The Nations

Mohawks of Kanesatake

Residents The term "residents" means that the persons reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

Non-residents The term "non-residents" means that the persons do not reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

1,374 1,186 2,560
The term "toponym" generally refers to reserves, Indian lands, establishments or other land bases. ?
Community Name:
" Community name " The choice of a name belongs to the community itself, which explains the unilingual presentation of certain names. ?
Mohawks of Kanesatake
Legal Name The corporate name of a company or a civil company (i.e. its name) is often made of credits, which name in a general way the company or the civil company, and of specific, which distinguishes this company from the others. ?: Mohawk Council of Kanesatake
Chief: Serge Otsi Simon
  • Garry Carbonnell
  • John Canatonquin
  • Bruce Montour
  • Valérie Bonspille
  • Victor Bonspille
  • Patricia Meilleur
Adress: 681, Ste-Philomène Street
Kanesatake (Quebec) J0N 1E0
Phone: 450 479-8373
Fax: 450 479-1622
Tribal Council:
Tribal Councils are defined as institutions established as a grouping of bands with common interests who voluntarily join together to provide advisory and/or program services to member bands. ?
Type of Territory: Indian lands in accordance with the 91(24) article of the Constitution Act
Surface: 1,198 hectares (2,960.3 acres)
Localisation: Kanesatake is located on the north shore of the Ottawa River, 53 kilometres west of Montreal.
Access: Year-round road access and located less than 50 kilometres from the nearest service centre.
Elections: Custom code
Member of Parliament: Simon Marcil, Bloc québécois (BQ)
Provincial MNA: Sylvie D'Amours, Coalition avenir Québec (CAQ)

 Return to map