CAP. VI.

PDF Version  
(160 Kb, 8 Pages)

Accessibility Notice

Help on accessing documents in PDF format
can be obtained on the help page.




An Act for the gradual enfranchisement of Indians, the better management of Indian affairs, and to extend the provisions of the Act 31st Victoria, Chapter 42.

[Assented to 22nd June, 1869.]




Preamble. HER Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate and House of Commons of Canada enacts as follows:
 
What shall be deemed lawful possession of lands by Indians.
 
1. In Townships or other tracts of land set apart or reserved for Indians in Canada, and subdivided by survey into lots, no Indian or person claiming to be of Indian blood, or intermarried with an Indian family, shall be deemed to be lawfully in possession of any land in such Townships or tracts, unless he or she has been or shall be located for the same by the order of the Superintendent General of Indian affairs; and any such person or persons, assuming possession of any lands of that description, shall be dealt with as illegally in possession, and be liable to be summarily ejected therefrom, unless that within six months from the passing of this Act, a location title be granted to such person or persons by the said Superintendent General of Indian affairs or such officer or person as he may thereunto depute and authorize; but the conferring of any such location title shall not have the effect of rendering the land covered thereby transferable or subject to seizure under legal process.
 
Proceedings to eject parties not lawfully in possession. 2. Any person liable to be summarily ejected, under the next preceding section, may be removed from the land of which he may have assumed possession, in the manner provided by the eighteenth section of the Act passed in the thirty-first year of Her Majesty's reign, chapter forty-two, with respect to persons other than Indians or those intermarried with Indians settling on the lands therein referred to without license of the Secretary of State; and the said section and the nineteenth, twentieth and twenty-first sections of the said Act, are hereby extended to and shall apply to persons liable to be summarily ejected under this Act, as fully in all respects as to persons liable to be removed from lands under the said Act.
 
Penalty on persons selling intoxicating liquors to Indians.



Imprisonment in default of payment.
3. Any person who shall sell, barter, exchange or give to any Indian man, woman, or child, any kind of spirituous or other intoxicating liquors, or cause or procure the same to be done, or open and keep or cause to be opened and kept, on any land set apart or reserved for Indians a tavern, house or building where spirituous or intoxicating liquors are sold or disposed of, shall, upon conviction in the manner provided by section twelve of the said Act thirty-first Victoria, chapter forty-two, be subject to the fine therein mentioned; and in default of payment such fine, or of any fine imposed by the above mentioned twelfth section of the said Act, any person so offending may be committed to prison by the Justice of the Peace before whom the conviction shall take place, for a period not more than three months, or until such fine be paid; and the commander of any steamer or other vessel, or boat, from on board or on board of which, any spirituous or other intoxicating liquor shall have been, or may be sold or disposed of to any Indian man, woman, or child, shall be liable to a similar penalty.
 
Division of annuity money, &c.
 
4. In the division among the members of any tribe, band, or body of Indians, of any annuity money, interest money or rents, no person of less than one fourth Indian blood, born after the passing of this Act, shall be deemed entitled to share in any annuity, interest or rents, after a certificate to that effect is given by the Chief or Chiefs of the band or tribe in Council, and sanctioned by the Superintendent General of Indian affairs.
 
Indians convicted of crime excluded.




How costs may be paid.
5. Any Indian or person of Indian blood who shall be convicted of any crime punishable by imprisonment in any Penitentiary or other place of confinement, shall, during such imprisonment, be excluded from participating in the annuities, interest money, or rents payable to the Indian tribe, band, or body, of which he or she is a member; and whenever any Indian shall be convicted of any crime punishable by imprisonment in a Penitentiary, or other place of confinement, the legal costs incurred in procuring such conviction, and in carrying out the various sentences recorded, may be defrayed by the Superintendent General of Indian Affairs, and paid out of any annuity or interests coming to such Indian, or to the band or tribe, as the case may be.
 
Proviso added to 31 V., c.4, s.15.

Indian women marrying other than Indians, not to be Indians within this Act.
6. The fifteenth section of the thirty-first Victoria, Chapter forty-two, is amended by adding to it the following proviso:

"Provided always that any Indian woman marrying any other than an Indian, shall cease to be an Indian within the meaning of this Act, nor shall the children issue of such marriage be considered as Indians within the meaning of this Act; Provided also, that any Indian woman marrying an Indian of any other tribe, band or body shall cease to be a member of the tribe, band or body to which she formerly belonged, and become a member of the tribe, band or body of which her husband is a member, and the children, issue of this marriage, shall belong to their father's tribe only."
 
Power of Superintendent General in cases of desertion 7. The Superintendent General of Indian affairs shall have power to stop the payment of the annuity and interest money of any person of Indian blood who may be proved to the satisfaction of the Superintendent General of Indian affairs to have been guilty of deserting his wife or child, and the said Superintendent may apply the same towards the support of any woman or child so deserted.
 
Aid to sick or destitute persons.
 
8. The Superintendent General of Indian Affairs in cases where sick or disabled, or aged and destitute persons are not provided for by the tribe, band or body of Indians of which they are members, may furnish sufficient aid from the funds of each tribe, band or body, for the relief of such sick, disabled, aged or destitute persons.
 
Property of Indians to descend to their children, for their lives only. 9. Upon the death of any Indian holding under location title any lot or parcel of land, the right and interest therein of such deceased Indian shall, together with his goods and chattels, devolve upon his children, on condition of their providing for the maintenance of their mother, if living; and such children shall have a life estate only in such land which shall not be transferable or subject to seizure under legal process, but should such Indian die without issue, such lot or parcel of land and goods and chattels shall be vested in the Crown for the benefit of the tribe, band or body of Indians, after providing for the support of the widow (if any) of such deceased Indian.
 
Election of chiefs.





Proviso as to life chiefs.
10. The Governor may order that the Chiefs of any tribe, band or body of Indians shall be elected by the male members of each Indian Settlement of the full age of twenty-one years at such time and place, and in such manner, as the Superintendent General of Indian Affairs may direct, and they shall in such case be elected for a period of three years, unless deposed by the Governor for dishonesty, intemperance, or immorality, and they shall be in the proportion of one Chief and two Second Chiefs for every two hundred people; but any such band composed of thirty people may have one Chief ; Provided always that all life Chiefs now living shall continue as such until death or resignation, or until their removal by the Governor for dishonesty, intemperance or immorality.
 
Duties of chiefs with respect to roads, &c. 11. The Chief or Chiefs of any tribe, band or body of Indians shall be bound to cause the roads, bridges, ditches and fences within their Reserve to be put and maintained in proper order, in accordance with the instructions received from time to time from the Superintendent General of Indian Affairs; and whenever in the opinion of the Superintendent General of Indian Affairs the same are not so put or maintained in order, he may cause the work to be performed at the cost of the said tribe, band or body of Indians, or of the particular Indian in default, as the case may be either out of their annual allowances, or otherwise.
 
Chiefs to frame rules for certain purposes. 12. The Chief or Chiefs of any Tribe in Council may frame, subject to confirmation by the Governor in Council, rules and regulations for the following subjects, viz :
  1. The care of the public health.

  2. The observance of order and decorum at assemblies of the people in General Council, or on other occasions.

  3. The repression of intemperance and profligacy.

  4. The prevention of trespass by cattle.

  5. The maintenance of roads, bridges, ditches and fences.

  6. The construction of and maintaining in repair of school houses, council houses and other Indian public buildings.

  7. The establishment of pounds and the appointment of pound-keepers.
Life estates in lands may be granted in certain cases. 13. The Governor General in Council may on the report of the Superintendent General of Indian Affairs order the issue of Letters Patent granting to any Indian who from the degree of civilization to which he has attained, and the character for integrity and sobriety which he bears, appears to be a safe and suitable person for becoming a proprietor of land, a life estate in the land which has been or may be allotted to him within the Reserve belonging to the tribe band or body of which he is a member; and in such case such Indian shall have power to dispose of the same by will, to any of his children, and if he dies intestate as to any such lands, the same shall descend to his children according to the laws of that portion of the Dominion of Canada in which such lands are situate, and the said children to whom such land is so devised or descends shall have the fee simple thereof.
 
Descent of lands in case of death of an enfranchised Indian. 14. If any enfranchised Indian owning land by virtue of the thirteenth and sixteenth sections of this Act, dies without leaving any children, such land shall escheat to the Crown for the benefit of the tribe, band, or body of Indians to which he, or his father, or mother (as the case may be) belonged; but if he leaves a widow, she shall, instead of Dower to which she shall not be entitled, have the said land for life or until her re-marriage, and upon her death or re-marriage it shall escheat to the Crown for the benefit of the tribe, band or body of Indians to which he, or his father, or mother (as the case may be) belonged.
 
