Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement: Annual Report 2013-2014

PDF Format (1.2 Mb, 28 pages)

Table of contents

Implementation Committee Foreword

The Implementation Committee (IC) for the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement (LILCA) is pleased to present its eighth annual report covering the period April 1, 2013 to March 31, 2014.  The report includes an update on the priorities of the IC, implementation highlights from the reporting period, and an overview of the activities of the implementing bodies.

Signature Block

Toby Andersen
Appointed by
Nunatsiavut Government

Ruby Carter
Appointed by Government of
Newfoundland and Labrador

Natalie Neville
Appointed by
Government of Canada

SECTION I: Reporting on the Priorities of the Implementation Committee

1. Overseeing Board Funding and Governance

In 2013-14, the Torngat Joint Fisheries Board (TJFB) and the Torngat Wildlife and Plants

Co-Management Board (TWPCB) submitted their annual budgets and work plans for 2014-15 which were reviewed and approved by the IC.  An annual tripartite funding agreement for each board was finalized by the Government of Canada (GoC), the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador (GNL), the Nunatsiavut Government (NG), and each of the boards' Chairs based on the approved budgets and work plans.  It is anticipated that the agreements will be signed in early 2014-15.

Annual tripartite funding agreements for 2013-14 for the TJFB and the TWPCB were each signed on May 29, 2013.  Overall, the three governments (Parties) provided a total of $1,085,954 to fund both of the boards, and the Torngat Wildlife, Plants and Fisheries Secretariat (Secretariat).  Funding for the Secretariat was included in the funding agreements for each of the TJFB and the TWPCB.  Funding for the TJFB, the TWPCB, and the Secretariat is shared equally among the three governments.  For 2013-14, each government's one-third share of the total was $171,325 for the TJFB and $190,659 for the TWPCB.

In addition, the Parties provided funding for the Dispute Resolution Board (DRB). Total funding available to the DRB in 2013-14 was $33,665, and the total DRB expenditures were $25,956.  The NG provided assistance with regard to the administrative arrangements for the DRB.

2. Amendments to the LILCA

On April 20, 2012, the Parties signed a Memorandum of Agreement detailing technical amendments to the LILCA to be considered for approval by the GoC, the GNL, and the NG.

The technical amendments are primarily related to the Appendices and the Map Atlas of the LILCA.  On June 27, 2012, the House of Assembly of Newfoundland and Labrador assented to an amendment to the provincial Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement Act respecting these amendments.  The amendment will be proclaimed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council once all Parties have approved the amendments.  On September 12, 2012, the Nunatsiavut Assembly carried a motion to consent to the technical amendments to the LILCA.  Once the French version of the amendments, which is being prepared by GoC, is verified by the NG and the GNL, the GoC will seek approval of the amendments.

3. Monitoring and Tracking Obligations

The first LILCA Implementation Plan (IP) was negotiated for a 10-year period which will end on December 1, 2015.  The IC was updated on the renewal of the IP as a regular agenda item during IC meetings in 2013-14.  The Implementation Plan Renewal Working Group, which includes representatives from all three governments, continued to meet regularly to update the Activity Sheets of the IP.  Also, in 2013-14 negotiators appointed by each of the Parties began discussions on the renewal of the budgets for the implementing bodies established pursuant to the LILCA.

SECTION II:  Funding the LILCA

The GoC made the following grant payments to the NG in 2013-14 under the LILCA and its ancillary FFA:

Grant Payments made to the NG in 2013-14
Text description of the Grant Payments made to the NG in 2013-14

The Graph displays grant payments made by the GoC to the NG in 2013-14 under the LILCA and its ancillary FFA :

  • On April 2nd, 2013 the 1st FFA Payment of $10,366,362 was paid;
  • On July 2nd,2013 the 2nd FFA Payment of $10,366,362 was paid;
  • On October 1st, 2013 a 3rd FFA Payment of $10,377,987 was paid;
  • On December 2nd, 2013 a Net Capital Transfer Payment of $4,731,404 and an Implementation payment of $8,985,059 was paid;
  • On January 2nd, 2014 a 4th FFA payment of $10,216,759 was paid;

The total Funding of which is $55,043,933

SECTION III:  Highlights

Cultural Centre

The journey towards the creation of a new cultural centre for Labrador Inuit took significant strides in 2013-14.  After tendering for construction in May 2013 efforts were made to trim costs and find additional revenues as bids came in considerably higher than prior estimates;

In February 2014, after discussions with federal funding partners, the Nunatsiavut Executive Council approved proceeding with a phased approach to construction using the Nunatsiavut Group of Companies as construction managers.  The first phase was defined as the final site preparation, stone breakwater installation and the drilling of piles as the building foundation.

In addition, a series of community consultations were held on the exhibit concept design.  The proposed theme is: The strength of our ancestors is the heartbeat of our land, carrying us forward through seasons of change. We are the Inuit of Labrador.   Once the concept is approved, the next step in the exhibit planning process will be content development followed by exhibit fabrication, which will be timed with completion of the building.

In 2013, the project team also worked on a communications strategy to ensure Labrador Inuit, funding partners and stakeholders are engaged in the process.  A key decision was to name the centre.  After discussions with Elders, it was recommended that the new cultural centre be called Illusuak, the sod house.

With the approval of a new name and logo in 2013, and a new communications strategy, the profile of the project was raised which resulted in more visibility for the project.

It is now estimated that the construction will be completed by late 2016 with exhibit installation commencing over the winter of 2016-2017.

Protection of the George River Caribou Herd (GRCH)

The George River Caribou Herd (GRCH) population has declined from an estimated 775,000 in 1993 to 74,000 in 2010 and to 27,600 in July 2012.  It is anticipated that a population survey planned for the summer of 2014 will indicate a further decline.

In 2013-14, the GNL continued to enforce the January 2013 ban on harvesting the GRCH in Labrador.  This five year ban applies to all users.  The NG's two year suspension on hunting of the GRCH by Labrador Inuit initiated in December 2012 also remained in place in 2013-14.

Also, the GNL departments of Environment and Conservation, and Justice held a series of public forums within Inuit communities during March 2014 to provide information on the latest data collected on the GRCH.

The Ungava Peninsula Caribou Aboriginal Round Table (UPCART), involving Aboriginal governments/organizations from Quebec and Labrador, was formalized after a second meeting in April, 2013.  According to the UPCART, its mission is to preserve caribou and the deep relationship that Aboriginal people have long held with caribou.  The UPCART held its third meeting September 24-25, 2013 which resulted in key actions towards the conservation and preservation of the caribou.  A technical committee was mandated by the UPCART to draft a conservation plan by April 2014.   The UPCART directed this committee to base the plan on preserving respect and relationships with the caribou.

The Provincial Governments of Newfoundland and Labrador and of Quebec jointly proposed a collaborative approach to drafting of a GRCH Management Plan to the UPCART on February 26, 2014, and the establishment of a formal liaison committee comprising the UPCART and the two governments.  A reply is expected in the next fiscal year.

Air Foodlift Subsidy Program

The GNL funds an Air Foodlift Subsidy (AFS) program delivered through the Labrador and Aboriginal Affairs Office to help offset the cost of air freight on fresh milk and other perishable food items such as fruit and vegetables.  Eligible communities include Nain, Natuashish, Hopedale, Makkovik, Postville, Rigolet and Black Tickle.  The AFS provides access for Labrador residents of remote communities to nutritious, perishable items year round with a subsidy paid to retailers to offset the high cost of air freight to communities.

The AFS has also been used to address special needs of the residents of remote communities in Labrador.  For example, in 2013, through the AFS, the GNL provided a one-time $30,000 grant to the NG to help address food related concerns in Inuit communities.  The funding was used by the NG to purchase meat for the community freezers in the Inuit communities to be made available to lower income and elderly people.  Also in 2013, one-time funding of approximately $3,300 was allocated from the AFS to transport moose harvested in Gros Morne National Park to Inuit communities.  This initiative is a good example of collaboration among the three governments.

Migratory Bird Management

Migratory Birds

In 2013-14, Environment Canada (EC)-Canadian Wildlife Service (CWS) engaged the NG and the TWPCB on proposed changes to the Migratory Bird Regulations.  The NG also participated in meetings of the - Atlantic Migratory Game Bird Technical Committee.

EC and the NG implemented the Nain Community Freezer Project, a community-based project providing harvest assessment information from migratory birds harvested by resident hunters and given to a community freezer for community consumption. Building on previous work, a comprehensive aerial survey was continued along the coast of the Labrador Inuit Settlement Area (LISA) and Labrador Inuit Lands, from Hopedale to Saglek Bay, to identify the size and distribution of colonies of seabird species that are subject to egg harvesting. Nunatsiavut Government Conservation Officers and summer students participated with EC in the Canada Goose Banding program and provided local knowledge on potential banding sites.  Results from banding in the LISA and across Labrador were communicated to the NG and the TWPCB.

Species at Risk

EC continues to engage both the NG and the TWPCB on matters related to species at risk, including the listing of species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA) and the development of recovery documents for species of interest to Labrador Inuit.  EC and the TWPCB are also working together to develop an engagement strategy for providing input on proposed listings and recovery documents. At the inter-provincial/territorial and international level, EC is encouraging the NG's participation in international discussions regarding polar bear, especially those involving the Davis Strait sub-population.  The NG continues to provide input on population monitoring and harvest allocation recommendations in Canada through their representation on the Polar Bear Technical Committee and Polar Bear Administrative Committee.

EC provided the NG with a draft of a Circumpolar Action Plan for polar bear being drafted by the Range States that will identify threats facing the species and provide an overview of management systems in each country as well as review all existing bilateral and multilateral agreements in place.

NG participants also took part in the discussions on non-detrimental findings under the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species (CITES) of Wildlife Flora and Fauna, including their attendance at the 2013 CITES Community of Practice.

Celebrate Canada - Canada Day

As part of their Celebrate Canada Funding program, the Department of Canadian Heritage provided $1,400 and $3,000 to Nain and Makkovik respectively for the celebration of Canada Day on July 1st, 2013. This project reached the general public as well as Aboriginal communities and youth, with approximately 500 participants in Nain and 100 in Makkovik.

Northern Aboriginal Broadcasting

The Okâlakatiget Society (OKS) is a not-for-profit Aboriginal organization located in Nain which operates radio broadcasting and television production facilities in Inuit communities.  From April 1, 2013 to March 31, 2014, the OKS provided up to 20 hours of new radio programming per week, of which 12 hours were in Inuktitut.  Reaching 13,500 listeners in Inuit communities and other communities in Labrador, the programming included a variety of shows for young children, youth and adults, and highlighted community events, music, news, and an interactive community call-in component.  Additionally, the OKS produced up to 4.75 hours of new television programming in Inuktitut.  The television programming produced by the OKS consisted of thirteen 22-minute episodes of "Tâmanevugut", a youth-oriented reality series, which is intended for broadcast nationally on the Aboriginal Peoples' Television Network (APTN).  By providing $376,036 to the project, the GoC contributed to strengthening Aboriginal cultural identity through broadcast content, and it directly supported the preservation and revitalization of Aboriginal cultures and languages as being living elements of Canadian society.

SECTION IV: Implementing Bodies

Torngat Joint Fisheries Board and the Torngat Wildlife and Plants Co-Management Board

The Secretariat is pleased to report that 2013-14 was a busy and productive year for both the TWPCB and the TJFB.  In fulfillment of their mandates under Chapters 12 and 13 respectively, both Boards successfully completed their work plans on time and on budget.  The Boards also created opportunities for meaningful dialogue about the management of those resources by bringing together users, stakeholders, researchers, and managers from across the LISA and across the region.  To guide future activities, the Boards underwent a strategic visioning exercise in 2013-14 and a Strategic Plan was formally adopted.

The TWPCB lead and contributed to research on wildlife, plants and habitat in the LISA.  The Board worked with partners across the region to document traditional knowledge of polar bear and Torngat Mountain caribou and integrate this knowledge into its decision making process. The TWPCB was also instrumental in realizing an updated population estimate of Torngat Mountain caribou.  In addition to its continuing participation in regional, national, and international management forums, the Board co-organized an inter-jurisdictional polar bear workshop, and developed and held polar bear safety workshops in the LISA.  With input from the public and extensive consultation and research, the Board submitted decisions and recommendations on moose and polar bear.

The TJFB research program has also lead to new insights that will have long-term management implications. The Board is continuing to work with partners and fish harvesters to better understand snow crab movements and the abundance of juveniles and females.  As part of its collaborative approach, the Board conducted interviews with snow crab harvesters, and the information they shared is being directly and systematically inputted into the Board's decision making processes for the first time. The TJFB also worked with partners to co-host Snow Crab and Northern Shrimp fisheries workshops in Nain in November of 2013.  These workshops have become an annual event and they provide important opportunities for all stakeholders to share information, develop research priorities, and weigh policy alternatives.  Research and dialogue formed the basis for recommendations on snow crab, northern shrimp, and turbot.

Both the TWPCB and the TJFB are looking forward to continued success in 2014-15.

Dispute Resolution Board

The DRB held its annual meeting on February 8, 2014 in St. John's to deal with administrative matters and update the Roster of Mediators.

Date modified:

Accord sur les Revendications Territoriales des Inuit du Labrador : Rapport annuel 2013-2014

Format PDF (1,2 Mo, 28 pages)

Table des matières

Avant-propos du Comité de mise en œuvre

Le Comité de mise en œuvre de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuit du Labrador (ARTIL) est heureux de présenter son huitième rapport annuel, qui porte sur la période allant du 1er avril 2013 au 31 mars 2014. Le rapport comprend une mise à jour sur les priorités du Comité de mise en œuvre, les points saillants des efforts de mise en œuvre à partir de la période visée par le rapport, ainsi qu'un aperçu des activités des organismes de mise en œuvre.

Bloc-signature

Toby Andersen
nommé par
le gouvernement du Nunatsiavut

Ruby Carter
nommée par
le gouvernement de Terre Neuve-et-Labrador

Natalie Neville
nommée par
le gouvernement du Canada

SECTION I : Rapport sur les priorités du Comité de mise en œuvre

1. Financement et gouvernance des offices

En 2013-2014, l'Office Torngat mixte des pêches (OTMP) et l'Office Torngat de cogestion de la faune et de la flore (OTCFF) ont présenté leurs budgets et leurs plans de travail annuels pour l'exercice 2014-2015 aux fins d'examen et d'approbation par le Comité de mise en œuvre. Un accord de financement tripartite annuel a été négocié pour chaque office par le gouvernement du Canada (GC), le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (GTNL), le gouvernement du Nunatsiavut (GN) et chacun des présidents des offices, selon les budgets et les plans de travail approuvés. On s'attend à ce que les accords soient signés au début de l'exercice 2014-2015.

Les accords de financement tripartites annuels de l'OTMP et de l'OTCFF pour 2013-2014 ont été signés le 29 mai 2013. Dans l'ensemble, les trois gouvernements (parties) ont attribué un montant total de 1 085 954 $ aux deux offices et au Secrétariat Torngat de la faune, de la flore et des pêches (Secrétariat). Le financement du Secrétariat était prévu dans les accords de financement de l'OTMP et de l'OTCFF. Les deux offices et le Secrétariat sont financés à parts égales par les trois gouvernements. Pour l'exercice 2013-2014, la part de chaque gouvernement (un tiers) s'est élevée à 171 325 $ pour l'OTMP et à 190 659 $ pour l'OTCFF.

En outre, les parties ont fourni un financement pour la Commission de règlement des différends (CRD). Le financement total disponible pour la CRD en 2013-2014 était de 33 665 $, et les dépenses totales de la Commission se sont élevées à 25 956 $. Le GN a fourni de l'aide en ce qui a trait à des arrangements administratifs pour la Commission.

2. Modifications apportées à l'ARTIL

Le 20 avril 2012, les parties ont signé un protocole d'entente précisant les modifications techniques à apporter à l'ARTIL, aux fins d'approbation par le GC, le GTNL et le GN.

Les modifications techniques se rapportent principalement aux annexes et à l'atlas cartographique de l'ARTIL. Le 27 juin 2012, la Chambre d'assemblée provinciale a sanctionné la modification à cet égard de la Loi sur l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuit du Labrador. La modification sera proclamée par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil une fois que toutes les parties auront donné leur aval. Le 12 septembre 2012, l'Assemblée du Nunatsiavut a adopté une motion portant consentement aux modifications techniques à l'ARTIL. Une fois que la version française des modifications, en cours de préparation par le GC, aura été vérifiée par le GN et le GTNL, le GC demandera l'approbation des modifications.

3. Obligations de surveillance et de suivi

Le plan de mise en œuvre initial de l'ARTIL a été négocié pour une période de dix ans qui prendra fin le 1er décembre 2015. Le Comité de mise en œuvre a été informé au sujet du renouvellement du plan de mise en œuvre dans le cadre d'un point régulier à l'ordre du jour de ses réunions en 2013-2014. Le Groupe de travail du renouvellement du plan de mise en œuvre, qui compte des représentants des trois gouvernements, a continué de se réunir régulièrement pour mettre à jour les feuilles d'activité du plan de mise en œuvre. De plus, en 2013-2014, les négociateurs nommés par chacune des parties ont commencé à discuter du renouvellement des budgets des organismes de mise en œuvre créés en vertu de l'ARTIL.

SECTION II : Financement de l'ARTIL

Versements de subvention au GN en 2013-14
Description textuelle des Versements de subvention au GN en 2013-14

Le graphique montre les versements de la subvention payés par le gouvernement du Canada au GN pour la période 2013-14 en vertu de l'ARTIL et de l'AFB afférent :

  • Pour le 2 Avril 2013, un paiement de 10 366 362 $ de l'AFB a été versé;
  • Pour le 2 Juillet, 2013 un paiement de 10 366 362 $ de l'AFB a été versé;
  • Pour le 1er Octobre, 2013 un paiement de 10 377 987 $ de l'AFB a été versé;
  • Pour le 2 Décembre, 2013, un transfert de capital de paiement net de 4 731 404 $ a été versée et un paiement de mise en œuvre de 8 985 059 $ a été versé;
  • Pour le 2 Janvier 2014, un paiement de 10 216 759 $ de l'AFB a été versée;

Le financement total est de 55 043 933 $

SECTION III : Points saillants

Centre culturel

Le processus de création d'un nouveau centre culturel pour les Inuit du Labrador a franchi de nouvelles étapes en 2013-2014. Après l'appel d'offres pour la construction, en mai 2013, des efforts ont été faits pour réduire les coûts et trouver de nouvelles sources de revenus, car les soumissions reçues indiquaient des coûts de beaucoup supérieurs aux estimations antérieures.

En février 2014, à la suite de discussions avec ses partenaires financiers du gouvernement fédéral, le Conseil exécutif du Nunatsiavut a convenu d'adopter une approche par étapes pour la construction et de recourir au Nunatsiavut Group of Companies pour diriger les travaux. La première étape concerne la préparation finale du site, l'installation de la digue en pierres et le forage du sol pour installer les pieux des fondations du bâtiment.

Par ailleurs, plusieurs consultations communautaires sur le concept de l'exposition ont été organisées. Le thème proposé est : La force de nos ancêtres est l'âme de notre territoire; elle nous aide à traverser le cycle des changements. Nous sommes les Inuit du Labrador. Une fois que le concept aura été approuvé, la prochaine étape du processus de planification consistera à développer le contenu, puis à réaliser l'exposition. Elle coïncidera avec l'achèvement de la construction.

En 2013, l'équipe du projet a également élaboré une stratégie de communication pour faire participer au processus les Inuit du Labrador, les partenaires financiers et les intervenants. Trouver un nom pour le centre représentait une décision importante. Au terme des discussions avec les aînés, il a été recommandé que le nouveau centre culturel s'appelle Illusuak, c'est-à-dire la hutte de terre.

L'approbation du nom et du logo en 2013 ainsi que la nouvelle stratégie de communication ont permis de mieux faire connaître le projet et donc d'en accroître la visibilité.

On estime maintenant que la construction sera terminée à la fin de 2016 et que l'installation de l'exposition commencera au cours de l'hiver 2016-2017.

Protection du troupeau de caribous de la rivière George (TCRG)

La population du TCRG a diminué, passant d'un nombre estimatif de 775 000 en 1993 à 74 000 en 2010, et à seulement 27 600 en juillet 2012. On s'attend à ce que le relevé de population de l'été 2014 montre que le déclin se poursuit.

En 2013-2014, le GTNL a maintenu l'interdiction de récolter les caribous du troupeau de la rivière George au Labrador, qui avait été promulguée en janvier 2013. Cette interdiction de cinq ans s'applique à tous. L'interdiction de chasser le TCRG que le GN avait imposée aux Inuit du Labrador pour une période de deux ans en décembre 2012 a également été maintenue en 2013-2014.

De plus, le ministère de l'Environnement et de la Conservation et le ministère de la Justice du GTNL ont organisé une série de débats publics avec les collectivités inuites au cours du mois de mars 2014 pour les informer des plus récentes données recueillies au sujet du TCRG.

La Table ronde autochtone sur le caribou de la péninsule d'Ungava (TRACPU), qui regroupe des représentants des gouvernements et des organisations autochtones du Québec et du Labrador, a été créée officiellement lors de sa deuxième réunion, en avril 2013. Elle a pour mission de préserver les caribous et la relation profonde que les peuples autochtones ont avec cet animal. La TRACPU a tenu sa troisième réunion les 24 et 25 septembre 2013, à la suite de quoi des mesures importantes ont été prises en vue de la conservation et de la préservation des caribous. Elle a chargé un comité technique de préparer un plan de conservation d'ici avril 2014, et elle lui a demandé de fonder ce plan sur la préservation du respect envers le caribou et des relations avec cet animal.

Le 26 février 2014, les gouvernements des provinces de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et du Québec ont proposé conjointement à la TRACPU de rédiger en collaboration un plan de gestion du TCRG et d'établir un comité de liaison officiel comprenant des représentants de la TRACPU et des deux gouvernements. Ils s'attendent à recevoir une réponse au cours du prochain exercice.

Programme de subvention au transport aérien de l'alimentation

Le GTNL finance le programme de subvention au transport aérien de l'alimentation, mis en œuvre par le ministère du Labrador et des Affaires autochtones, pour atténuer le coût du transport aérien du lait frais et d'autres denrées périssables, comme les fruits et les légumes. Parmi les communautés admissibles au programme se trouvent celles de Nain, de Natuashish, de Hopedale, de Makkovik, de Postville, de Rigolet et de Black Tickle. Ce programme permet aux résidants des collectivités éloignées du Labrador de se procurer des produits nutritifs et périssables tout au long de l'année grâce à une subvention versée aux détaillants pour réduire le coût élevé du transport aérien vers les collectivités.

Le programme a servi également à répondre à des besoins spéciaux des résidants des collectivités éloignées du Labrador. Par exemple, en 2013, le GTNL a versé une subvention unique de 30 000 $ au GN pour répondre aux préoccupations liées à l'alimentation dans les collectivités inuites. Le GN a utilisé ces fonds pour acheter de la viande destinée aux congélateurs communautaires des collectivités inuites; elle pouvait ainsi être mise à la disposition des personnes à faible revenu et des personnes âgées. En 2013 également, le programme a octroyé un financement ponctuel d'environ 3 300 $ pour transporter les orignaux récoltés dans le parc national du Gros-Morne vers les collectivités inuites. Cette initiative offre un bon exemple de collaboration entre les trois gouvernements.

Gestion des oiseaux migrateurs

Oiseaux migrateurs

En 2013-2014, le Service canadien de la faune d'Environnement Canada (EC) a engagé un dialogue avec le GN et l'OTCFF au sujet des changements proposés au Règlement sur les oiseaux migrateurs. Le GN a aussi participé aux réunions du Comité technique de la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs de l'Atlantique.

EC et le GN ont mis en œuvre le projet de congélation de la collectivité de Nain, qui fournit des renseignements sur les oiseaux migrateurs récoltés par les chasseurs résidants et destinés à un congélateur communautaire aux fins de consommation par les membres de la collectivité. À partir des travaux antérieurs, l'inventaire aérien détaillé s'est poursuivi le long de la côte de la région visée par l'entente avec les Inuit du Labrador (REIL) et des terres des Inuit du Labrador, de Hopedale jusqu'à la baie Saglek, pour déterminer la taille et la répartition des colonies des espèces d'oiseaux de mer dont les œufs sont récoltés. De concert avec EC, les agents de conservation du gouvernement du Nunatsiavut et les stagiaires d'été ont participé au programme de baguage de la bernache du Canada. Leur connaissance du milieu leur a permis de fournir des renseignements sur les sites propices au baguage. Les résultats du baguage dans la REIL et dans l'ensemble du Labrador ont été communiqués au GN et à l'OTCFF.

Espèces en péril

EC continue de s'assurer le concours du GN et de l'OTCFF pour les questions liées aux espèces en péril, notamment l'inscription des espèces en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) et l'élaboration de documents relatifs au rétablissement des espèces qui présentent de l'intérêt pour les Inuit du Labrador. EC et l'OTCFF travaillent également ensemble au développement d'une stratégie pour la contribution aux inscriptions proposées et aux documents sur le rétablissement. À l'échelon interprovincial, interterritorial et international, EC incite le GN à participer aux discussions internationales portant sur l'ours blanc, particulièrement ceux de la sous-population du détroit de Davis. Le GN continue de formuler des commentaires sur les recommandations concernant la surveillance des populations et l'allocation du nombre de prises au Canada dans le cadre de sa participation au Comité technique de l'ours blanc et au Comité administratif de l'ours blanc.

EC a fourni au GN la version préliminaire du Plan d'action circumpolaire pour l'ours blanc que rédigent les États abritant cet animal. Le Plan d'action vise à identifier les menaces qui pèsent sur l'espèce, à donner un aperçu du système de gestion dans chaque pays, et à passer en revue tous les accords bilatéraux et multilatéraux en place.

Les participants du GN ont aussi participé aux discussions sur les avis de commerce non préjudiciable aux termes de la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d'extinction (CITES), et ils ont participé à la communauté de pratique de la CITES en 2013.

Le Canada en fête – Fête du Canada

Dans le cadre du programme de financement Le Canada en fête, le ministère du Patrimoine canadien a octroyé respectivement 1 400 $ et 3 000 $ aux collectivités de Nain et de Makkovik pour la célébration de la fête du Canada le 1er juillet 2013. Le grand public de même que les Autochtones et les jeunes ont pris part aux célébrations : il y a eu environ 500 participants à Nain et 100 à Makkovik.

Radiodiffusion autochtone dans le Nord

L'Okâlakatiget Society (OKS) est un organisme autochtone sans but lucratif établi à Nain. Il exploite des installations de radiodiffusion et de production télévisuelle desservant les collectivités autochtones. Du 1er avril 2013 au 31 mars 2014, l'OKS a offert jusqu'à 20 heures de nouvelles émissions de radio par semaine, dont 12 heures étaient en inuktitut. Les émissions, qui rejoignent 13 500 auditeurs des collectivités inuites et des autres collectivités du Labrador, s'adressent aux jeunes enfants, aux jeunes et aux adultes et sont très diversifiées : émissions faisant état des activités communautaires, musique, nouvelles et tribune téléphonique communautaire. De plus, l'OKS a produit jusqu'à 4,75 heures de nouvelles émissions de télévision en inuktitut. Il s'agit de 13 épisodes de 22 minutes de Tâmanevugut, une télésérie jeunesse diffusée à l'échelle nationale par le Réseau de télévision des peuples autochtones (APTN). En allouant 376 036 $ au projet, le gouvernement du Canada a contribué au renforcement de l'identité culturelle des Autochtones par le biais du contenu diffusé, et il a soutenu directement la préservation et la revitalisation des cultures et des langues autochtones en tant que composantes vivantes de la société canadienne.

SECTION IV : Organismes de mise en œuvre

Office Torngat mixte des pêches et Office Torngat de cogestion de la faune et de la flore

Le Secrétariat est heureux d'annoncer que l'exercice 2013-2014 a été productif et très occupé pour l'OTCFF et l'OTMP. Dans le cadre du mandat qui leur incombe en vertu des chapitres 12 et 13 respectivement, les deux offices ont réussi à achever leur plan de travail en respectant l'échéancier et le budget. Ils ont aussi créé des occasions de dialogue constructif sur la gestion de ces ressources en réunissant les utilisateurs, les intervenants, les chercheurs et les gestionnaires de la REIL et de l'ensemble de la région. Pour guider les futures activités, les offices se sont livrés à un exercice de planification stratégique en 2013-2014, et un plan stratégique a été adopté officiellement.

L'OTCFF a dirigé une recherche sur la faune, la flore et l'habitat de la REIL et y a contribué. L'Office a collaboré avec ses partenaires de toute la région pour documenter les connaissances traditionnelles sur l'ours blanc et le caribou des monts Torngat, et il a tenu compte de ces connaissances dans son processus décisionnel. L'OTCFF a également participé à la mise à jour de l'estimation de la population de caribous des monts Torngat. En plus de sa participation continue aux forums de gestion régionaux, nationaux et internationaux, l'Office a organisé conjointement un atelier intergouvernemental sur l'ours blanc, et il a conçu et offert des ateliers sur les mesures de sécurité relatives aux ours polaires dans la REIL. En s'appuyant sur les commentaires du public et sur des consultations et des recherches exhaustives, l'Office a formulé des décisions et des recommandations concernant l'orignal et l'ours blanc.

Le programme de recherche de l'OTMP a également ouvert de nouvelles perspectives qui auront des conséquences à long terme sur la gestion. L'Office continue de collaborer avec ses partenaires et les pêcheurs en vue de mieux comprendre les déplacements du crabe des neiges et l'abondance des juvéniles et des femelles. Dans le cadre de son approche collaborative, l'Office a réalisé des entrevues avec les pêcheurs de crabe des neiges, et l'information qu'ils ont communiquée est directement et systématiquement prise en compte pour la première fois dans les processus décisionnels de l'Office. L'OTMP et ses partenaires ont également été les hôtes conjoints des ateliers sur la pêche au crabe des neiges et à la crevette nordique, qui se sont tenus à Nain en novembre 2013. Ces ateliers sont devenus une activité annuelle, et ils offrent à tous les intervenants la possibilité d'échanger de l'information, d'établir les priorités au chapitre de la recherche et d'évaluer les politiques de rechange. La recherche et le dialogue constituent le fondement des recommandations sur le crabe des neiges, la crevette nordique et le turbot.

L'OTCFF et l'OTMP espèrent poursuivre sur cette lancée en 2014-2015.

Commission de règlement des différends

La Commission a tenu sa réunion annuelle le 8 février 2014 à St. John's pour traiter de questions administratives et mettre à jour la liste des médiateurs.

Date de modification :