Newfoundland and Labrador Residential Schools settlement agreement

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Read the prime minister's apology to former students and the families of the Newfoundland and Labrador residential schools behalf of the Government of Canada. The apology is also available in Inuttitut and Innu-Aimun.

On this page

Background

In 2007 and 2008, five class action lawsuits were filed against Canada in the Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador regarding provincially-administered boarding schools attended by Inuit, Innu and Nunatukavut individuals. Plaintiffs in these lawsuits claimed sexual and physical abuse, neglect, language and cultural loss and that Canada owed a fiduciary duty to them.

The schools involved were:

The schools were administered by the province and operated by third parties: the International Greenfell Association and the Moravian Mission. Canada's role was in providing funding to the province to be used for the educational needs of Indigenous students in Labrador. The last school was closed in North West River in 1980.

The trial began on September 28, 2015. On November 25, 2015, following an agreement between the province and the plaintiffs, the court released Newfoundland and Labrador from the action.

In February 2016, the parties agreed to an adjournment in an effort to move the litigation towards a resolution. These discussions subsequently led to the negotiation of an out-of-court settlement between the parties.

On September 28, 2016, upon conclusion of the Fairness Hearing, Justice Stack of the Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador approved the settlement agreement as fair, reasonable and in the best interests of the class members.

Under the terms of the settlement, Canada has provided a lump sum payment of $50 million to plaintiffs to address all of their claims. This approach has enabled former students, together with their counsel, to formulate a settlement which respects the terms most satisfactory to them, one which recognizes the needs of the former students from their own perspective, and with provisions for healing and commemoration.

About the apology

Through settlement negotiations, the plaintiffs indicated that they were hurt and frustrated by their exclusion from the 2008 Indian Residential Schools Apology given by Prime Minister Harper, and have clearly stated that an official apology is essential to their healing and ability to move forward.

On August 3, 2017, INAC officials, supported by Justice Canada, met with representative plaintiffs, their counsel and interested Indigenous stakeholder organizations to collaboratively determine the themes and considerations that should form part of an official apology, as well as the ceremony which accompanied its delivery.

On November 24, 2017, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau delivered an official apology in Happy Valley Goose Bay, Labrador on behalf of the Government of Canada, to former students and the families of the Newfoundland and Labrador residential schools. …

Healing and commemoration

Canada will fund separate initiatives for healing and commemoration of the schools. These initiatives were designed in consultation with plaintiffs, through an advisory panel of representative plaintiffs, counsel and INAC.

On May 10, 2017, Ministerial Special Representative James Igloliorte was appointed to lead the healing and commemoration portion of the settlement agreement. Mr. Igloliorte is a retired provincial judge, class member and Inuk man who is a lifetime resident of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Mr. Igloliorte is working closely with former students, their families and communities and the local Indigenous groups — Nunatsiavut Government, NunatuKavut Community Council and the Innu Nation, as well as Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami and others — to ensure initiatives are carried out respectfully, with the participation of interested former students, and are in line with the agreement and projected time frame.

Commemoration initiatives will include:

Healing initiatives will include:

Biography of James Igloliorte, Ministerial Special Representative

James Igloliorte of Hopedale, Newfoundland and Labrador is a retired provincial court judge. He graduated with a Bachelor of Science and a Bachelor of Education from Memorial University, Newfoundland in 1974. He and his wife, Linda Carter, then started their career as teachers on the west coast of Newfoundland.

Appointed first as a lay magistrate in 1980, he took responsibility of the Labrador court and circuit system, then completed law school at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia in 1985. He then returned to take up duties in Happy Valley-Goose Bay as a circuit judge, a position which he held for the majority of his career. James Igloliorte was a 1999 National Aboriginal Achievement Award recipient in the category of Law and Justice. He stepped down from the bench in 2004.

In addition to his impressive legal career, James Igloliorte is a past Labrador Director with the Innu Healing Foundation and was a commissioner with the Royal Commission on Renewing and Strengthening Our Place in Canada. He has also worked as Newfoundland and Labrador's child and youth advocate and was commissioner of the Qikiqtani Truth Commission in Nunavut.

James Igloliorte and his wife, Linda Carter, live in St. John's, Newfoundland and have four children and four grandchildren.

Related links

Date modified:

Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Lisez les excuses présentées par le premier ministre  au nom du gouvernement du Canada aux anciens élèves des pensionnats de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et à leurs familles. Les excuses sont également disponibles en inuttitut et en innu-aimun.

Sur cette page

Contexte

En 2007 et 2008, cinq recours collectifs ont été intentés contre le Canada à la Cour suprême de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador concernant les pensionnats provinciaux fréquentés par les Inuit, les Innu, et les Métis. Les demandeurs soutenaient avoir été victimes d'agressions sexuelles et physiques, de négligence et de perte de leur langue et de leur culture, et que le Canada avait manqué à ses obligations de fiduciaire à leur égard.

