CHAP. 21. An Act to amend certain Laws respecting Indians, and to extend certain Laws relating to matters connected with Indians to the Provinces of Manitoba and British Columbia.

Date: Assented to 26th May, 1874

PDF Version   (136 Kb, 7 Pages)

Accessibility Notice

Help on accessing documents in PDF format
can be obtained on the help page.



Preamble.
HER Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate and House of Commons of Canada, enacts as follows:-

31 V., c. 42, s. 12, and 32 ;
33 V., c.6, s.3 repealed, and new
section substitutedfor the latter.
1. The twelfth section of the Act thirty-first Victoria, chapter forty-two, intituled "An Act providing for the organization of the Department of the Secretary of State of Canada, and for the management of Indian and Ordnance Lands," and the third section of the Act thirty-second and thirty-third Victoria, chapter six, intituled "An Act for the gradual enfranchisement of Indians, the better management of Indian affairs, and to extend the provisions of the Act thirty-first Victoria, chapter forty-two," are hereby repealed, and the following shall be read in lieu of the last mentioned section :­

Provisions for preventing the
supplying of intoxicating
liquors to Indians.







Punishment for contravention, by fine and imprisonment.







If supplied from or on board any vessel.







Indians competent as witnesses.







Proviso.
3. 1. Whoever sells, exchanges with, barters, supplies or gives to any Indian man, woman or child in Canada, any kind of intoxicating liquor, or causes or procures the same to be done, or connives or attempts thereat or opens or keeps, or causes to be opened or kept on any land set apart or reserved for Indians, a tavern, house, or building where intoxicating liquor is sold, bartered, exchanged, or given, or is found in possession of intoxicating liquor in the house, tent, wigwam, or place of abode of any Indian, shall, on conviction thereof before any Justice of the Peace upon the evidence of one credible witness other than the informer or prosecutor, be liable to imprisonment for a period not exceeding two years, and be fined not more than five hundred dollars, one moiety to go to the informer or prosecutor, and the other moiety to Her Majesty, to form part of the fund for the benefit of that tribe or body of Indians with respect to one or more members of which the, offence was committed ; and the commander or person in charge of any steamer or other vessel, or boat, from or on board of which any intoxicating liquor shall have been sold, bartered, exchanged, supplied or given to any Indian man, woman or child shall be liable, on conviction thereof before any Justice of the Peace, upon the evidence of one credible witness other than the informer or prosecutor, to be fined not exceeding five hundred dollars for each such offence, the moieties thereof to be applicable as hereinbefore mentioned, and in default of immediate payment of such fine any person so fined may be committed to any common gaol, house of correction, lock-up, or other place of confinement by the Justice of the Peace before whom the conviction shall take place, for a period of not more than twelve months, or until such fine shall be paid ; and in all cases arising under this section, Indians shall be competent witnesses : but no penalty shall be incurred in case of sickness where any intoxicating liquor is made use of under the sanction of any medical man or under the direction of a minister of religion."

Forfeiture of the package containing such liquors.




Seizure of liquor.




And forfeiture.




Penalty on persons having such packages, &c., in possession.
2. The keg, barrel, case, box, package or receptacle whence intoxicating liquor has been sold, exchanged, bartered, supplied or given, and as well that in which the original supply was contained as the vessel wherein any portion of such original supply was supplied as aforesaid, and the balance of the contents thereof, if such barrel, keg, case, box, package, receptacle or vessel aforesaid respectively, can be identified, and any intoxicating liquor imported or manufactured or brought into and upon any land set apart or reserved for Indians, or into the house, tent, wigwam or place of abode of any Indian, may be seized by any constable wheresoever found on such land ; and on complaint before any Judge, Stipendiary Magistrate or Justice of the Peace, he may, on the evidence of any credible witness that this Act has been contravened in respect thereof, declare the same forfeited, and cause the same to be forthwith destroyed ; and the person in whose possession they were found may be condemned to pay a penalty not exceeding one hundred dollars, nor less than fifty dollars ; and the costs of prosecution ; and one-half of such penalty shall belong to the prosecutor, and the other half to Her Majesty for the purposes hereinbefore mentioned, and in default of immediate payment the offender may be committed to any common gaol, house of correction, lock-up or other place of confinement for any time not exceeding six months unless such fine and costs are sooner paid."

Forfeiture of the vessel, boat, canoe, &c., carrying liquors to be supplied to Indians.
"3. When it shall be proved before any Judge, Stipendiary Magistrate or Justice of the Peace that any vessel, boat, canoe, or conveyance of any description upon the sea or sea-coast, or upon any river, lake or stream in Canada, is employed in carrying intoxicating liquor, to be supplied to any Indian or Indians, such vessel, boat, canoe, or conveyance so employed may be seized and declared forfeited as in the last sub-section mentioned, and sold, and the proceeds thereof paid to Her Majesty for the purposes hereinbefore mentioned."

Indians found drunk may be arrested.




And must, on conviction, declare how he got the liquor.




Punishment for refusal.
"4. It shall be lawful for any constable, without process of law, to arrest any Indian whom he may find in a state of intoxication, and to convey him to any common gaol, house of correction, lock-up or other place of confinement, there to be kept until he shall have become sober ; and such Indian shall, when sober, be brought before any Judge, Stipendiary Magistrate, or Justice of the Peace, and if convicted of being so found in a state of intoxication, shall be liable to imprisonment in any common gaol, house of correction, lock-up or other place of confinement, for any period not exceeding one month. And if any Indian having been so convicted as aforesaid, shall refuse, upon examination, to state or give information of the person, place and time, from whom, where and when he procured intoxicating liquor, and if from any other Indian, then, if within his knowledge, from whom, where and when such intoxicating liquor was originally procured or received, he shall be liable to imprisonment as aforesaid for a further period not exceeding fourteen days."

Interpretation clause. "Intoxicating liquor."
"5. The words 'intoxicating liquor' shall mean and include all spirits, strong waters, spirituous liquors, wines, or fermented or compounded liquors or intoxicating drink of any kind whatsoever, and intoxicating liquor or fluid ; as also opium and any preparation thereof, whether liquid or solid ; and any other intoxicating drug or substance, and tobacco or tea mixed or compounded or impregnated with opium or with other intoxicating drug or substance, and whether the same, or any of them, be liquid or solid."

Want of form not to invalidate proceedings under this Act.
"6. No prosecution, conviction or commitment under this Act shall be invalid on account of want of form so long as the same is according to the true meaning of this Act."

31 V., c.42, s.14 amended.
2. The following shall be taken and read as part of the fourteenth section of the thirty-first Victoria, chapter forty-two, that is to say :­

Certain sales, exchanges, &c., to be void.




Punishment of purchaser, &c.
" Nor shall the same be sold, bartered, exchanged or given by any tribe, band or body of Indians or any Indian of any such tribe, band or body to any person or persons other than a tribe, band or body of Indians or any Indian of any tribe ; and any such sale, barter, exchange or gift, shall be absolutely null or void, unless any such sale, barter, exchange or gift be made with the written assent of the Indian agent ; and any person who may buy or otherwise acquire any presents or property purchased as aforesaid without the written consent of the Indian agent as aforesaid shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and be punishable by fine not exceeding two hundred dollars, or by imprisonment not exceeding six months in any place of confinement other than a Penitentiary."

Manner in which Indians, &c., may give evidence in criminal cases.
3. Upon any inquest, or upon any enquiry into any matter involving a criminal charge, or upon the trial of any crime or offence whatsoever, or by whomsoever committed, it shall be lawful for any Court, Judge, Stipendiary Magistrate, Coroner or Justice of the Peace to receive the evidence of any Indian or aboriginal native or native of mixed blood, who is destitute of the knowledge of God, and of any fixed and clear belief in religion or in a future state of rewards and punishments, without administering the usual form of oath to any such Indian, aboriginal native or native of mixed blood as aforesaid, upon his solemn affirmation or declaration to tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, or in such form as may be approved by such Court, Judge, Stipendiary Magistrate, Coroner or Justice of the Peace, as most binding in his conscience.

