CHAP. 4. An Act to further amend "The Indian Act, 1880."

Date: Assented to 3rd May, 1873

PDF Version   (114 Kb, 3 Pages)

Accessibility Notice

Help on accessing documents in PDF format
can be obtained on the help page.



Preamble.
HER Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate and House of Commons of Canada, enacts as follows :–

Department of the Interior.
1. There shall be a Department of the Civil Service of Canada to be called "The Department of the Interior," over which the Minister of the Interior, for the time being, appointed by the Governor General, by Commission under the Great Seal of Canada, shall preside; and he shall hold office during pleasure, and shall have the management of the Department of the Interior.

Minister to manage the
North West Territories.
2. The Minister of the Interior shall have the control and management of the affairs of the North West Territories.

The Indians in Canada.
3. The Minister of the Interior shall be the Superintendent General of Indian affairs, and shall, as such, have the control and management of the lands and property of the Indians in Canada.

The Ordnance other
and Public Lands.




Exception.




Substituted for former Commissioner.
4. The Minister of the Interior shall have the control and management of all Crown Lands being the property of the Dominion, including those known as Ordnance and Admiralty Lands, and all other public lands not specially under the control of the Public Works Department, or of that of Militia and Defence, (and excepting also Marine Hospitals and Light Houses and land connected therewith, and St. Paul's, Sable and Portage Islands,) and he is hereby substituted for the former Commissioner of Crown Lands, as regards Ordnance and Admiralty Lands, transferred to the late Province of Canada, and lying in Ontario and Quebec.

And for the Secretary of
State of Canada in the cases named.
5. The Minister of the Interior is hereby substituted for the Secretary of State of Canada in all the powers, attributes, functions, restrictions, and duties laid down and prescribed in the "Dominion Lands Act, 1872;" and wherever the words" Secretary of State" are used in that Act, the words" Minister of the Interior" shall be deemed to be substituted therefor; and wherever the words " Department of the Secretary of State" are used, the words "Department of the Interior" shall be deemed to be substituted therefor; and all the provisions of the said Act shall be and continue obligatory upon the Minister of the Interior; and all the officers appointed under the said Act shall become, and continue to be officers of the Department of the Interior.

Deputy of the Minister of the Interior.






His duties.






Application of 31 Vic., c. 34, to such Deputy.
6. The Governor may appoint, and at his pleasure remove, a "Deputy of the Minister of the Interior," who shall be charged, under the Minister of the Interior, with the performance of the Departmental duties of the Minister of the Interior, and with the control and management of the Officers, Agents, Clerks and Servants of the Department, and with such other powers and duties as may be assigned to him by the Minister of the Interior; and the fourteenth section of "The Canada Civil Service Act. 1868," shall apply to the Deputy of the Minister of the Interior, as if the Department of the Interior were mentioned in Schedule A to that Act; and the words" Deputy of the Minister of the Interior," shall be deemed to be substituted for the words "Under Secretary of State for the Provinces" in that Schedule.

Departmental and other officers may be appointed.
7. The Governor may also appoint, subject to the "Civil Service Act, 1868," and at his pleasure remove such Departmental Officers, agents, clerks and servants as may be requisite for the proper conduct of the business of the Department at Ottawa, and also such agents, officers, clerks and servants as may be necessary for the same purpose in the North West Territories, and amongst the Indians, and elsewhere, in the Dominion.

Former Act to remain in force and apply.




Subject to the substitution of certain words.
8. The several clauses, of chapter forty-two of the Statutes passed in the thirty-first year of Her Majesty's reign, entitled "An Act providing for the organization of the Department of the Secretary of State of Canada, and for the management of Indian and Ordnance Lands," relating to the management of Indian affairs and lands, and of Ordnance Lands, shall govern the Minister of the Interior in the several matters to which they relate ; and wherever the words" Secretary of State" or "Department of the Secretary of State" occur in those clauses, the words "Minister of the Interior" and "Department of the Interior" shall be deemed to be substituted therefor.

Indians may be exempted from the operation of this Act.
9. The Governor in Council may, by proclamation, from time to time exempt from the operation of this Act, and of the said Act, chapter forty-two of the Statutes passed in the thirty-first year of Her Majesty's reign, or of any one or more of the clauses thereof, the Indians, or any tribe of them, or the Indian Lands, or any portion of them, in the North West Territories, or in the Province of Manitoba, or in the Province of British Columbia, and may again, by like proclamation, from time to time, remove such exemption.

Geological Survey.
10. The Geological Survey of Canada as now existing shall be attached to the Department of the Interior.

Yearly report to Parliament.
11. The Minister of the Interior shall annually lay before Parliament within fifteen days after the meeting thereof, a report the proceedings, transactions and affairs of the Department during the year then next preceding.

Secretary of State of Canada to have charge of State correspondence.
12. The Secretary of State of Canada shall have charge of the State Correspondence with the Governments of the several Provinces included, or which may be hereafter included within the Dominion of Canada,

Other duties of Secretary of State for Canada.





Stationery department.



Queen's Printer.
13. The remaining duties hitherto discharged by the Secretary of State of the Provinces, as regards matters other than those relating to the subjects by this Act transferred to the Department of the Interior, shall devolve upon, and be discharged by the Secretary of State of Canada, to whom also is transferred the duty of supplying the stationery required by the several Departments of the Government, and the charge of that Branch of the Public Service; and the Queen's Printer shall be held to be an officer of this Department.

Certain office abolished.
14. The Office of Secretary of State for the Provinces is and stands abolished.

When this Act shall come in force.
15. This Act shall only come into force after the expiration of one month from the publication in the Canada Gazette of a Proclamation to that effect under an order of the Governor in Council.

Repeal of inconsistent enactments.
16. So much of any Act or law as may be inconsistent with this Act, or as makes any provision in any matter provided for by this Act, other than such as is hereby made is repealed, excepting as to things done, obligations contracted or penalties incurred before the coming into force of this Act.

ARCHIVÉE - CHAP. 4. Acte à l'effet de pourvoir à la création du Département de l'Intérieur.

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

date : Sanctionné le 3 Mai 1873

Format PDF (41 Ko, 4 pages)

Avis d'accessibilité

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder le format PDF,
visitez la section d'aide.

Préambule. SA MAJESTÉ, par et de l'avis et du consentement du Sénat et de la Chambre des Communes du Canada, décrète ce qui suit:­
Département l'Intérieur. 1. Il y aura un département du service civil du Canada, dénommée le "Département de l'Intérieur," auquel présidera le Ministre de l'Intérieur en fonctions nommé par le Gouverneur-Général par commission sous le grand sceau du Canada. Le Ministre de l'Intérieur exercera ses fonctions pendant le bon plaisir, et aura la direction du Département de l'Intérieur.
Le ministre administrera les territoires du Nord-Ouest. 2. Le Ministre de l'Intérieur aura le contrôle et l'administration des affaires des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.
Affaires des Sauvages en Canada. 3. Le Ministre de l'Intérieur sera surintendant-général des affaires des Sauvages, et aura, en cette qualité, le contrôle et l'administration des terres et propriétés des Sauvages en Canada.
Terres de la couronne et de l'artillerie.

Exception.

Substitué à l'ancien commissaire.
4. Le Ministre de l'Intérieur aura le contrôle et l'administration de toutes les terres de la Couronne, appartenant à la Puissance, y compris les terres dites de l'Artillerie et de l'Amirauté et toutes autres terres publiques sur lesquelles le Département des Travaux publics et celui de la Milice et de la Défense ne posséde pas un contrôle spécial, (et à l'exception aussi des hôpitaux de marine et des phares avec leurs dépendances, ainsi que des Iles Saint-Paul, du Sable et du Portage) ; et le Ministre de l'Intérieur est par le présent acte substitué à l'ancien Commissaire des Terres de la Couronne en ce qui concerne les terres de l'Artillerie et de l'Amirauté, transférées à la ci-devant Province du Canada, et situées dans les Provinces d'Ontario et de Québec.
Le ministre de l'intérieur est substitué au Secrétaire d'Etat pour certaines attributions. 5. Le Ministre de l'Intérieur est par le présent acte établi au lieu et place du Secrétaire d'Etat du Canada en tout ce qui est relatif aux pouvoirs, attributions, fonctions, restrictions et devoirs déterminés et prescrits par l'acte concernant les terres de la Puissance (1872). Dans ce dernier acte les mots "Ministre de l'Intérieur" seront censés substitués aux mots "Secrétaire d'Etat" partout où ceux-ci sont employés ; et les mots "Département de l'Intérieur" seront pareillement censés substitués partout aux mots "Département du Secrétaire d'Etat" ; et toutes les dispositions do cet acte seront et continueront à être obligatoires pour le Ministre de l'Intérieur et tous officiers nommés sous l'empire du dit acte deviendront et continueront à être officiers du Département de l'Intérieur.
Assistant-ministre de l'Intérieur.

Ses fonctions

Application de l'acte 31 Vic., c. 34, à l'assistant.
6. Le Gouverneur pourra nommer un Assistant-Ministre de l'Intérieur et le révoquer à sa volonté. Ce fonctionnaire sera chargé, sous le Ministre de l'Intérieur, de l'exercice des fonctions départementales du Ministre de l'Intérieur, et du contrôle et de la direction des officiers, agents, commis et serviteurs du Département, ainsi que de tous autres pouvoirs et devoirs que pourra lui assigner le Ministre de l'Intérieur. Et la quatrième section de "l'Acte du Service Civil du Canada, 1868" s'appliquera à l'Assistant-Maître de l'Intérieur, comme si le Département du Revenu de l'Intérieur était mentionné dans la cédule A du dit Acte ; et les mots "Assistant-Ministre de l'Intérieur," seront censés être substitués aux mots "sous-secrétaire d'Etat pour les Provinces" dans la même cédule.
Nomination d'employés. 7. Le Gouverneur pourra aussi nommer, sauf les dispositions de l'acte du service civil de 1868, et à sa volonté révoquer, tous officiers, agents, commis et serviteurs qui seront nécessaires pour que les affaires du département à Ottawa soient convenablement conduites, aussi bien que tous agents, officiers, commis et serviteurs qui pourront être nécessaires à cette même fin dans les territoires du Nord-Ouest et parmi les Sauvages, et ailleurs en Canada.
Acte 31 Vict., ch. 42, restera en vigueur.

Sujet à la substitution de certains mots.
8. Les différentes clauses du chapitre quarante-deux des statuts passés en la trente-unième année du règne de Sa Majesté, intitulé : "Acte pourvoyant à l'organisation du Département du Secrétaire d'Etat du Canada, ainsi qu'à l'administration des Terres des Sauvages et de l'Ordonnance," qui sont relatives à l'administration des affaires et des terres des Sauvages et à celles des terres de l'Ordonnance ou Artillerie, serviront de règles au Ministre de l'Intérieur en ce qui regarde les différentes matières auxquelles elles ont trait ; et les mots "Ministre de l'Intérieur" et "Département de l'Intérieur" seront censés substitués aux mots "Secrétaire d'Etat" et "Département du Secrétaire d'Etat" partout où ceux-ci se rencontrent dans ces clauses.
Les Sauvages pourront être exceptés des effets du présent acte. 9. Le Gouverneur en conseil pourra de temps en temps, par voie de proclamation, excepter des effets du présent acte et du susdit acte chapitre quarante-deux des statuts passés en la trente-unième année du règne de Sa Majesté, ou d'une quelconque ou de plusieurs de leurs clauses, les Sauvages ou toute tribu sauvage, ou les Terres des Sauvages, ou quelque portion de ces terres, dans les territoires du Nord-Ouest, ou la province de Manitoba, ou la province de la Colombie britannique ; et pareillement pourra de temps en temps, par la même voie, révoquer cette exception.
Exploration géologique. 10. L'exploration géologique du Canada, telle que maintenant constituée, sera, dans les attributions du Département de l'Intérieur.
Rapport annuel au parlement. 11. Le Ministre de l'Intérieur soumettra chaque année au Parlement, dans les quinze jours après l'ouverture du dit Parlement, un compte-rendu des actes, opérations et affaires du Département pendant l'année immédiatement précédente
Correspondance d'Etat. 12. Le Secrétaire d'Etat du Canada sera chargé de la correspondance d'Etat avec les gouvernements des différentes Provinces qui sont ou pourront être à l'avenir comprises dans les limites de la Puissance du Canada.
Nouvelles attributions du Secrétaire d'Etat.

Fournitures de bureau.

Imprimeur de la Reine.
13. Le surplus des devoirs remplis jusqu'à présent par le Secrétaire d'Etat pour les Provinces, quant à ce qui regarde les matières autres que celles comprises dans les attributions que le présent acte rattache au Département de l'Intérieur, passera et incombera au Secrétaire d'État du Canada, auquel aussi seront remis le soin de l'approvisionnement de fournitures de bureaux pour les besoins des différents départements du gouvernement, et la direction de cette braeche du service public ; et l'imprimeur de la Reine sera réputé être un officier de ce Département.
Abolition de certaine charge. 14. La charge de Secrétaire d'Etat pour les Provinces est et demeurera abolie.
Epoque de la mise en vigueur du présent acte. 15. Le présent acte ne sera en vigueur qu'après l'expiration d'un mois à partir du jour de la publication dans la Gazette du Canada d'une proclamation qui sera faite à cet effet en vertu d'un ordre du Gouverneur en conseil.
Dispositions incompatibles abrogées. 16. Tout ce qui, dans tout acte ou loi, peut être incompatible avec le présent acte, contient quelques dispositions au sujet des matières auxquelles il est pourvu par le présent acte, autres que celles par le présent prescrites, est abrogé, sauf en ce qui concerne les choses faites, les obligations contestées, ou les pénalités encourues avant la mise en vigueur du présent acte.
Date de modification :