Les écoles concernées sont :

Les écoles étaient administrées par la province et exploitées par des tiers : la International Greenfell Association et la Moravian Mission. Le Canada a joué un rôle dans l'octroi de financement à la province pour répondre aux besoins en matière d'éducation des élèves autochtones au Labrador. La dernière école a fermé ses portes en 1980 à North West River.

Le procès a débuté le 28 septembre 2015, et le 25 novembre 2015, conformément à un accord conclu entre la province et les demandeurs, le Tribunal a libéré Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador du recours.

En février 2016, les parties ont convenu d'un ajournement afin d'essayer de trouver une solution au litige. Les discussions ont par la suite mené à la négociation d'un règlement à l'amiable entre les parties.

Le 28 septembre 2016, à la clôture de l'audience sur l'équité, le juge Stack de la Cour suprême de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador a approuvé la convention de règlement, en la considérant comme juste, raisonnable et dans l'intérêt supérieur des membres au recours collectif.

En vertu de la convention de règlement, le Canada a versé une somme forfaitaire de 50 millions de dollars aux demandeurs afin de régler toutes leurs demandes. Cette approche a permis aux anciens élèves et à leurs avocats de formuler un règlement selon les modalités les plus convenables pour eux et qui tient compte des besoins des anciens élèves selon leur propre point de vue. Le règlement comporte également des dispositions prévoyant des activités de guérison et de commémoration.

Au sujet des excuses

Dans le cadre des négociations de règlement, les demandeurs ont indiqué qu'ils s'étaient sentis blessés et contrariés du fait d'avoir été exclus de la déclaration d'excuses relativement aux pensionnats indiens formulée en 2008 par le premier ministre Harper. Ils ont en outre clairement indiqué qu'une déclaration d'excuses officielle était essentielle à leur guérison et à leur capacité à aller de l'avant.

Le 3 août 2017, des représentants d'AANC, appuyés par le ministère de la Justice du Canada, ont rencontré des représentants des demandeurs, leurs avocats et des organisations autochtones intéressées afin de déterminer de concert les thèmes et les points qui devraient faire partie d'une déclaration d'excuses officielle et de discuter de la cérémonie pour la présentation des excuses.

Le 24 novembre 2017, le premier ministre Justin Trudeau s'est rendu à Happy Valley-Goose Bay, au Labrador, pour présenter des excuses au nom du gouvernement du Canada aux anciens élèves des pensionnats de Terre-Neuve et Labrador et à leurs familles.

Activités de guérison et de commémoration

Le Canada financera des initiatives distinctes pour la guérison et la commémoration touchant les écoles. Ces initiatives ont été conçues en consultation avec les demandeurs, par l'entremise d'un comité consultatif composé de représentants des demandeurs, d'avocats et de représentants d'AANC.

Le 10 mai 2017, le représentant spécial de la ministre, M. James Igloliorte, a été nommé pour diriger le volet des activités de guérison et de commémoration de la Convention de règlement. M. Igloliorte est un juge provincial à la retraite, membre du recours, et homme inuit qui a vécu toute sa vie à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

M. Igloliorte travaille en étroite collaboration avec les anciens élèves, leurs familles et les collectivités et les groupes autochtones locaux – le gouvernement Nunatsiavut, le Conseil communautaire de NunatuKavut et la nation innue ainsi que l'Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, entre autres – pour s'assurer que les initiatives sont menées avec respect, que les anciens élèves intéressés y participent et qu'elles respectent l'entente et le calendrier prévu.

Les initiatives de commémoration comprendront :

Les initiatives de guérison comprendront :

Notice biographique de James Igloliorte, représentant spécial de la ministre

James Igloliorte, de Hopedale (Terre-Neuve et Labrador), est un juge à la retraite de la Cour provinciale. Il a obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences et un baccalauréat en éducation de l'Université Memorial, à Terre-Neuve, en 1974. Son épouse, Linda Carter, et lui-même ont entrepris leurs carrières à titre d'enseignants sur la côte ouest de Terre-Neuve.

Nommé à l'origine à titre de magistrat non juriste en 1980, il était responsable de la Cour et de la cour de circuit de Labrador. En 1985, il a terminé ses études en droit à l'Université Dalhousie, à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Il a repris ses responsabilités à Happy Valley-Goose Bay à titre de juge de circuit, fonction qu'il a exercé la majeure partie de sa carrière. En 1999, il a reçu le Prix national d'excellence décerné aux Autochtones pour la catégorie Lois et justice. Il a pris sa retraite en 2004.

En plus de sa carrière juridique impressionnante, M. James Igloliorte a été directeur de l'Innu Healing Foundation et commissaire de la Commission royale d'enquête sur le renouvellement et le renforcement de notre place au sein du Canada. Il a également travaillé à titre défenseur des droits des enfants et de la jeunesse à Terre-Neuve et Labrador, et il a été commissaire de la Qikiqtani Truth Commission au Nunavut.

James Igloliorte et son épouse, Linda Carter, vivent à St. John's (Terre-Neuve), et ont quatre enfants et quatre petits-enfants.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :