Treaty Guide to Treaty No. 8 (1899)

Treaty No. 8. The first of the northern treaties covered an area of 324,900 sq miles and represents the most geographically extensive treaty activity undertaken. It comprises what is now the northern half of Alberta, the northeast quarter of British Columbia, the northwest corner of Saskatchewan, and the area south of Hay River and Great Slave Lake in the Northwest Territories.

Read a historical interpretation of the treaty in Treaty Research Report: Treaty Eight

Look at a typed transcript of the Treaties Eight text.

View a map of Canada in 1899 (PDF 2,056 Kb).

Find more resources in Bibliography by Treaty: Treaty Eight

Date modified: