CHAP. 34. An Act further to amend the "Act to make further provision for the government of the North West Territories."

Date: Assented to 23rd May, 1873

PDF Version   (139 Kb, 5 Pages)

Accessibility Notice

Help on accessing documents in PDF format
can be obtained on the help page.




CHAP. 34.

An Act further to amend the "Act to make further provision for the government of the North West Territories."

[Assented to 23rd May, 1873.]

 

Preamble.
In amendment of the Act passed in the thirty-fourth year of Her Majesty's reign, intituled "An Act to make further provision for the Government of the North West Territories," Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate and House of Commons of Canada, enacts as follows :-

 

Form of enacting laws.

Orders in Council under the said Act confirmed.
1. The laws, institutions and ordinances which the Governor in Council is empowered by the said Act from time to time to authorize the Lieutenant-Governor of the North West Territories to make, ordain and establish for the administration of justice in the same, and for the peace, order and good Government of Her Majesty's subjects and others therein, shall hereafter be made, ordained and established by the Lieutenant Governor, by and with the advice and consent of the Council appointed under the said Act, or any Act amending it, to aid in the administration of the North West Territories ; and any Order of the Governor in Council made under the said Act, and giving such authority to the Lieutenant-Governor and his Council, is hereby confirmed, and shall be in force until repealed or altered by any subsequent Order of the Governor in Council made under the Act first herein cited.

 

Governor in Council may make such laws as Lt. Governor in Council is not empowered to make.

Extent of either authority.
2. Subject to the provisions hereinafter made, it shall be lawful for the Governor in Council to make laws for the peace, order and good government of the said North West Territories and of Her Majesty's subjects therein, in relation to all matters and subjects in relation to which the Lieutenant Governor and his Council aforesaid are not then empowered to make laws ; and for that purpose, either to make new laws or to extend and apply and declare applicable to the North West Territories, with such amendments and modifications as may be deemed necessary, and any Act or Acts of the Parliament of Canada, or any parts thereof ; and from time to time to amend or repeal any such laws and make others in their stead. The power hereby given shall extend to the modification, amendment or repeal of any Act mentioned in the schedule to this Act ; and the Lieutenant-Governor, acting with the advice and consent of his Council, shall have like powers with respect to the subjects and matters in relation to which he is empowered to make laws :

 

Laws not to be made for certain purposes.
3. Provided always, that no law to be so made, either by the Governor in Council or by the Lieutenant-Governor of the said Territories, with the advice and consent of his Council, shall,- 1. Be inconsistent with any provision of any Act of the Parliament of Canada expressly referring to the said Territories ; or 2. Impose any tax or any duty of Customs or Excise, or any penalty exceeding one hundred dollars ; or 3. Alter or repeal the punishment provided by any Act mentioned in the schedule to this Act, or extended as aforesaid to the said Territories, for any crime or offence, or the legal description or character of the crime or offence itself ; or 4. Appropriate any public money, lands or property of the Dominion without the authority of Parliament :

 

Disallowance of laws and laying them before Parliament.
And a copy of every such law made by the Lieutenant-Governor of the said Territories and his Council, shall be mailed for transmission to the Governor in Council within ten days after its passing, and may be disallowed by him at any time within two years after its passing ; and every such law made by the Governor in Council shall be laid before both Houses of Parliament as soon as conveniently may be after the making and passing thereof.

 

Copies for Queen's Printer to be evidence.
4. Any copy of any law made by the Governor in Council, or by the Lieutenant-Governor of the North West Territories, with the advice and consent of his Council, printed in the Canada Gazette or purporting to be printed by the Queen's Printer at Ottawa, or by the Queen's Printer or Printer to the Government of Manitoba at Winnipeg, shall be primâ facie evidence of such law, and that it is in force.

 

Customs and Excise laws.
5. Unless and until it is otherwise ordered under this Act, and subject to the provisions of any Act passed during the present session, such provisions of the Customs and Excise laws of Canada, including those fixing the amount of duty, as shall be in force at any time in Manitoba, shall be also in force in the said North West Territories.

 

Certain Acts of Canada to be in force in N.W. Territories.
6. Unless and until it is otherwise ordered by any law to be made under this Act, and subject to the provisions of any Act passed during the present session, the Acts mentioned in the schedule to this Act, as limited in the said schedule ; shall apply to and be in force in the said North West Territories, as shall also all Acts of the Parliament of Canada relating to the Executive Government and the several Departments thereof, the public works of the Dominion, and the postal service and offences against the Acts relating thereto.

 

Commencement of Act.
7. This Act shall come into force on the first day of November, in the present year 1873, and not before.

 


SCHEDULE A.

Acts of the Parliament of Canada referred to in the sixth section of this Act.

TITLE.

 

Chapter
Acts passed in the First Session, 31st Victoria,1867, 1868.

 

14
An Act to protect the inhabitants of Canada against lawless aggression from subjects of foreign countries at peace with Her Majesty.

 

15
An Act to prevent the unlawful training of persons to the use of arms, and the practice of military evolutions, and to authorize Justices of the Peace to seize and detain arms collected or kept for purposes dangerous to the public peace.

 

69
An Act for the better security of the Crown and of the Government. Act amended by 32, 33 Vict., chap. 17.

 

70
An Act respecting riots and riotous assemblies.

 

71
An Act respecting forgery, perjury and intimidation in connection with the Provincial Legislatures and their Acts.

 

72
An Act respecting Accessories to and Abettors in indictable offences.

 

73
An Act respecting the Police of Canada.

 

74
An Act respecting persons in custody charged with high treason or felony.
Acts passed in the Second Session, 32, 33 Victoria, 1869.

 

18
An Act respecting offences relating to the Coin.

 

19
An Act respecting Forgery.

 

20
An Act respecting offences against the Person.

 

21
An Act respecting Larceny and other similar offences.

 

22
An Act respecting Malicious Injuries to Property. As amended by 35 Vict., chap. 34.

 

23
An Act respecting Perjury. As amended by 33 Vict., chap. 26.

 

24
An Act for the better preservation of the peace on Public Works. As amended by 33 Vict., chap. 28.

 

29
An Act respecting Procedure in Criminal Cases, and other matters relating to Criminal Law. Sections 1 to 7, both inclusive, relating to the apprehension of offenders ; sections 81 to 87, both inclusive, relating to the punishment of offences ; and sections 125 to 138, both inclusive, relating to pardons, undergoing sentence, limitation of a ctions and prosecutions, and general provisions. The whole Act will apply, in Manitoba, to offences committed in the North West Territories, but triable in Manitoba, and the persons committing them.

 

30
An Act respecting the duties of Justices of the Peace out of Sessions in relation to persons charged with indictable offences. So far as respects indictable offenses committed in the North West Territories and triable in Manitoba, or committed in some Province of Canada, and the offender apprehended in the North West Territories.

 

31
An Act relating to the duties of Justices of the Peace out of Sessions in relation to summary convictions and orders. Except so much of this Act (or of any Act amending it) as gives any appeal from any conviction or order adjudged or made under it.

 

32
An Act respecting the prompt and summary administration of criminal justice in certain cases. In applying this Act to the North West Territories, the expression "competent magistrate" shall be construed as meaning any two Justices of the Peace sitting together, as well as any functionary or tribunal having the powers of two Justices of the Peace, and the jurisdiction shall be absolute without the c onsent of the parties charged.

 

33
An Act respecting the trial and punishment of juvenile offenders. In applying this Act to the North West Territories, the expression "any two or more justices" shall be construed as including any magistrate having the powers of two Justices of the Peace. This Act shall not apply to any offence punishable by imprisonment for two years or upwards, and it shall not be necessary that recognizance be transmitted to any Clerk of the Peace.

ARCHIVÉE - CHAP. 34. Acte à l'effet d'amender de nouveau "l'Acte portant de nouvelles dispositions pour le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest."

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

date : Sanctionné le 23 Mai 1873

Format PDF
(1.21 Mo, 5 pages)

Avis d'accessibilité

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder le format PDF,
visitez la section d'aide.

CHAP. 34.

Acte à l'effet d'amender de nouveau " l'Acte portant de nouvelles dispositions pour le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest."

[Sanctionné le 23 Mai 1873.]

Préambule
EN amendement de l'acte passé dans la trente-quatrième année du règne de Sa Majesté, intitulé : " Acte portant de nouvelles dispositions pour le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest," Sa Majesté, par et de l'avis et du consentement du Sénat et de la Chambre des Communes du Canada décrète ce qui suit :-

Manière des décréter les lois.

Ordres en conseil en vertu du dit acte confirmés.

1. Les lois, institutions et ordonnances que le gouverneur en conseil peut en vertu dudit acte autoriser, chaque fois que besoin est, le lieutenant-gouverneur des territoires du Nord-Ouest à faire, décréter et établir pour l'administration de la justice dans ces territoires, et pour la paix, l'ordre et le bon gouvernement des sujets de Sa Majesté et autres personnes qui y habitent, seront désormais faites, décrétées et établies par le lieutenant-gouverneur, par et de l'avis et du consentement du conseil nommé, en vertu dudit acte ou de tout acte y apportant des amendements, pour l'assister dans l'administration des affaires des territoires du Nord-Ouest ; et tout ordre du gouverneur en conseil rendu en vertu du dit acte et donnant ces pouvoirs au lieutenant-gouverneur et à son conseil, est par le présent acte confirmé, et sera en vigueur jusqu'à ce qu'il ait été révoqué ou changé par un ordre ultérieur du gouverneur en conseil, rendu en vertu de l'acte mentionné le premier ci-dessus.

Le gouverneur en conseil pourra faire les lois que le lieutenant gouverneur n'est pas autorisé à faire.

Etendue de leur autorité.

2. Sans préjudice des dispositions ci-après portées, il sera loisible au gouverneur en conseil de faire des lois pour la paix, l'ordre et le bon gouvernement desdits territoires du Nord-Ouest et des sujets de Sa Majesté qui l'habitent, relativement à toutes matières et sujets sur lesquels le lieutenant-gouverneur et son conseil susdit ne seront pas alors autorisés à faire des lois ; et pour cet effet, soit d'établir de nouvelles lois, soit d'étendre et appliquer et de déclarer applicables aux territoires du Nord-Ouest, avec les amendements et modifications qui pourraient être jugés nécessaires tout acte ou tous actes du parlement du Canada, ou toutes dispositions quelconques d'iceux ; et, chaque fois que besoin sera, d'amender ou de révoquer ces lois et d'en faire d'autres à leur place. Les pouvoirs donnés dans la présente section comprendront celui de modifier, d'amender ou de révoquer les actes mentionnés dans l'annexe du présent ; et le lieutenant gouverneur, agissant de l'avis et du consentement de son conseil, aura semblable pouvoir relativement aux matières et aux sujets sur lesquels il sera autorisé à faire des lois.

Lois qui ne pourront être faites.
3. Toutefois, les lois qui seront ainsi faites, soit par le gouverneur en conseil ou par le lieutenant-gouverneur desdits territoires, de l'avis et du consentement de son conseil, ne devront point- 1. Etre incompatibles avec les dispositions des actes du parlement du Canada se rapportant expressément auxdits territoires ; ni 2. Imposer de taxes ou de droits de douane ou d'excise, ni des peines pécuniaires de plus de cent piastres ; ni 3. Changer ou révoquer la punition édictée par les actes mentionnés dans l'annexe du présent acte ou étendus comme susdit aux dits territoires, contre quelque crime ou offense, ni changer ou révoquer la définition ou le caractère du crime ou de l'offense elle-même ; ni 4. Créer des offenses punissables d'un emprisonnement de plus d'un an ou d'une amende de plus de cent piastaes, ou à la fois d'une Désaveu des lois amende et d'un emprisonnement qui excèdent ces maximums ; et leur dépôt devant le parlement. 5. Assigner de deniers, terres ou propriétés publiques de la Puissance, sans l'autorisation du Parlement. Et dans les dix jours après la passation de toute telle loi faite par le lieutenant-gouverneur des dits territoires et son conseil il en sera expédié par la poste une copie au gouverneur en conseil, qui pourra la désavouer en tout temps dans le délai de deux ans à compter de sa passation ; et toute telle loi faite par le gouverneur en conseil sera déposée devant les deux Chambres du Parlement aussitôt que la chose pourra convenablement se faire après la passation de la dite loi.

Copie pour l'imprimeur de la Reine feront foi.
4. Toute copie d'une loi faite par le gouverneur en conseil, ou par le lieutenant-gouverneur des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, de l'avis et du consentement de son conseil, publiée dans la Gazette du Canada ou portant qu'elle a été imprimée par l'imprimeur de la Reine à Ottawa, ou par l'imprimeur de la Reine ou l'imprimeur du gouvernement du Manitoba, à Winnipeg, fera preuve primâ facie de l'existence de cette loi et du fait qu'elle est en vigueur.

Lois de
douane et d'excise

5. A moins et jusqu'à ce qu'il en soit autrement ordonné en vertu du présent acte, et sauf les dispositions de tout acte passé pendant la présente session, les dispositions des lois de douane et d'excise du Canada, (y compris celles qui fixent le montant des droits,) qui seront en vigueur en quelque temps que ce soit dans le Manitoba, seront aussi en vigueur dans les dits territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Certains actes du Canada seront en vigueur dans les Territoires du N.-O.
6. A moins et jusqu'à ce qu'il en soit autrement ordonné par une loi faite sous l'empire du présent acte, et sauf les dispositions de tout acte passé pendant la présente session, les actes mentionnés dans l'annexe du présent acte, tels que limités dans la dite annexe, s'appliqueront et seront en vigueur dans les dits territoires du Nord- Ouest, de même que tous actes du Parlement du Canada relatifs au gouvernement exécutif et à ses différents départements, aux travaux publics de la Puissance, au service postal et à toutes infractions aux actes y relatifs.

Mise en vigueur de cet acte.
7. Le présent acte deviendra exécutoire le premier jour de novembre en la présente année 1873, et non auparavant.

ANNEXE A.

Actes du Parlement du Canada mentionnés dans la sixième section
du présent acte.


TITRES.

Chapitres
ACTES PASSÉS DANS LA PREMIÈRE SESSION, 31 VICTORIA, 1867-1868.

14
Acte pour mettre les habitants du Canada à l'abri dans injustes agressions commises par des sujets de pays étrangers en paix avec Sa Majesté.

15
Acte pour défendre l'enseignement illicite du maniement des armes et la pratique des évolutions militaires, et pour autoriser les juges de paix à saisir et arrêter les armes amassées ou gardées pour des objets de nature à compromettre la paix publique.

69
Acte pour affermir la sécurité de la Couronne et du gouvernement. Amendé par 32-33 Vict., ch. 17.

70
Acte concernant les émeutes et les rassemblements tumultueux.

71
Acte concernant le faux, le parjure et l'intimidation par rapport aux législatures provinciales et à leurs actes.

72
Acte concernant les complices et fauteurs d'offenses poursuivables par voie de mise en accusation.

73
Acte concernant la police du Canada.

74
Acte concernant les personnes en état d'arrestation accusées de haute-trahison ou de félonie. ACTES PASSÉS DANS LA SECONDE SESSION 32-33 VICTORIA, 1869.

18
Acte concernant les offenses relatives aux monnaies.

19
Acte concernant le faux.

20
Acte concernant les offenses contre la personne.

21
Acte concernant le larcin et les autres offenses de même nature.

22
Acte concernant les dommages malicieux à la propriété. Tel qu'amendé par 35 Vict., ch. 34.

23
Acte concernant le parjure. Tel qu'amendé par 33 Vict., ch. 26.

24
Acte concernant le maintien plus effectif de la paix dans le voisinage des travaux publics. Tel qu'amendé par 33 Vict., ch. 28.

29
Acte concernant la procédure dans les causes criminelles, ainsi que certaines autres matières relatives à la loi criminelle. Sections 1 à 7 inclusivement, relatives à l'arrestation des délinquants ; sections 81 à 87 inclusivement, relatives à la peine des offenses ; et sections 125 à 138, inclusivement, relatives au pardon, à la sentence subie, à la limitation des actions et poursuites, et les dispositions générales. L'acte entier s'appliquera, dans le Manitoba, aux offenses commises dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, mais poursuivables dans le Manitoba, et aux personnes qui les commettront.

30
Acte concernant les devoirs des juges de paix, hors des sessions, relativement aux personnes accusées de délits poursuivables par voie d'acte d'accusation. En tant qu'il s'agira d'offenses poursuivables par voie d'acte d'accusation, commises dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et poursuivables dans le Manitoba, ou commises dans une province du Canada et dont l'auteur aura été appréhendé dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

31
Actes concernant les devoirs des juges de paix hors des sessions relativement aux ordres et convictions sommaires. Excepté la partie de cet acte (ou de tout acte l'amendant) qui permet l'appel de toute conviction prononcée ou ordre rendu sous l'empire de ses dispositions.

32
Acte concernant l'administration prompte et sommaire de la justice criminelle en certains cas. Dans l'application de cet acte aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest, l'expression " magistrat compétent" sera censé s'entendre de deux juges de paix siégeant ensemble, ainsi que de tout fonctionnaire ou tribunal ayant les pouvoirs de deux juges de paix ; et la juridiction sera absolue sans le consentement de l'accusé.

33
Acte concernant le mode de juger et punir les jeunes délinquants. Dans l'application de cet acte aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest, l'expression " deux ou plus de deux juges de paix" sera censée comprendre tout magistrat ayant les pouvoirs de deux juges de paix. Cet acte ne s'appliquera à aucune offense punissable d'emprisonnement pour deux ans ou plus, et il ne sera pas nécessaire qu'un cautionnement soit transmis à un greffier de paix.

Date de modification :