Further provision in the same matter.
4. Provided that in the case of any inquest, or upon any inquiry into any matter involving a criminal charge, or upon the trial of any crime or offence whatsoever, the substance of the evidence or information of any such Indian, aboriginal native or native of mixed blood as aforesaid, shall be reduced to writing, and signed by a mark of the person giving the same, and verified by the signature or mark of the person acting as interpreter (if any), and of the judge, Stipendiary Magistrate, Coroner or Justice of the Peace or person before whom such information shall have been given.

Court to warn Indian of his liability to punishment for false statement.
5. The court, judge, Stipendiary Magistrate, or Justice of the Peace shall, before taking any such evidence, information or examination, caution every such Indian, aboriginal native or native of mixed blood as aforesaid, that he will be liable to incur punishment if he do not so as aforesaid tell the truth.

When written declarations of Indians may be used in criminal proceedings.
6. The written declaration or examination made, taken and verified in manner aforesaid, of any such Indian, aboriginal native or native of mixed blood as aforesaid, may be lawfully read and received as evidence upon the trial of any criminal suit or proceedings when, under the like circumstances, the written affidavit, examination, deposition or confession of any person, might be lawfully read and received as evidence.

Effect of declaration, &c. taken by any person as aforesaid.
7. Every solemn affirmation or declaration in whatever form made or taken by any person as aforesaid shall be of the same force and effect, as if such person had taken an oath in the usual form, and shall, in like manner, incur the penalty of perjury in case of falsehood.

Indian defined.
8. An Indian is hereby defined to be a person within the definition contained in the fifteenth section of the thirty-first Victoria, chapter forty-two, as amended by the sixth section of the thirty-second and thirty-third Victoria, chapter six, and who shall participate in the annuities and interest moneys and rents of any tribe, band or body of Indians.

Certain Acts and laws to be in force in British Columbia and Manitoba.
9. Upon, from and after the passing of this Act, the Acts and portions of Acts hereinafter mentioned of the Parliament of Canada shall be and are hereby extended to and shall be in force in the Provinces of Manitoba and of British Columbia ; and all enactments and laws theretofore in force in the said Provinces, inconsistent with the said Acts, or making any provision in any matter provided for by the said Acts, other than such as is made by the said Acts, shall be repealed on and after the passing of this Act.

Others repealed.
10. The Acts and portions of Acts hereinbefore mentioned and hereby extended to and to be in force in the Provinces of Manitoba and of British Columbia, are as follows :­

The Acts and parts of Acts extended by s.9.
1. Sections six to twenty-five both inclusive, and sections twenty-eight, twenty-nine, thirty, thirty-seven, thirty eight, thirty-nine and forty-two, of the Act passed in the thirty-first year of her Majesty's reign, and intituled : "An Act providing for the organization of the Department of the Secretary of State of Canada, and for the management of Indian and Ordnance Lands ;"

2. Sections one to twenty-one, both inclusive, and section twenty-four of the Act passed in the thirty-second and thirty-third years of Her Majesty's reign, intituled : "An Act for the gradual enfranchisement of Indians, the better management of Indian affairs, and to extend the provisions of the Act thirty-first Victoria, chapter forty-two ;"
3. Sections one, three, six, seven, eight, nine and sixteen, of the Act passed in the thirty-sixth year of Her Majesty's reign, and intituled : "An Act to provide for the establishment of the Department of the Interior."

Governor in Council may exempt Indians or Indian lands in Manitoba or British Columbia, from the operation of certain Acts, &c., and again subject them to the same.
11. The Governor in Council may, by proclamation from to time to time, exempt from the operation of the Act passed in the thirty-first year of Her Majesty's reign, and intituled : "An Act providing for the organization of the Department of the Secretary of State of Canada, and for the management of Indian and Ordnance Lands," or from the operation of an Act passed in the thirty-second and thirty-third years of Her Majesty's reign, intituled "An Act for the gradual enfranchisement of Indians, the better management of Indian affairs, and to extend the provisions of the Act thirty-first Victoria, chapter forty-two," or from the operation of the Act passed in the thirty-first year of her Majesty's reign, and intituled : "An Act to provide for the establishment of the Department of the Interior," or from the operation of this Act, or from the operation of any one or more of the clauses of any one or more of the said Acts, the Indians or any of them, or any tribe of them or the Indian lands or any portions of them in the Province of Manitoba, or in the Province of British Columbia, or in either of them, and may again, by proclamation, from time to time, remove such exemption.

And may extend and apply certain other Acts and enactments, generally to any Indians or Indian lands in N. W. Territories.
12. The Governor in Council may, by proclamation from time to time, direct the application of the Act passed in the thirty-first year of Her Majesty's reign, and intituled "An Act providing for the organization of the Department of the Secretary of State of Canada, and for the management of Indian and Ordnance Lands ;" and of an Act passed in the thirty-second and thirty-third of Her Majesty's reign, intituled "An Act for the gradual enfranchisement of Indians, the better management of Indian affairs, and to extend the provisions of the Act thirty-first Victoria, chapter forty-two ;" and an Act passed in the thirty-sixth year of Her Majesty's reign, and intituled "An Act to provide for the establishment of the Department of the Interior ;" or of any one or more of the clauses of any one or more of the said Acts to the Indians or any of them or any tribe of them or the Indian lands or any portions of them, or that the same be in force generally in the North West Territories.

Ordinance of R. S. of B. C. repealed in part.
13. The second, third, and seventh sections of the Ordinance, No. 85 of the Revised Statutes of British Columbia are hereby repealed.

Act how to be construed.
14. This Act shall be construed as one Act with the Acts thirty-first Victoria, chapter forty-two, and thirty-second and thirty-third Victoria, chapter six.

ARCHIVÉE - CHAP. 21. Acte pour amender certaines lois relatives aux Sauvages et pour étendre certaines lois concernant les affaires se rattachant aux Sauvages, aux provinces de Manitoba et de la Colombie-Britannique.

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

date : Sanctionné le 26 Mai 1874

Format PDF
(1.7 Mo, 9 pages)

Avis d'accessibilité

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder le format PDF,
visitez la section d'aide.

Préambule. SA MAJESTÉ, par et de l'avis et du consentement du Sénat et de la Chambre des Communes du Canada, décrète ce qui suit :
31 V., c. 42, s. 12, et 32-33 V.,
c. 6, s. 3, abrogées, et nouvelle
section substituée à cette dernière.
1. La douzième section de l'acte trente et un Victoria, chapitre quarante-deux, intitulé : "Acte pourvoyant à l'organisation du Département du Secrétaire d'Etat du Canada ainsi qu'à l'administration des terres des Sauvages et de l'Ordonnance," et la troisième section de l'acte trente-deux et trente-trois Victoria, chapitre six, intitulé : "Acte pourvoyant à l'émancipation graduelle des Sauvages, à la meilleure administration des affaires des Sauvages, et à l'extension des dispositions de l'acte trente et un Victoria, chapitre quarante-deux," sont par le présent révoquées, et ce qui suit remplacera la section en dernier lieu mentionnée.
Dispositions pour empêcher qu'il ne soit fourni des liqueurs enivrantes aux Sauvages.

Punition pour contravention, par amende ou emprisonnement.

Si elle est fournie du bord d'un bateau.

Les Sauvages seront des témoins compétents.

Proviso.
"3. 1, Quiconque vendra, échangera, troquera, fournira, ou donnera à quelque homme, femme ou enfant Sauvage en Canada, aucune espèce de liqueur enivrante, ou lui en fera obtenir, ou participera à ces faits, ou cherchera ou tentera de le faire, ou ouvrira ou tiendra, ou fera ouvrir ou tenir sur des terres réservées aux Sauvages, aucune auberge, maison ou bâtiment où l'on vendra, troquera, échangera ou donnera des liqueurs enivrantes, ou qui sera trouvé en possession de liqueurs enivrantes dans la maison, tente, wigwam, ou demeure d'un Sauvage, sera, sur conviction de l'un de ces faits, devant tout juge de paix, sur le témoignage d'un témoin digne de foi autre que le dénonciateur ou poursuivant, passible d'un emprisonnement pour une période n'excédant pas deux ans et d'une amende n'excédant pas cinq cents piastres, dont une moitié appartiendra au dénonciateur ou poursuivant, et l'autre à Sa Majesté, pour former partie du fonds au profit de la tribu ou peuplade de Sauvages à l'égard de l'un ou de plusieurs des membres de laquelle l'offense aura été commise, et le commandant ou la personne chargée du commandement de tout bateau à vapeur ou autre navire ou bâtiment, du bord ou à bord duquel quelque liqueur enivrante aura été vendue, troquée, échangée, fournie ou donnée, à tout homme, femme ou enfant Sauvage, sera passible, sur conviction de ces faits devant tout juge de paix, sur le témoignage d'un témoin digne de foi autre que le dénonciateur ou poursuivant, d'une amende n'excédant pas cinq cents piastres pour chacune de ces offenses, laquelle amende sera également partagée et appliquée tel que plus haut indiqué ; et à défaut de paiement immédiat de telle amende, la personne à qui elle aura été imposé pourra être incarcérée dans toute prison commune, maison de correction, maison d'arrêt ou autre lieu de détention, par le juge de paix devant lequel la conviction aura lieu, pour une période n'excédant pas douze mois, ou jusqu'à paiement de l'amende ; et dans toute poursuite intentée en vertu de la présente section, les Sauvages seront des témoins compétents ; mais nulle pénalité ne sera encourue pour l'usage d'aucune liqueur enivrante dans les de maladie, lorsqu'elle sera prescrite par un médecin ou un ministre du culte.
Confiscation des vaisseaux contenant ces liqueurs.

Saisie de la liqueur.

Pénalité contre ceux qui auront ces vaisseaux, etc, en leur possession.
"2. Le barillet, baril, caisse, boîte, colis ou vaisseau d'où une liqueur enivrante a été vendue, échangée, troquée, fournie ou donnée, et le vaisseau qui renfermait l'approvisionment de telle liqueur, de même que celui dans lequel aura été mise une partie de tel approvisionnement, comme susdit, et le résidu qu'ils peuvent contenir, si tel baril, barillet, casse, boîte, colis, vase ou vaisseau, respectivement comme susdit, peut être identifié,- et toute liqueur enivrante importée ou fabriquée, ou apportée sur toutes terres réservées pour les Sauvages, ou dans la maison, tente, wigwam ou demeure d'un Sauvage, pourront être saisis par tout constable- en quelque lieu qu'il les trouvera sur ces terres ; et sur plainte portée devant tout juge, magistrat stipendiaire ou juge de paix, corroborée par le témoignage d'un témoin digne de foi, qu'il y a eu contravention au présent acte à cet égard il pourra déclarer cette liqueur confisquée et la faire détruire sur-le-champ ; et la personne en la possession de qui elle sera trouvée pourra être condamnée à une amende n'excédant pas cent piastres, mais qui ne pourra être au-dessous de cinquante piastres, et aux frais de poursuite ; et une moitié de cette amende appartiendra au poursuivant et l'autre moitié à Sa Majesté pour les fins ci-dessus mentionnées ; et à défaut de paiement immédiat, le délinquant pourra être incarcéré dans toute prison commune, maison de correction, maison d'arrêt ou autre lieu de détention, pour une période n'excédant pas six mois, à moins que cette amende et ces frais ne soient plus tôt payés.

Confiscation du navire, bateau, canot, etc., portant des liqueurs aux Sauvages. "3. Sur la preuve faite devant tout juge, magistrat stipendiaire ou juge de paix, qu'un navire, bateau, canot ou embarcation quelconque naviguant sur mer ou sur les côtes maritimes, ou sur toute rivière, lac ou cours d'eau du Canada, est employé au transport de liqueurs enivrantes destinées à un ou à des Sauvages, tel navire, bateau, canot ou embarcation ainsi employé pourra être saisi et déclaré confisqué tel que prescrit par le dernier paragraphe, et vendu, et les produits de la vente seront remis à Sa Majesté pour les fins ci-haut indiquées.
Tout Sauvage trouvé ivre peut être arrêté.

Et doit, sur conviction, déclarer où il a eu la liqueur.

Punition pour refus.
"4. Il sera loisible à tout constable, sans procédure judiciaire, d'arrêter tout Sauvage qu'il trouvera dans un état d'ivresse, et de le conduire à toute prison commune, maison de correction, maison d'arrêt ou autre lieu de détention, pour qu'il y soit détenu jusqu'à ce qu'il soit redevenu sobre ; et lorsque son ivresse aura disparu, tel Sauvage sera amené devant tout juge, magistrat stipendiaire ou juge de paix et s'il est convaincu d'avoir été ainsi trouvé en état d'ivresse, il sera passible d'être emprisonné dans toute prison commune, maison de correction, maison d'arrêt ou autre lieu de détention, pour une période n'excédant pas un mois. Et si, après conviction comme susdit, et pendant l'interrogatoire, un Sauvage refuse de donner des renseignements sur la personne, le lieu et le jour, et de dire de qui, où et quand il a obtenu la liqueur enivrante, et si c'est de quelque autre Sauvage, alors, s'il le sait, de qui, où et quand cette liqueur enivrante a été d'abord obtenue ou reçue, il sera, comme susdit, passible d'être emprisonné pendant une autre période n'excédant pas quatorze jours.
Interprétation : "liqueurs enivrantes" "5. Les mots : "liqueurs enivrantes" signifieront et comprendront tous spiritueux, alcools, liqueurs spiritueuses, vins, liqueurs fermentées ou mélangées, boissons enivrantes de toute espèce, fluides enivrants, ainsi que l'opium et toute préparation d'opium, soit liquide, soit solide, et toute autre drogue ou substance enivrante, le tabac ou le thé mêlés, mélangés ou imprégnés d'opium ou de toute autre drogue ou substance enivrante, soit liquide, soit solide.
Un défaut de forme n'invalidera pas les poursuites, etc. "6. Nulle poursuite, conviction ou incarcération intentée ou prononcée en vertu du présent acte ne sera invalide par défaut de forme, si elle a eu lieu selon la véritable intention du présent acte.
31 V., c. 42, s. 14 amendée. 2. Ce qui suit sera considéré comme faisant partie de la quatorzième section de l'acte trente et un Victoria, chapitre quarante-deux, savoir :
Certaines ventes, échanges, etc., seront nuls.

Punition de l'acheteur, etc.
"Ils ne pourront non plus être vendus, troqués, échangés, ou donnés par une tribu, bande ou peuplade de Sauvages, ni par aucun Sauvage d'aucune tribu, bande ou peuplade, à aucune personne ou personnes autres qu'à une tribu, bande ou peuplade de Sauvages, ou un Sauvage d'une tribu, et telle vente, troque, échange ou don sera absolument nul et de nul effet, à moins qu'il n'ait lieu avec le consentement par écrit de l'agent des Sauvages ; et toute personne qui achètera ou autrement acquérera des présents ou articles achetés comme susdit, sans le consentement par écrit de l'agent des Sauvages, comme susdit, sera coupable de délit (misdemeanor) et passible d'une amende n'excédant pas deux cents piastres, ou d'un emprisonnement n'excédant pas six mois dans tout lieu de détention autre qu'un pénitencier. "
Manière dont les Sauvages, etc., pourront témoigner dans les causes criminelles. 3. Lors de toute enquête ou de toute investigation de faits donnant lieu à une accusation criminelle, ou lors du procès pour tout crime ou offense quelconque, quel qu'en puisse être auteur, il sera loisible à tout tribunal, juge, magistrat stipendiaire, coroner ou juge de paix, de recevoir le témoignage de tout Sauvage ou aborigène de naissance ou de sang mêlé, qui ignore l'existence de Dieu, qui n'a aucune croyance religieuse fixe ou définie, et qui ni croit pas fermement aux peines et récompenses de l'autre vie, sans déférer le serment dans la forme ordinaire, à tel Sauvage, aborigène ou sang mêlé, comme susdit, mais sur son affirmation ou déclaration solennelle de dire la vérité, et rien autre chose que la vérité ou sous telle autre formule que le tribunal, le juge, magistrat stipendiaire, coroner ou juge de paix approuvera comme le plus obligatoire pour sa conscience.
Autre dispositions au même sujet. 4. Pourvu que dans le cas d'une enquête ou investigation dans quelque matière donnant lieu à une accusation criminelle, ou lors du procès pour tout crime ou offense quelconque, la substance des témoignages ou de l'information donnée par tel Sauvage, aborigène on sang-mêlé, comme susdit, sera couchée par écrit et signée d'une marque que fera le témoin et vérifiée par la signature ou la marque de la personne agissant comme interprête (s'il en est), et par la signature du juge, magistrat stipendiaire, coroner ou juge de paix ou personne devant qui telle dénonciation aura été faite.
La cour préviendra le Sauvage qu'il s'expose à être puni s'il ne dit pas la vérité. 5. Le tribunal, le juge, le magistrat stipendiaire ou juge de paix devra, avant d'entendre tel témoignage, dénonciation ou interrogatoire, prévenir tel Sauvage, aborigène ou sang-mêlé, comme susdit, qu'il sera passible d'un châtiment s'il ne dit pas, comme susdit, la vérité.
Les déclarations écrites des Sauvages peuvent être employées dans les procès criminels. 6. La déclaration ou l'interrogatoire écrit, fait, entendu et vérifié en la manière susdite, de tout Sauvage, aborigène ou sang-mêlé comme susdit, pourra être légalement lu et reçu comme preuve lors du procès ou des procédures criminelles, lorsque dans de semblables circonstances l'affidavit, l'interrogatoire, les dépositions ou aveux d'une personne, pris par écrit, peuvent être légalement lus et reçus comme preuve.
Effet de la déclaration, etc., faite par quelqu'un. 7. Toute affirmation ou déclaration solennelle, en quelque forme qu'elle soit faite par quelque personne comme susdit, aura la même valeur et effet que si cette personne eût prêté serment en la forme ordinaire, et dans le cas où elle serait fausse, elle sera passible de la même peine que pour le parjure.
Définition du Sauvage. 8. Le Sauvage sera réputé une personne selon le définition de la quinzième section de l'acte trente et un Victoria, chapitre quarante-deux, tel qu'amendé par la sixième section de l'acte trente-deux et trente-trois Victoria, chapitre six, et qui participera aux annuités, aux intérêts et rentes pécuniaires de toute tribu, bande ou peuplade de Sauvages.
Certains actes seront en vigueur dans la Colombie-Britannique et Manitoba.

Et d'autres seront abrogés.
9. A compter de la passation du présent, les actes et parties d'actes ci-après mentionnés du parlement du Canada s'appliqueront aux provinces de Manitoba et de la Colombie-Britannique, où ils seront en vigueur; et toutes les dispositions et lois jusqu'ici en force dans les dites provinces, incompatibles avec les dits actes ou comportant quelques dispositions sur quelque matière prévue par les dits actes autre que celles établies par eux, seront révoquées à dater de la passation du présent acte.
Acte étendus par la s. 9. 10. Les actes et parties d'actes ci-dessus mentionnés et par le présent étendus et appliqués aux provinces de Manitoba et de la Colombie-Britannique, sont les suivants :

1. Sections de six à vingt-cinq inclusivement ; les sections vingt-huit, vingt-neuf, trente, trente-sept, trente-huit, trente-neuf et quarante-deux de l'acte passé dans la trente et unième année du règne de Sa Majesté, et intitulé : "Acte pourvoyant à l'organisation du Département du Secrétaire d'Etat du Canada, ainsi qu'à l'administration des terres des Sauvages et de l'ordonnance."

2. Les sections de une à vingt et une, inclusivement, et la section vingt-quatre de l'acte passé dans les trente-deuxième et trente -troisième années du règne de Sa Majesté, intitulé : "Acte pourvoyant à l'émancipation graduelle des Sauvages à la meilleure administration des affaires des Sauvages, et à l'extension des dispositions de l'acte trente et un Victoria, chapitre quarante-deux."

3. Les sections une, trois, six, sept, huit, neuf et seize de l'acte passé dans la trente-sixième année du règne de Sa Majesté, intitulé : "Acte à l'effet de pourvoir à la création du Département de l'Intérieur."
Le Gouverneur en conseil peut exempter lesw Sauvages et les terres des Sauvages, dans Manitoba ou la
C.-B., de l'opération de certains actes, et les y soumettre de nouveau.
11. De temps à autre, et par proclamation, le Gouverneur en conseil pourra exempter de l'opération de l'acte passé dans la trente et unième année du règne de Sa Majesté, intitulé : "Acte pourvoyant à l'organisation du Département du Secrétaire d'Etat du Canada, ainsi qu'à l'administration des terres des Sauvages et de l'ordonnance," ou de l'acte passé dans les trente-deuxième et trente-troisième années du règne de Sa Majesté : "Acte pourvoyant à l'émancipation graduelle des Sauvages, à la meilleure administration des affaires des Sauvage et à l'extension des dispositions de l'acte trente et un Victoria, chapitre quarante-deux," ou de l'opération de l'acte passé dans la trente-sixième année du règne de Sa Majesté, intitulé : "Acte à l'effet de pourvoir à la création du Département de l'Intérieur," ou de l'opération du présent acte, ou de l'opération de l'une ou de plusieurs des sections d'aucun ou de plusieurs des dits actes, les Sauvages ou aucun d'eux, ou aucune tribu de Sauvages, ou les terres des Sauvages, ou aucune partie de ces terres dans la province de Manitoba ou dans la province de la Colombie-Britannique, ou dans l'une ou l'autre, et il pourra, de temps à autre, et par proclamation, les soumettre de nouveau à leur opération.
Et peut étendre certains autres actes aux Sauvages et aux terres des Sauvages dans les territoires du N.O. 12. De temps à autre, et par proclamation, le Gouverneur en conseil pourra ordonner l'application de l'acte passé dans la trente et unième année du règne de Sa Majesté, intitulé : "Acte pourvoyant à l'organisation du département du Secrétaire d'Etat du Canada, ainsi qu'à l'administration des terres des Sauvages et de l'ordonnance," et de l'acte passé dans les trente-deuxième et trente-troisième années du règne de Sa Majesté, intitulé : "Acte pourvoyant à l'émancipation graduelle des Sauvages, à la meilleure administration des affaires des Sauvages et à l'extension des dispositions de l'acte trente et un Victoria, chapitre quarante-deux," et de l'acte passé dans la trente-sixième année du règne de Sa Majesté, intitulé : "Acte à l'effet de pourvoir à la création du Département de l'Intérieur," ou de l'une ou de plusieurs des sections de l'un ou de plus d'un des dits actes, aux Sauvages ou à aucun d'eux, ou à aucune tribu de Sauvages, ou aux terres des Sauvages, ou à aucune partie de ces terres, ou que ces actes soient généralement en vigueur dans les territoires du Nord-Ouest.
Ordonnance de la C.-B., abrogée. 13. Les deuxième, troisième et septième sections de l'ordonnance No. 85 des statuts revisés de la Colombie-Britannique sont par le présent revoquées.
Interprétation. 14. Le présent sera censé ne former qu'un seul et même acte, avec les actes trente et un Victoria, chapitre quarante-deux, et trente-deux et trente-trois Victoria, chapitre six.
Date de modification :