About The Yukon

AANDC Yukon Region is not responsible for the quality, accuracy, reliability or currency of the information contained on external websites. Information may not be available in both official languages.

Yukon History and Statistics

The Yukon is home to about 35,000 people, based in 16 communities spread over 483,450 square kilometres. About three-quarters of the population live in the capital city of Whitehorse. All communities have year-round road access and lie south of the Arctic Circle, except the fly-in community of Old Crow. Government of Yukon's publication Yukon at a Glance   provides more information about Yukon history, cultures and economy.

Yukon First Nations

Yukon Public Government

The Government of Yukon  provides a vast range of services and programs for residents. Yukon's Legislative Assembly   functions in much the same way as a provincial legislature. Instead of a Lieutenant Governor, the Yukon has a Commissioner  to represent federal interests in the territory. The Yukon is represented in Parliament by one Member in the House of Commons and one Senator.

Yukon Communities

Read online community profiles   for information about the local economy, climate, people and opportunities. Communities work together through the Association of Yukon Communities . Many Yukon communities also have their own websites:

Yukon Industries

Yukon's industrial and business sectors have active member-based associations.

Yukon Chamber of Mines   
Tourism Industry Association of the Yukon   
Wilderness Tourism Association of the Yukon  
Yukon First Nations Tourism Association   
Klondike Placer Miners Association  
Klondike Visitors Association  
Yukon Outfitters Association  
Yukon Chamber of Commerce  
Yukon Convention Bureau  
Whitehorse Chamber of Commerce  
Yukon Agricultural Association  

Date modified: