Fact Sheet - 2011 Manitoba Flood Evacuees: Update

Since severe flooding in Manitoba in 2011 led to the evacuation of people from 18 First Nation communities, Indigenous Services Canada, the province and First Nations have been working on recovery efforts.

More than 1,600 residents have returned to their home communities.

However, as of June 12, 2018, 1,706 people from the most affected First Nation communities remain evacuated as recovery efforts continue. Of these, 1,613 come from the four Lake St. Martin area First Nations: Lake St. Martin, Little Saskatchewan, Dauphin River and Pinaymootang.

The Government of Canada recognizes the difficult situation for those who remain evacuated from their homes. Achieving long-term accommodation for First Nation communities affected by the flooding is a priority for this Government.

The Government of Canada, in collaboration with the Province of Manitoba, is advancing negotiations for comprehensive final settlement packages that will see flood evacuees from the four Lake St. Martin area First Nations return to their home communities. Infrastructure development and community reconstruction is taking place at the same time as negotiations.

The negotiations will aim to reach final settlement packages that include flood mitigation measures, replacement lands from the province, compensation for damages, and infrastructure and housing to rebuild First Nation communities, and ultimately aim to return the remaining flood evacuees to their home communities.

The Government of Canada is also working to return evacuees from Ebb and Flow and Peguis First Nations to their home communities.

The health and safety of First Nation communities is a priority for the Government, which is taking action to ensure that all First Nation communities receive emergency services comparable to those that protect other Canadians.

Prevention/mitigation efforts are crucial to avoiding future situations such as the severe 2011 Manitoba flood. To date, the Department has invested more than $80 million to protect Manitoba First Nations from future flooding. This included approximately $54.9 million to construct permanent dikes or make temporary dikes permanent at 11 Manitoba First Nations: Sioux Valley, Opaskwayak, Canupawakpa, Sandy Bay, Ebb and Flow, Lake Manitoba, O Chi Chak Ko Sipi, Little Saskatchewan, Poplar River, Berens River, and Kinonjeoshtegon. A permanent ring dike is also in place at Roseau River Anishinabe First Nation since 2004.

ISC Emergency Management

Date modified: