Indigenous Centre of Expertise for Cumulative Effects Assessment and Management

Learn about how the centre will help to build the scientific and technical capacity for Indigenous communities to assess and manage cumulative effects on their lands and territories.

On this page

About the centre

The Government of Canada has invested $15.5 million over 5 years, starting in 2018-2019, to establish the Indigenous Centre of Expertise for Cumulative Effects Assessment and Management, in collaboration with Indigenous experts, practitioners and researchers specializing in cumulative effects science.

The Indigenous Centre of Expertise for Cumulative Effects Assessment and Management will help to build and enhance the scientific and technical capacity of Indigenous communities for cumulative effects assessment and management in their lands and territories. The centre is a co-developed initiative that will be housed outside of government and will facilitate the meaningful involvement of communities in the design, collection, monitoring and analysis of traditional and science-based activities in the context of cumulative effects assessment and management.

The centre is in its developmental phase and is anticipated to be established within the next 2 years.

What are cumulative effects?

The Canadian Council of Ministers on the Environment describes cumulative effects as a change in the environment caused by multiple interactions among human activities and natural processes over time. Cumulative effects can impact a broad array of resources and ecosystem components. Identifying and implementing measures to control, minimize or prevent the adverse consequences of cumulative effects will lead to sound and adaptive environmental management practices.

The goal of cumulative effects assessment and management is to preserve ecological integrity and sustain natural ecological processes for the benefit of future generations.

Contact us

For more information about the centre please contact us by email or standard mail:

aadnc.ceceam-ceegec.aandc@canada.ca

Environmental Directorate
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada
10 rue Wellington
Gatineau QC K1A 0H4
Canada

Related links

Date modified:

Centre d'expertise autochtone pour l'évaluation et la gestion des effets cumulatifs

Découvrez comment le centre contribuera à renforcer les capacités scientifiques et techniques des communautés autochtones afin qu'elles puissent évaluer et gérer les effets cumulatifs sur leurs terres et territoires.

Sur cette page

Au sujet du centre

Le gouvernement du Canada a investi 15,5 millions de dollars sur 5 ans pour l'exercice de 2018 à 2019 pour établir le Centre d'expertise autochtone pour l'évaluation et la gestion des effets cumulatifs en collaboration avec des experts, des praticiens et des chercheurs autochtones spécialisés dans l'évaluation des effets cumulatifs.

Le Centre d'expertise autochtone sur les effets cumulatifs contribuera à renforcer les capacités scientifiques et techniques des communautés autochtones pour ce qui est d'évaluer et de gérer les effets cumulatifs sur leurs terres et territoires. Il s'agit d'une initiative conjointe, établie à l'extérieur du gouvernement, qui facilitera la participation significative des communautés à la conception, au recensement, à la surveillance et à l'analyse des activités traditionnelles et scientifiques dans le contexte de l'évaluation et de la gestion des effets cumulatifs.

Le centre est en cours de mise sur pied et devrait être opérationnel d'ici 2 ans.

Quels sont les effets cumulatifs?

Le Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement définit les effets cumulatifs comme étant un changement dans l'environnement causé par de multiples interactions des activités humaines et des processus naturels dans le temps. Les changements cumulatifs peuvent avoir une incidence sur un éventail de ressources et de composantes de l'écosystème. La détermination et la mise en œuvre de mesures visant à contrôler, à réduire ou à prévenir les conséquences néfastes des effets cumulatifs donneront lieu à des pratiques de gestion environnementale saines et adaptatives.

L'objectif de l'évaluation et de la gestion des effets cumulatifs consiste à préserver l'intégrité écologique et à soutenir les processus écologiques naturels dans l'intérêt des générations futures.

Contactez-nous

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le centre, veuillez communiquer avec nous par courriel ou par la poste :

aadnc.ceceam-ceegec.aandc@canada.ca

Direction de l'environnement
Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada
10 rue Wellington
Gatineau QC K1A 0H4
Canada

Liens connexes

Date de modification :