What is self-government?


PDF Version  
(951 Kb, 1 page)


Eleven of the Yukon’s fourteen First Nations are self-governing. This means that the First Nations have their own governments with responsibilities, structures, resources, and taxation powers similar to other municipal or territorial governments in Canada. These First Nations are guided by their Final Land Claim Agreements, Self-Government Agreements, and Constitutions.

What is a Self-Government Agreement?

A Self-Government Agreement in the Yukon is signed by the Government of Yukon, the Government of Canada and the First Nation government.

Self-Government Agreements:

  • recognize First Nations as Governments that replace Indian Act Bands;
  • require First Nations to develop Constitutions;
  • establish a framework for relationships with other governments;
  • establish a financial relationship that is similar to the model between the federal government and provinces – i.e. through a financial transfer agreement;
  • outline a process for the transfer of certain programs and services from other levels of government;
  • are brought into effect by two pieces of legislation – the Yukon First Nations Self-Government Act (Canada) and the Yukon First Nations Self-Government Act (Yukon); and,
  • are accompanied by an implementation plan that identifies the activities, timeframes, resources and responsibilities for implementing the agreement.