CHAP. 7. An Act to amend "An Act to make further provision as to Duties of Customs in Manitoba and the North West Territories," and further to restrain the importation or manufacture of Intoxicating Liquors into or in the North West Territories.

Date: Assented to 26th May, 1874

PDF Version   (127 Kb, 3 Pages)

Accessibility Notice

Help on accessing documents in PDF format
can be obtained on the help page.



Preamble.
IN amendment of the Act passed in the thirty-sixth year of Her Majesty's Reign, intituled, "An Act to make further provision as to Duties of Customs in Manitoba and the North West Territories," Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate and House of Commons of Canada, enacts as follows :

Period limited by 36 V. c.39, extended.
1. The period limited by the first section of the Act herein above cited is hereby extended, so that the Duties of Customs chargeable by law in Rupert's Land at the time of the passing of the Act referred to in the said section, shall be continued without increase in the Province of Manitoba and the North West Territories, until the first day of July, One thousand eight hundred and seventy four, subject to the exception made in the first subsection of the said section, and to the exceptions and provisions hereinafter contained.

Subs. 2 of s. 1 of 36 V. c. 39,
repealed and new provisions substituted.
2. From and after the passing of this Act sub-section two of the first section of the said Act shall be and is hereby repealed, except as to things done or penalties incurred under it, and the following sub-sections substituted therefor, as part of the said Act:

Importation or making of intoxicating liquors into or in N. W. Territories prohibited.












Seizure and forfeiture for contravention.
"2. Spirits, strong waters, spirituous liquors, wines, and fermented and compounded liquors and intoxicating drink of every kind are hereby prohibited to be imported into any part of the North West Territories ; nor shall any spirits, strong waters, spirituous liquors, wines or fermented or compounded liquors or intoxicating drink of any kind be manufactured or made in the said North West Territories, or brought into the same from any Province of Canada, except by special permission in writing of the Lieutenant Governor of the said Territories : and if any spirits or strong waters, spirituous liquors, wines or fermented or compounded liquors or intoxicating drink are imported or manufactured or made in the said Territories or brought into the same, in contravention of this Act, they shall be absolutely forfeited and may be seized by any Officer of the Customs or Excise or by any Constable wheresoever found ; and on complaint made before him, any judge, stipendiary magistrate or justice of the peace, may, on the evidence of one credible witness that this Act has been contravened in respect thereof, order the said spirits, strong waters, spirituous liquors, wines, or fermented or compounded liquors, or intoxicating drink so seized to be forthwith destroyed, or in case of the same not having been seized, then on complaint as aforesaid, such judge, stipendiary magistrate, or justice of the peace, may issue a search warrant, as in cases of stolen goods under the Acts in force respecting the duties of Justices of the Peace out of Sessions in relation to persons charged with indictable offences and upon the same being found may cause them to be forthwith destroyed."

Penalty.




How appropriated.
"3. Any person in whose possession or on whose premises such spirits, strong waters, spirituous liquors, wines or fermented or compounded liquors, or intoxicating drink of any kind may be or may have been found, shall be liable to a penalty not exceeding two hundred dollars, nor less than fifty dollars, one half of which shall go to the informer."

How recoverable.




Imprisonment in default of payment.
"4. Any penalty incurred under this Act shall be recoverable with costs of prosecution by summary conviction on the evidence of one credible witness, before any judge, stipendiary magistrate or justice of the peace having jurisdiction in the North West Territories, who shall, on payment of the same, pay the informer his share thereof; and in case of non-payment of the penalty and costs immediately after conviction, the convicting justice may, in his discretion, levy the same by distress and sale, or commit the person so convicted and making default in payment of the said penalty and costs, to any common gaol or house of correction or lock-up house within the North West Territories for a period not exceeding six months, unless the said penalty and costs be sooner paid."

Conviction, &c., not invalid for want of form.
"5. No seizure, prosecution, conviction or commitment under this Act shall be invalid on account of want of form, so long as the same is according to the true intent and meaning of this Act."

Licenses to manufacture spirits to be issued only at certain places in British Columbia.
3. After the expiration of the licenses now issued, licenses to manufacture spirits or other excisable articles within the Provinces of Manitoba and British Columbia shall be issued only for the following places, namely : Victoria and New Westminster in British Columbia, and Fort Garry in Winnipeg in Manitoba, and such other places as may, from time to time, be named for the purpose by order of the Governor in Council.

Act to be one with 36V.c.39.
4. This Act shall be construed as one Act with the Act hereby amended.

ARCHIVÉE - CHAP. 7. Acte pour amender " l'acte pour établir de nouvelles dispositions au sujet des droits de douane dans Manitoba et les Territoires du Nord- Ouest," et pour restreindre davantage l'importation et la fabrication des liqueurs enivrantes dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

date : Sanctionné le 26 Mai 1874)

format PDF (406 Ko, 3 pages)

Avis d'accessibilité

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder le format PDF,
visitez la section d'aide

Préambule. EN amendement à l'acte passé dans la trente-sixième année du règne de Sa Majesté, intitulé : "Acte pour établir de novelles dispositions au sujet des droits de douane dans Manitoba et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest," Sa Majesté, par et de l'avis du consentement du Sénat et de la Chambre des Communes du Canada, décrète ce qui suit :
Epoque limitée par 36 V., ch. 39, prorogée. 1. L'époque limitée par la première section de l'acte ci-dessus mentionné est par le présent prorogée, de manière que les droits de douane exigibles par la loi dans la Terre de Rupert à l'époque de la passation de l'acte mentionné dans la dite section, continueront d'exister sans être augmentés, dans la province de Manitoba et les Territoires du Nord Ouest, jusqu'au premier jour de juillet mil huit cent soixante-quatorze, sauf l'exception faite dans le premier paragraphe de la dite section, et les exceptions et dispositions ci-dessous.
Parag. 2, sec. l, de 36 Vic., ch. 9,
abrogé, et nouveaux paragraphes substitués.
2. A compter de la passation du présent acte, le paragraphe deux de la première section du dit acte sera et est par le présent abrogé, excepté quant aux choses faites ou aux pénalités encourues sous son autorité, et les paragraphes suivant lui seront substitués et formeront partie du dit acte :
L'importation et la fabrication de
liqueurs enivrantes dans les territoires
du N.-O. sont interdites.








Saisie et confiscation pour contravention.
"2. Il est par le présent interdit d'importer dans aucune partie des Territoires du Nord-Ouest des spiritueux, alcools, liqueurs spiritueuses, vins, liqueurs fermentées et mélangées, et des boissons enivrantes de toute espèce ; et nuls spiritueux, alcools, liqueurs spiritueuses, vins ou liqueurs fermentées ou mélangées, ou boissons enivrantes d'aucune espèce, ne seront fabriqués ou faits dans les dits territoires du Nord-Ouest, ni apportés d'aucune province du Canada dans ces territoires, sauf sur permission spéciale du lieutenant-gouverneur des dits territoires, donnée par écrit ; et si des spiritueux, ou alcools, liqueurs spiritueuses, vins ou liqueurs fermentées ou mélangées, ou des boissons enivrantes quelconques sont importés, fabriqués, faits, ou apportés dans ces territoires, en contravention au présent acte, ils seront absolument confisqués et pourront être saisis par tout officier des douanes ou de l'accise, ou par tout constable, en quelque lieu qu'ils soient trouvés ; et sur plainte portée devant lui, tout juge, magistrat stipendiaire ou juge de paix pourra, sur le témoignage d'un témoin digne de foi, que le présent acte a été enfreint à leur égard, ordonner que les dits spiritueux alcools, liqueurs spiritueuses, vins ou liqueurs fermentées ou mélangées, ou boissons enivrantes ainsi saisis, soient immédiatement détruits ; ou s'ils n'ont pas été saisis, alors sur plainte comme susdit, tel juge, magistrat stipendiaire ou juge de paix, pourra lancer un mandat de perquisition, comme dans le cas d'effets volés, sous l'autorité des actes en vigueur concernant les devoirs des juges de paix hors des sessions, à l'égard des personnes prévenues d'offenses poursuivables par voie d'accusation, et s'ils sont trouvés, il pourra les faire détruire sur-le-champ.
Pénalité.




Comment employée.
"3. Toute personne en la possession ou au domicile de laquelle ces spiritueux, alcools, liqueurs spiritueuses, vins ou liqueurs fermentées ou mélangées, ou boissons enivrantes d'aucune sorte, seront ou auront pu être trouvés, sera passible d'une amende de cinquante à deux cents piastres, dont la moitié appartiendra au dénonciateur.
Comment recouvrable.








Emprisonnement à défaut de paiement.
"4. Toute amende encourue en vertu du présent acte sera recouvrable, avec les frais de poursuite, par conviction sommaire sur le témoignage d'un témoin digne de foi, par-devant tout juge, magistrat stipendiaire ou juge de paix ayant juridiction dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, lequel, sur réception de l'amende, en remettra au dénonciateur la part qui lui revient ; et si l'amende et les frais ne sont pas payés immédiatement après conviction, le juge qui aura prononcé la sentence pourra la prélever par voie de saisie et vente, ou incarcérer le délinquant qui n'aura pas payé l'amende et les frais, dans toute prison commune ou maison de correction ou maison d'arrêt située dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, pour une période de pas plus de six mois, à moins que cette amende et les frais ne soient plus tôt payés.
Conviction, etc., pas invalidée pour défaut de forme. "5. Nulle saisie, poursuite, conviction ou incarcération, faite sous l'autorité du présent acte, ne sera invalidée pour défaut de forme, pourvu qu'elle ait eu lieu conformément au véritable sens et intention du présent acte.
Les licences pour la fabrication des spiritueux ne seront accordées qu'en certains endroits, dans la C.-B. et Manitoba. 3. Après l'expiration des licences maintenant accordées, les licences ou permis de fabriquer des spiritueux ou autres articles sujets aux droits d'accise dans les provinces de Manitoba et de la Colombie-Britannique, ne seront accordées que pour les endroits suivants, savoir : Victoria et New-Westminster dans la Colombie-Britannique, et Fort-Garry et Winnipeg dans Manitoba, et tels autres endroits qui pourront de temps à autre être désignés à cet effet par ordre du Gouverneur en conseil.
Un seul acte avec 36 Vic., ch. 39. 4. Le présent acte sera interprété comme ne formant qu'un seul et même acte avec celui qu'il amende.
Date de modification :