July 2017: What's Happening at Giant?

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Rivers to Oceans

On June 13th, the Giant Mine Remediation Project team participated in this year’s Rivers to Oceans Day, an annual event for Yellowknife youth in Sombe K'e Park. Grades 1 and 5 students participate in this water education day. GMRP team members on hand to interact with the students included Environmental Scientist Katherine Harris, Engagement Manager Sharon Low, Project Specialist Andrea Markey, and Administrative Coordinator Geneva Irwin.

At Rivers to Oceans, the Project team promoted the importance of protecting our water systems. They helped kids get up close and personal with different kinds of bugs that can be found in local waters. Tadpoles, dragon fly larva, and water beetles were all caught and identified. Despite the chilly weather, the kids and the team had lots of fun!

Testing the Health Effects Monitoring Program

The Health Effects Monitoring Program will be used to ensure the safety of Yellowknife, Dettah, and Ndilo residents during the remediation process at Giant Mine. The long-term program will establish a baseline level of contaminant exposure, which will allow the Program team to monitor the community’s health during the remediation processes. Before it starts, however, the team needs to make sure the methods they have planned will work for participants.

As next steps in the development of the program, from July 10-14, 2017, the Program team was in Yellowknife to meet with various organizations to review and finalize the questionnaires, as well as settle logistical details such as staff training protocols and data management. The Health Effects Monitoring Program will start this fall. To find out more about the program visit ykhemp.ca.

Stay safe near Giant Mine

At this time of year, many Northerners and tourists enjoy the outdoors and a variety of off-road activities. It is important to remember that the Giant Mine, including the townsite, is a contaminated site. Workers on site receive training and wear special equipment to protect them from hazards. For the public, access to the site is prohibited and trespassing is not permitted at any time because of the health and safety risks.

When near the site, please respect property boundaries and posted warning signs. Stay on the highway, where the road passes through the site. The Project team monitors the site 24 hours a day, to ensure the security and protection of the public.

Some of the health and safety risks identified at site include:

For more information about the Giant Mine Remediation Project, please call Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada at 867-669-2426 or visit www.giant.gc.ca.

Water Treatment and Discharge

Water treatment has once again started at the Giant Mine Effluent Treatment Plant (ETP). Treated water was being stored until late June, when it was safe to begin discharging the water. Treated mine water is discharged from the Polishing Pond after testing. For more information about water treatment and discharge at the Giant Mine site, please visit our website.

Date modified:

Juillet 2017 : Que se passe-t-il à la mine Giant?

Des rivières aux océans

Le 13 juin, l’équipe du Projet d’assainissement de la mine Giant a participé à la journée des rivières aux océans de cette année. Il s’agit d’une activité annuelle destinée aux jeunes de Yellowknife qui se tient au parc Sombe K'e. Des élèves de la 1e à la 5e année participent à cette journée éducative sur l’eau. Parmi les membres de l’équipe du Projet d’assainissement qui étaient sur place pour interagir avec les élèves se trouvaient la spécialiste de l’environnement Katherine Harris, la gestionnaire de la mobilisation Sharon Low, la spécialiste du Projet Andrea Markey et la coordonnatrice administrative Geneva Irwin.

Lors de l’activité de la journée des rivières aux océans, l’équipe du Projet a expliqué l’importance de protéger nos systèmes d’alimentation en eau. L’équipe a permis aux jeunes d’observer de près différents types d’insectes que l’on retrouve dans les plans d’eau locaux : des têtards, des larves de libellules et des hydrophilidés ont été attrapés et identifiés. Malgré le temps froid, les enfants et les membres de l’équipe se sont bien amusés!

Mise à l’essai du Programme de suivi sur les effets sur la santé

Le Programme de suivi sur les effets sur la santé servira à protéger les résidants de Yellowknife, de Dettah et de Ndilo durant les travaux d’assainissement à la mine Giant. Ce programme à long terme établira un niveau de référence de l’exposition aux contaminants, et ce niveau permettra à l’équipe du Programme d’évaluer la santé de la collectivité durant les travaux d’assainissement. Avant de débuter, l’équipe doit toutefois s’assurer que les méthodes qu’elle a prévues conviennent aux participants.

Dans le cadre de l’élaboration du Programme, l’équipe du Programme était à Yellowknife du 10 au 14 juillet 2017 pour rencontrer diverses organisations afin d’examiner et de finaliser les questionnaires et de régler les détails logistiques, notamment en ce qui concerne les protocoles de formation du personnel et la gestion des données. Les activités du Programme de suivi sur les effets sur la santé débuteront cet automne. Pour en savoir plus sur le Programme, consultez le site suivant : ykhemp.ca (en anglais seulement).

Soyez prudent près de la mine Giant

À cette période de l’année, de nombreux résidants du Nord et touristes profitent du plein air et de diverses activités hors routes. Il est important de ne pas oublier que le site de la mine Giant, y compris le site en milieu urbain, est contaminé. Les travailleurs sur place doivent suivre une formation et porter un équipement de sécurité spécial qui les protège contre les blessures. Il est interdit au public d’entrer sur le site en tout temps en raison des risques pour la santé et la sécurité.

Lorsque vous vous trouvez à proximité de la mine, veuillez respecter les limites de la propriété et les avertissements affichés. Demeurez sur la route lorsque celle-ci traverse le site. L’équipe du Projet surveille le site 24 heures par jour pour assurer la sécurité du public.

Voici certains des risques que le site comporte pour la santé et la sécurité :

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet du Projet d’assainissement de la mine Giant, veuillez communiquer avec Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada au 867-669-2426 ou à l’adresse suivante : www.giant.gc.ca.

Traitement des effluents et déversement

Le traitement des effluents a repris à l’usine de traitement de la mine Giant. Les effluents traités étaient entreposés jusqu’à la fin de juin, soit jusqu’à ce que l’on puisse commencer à les déverser sans danger. Les effluents traités sont déversés à partir de la lagune tertiaire après avoir été testés. Pour plus d’information au sujet du traitement des effluents et de leur déversement sur le site de la mine Giant, veuillez consulter notre site Web.

Date de modification :