine édictée pour un crime, autre que la peine capitale, excède sept ans d'emprisonnement, le magistrat stipendiaire et un juge de paix, avec l'intervention d'un jury composé de six personnes, pourront entendre et décider toute accusation portée contre une ou des personnes pour aucun tel crime ;

Quand la punition est la peine capitale.

"3. Lorsque la punition édictée pour un crime est la peine capitale, un magistrat stipendiaire et deux juges de paix, avec l'intervention d'un jury composé de six personnes, pourront entendre et décider toute accusation portée contre une ou des personnes pour aucun tel crime :

Procédure dans tels cas

Notes du magistrat.

Défense par un conseil.

"4. Les procédures suivies dans les procès qui auront lieu en vertu des paragraphes deux et trois de la présente section seront, autant que possible, semblables aux procédures suivies dans les procès sommaires ; mais le magistrat stipendiaire devra, lors de chaque tel procès, prendre ou faire prendre par écrit des notes complètes des dépositions et autres procédures qui y auront lieu ; et toutes les personnes jugées en vertu des dits paragraphes auront la faculté, lors de la clôture de la cause pour la poursuite, de répondre et se défendre par l'entremise d'un conseil versé en loi.

Sentence de mort transmise.

Ajournement de l'exécution

"5. Lorsqu'une personne sera convaincue d'une offense capitale et condamnée à mort, le magistrat stipendiaire transmettra au ministre de la Justice des notes complètes de la preuve, avec son rapport sur la cause, et l'exécution de la sentence sera ajournée jusqu'à ce que ce rapport ait été reçu et que le bon plaisir du Gouverneur à cet égard ait été communiqué au Lieutenant-Gouverneur.

Assignation des jurés, jusqu'à ce qu'une ordonnance soit promulguée.

"6. A défaut d'une ordonnance à cet égard, promulguée conformément au neuvième paragraphe de la présente section, les personnes requises comme jurés dans un procès fait en vertu des paragraphes deux et trois de la présente section, seront assignées par un magistrat stipendiaire parmi les individus du sexe masculin qu'il jugera capables d'agir comme tels, et le jury requis pour ces procès sera choisi parmi les individus ainsi assignés comme jurés, et assermenté par le magistrat stipendiaire qui présidera au procès :

Récusations péremptoires par les prisonniers.

Récusation nulle en sus de six

"7. Tout individu mis en accusation pour trahison ou félonie peut récuser péremptoirement et sans cause pas plus de six jurés ;

" Tout récusation péremptoire en sus du nombre ainsi autorisé sera absolument nulle ;

Par la Couronne

"Challenges for cause shall be the same as now provided for under the Act, chapter twenty-nine, thirty-second and thirty-third Victoria, (1869) intituled "An Act respecting procedure in criminal cases and other matters relating to criminal law";

Récusations pour cause

Les récusations pour cause seront les mêmes que celles maintenant permises en vertu de l'acte trente-deux et trente-trois Victoria (mil huit cent soixante-neuf), chapitre vingt-neuf, intitulé " Acte concernant la procédure dans les causes criminelles ainsi que certaines autres matières relatives à la loi criminelle :"

Disposition si la liste des jurés est épuisée.

Suppléants.

Amende si le juré assigné refuse de servir

" Si par suite de récusations ou autrement, la liste des jurés assignés pour le procès est épuisée, le magistrat stipendiaire ordonnera à quelque constable ou autre personne d'assigner verbalement, parmi les assistants ou dans le voisinage, tel nombre de personnes qui pourra être nécessaire pour former un jury,—les personnes ainsi assignées pouvant être récusées de la même manière que celles assignées en premier lieu par le magistrat ; et la même procédure sera répétée, s'il est nécessaire, jusqu'à ce qu'il ait été formé un jury compétent à juger la cause : et tout individu assigné à servir comme juré, tel que par le présent prescrit, qui fera défaut ou refusera de servir comme tel sans excuse légitime à la satisfaction du magistrat, pourra être condamné par lui à payer une amende de pas plus de dix piastres, et incarcéré en prison jusqu'à ce que l'amende soit payée.

Disposition quand l'emprisonnement pour deux ans et plus est prononcé

"8. Si l'incarcération en prison pour pas moins de deux ans, ou dans le pénitencier, est prononcée dans un cas quelconque, il pourra être ordonné que le condamné soit emprisonné dans les territoires du Nord-Ouest ou soit transféré dans le pénitencier de la province de Manitoba ; et dans ce dernier cas, il y subira sa peine comme s'il eût été condamné dans la province de Manitoba ; et il y sera conduit par tout constable ou tous constables, et y sera reçu et détenu par les autorités du pénitencier sur le mandat d'incarcération du magistrat stipendiaire.

Le Lieutenant-Gouverneur en conseil, ou du consentement de l'assemblée législative, peut promulguer une loi du jury.

Pas de grand jury.

"9. Lieutenant-Gouverneur en conseil ou le Lieutenant-Gouverneur, par et de l'avis et du consentement de l'Assemblée législative, selon le cas, pourra, de temps à autre, promulguer une ordonnance au sujet du mode de convocation des jurés, et prescrivant quand, par qui et comment ils peuvent être assignés ou pris, et au sujet de toute matière s'y rattachant ; mais aucun grand jury ne sera convoqué dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Rapports au Lieutenant-Gouverneur

"10. Des rapports de tous les procès et poursuites, au civil et au criminel, seront faits au Lieutenant-Gouverneur, sous telle forme et à telles époques qu'il prescrira."

Section 71 abrogée.

"8. La soixante-onzième section du dit acte est par le présent abrogée, et la suivante y est substituée :—

Nouvelle section

"71. Tout magistrat stipendiaire aura juridiction, pouvoir et autorité d'entendre et décider toute réclamation, contestation ou demande, tel que ci-dessous mentionné, savoir :—

Juridiction dans les causes civiles

Sans un jury

"1. Lorsque la réclamation, contestation ou demande est faite pour un tort, un préjudice ou une lésion, et que le montant réclamé n'excède pas cinq cents piastres,—ou si c'est pour une dette ou à l'égard d'un contrat, et que le montant réclamé n'excède pas mille piastres,—d'une matière sommaire et sans l'intervention d'un jury :

Avec un jury d'une manière sommaire.

Jugement conforme à l'équité et la bonne conscience

Nulle action permise pour une dette de jeu ou des matières enivrantes

"2. Dans toutes réclamations, contestations ou demandes autres que celles ci-dessus mentionnées, ou pour la revendication de possession de quelque propriété foncière, si aucune des parties ne réclame un jury,—d'une manière sommaire et sans l'intervention d'un jury ; mais si l'une ou l'autre partie réclame un jury,—alors avec l'intervention d'un jury composé de six personnes, qui seront assignées de la manière ci-dessus prescrite pour les poursuites criminelles ; et le magistrat stipendiaire rendra tels jugements et décernera tels ordres et décrets qui lui paraîtront justes et conformes à l'équité et à la bonne conscience ; mais le magistrat stipendiaire ne prendra connaissance d'aucune action intentée pour une dette de jeu, ou pour des liqueurs ou matières enivrantes, ou d'aucune action intentée par qui que ce soit sur un billet à ordre ou autre document dont la considération a été, en tout ou en partie, pour une dette de jeu ou pour des liqueurs ou matières enivrantes :

Exécution du jugement

"3. L'exécution de tout tel jugement aura lieu de la manière prescrite par quelque ordonnance du Lieutenant-Gouverneur en conseil, ou du Lieutenant-Gouverneur et de l’Assemblée législative, selon le cas,—ou s'il n'existe pas alors de pareille ordonnance, alors de la même manière que les jugements de même montant dans la province de Manitoba."

Partie de s. 74 abrogée

9. Le neuvième paragraphe de la soixante-quatorzième section du dit acte est par le présent abrogé, et le suivant y est substitué :—

Nouvelle disposition substituée

"9. Les liqueurs enivrantes importées ou apportées de tout endroit situé hors du Canada dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, sur permission spéciale du Lieutenant-Gouverneur de ces territoires donnée par écrit, seront frappées des droits de douane et d'accise imposés par les lois du Canada."

39 V., c. 22, abrogée

"10. L'acte passé dans la trente-neuvième année du règne de Sa Majesté, chapitre 22, intitulé " Acte pour amender les actes y mentionnés au sujet de l'importation ou fabrication des matières enivrantes dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest," est par le présent abrogé.

Annexe B amendée

10. L’annexe B du dit acte est par le présent amendée en retranchant de l'article se rapportant à l'acte trente-deux et trente-trois Victoria, chapitre trente, les mots : " commises dans les Territoires du NordOuest, et pouvant être jugées dans Manitoba, ou."

Les langues anglaise et française peuvent être employées dans le conseil et les cours

11. Toute personne pourra faire usage soit de la langue anglaise, soit de la langue française, dans les débats du dit conseil et dans les procédures devant les cours, et ces deux langues seront usitées pour la rédaction des pièces d'archives et des journaux du dit conseil ; et les ordonnances du dit conseil seront imprimées dans ces deux langues.

Pouvoirs des magistrats stipendiaires dans Kéwatin

12. Les magistrats stipendiaires nommés en vertu du dit acte ou du présent acte auront les mêmes pouvoirs et autorité, pour entendre et décider des offenses dans le district de Kéwatin, que ceux qu'ils possèdent, en vertu du dit acte, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, et les dispositions du présent acte faites à l'égard de ces procès et l’égard des sentences d'emprisonnement s'appliqueront au district de Kéwatin.

Pouvoirs des juges de comté et des juges de la cour du Banc de la Reine de Manitoba, dans les territoires du Nord-Ouest

Proviso.

2. Le juge en chef ou tout juge de la Cour du Banc de la Reine de la province de Manitoba, aura les mêmes pouvoir et autorité, pour entendre et juger les offenses, dans le district Kéwatin, que ceux que possèdent, sous l'empire du dit acte ou du présent, un magistrat stipendiaire, ou deux magistrats stipendiaires ou un magistrat stipendiaire et deux juges de paix, dans les Territoires du NordOuest ; et les dispositions du présent acte relatives aux procès seront applicables, pour autant qu'elles pourront l'être, aux procès devant le dit juge en chef ou juge dans le district de Kéwatin ; pourvu toutefois, que le juge en chef ou juge ne procède à aucun tel procès qu'autant qu'il en aura été requis par le Gouverneur en Conseil.

Interprétation.

13. Le présent acte sera interprété comme ne formant qu'un seul et même acte avec celui qu'il amende

Titres abrégés

14. Le présent acte pourra être cité comme " l'Acte des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, 1877," et l'acte par le présent amendé et le présent acte
pourront être cités ensemble comme " les Actes des Territoires NordOuest, 1875 et 1877."

Date de modification :