Interview with Dr. Brenda Murphy about Indigenous experiences in evacuations

Dr. Brenda Murphy of Wilfrid Laurier University, Waterloo, Ontario, talks about the importance of hearing directly from Indigenous communities about their experience in long-term emergency evacuations.

This interview was recorded at INAC’s national headquarters in Gatineau, Quebec on May 11, 2017, after a showing of From Displacement to Hope: First Nations Stories.

These video stories were funded by INAC’s Emergency Management Assistance Program (EMAP).

Download: MP4 format (84 Mb)

Transcript: Interview with Dr. Brenda Murphy

0:00-0:04: [On-Screen Text:From Displacement to Hope: First Nation Stories]

0:05-0:13: [On-Screen Text: Brenda Murphy, Professor and Chair of the Social and Environmental Justice Program, Wilfrid Laurier University] My name is Brenda Murphy. I’m a professor and Chair of the Social and Environmental Justice program at Wilfrid Laurier University.

0:14-0:17: [On-Screen Text: What is the importance of the Aboriginal Disaster Resilience Project (ADRP)?]

0:18-1:00: So this project is important for a couple of reasons. First of all, it’s an opportunity for First Nation communities to be able to tell us about the evacuation experience in their own words. Indigenous communities have been experiencing a lot of evacuations over the last few years, and some folks are out on long-term evacuation. Many of those experiences are hidden and we don’t really hear about them. We tend to hear more about the sorts of things that happen…sort of like what’s happening right now, in Gatineau. We hear more about those things. We don’t hear so much from the First Nation communities. They also have a lot of information to share with us. So by doing these videos, on the one side we got to hear their stories and hear about their struggles but we also get to hear about their words of wisdom.

1:01-1:06: [On-Screen Text: How were First Nation communities chosen for this project?]

1:07-1:19: These communities were chosen because they have all been experiencing evacuations over the last few years, and they were willing to share their stories with us. They had knowledgeable people in the community who had stories that they wanted to share.

1:20-1:27: [On-Screen Text: In what ways does this project benefit First Nation communities?]

1:28-1:51: They, from their side, felt that by sharing their stories, we were validating their experiences. In many cases, some of these stories hadn’t even been shared with their own community, so they were looking at each other and going, I didn’t know that happened, or, you know, those sorts of things. So, amongst them, they were also learning from each other as we were doing the work, and so that is going to help the communities as well.

1:52-1:56: [On-Screen Text: What has your team learned as a result of this project?]

1:57-2:28: I think some of the takeaway messages that we have from this is that, first of all, as I say, First Nation communities facing and dealing with reconciliation have a lot of challenges, but they also have lots of experiences to share. As we move forward, it doesn’t matter what your work is, in any area of INAC or other organizations, this is a real opportunity to co-produce knowledge, to work with communities one-on-one, to work with community members so that we can move the agenda on reconciliation forward.

[On-Screen Text: Copyright: Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2017.]

Date modified:

Entrevue avec la Dre Brenda Murphy au sujet de l’expérience vécue par des Autochtones lors des évacuations

La Dre Brenda Murphy, de l’Université Wilfrid Laurier, à Waterloo (Ontario), parle de l’importance d’entendre directement les Autochtones nous faire part de leur expérience d’évacuation à long terme en raison d’une situation d’urgence.

Cette entrevue a été enregistrée à l’administration centrale d’AANC à Gatineau (Québec) le 11 mai 2017, après la présentation de Du déplacement à l'espoir : Récits des Premières Nations.

La captation de ces histoires sur vidéo a été financée par le Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgencies (PAGU) d’AANC.

Téléchargement : MP4 format (93 Mo)

Transcription : Entrevue avec la Dre Brenda Murphy

0:00-0:04: [Texte à l’écran : Du déplacement à l’espoir : Récits des Premières Nations]

0:05-0:13: [Texte à l’écran : Brenda Murphy, professeure titulaire de la chaire du Programme de justice sociale et environnementale à l’Université Wilfrid Laurier] Mon nom est Brenda Murphy. Je suis professeure titulaire de la chaire du Programme de justice sociale et environnementale à l’Université Wilfrid Laurier.

0:14-0:17: [Texte à l’écran : Quelle est l’importance du Projet sur la résilience des Autochtones aux catastrophes (PRAC)?]

0:18-1:00: Ce projet est important pour plusieurs raisons. Premièrement, il s’agit d’une occasion pour les membres des collectivités des Premières Nations évacuées de parler de leur expérience, dans leurs propres mots. Les collectivités autochtones ont fait l’objet de nombreuses évacuations au cours des dernières années, et certaines personnes vivent des évacuations à long terme. On n’est pas au courant de ces expériences, on n’en entend pas vraiment parler. On a tendance à entendre parler des choses qui se produisent... des choses qui se produisent maintenant, à Gatineau. On entend plus souvent parler de ces choses-là. On n’entend pas beaucoup parler des collectivités des Premières Nations. Elles ont elles aussi beaucoup de choses à partager. C’est pourquoi, en faisant ces vidéos, on entend leur version de l’histoire, on entend leurs récits et leurs difficultés, mais on a également accès à leur sagesse.

1:01-1:06: [Texte à l’écran : Comment les collectivités des Premières Nations ont-elles été choisies pour faire ce projet?]

1:07-1:19: Ces collectivités ont été choisies parce qu’elles ont toutes vécu des évacuations au cours des dernières années et qu’elles souhaitaient nous faire part de leur expérience. Dans ces collectivités, on trouve des gens bien informés qui veulent partager leurs histoires.

1:20-1:27: [Texte à l’écran : De quelles façons ce projet profite-t-il aux collectivités des Premières Nations?]

1:28-1:51: De leur côté, ils ont eu le sentiment qu’en partageant leurs histoires, nous validons leur expérience. Dans de nombreux cas, certaines de ces histoires n’avaient même pas été racontées dans leur propre collectivité. Ils se regardaient les uns les autres et disaient : Je ne savais pas que ça c’était produit, vous savez, ce genre de choses. Donc, ils apprenaient aussi les uns des autres dans le contexte de notre travail, et cela va aider les collectivités.

1:52-1:56: [Texte à l’écran : Qu’est-ce que votre équipe a appris en réalisant ce projet?]

1:57-2:28: Je pense que parmi les messages à retenir il y a tout d’abord que, comme je l’ai dit, dans le contexte de la réconciliation, les collectivités des Premières Nations ont de nombreux défis, mais elles ont également un grand nombre d’expériences à nous communiquer. Pour ce qui est de l’avenir, peu importe en quoi consiste votre travail, dans n’importe quel secteur d’AANC ou d’autres organisations, c’est une réelle occasion de coproduire des connaissances, de travailler une collectivité à la fois, de travailler avec les membres des collectivités afin que nous puissions faire des progrès en matière de réconciliation.

[Texte à l’écran : Tous droits réservés : Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, 2017.]

Date de modification :