The Nations

Bande des Atikamekw d'Opitciwan

Residents The term "residents" means that the persons reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

Non-residents The term "non-residents" means that the persons do not reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

2,464 604 3,068
The term "toponym" generally refers to reserves, Indian lands, establishments or other land bases. ?
Community Name:
" Community name " The choice of a name belongs to the community itself, which explains the unilingual presentation of certain names. ?
Bande des Atikamekw d'Opitciwan
Legal Name:
The corporate name of a company or a civil company (i.e. its name) is often made of credits, which name in a general way the company or the civil company, and of specific, which distinguishes this company from the others. ?
Bande des Atikamekw d'Opitciwan
Chief: Jean-Claude Méquish
  • Roger Chachai
  • Ronny Chachai
  • Martine Awashish
  • Yvan-Rock Awashish
  • Fernand Denis-Damée
  • Carole Jean-Pierre
Adress: 22 Amisk Street
P.O. Box 135
Obedjiwan (Quebec) G0W 3B0
Phone: 819 974-8837
Fax: 819 974-8828
Tribal Council:
Tribal Councils are defined as institutions established as a grouping of bands with common interests who voluntarily join together to provide advisory and/or program services to member bands. ?
Conseil de la nation Atikamekw Sipi
Type of Territory: Indian reserve
Surface: 927 hectares (2,290.7 acres)
Localisation: The community is located on the north shore of the Gouin Reservoir, 143 kilometres south of Chibougamau, approximately halfway between the Lac Saint-Jean plain and the Abitibi region.
Access: Year-round road access and located less than 350 kilometres from the nearest service center.
Elections: Custom Code
Member of Parliament: François-Philippe Champagne, Liberal Party of Canada (LPC)
Provincial MNA: Marie-Louise Tardif, Coalition Avenir Québec (CAQ)


 Return to map