Provision for widows and unmarried daughters.
 
15. The wife or unmarried daughters of any deceased Indian who may, in consequence of the operation of the thirteenth and sixteenth sections of this Act be deprived of all benefit from their husband's or father's land, shall in the periodical division of the annuity and interest money or other revenues of their husband's or father's tribe or band, and so long as she or they continue to reside upon the reserve belonging to the tribe or band, and remain in widowhood or unmarried, be entitled to and receive two shares instead of one share of such annuity and interest money.
 
Duties of Indians with respect to enfranchisement.














Effect of en- franchisement.
16. Every such Indian shall, before the issue of the letters patent mentioned in the thirteenth section of this Act, declare to the Superintendent General of Indian Affairs, the name and surname by which he wishes to be enfranchised and thereafter known, and on his receiving such letters patent, in such name and surname, he shall be held to be also enfranchised, and he shall thereafter be known by such name and surname, and his wife and minor unmarried children, shall be held to be enfranchised; and from the date of such letters patent, the provisions of any Act or law making any distinction between the legal rights and liabilities of Indians and those of Her Majesty's other subjects shall cease to apply to any Indian, his wife or minor children as aforesaid, so declared to be enfranchised, who shall no longer be deemed Indians within the meaning of the laws relating to Indians, except in so far as their right to participate in the annuities and interest money and rents, of the tribe, band, or body of Indians to which they belonged is concerned; except that the twelfth, thirteenth, and fourteenth sections of the Act thirty-first Victoria, chapter forty-two, and the eleventh section of this Act, shall apply to such Indian, his wife and children.
 
Allotment of locations. 17. In the allotting of locations, and in the issue of Letters Patent to Indians for land, the quantity of land located or to be located or passed into Patent, shall, except in special cases to be reported upon to the Governor in Council, bear (as nearly as may be) the same proportion to the total quantity of land in the Reserve, as the number of persons to whom such lands are located or patented bears to the total number of heads of families of the tribe, band or body of Indians and male members thereof not being heads of families, but being above the age of fourteen years, in such reserve.
 
Appointment of tutor to minor children of enfranchised Indians. 18. If any Indian enfranchised under this Act dies leaving any child under the age of twenty-one years, the Superintendent General of Indian Affairs shall appoint some person to be the tutor or guardian as the case may be of such child as to property and rights until it attains the age of twenty-one years; and the widow of such Indian, being also the mother of any such child, shall receive its share of the proceeds of the estate of such Indian during the minority of the child, and shall be entitled to reside on the land left by such Indian, so long as in the opinion of the Superintendent General she lives respectably.
 
Indians falsely declaring themselves enfranchised. 19. Any Indian falsely representing himself as enfranchised under this Act when he is not so, shall be liable, on conviction before any one Justice of the Peace, to imprisonment for any period not exceeding three months.
 
Lands of enfranchised Indians exempt from seizure. 20. Such lands in any Indian Reserve as may be conveyed to any enfranchised Indian by Letters Patent, shall not, as long as the life estate of such Indian continues, be subject to seizure under legal process, or be mortgaged, hypothecated, sold, exchanged, transferred, leased, or otherwise disposed of.
 
Legal remedies of Indians. 

 
21. Indians not enfranchised shall have the right to sue for debt due to them, or for any wrong inflicted upon them, or to compel the performance of obligations made with them.
 
Duty of Under Secretary of State.

 
22. The Under Secretary of State shall be charged, under the Secretary of State of Canada, with the performance of the Departmental duties of the Secretary of State under the said Act, and with the control and management of the officers, clerks, and servants of the Department, and with such other powers and duties as may be assigned to him by the Governor in Council.
 
Con. Stat. Can., cap. 9 repealed.
 
23. Chapter nine of the Consolidated Statutes  of Canada is hereby repealed.
 
31 Vic. c. 32. 24. This Act shall be construed as one Act with the Act thirty-first Victoria, chapter forty-two.

ARCHIVÉE - Acte pourvoyant à l'émancipation graduelle des Sauvages, à la meilleure administration des affaires des Sauvages et à l'extension des dispositions de l'acte trente-et-un Victoria, chapitre quarante-deux , L.C. 1869, c. 6

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF
(747 Ko, 7 pages)

Avis d'accessibilité

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder le format PDF,
visitez la section d'aide.

Acte pourvoyant à l'émancipation graduelle des Sauvages, à la meilleure administration des affaires des Sauvages et à l'extension des dispositions de l'acte trente-et-un Victoria, chapitre quarante-deux.

[Sanctionné le 22 Juin, 1869.]

Préambule. SA MAJESTÉ, par et de l'avis et du consentement du Sénat et de la Chambre des Communes du Canada, décrète ce qui suit :
 
Ce qui constituera la possession légitime. 1. Dans les townships ou autres étendues de terre réservées pour les Sauvages en Canada, et subdivisées en lots à la suite d'arpentages, nul Sauvage ou nulle personne se prétendant Sauvage ou allié par mariage à quelque famille Sauvage, ne sera réputé avoir la légitime possession d'une terre dans ces townships ou étendues, à moins qu'il n'ait obtenu le droit de l'occuper par ordre du surintendant-général des affaires des Sauvages ; et toute personne qui prendra possession de quelqu'une de ces terres, sera considérée comme n'en ayant pas la possession légitime, et pourra en être sommairement évincé, à moins que dans les six mois de la passation du présent acte, il ne lui ait été concédé un permis d'occupation (location title) par le surintendant-général des affaires des Sauvages ou par tout officier ou personne à ce délégué ou autorisé par le surintendant ; mais la concession d'un permis d'occupation n'aura pas l'effet de rendre transférable, ou saisissable par voie de procédures judiciaires, la terre couverte, par ce titre.
 
Éviction. 2. Quiconque sera passible de l'éviction sommaire mentionnée dans la section précédente, pourra être expulsé de la terre dont il aura pris possession, de la manière prévue par la dix-huitième section de l'acte passé en la trente-unième année du règne de Sa Majesté, chapitre quarante-deux, relativement aux personnes autres que les Sauvages ou ceux mariés à des Sauvages, qui s'établissent sur les terres y énumérées sans la permission du secrétaire d'État ; et cette dernière section, ainsi que les dix-neuvième, vingtième et vingt-unième sections du même acte s'étendront et s'appliqueront aux personnes passibles de l'éviction sommaire sous l'autorité du présent acte, aussi amplement, à tous égards, qu'à celles passibles de l'expulsion en vertu de l'acte plus haut mentionné.
 
Vente de liqueurs aux Sauvages prohibée ; pénalité.


Emprisonnement à défaut de paiement.
 
3. Quiconque vendra, troquera, échangera ou donnera des liqueurs spiritueuses d'aucune espèce à un Sauvage, soit homme, femme ou enfant, ou lui en procurera ou lui en fera obtenir, ou ouvrir tiendra, ou fera ouvrir et tenir, sur des terres réservées pour les Sauvages, une auberge, maison ou un édifice pour y vendre ou débiter des liqueurs spiritueuses ou enivrantes, sera, sur conviction en la manière prescrite par la douzième section de l'acte trente-et-un Victoria, chapitre quarante-deux, ci-haut cité, passible de l'amende y mentionnée; et à défaut de paiement de l'amende, ou de toute amende imposée par la douzième section du même acte, tout délinquant pourra être envoyé en prison sur l'ordre du juge de paix saisi de l' affaire, pour un terme de pas plus de trois mois ou jusqu'à paiement de l'amende; et le commandant de tout bateau à vapeur ou autre vaisseau ou bâtiment, du bord ou à bord duquel des liqueurs spiritueuses ou autres liqueurs enivrantes auront été ou pourront être vendues ou cédées à tout Sauvage, homme, femme ou enfant, sera passible de la même amende.
 
Distribution des annuités; etc.

 
4. Lors de la distribution d'annuités, intérêts ou rentes entre les membres d'une nation, tribu ou peuplade de Sauvages, nulle personne ayant moins d'un quart de sang sauvage et née après la passation du présent acte, n'aura droit de partager dans ces annuités, intérêts ou rentes, après qu'un certificat à cet effet aura été donné par le ou les chefs de la tribu ou peuplade en conseil assemblés et approuvé par le surintendant-général des affaires des Sauvages.
 
Exclusion des Sauvages convaincus de crimes.


Comment les frais doivent être payés.
5. Nul Sauvage ou nulle personne de sang sauvage qui sera convaincu d'un crime punissable par l'incarcération au pénitencier ou autre lieu de détention, ne pourra, pendant la durée de son emprisonnement, partager dans les annuités, intérêts ou rentes payables à sa nation, tribu ou peuplade ; et lorsqu'un Sauvage sera convaincu d'un crime punissable par l'emprisonnement dans le pénitencier ou autre lieu de détention, les frais de justice encourus pour procurer sa conviction et faire exécuter la sentence prononcée pourront être payés par le surintendant-général des affaires des Sauvages, à même toute annuité ou tous intérêts afférant à ce Sauvage ou à sa peuplade ou tribu, selon le cas.
 
Proviso ajouté au 31 V., c. 42, s. 15.



Quant aux femmes sauvages se mariant à d'autres que des Sauvages.
6. La quinzième section de la trente-onième Victoria, chapitre quarante-deux, est amendée en y ajoutant le proviso suivant : " mais toute femme Sauvage qui se mariera à un autre qu'un Sauvage, cessera d'être une Sauvage dans le sens du présent acte, et les enfants issus de ce mariage ne seront pas non plus considérés comme Sauvages dans le sens du présent acte; pourvu aussi que toute femme Sauvage qui se mariera à un Sauvage d'une autre nation, tribu ou peuplade cessera d'être membre de la nation, tribu, peuplade à laquelle appartenait jusque là, et deviendra membre de la nation, tribu ou peuplade à laquelle appartient son mari ; et les enfants issus de ce mariage seront membres de la tribu de leur père seulement."
 
Pouvoir du surintendant général en cas de désertion.
 
7. Le surintendant-général des affaires des Sauvages aura le pouvoir de suspendre le paiement des annuités ou intérêts afférant à un Sauvage, après s'être pleinement convaincu que ce dernier s'est rendu coupable d'avoir abandonné sa femme ou ses enfants, et il pourra en appliquer le montant au soutien de la femme ou des enfants ainsi abandonnés.
 
Quant aux Sauvages nécessiteux. 8. Le surintendant-général des affaires des Sauvages pourra,- dans les cas où les personnes malades, infirmes, âgées et nécessiteuses ne sont pas soutenues par la nation, tribu ou peuplade à laquelle elles appartiennent,- prendre sur les fonds affectés à chaque nation, tribu ou peuplade une somme suffisante pour secourir ces personnes.
 
Les biens des Sauvages passent à leurs enfants, pour leur vie seulement. 9. Survenant le décès d'un Sauvage occupant, en vertu d'un permis, quelque lot ou morceau de terre, les droits et intérêts qu'il pourra y avoir passeront, conjointement avec ses biens et effets, à ses enfants, à condition par eux de pourvoir au soutien de leur mère, si elle vit ; et ces enfants n'auront que des droits viagers dans ce lot qui ne sera ni transférable ni saisissable par voie de procédures judiciaires ; mais si un Sauvage décède sans laisser d'enfants, le lot ou morceau de terre, ainsi que les biens et effets en question, retourneront à la couronne pour le bénéfice de la nation, tribu ou peuplade de Sauvages, après qu'il aura, au préalable, été pourvu au soutien de la veuve (s'il en est) du Sauvage décédé.
 

Élection des chefs.


Proviso quant aux chefs, à vie.
10. Le gouverneur pourra ordonner que les chefs de toute nation, tribu ou peuplade de Sauvages seront élus par les membres du sexe masculin de chaque bourgade sauvage, ayant atteint l'âge de vingt-et-un ans révolus, aux temps et lieu et de la manière que le surintendant-général des affaires des Sauvages pourra prescrire ; et ils seront en ce cas élus pour trois ans, à moins d'être démis par le gouverneur pour malhonnêteté, intempérance ou immoralité, et ils seront dans la proportion d'un chef et deux chefs subalternes, pour chaque deux cents âmes ; mais toute tribu comptant trente membres pourra avoir un chef ; pourvu toujours, que tous les chefs à vie continueront d'agir comme tels jusqu'à leur décès ou résignation, ou jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient démis par le gouverneur pour malhonnêteté, intempérance ou immoralité.
 
Leurs devoirs quant aux chemins, etc. 11. Le chef ou les chefs de toute nation, tribu ou peuplade de Sauvages seront tenus de faire mettre et maintenir en bon état les chemins, ponts, fossés et clôtures dans les limites de leur réserve, conformément aux instructions qu'ils recevront de temps à autre du surintendant-général des affaires des Sauvages ; et lorsque, de l'avis du surintendant-général des affaires des Sauvages, ils ne seront pas mis ou maintenus en bon état, il pourra faire faire les travaux aux frais de la nation, tribu ou peuplade de Sauvages, ou de tout Sauvage en particulier qui se trouvera en défaut, selon le cas, et ordonner que le coût en soit payé sur ses annuités ou autrement.
 
Règlement qu'il, feront. 12. Le chef ou les chefs de toute nation, tribu ou peuplade de Sauvages pourront faire, sujets à ratification par le gouverneur en conseil, des règlements relatifs aux objets suivants:

  1. A la salubrité publique;

  2. Au maintien de l'ordre et du décorum dans les assemblées de la tribu réunie en conseil général, ou en d'autres occasions;

  3. A la répression de l'intempérance et de l'immoralité;

  4. Aux mesures à prendre pour empêcher les bestiaux de commettre des dégâts sur la propriété d'autrui;

  5. A l'entretien des chemins, ponts, fossés et clôtures;

  6. A la construction et réparation des maisons d'école, salles de conseil et autres édifices publics appartenant aux Sauvages;

  7. A l'établissement de fourrières et à la nomination de gardiens de fourrières.
Droit, viager dans certaines terres.

 
13. Le gouverneur-général en conseil pourra, sur le rapport du surintendant-général des affaires des Sauvages, ordonner l'émission de lettres-patentes concédant à tout Sauvage qui, à raison du degré de civilisation qu'il aura atteint et de la réputation d'intégrité et de sobriété dont il jouit, semblera mériter de devenir propriétaire de terre, un droit viager dans la terre qui lui a été ou pourra lui être assignée dans la réserve appartenant à la nation, tribu ou peuplade dont il est membre ; et, en pareil cas, ce Sauvage aura la faculté de la transmettre par testament à aucun de ses enfants, et s'il meurt intestat quant à ces terres, elles passeront à ces enfants, suivant les lois de la partie de la Puissance du Canada dans laquelle elles sont situées, et les enfants auxquels telle terre est ainsi léguée ou passera, en jouiront en pleine propriété.
 
Où retournera la terre, s'il n'y a pas d'enfants. 14. Si un sauvage émancipé possédant quelque terre en vertu des treizième et seizième sections du présent acte, vient à mourir sans laisser d'enfants, cette terre retournera à la couronne pour le bénéfice de la nation, tribu ou peuplade à laquelle lui, son père ou sa mère appartenait; mais s'il laisse une veuve, elle aura, au lieu du douaire auquel elle n'aura pas droit, la terre en question, sa vie durant, ou jusqu'à ce qu'elle convole en secondes noces ; mais lorsqu'elle décèdera ou convolera en secondes noces, la terre retournera à la couronne pour le bénéfice de la nation, tribu ou peuplade à laquelle lui, son père ou sa mère appartenait.
 
Quant aux veuves et aux filles non­mariées.

 
15. La femme ou les filles non-mariées d'un Sauvage décédé qui, en conséquence de l'opération des treizième et seizième sections du présent acte, pourraient être privées de tous les bénéfices provenant de la terre du mari ou du père, auront, lors de la distribution périodique des annuités et intérêts ou autres revenus afférant à la nation, tribu ou peuplade du mari ou du père, et tant qu'elles continueront à résider sur la réserve appartenant à la nation, tribu ou peuplade et qu'elles resteront en viduité ou non-mariées, droit de recevoir deux parts de ces annuités et intérêts au lieu d'une.
 
Devoirs des Sauvages concernant l'émancipation.




Emancipation des Sauvages.
16. Chaque Sauvage devra, avant l'émission des lettres-patentes mentionnées dans la treizième section du présent acte, déclarer au surintendant-général des affaires des Sauvages, les nom et prénom sous lesquels il désire être émancipé et connu par la suite ; et après avoir reçu les lettres-patentes, sous ces nom et prénom, il sera considéré comme émancipé, et il sera dès lors connu sous ces nom et prénom, et sa femme et ses enfants mineurs non-mariés seront considérés comme émancipés ; et à compter de la date de ces lettres-patentes, les dispositions de tout acte ou loi établissant une distinction entre les droits et obligations légitimes des Sauvages et ceux des autres sujets de Sa Majesté, cesseront de s'appliquer au Sauvage, ainsi qu'à sa femme et à ses enfants mineurs déclarés émancipés comme il est dit ci-haut, lesquels ne seront plus réputés des Sauvages dans le sens des lois relatives aux Sauvages, sauf en ce qui se rattache à leur droit de partager dans les annuités, intérêts et rentes afférant à la nation, tribu ou peuplade à laquelle ils appartenaient, et sauf aussi que les douzième, treizième et quatorzième sections de l'acte trente-et-un Victoria, chapitre quarante-deux, et la onzième section du présent acte, s'appliqueront à tel Sauvage ainsi qu'à sa femme et à ses enfants.
 
Concession de terres, etc. 17. Lors de la concession de terres en vertu d'un permis d'occupation, et de l'émission de lettres-patentes conférant la propriété de terres aux Sauvages, la quantité de terre occupée ou devant être occupée en vertu d'un permis ou cédé par lettres-patentes, devra être, sauf dans les cas spéciaux communiqués, par rapport, au gouverneur en conseil, dans la même proportion, autant que possible, quant à la quantité totale de terre contenue dans la réserve, que l'est le nombre de personnes auxquelles ces terres sont concédées en vertu de permis d'occupation ou de lettres-patentes, par rapport au nombre total de chefs de famille de la nation, tribu ou peuplade de Sauvages, et de membres du sexe masculin de la même nation, tribu ou peuplade n'étant pas chefs de famille, mais âgés de plus de quatorze ans, dans la réserve.
 
Tuteur aux enfants mineurs d'un Sauvage décédé.

18. Si un Sauvage émancipé en vertu du présent acte laisse en mourant un enfant âgé de moins de vingt-et-un ans, le surintendant-général des affaires des Sauvages nommera un tuteur ou gardien (selon le cas) à cet enfant, pour administrer sa propriété et ses droits, jusqu'à ce qu'il ait atteint l'âge de vingt-et-un ans ; et la veuve de ce Sauvage, si elle est en même temps mère de cet enfant, recevra la part de ce dernier dans le produit des biens du Sauvage durant la minorité de l'enfant, et aura droit de résider sur la terre laissée par ce Sauvage, tant que, de l'avis du surintendant-général, elle vivra respectablement.
 
Sauvages se représentant faussement comme émancipés. 19. Tout Sauvage qui se représentera faussement comme émancipé en vertu du présent acte, et qui ne le sera pas en réalité, sera passible, sur conviction devant un juge de paix, de l'incarcération pour un terme de pas plus de trois mois.
 
Terres des Sauvages affranchis, exemptes de la saisie. 20. Les terres qui, dans les réserves affectées aux Sauvages, seront transmises à un Sauvage émancipé par lettres-patentes, ne pourront pas, tant que les droits viagers de ce Sauvage continueront d'exister, être saisies à la suite de procédures judiciaires, ni non plus être hypothéquées, vendues, échangées, transférées, louées ou cédées de toute autre manière.
 
Recours que peuvent exercer les Sauvages.
 
21. Les Sauvages non-émancipés auront le droit d'intenter des actions pour le recouvrement de leurs créances, ou pour la réparation des torts qui pourront leur être infligés, ou pour contraindre à l'exécution des obligations contractées avec eux.
 
Devoir du sous-secrétaire d'Etat. 22. Le sous-secrétaire d'Etat sera, sous le secrétaire d'Etat, du Canada, chargé de l'exécution des devoirs officiels attribués au secrétaire d'État par le dit acte, et du contrôle et de la direction des officiers, commis et serviteurs du département, et il exercera tous les autres pouvoirs et devoirs que le gouverneur en conseil pourra lui assigner.
 
Abrogation de la c.9, S. R. du C. 23. Le chapitre neuf des Statuts Refondus du Canada est par le présent abrogé.
 
31 V., c. 42. 24. Le présent acte sera interprété comme ne faisant qu'un seul et même acte avec l'acte trente-et-un Victoria, chapitre quarante-deux.
 
Date de modification :