Concluded Final Agreement Negotiations

To date, three modern treaties have been signed and implemented in British Columbia. The Nisga'a Final Agreement came in effect May 11, 2000, the Tsawwassen First Nation Final Agreement came into effect April 3, 2009, and the Maa-nulth First Nations Final Agreement came into effect April 1, 2011.

The Yale Final Agreement was signed by the Parties in April 2013; the Effective Date is targeted for April 1, 2016.

The Tla’amin Final Agreement was signed by the Parties in Spring 2014; the Effective Date is targeted for April 1, 2016.

The Lheidli T’enneh Final Agreement was initialed by the Parties in October 2006.

Final Agreement negotiations are well underway with In-SHUCK-ch Nation, K'omoks First Nation and Yekooche Nation.

For further information, see the Final Agreements Under Negotiation section of this site or visit the British Columbia Treaty Commission website.

Final agreements provide certainty with respect to ownership and management of lands and resources and the exercise of federal, provincial and First Nation governmental powers and authorities. They set out the treaty rights that have been negotiated with the First Nation, create mutually binding obligations and commitments on the three negotiating parties and can be relied on by all persons. Treaty rights and benefits address land, resources, fiscal arrangements and self-government.

Once negotiators at a treaty table reach a final agreement, it is referred to their respective governments for ratification, first by a vote of the First Nation members, then by the British Columbia legislature and finally by the federal parliament.

Following ratification, the parties agree on an implementation date, on which the treaty comes into effect. It is then implemented according to a plan agreed to by all parties.

To date, Final Agreements have been reached with Tsawwassen First Nation, Maa-nulth First Nations, Lheidli T’enneh First Nation, Yale First Nation and Tla’amin (Sliammon) First Nation.

Final Agreements are currently under negotiation with In-SHUCK-ch Nation, K’omoks First Nation and Yekooche First Nation.