Summary Report on Recipient Audit Performed on Anishinaabeg of Naongashiing

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Name: Anishinaabeg of Naongashiing
Location: Ontario
Population: 177 on reserve; 428 total registered
Default status at time of audit: Not in default
Current default status: Not in default
Current Chief(s): Patricia Big George
Time period covered by audit: April 1, 2012 to March 31, 2014
Amount of AANDC funding audited: $4,301,177

Background

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC), formally known as Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC), selected the Anishinaabeg of Naongashiing in Ontario for a Recipient audit based on their 2014-15 risk assessment score and other risk factors.

The objective of the Recipient audit was to provide assurance that funding provided to the Recipient by Canada was spent for its intended purposes and was in compliance with the terms and conditions of the 2012-2013 and 2013-2014 Funding Agreements with INAC. The objective was achieved through:

Ernst & Young LLP, an independent audit firm, was commissioned by INAC to undertake the Recipient audit. The audit procedures were performed from February 23, 2015 to February 27, 2015.

Findings

The procedures performed identified that internal financial control processes are not properly put into place for program administration, financial management and reporting systems. As a result, the Recipient was unable to properly manage their expenditures in accordance with the Funding Agreements.

Governance by Chief and Council

The procedures performed identified opportunities to improve governance in support of programs funded by INAC. The controls surrounding governance were determined to be inadequate. A key recommendation was that the Recipient should establish and implement an organization chart, along with clear roles and responsibilities for all staff positions. Another key recommendation was that the Recipient should develop a risk management framework to assess its risk exposure and governance structure.

Band Management

The procedures performed identified areas where there are opportunities to improve band management in support of programs funded by INAC. A key recommendation was that the Recipient should put in place accounting policies and procedures that are explicitly documented, communicated to employees, implemented, and monitored on a regular basis. Another key recommendation was that the Recipient should ensure that all significant purchases follow the contract tendering process established in the Finance Manual to ensure the optimal value is being obtained by the Recipient.

Current Status

A copy of the final report has been sent to the Recipient. INAC and the Recipient are working together to address the findings.

Disclaimer: This audit summary was prepared based on information contained in a Recipient Audit Report on Anishinaabeg of Naongashiing for INAC. The report produced for INAC is intended solely for the information and use of the Recipient and INAC Management. The audit summary only presents limited information on the general findings based on the audit procedures performed and does not provide information on the detailed procedures of findings. Consequently, this summary may not be appropriate for the purpose and use of the reader.

Date modified:

Rapport sommaire sur la vérification de bénéficiaire concernant Anishinaabeg of Naongashiing

Nom : Anishinaabeg of Naongashiing
Lieu : Ontario
Population : 177 personnes vivant dans la réserve; 428 personnes inscrites au total
Situation de manquement au moment de la vérification : Pas de manquement
Situation actuelle de manquement : Pas de manquement
Chef actuel : Patricia Big George
Période visée par la vérification : Du 1er avril 2012 au 31 mars 2014
Montant du financement d'AANC vérifié : 4 301 177 $

Contexte

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC), autrefois appelé Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC), a choisi Anishinaabeg of Naongashiing pour faire l'objet d'une vérification de bénéficiaire en raison de son résultat à l'évaluation des risques 2014-2015 et d'autres facteurs de risque.

L'objectif de la vérification du bénéficiaire consistait à fournir l'assurance que le financement fourni au bénéficiaire par AANC a été dépensé aux fins prévues et en conformité avec les modalités des ententes de financement de 2012-2013 et de 2013‑2014. Cet objectif a été atteint par deux moyens :

AANC a mandaté le cabinet de vérification indépendant Ernst & Young LLP de procéder à la vérification du bénéficiaire. La vérification s'est déroulée du 23 au 27 février 2015.

Constatations

La vérification a permis d'identifié certaines faiblesses dans les processus internes de contrôle financier pour l'administration des programmes, la gestion financière et le système de déclaration. En conséquence, certaines des dépenses examinées dans le cadre de l'audit du bénéficiaire s'avèrent non conformes aux termes et conditions de l'entente de financement.

Gouvernance par le Chef et le Conseil

Les vérificateurs ont cerné des possibilités d'amélioration en ce qui a trait à la gouvernance à l'appui des programmes financés par AANC. Ils ont jugé que les mesures de contrôle de la gouvernance étaient inadéquates. Ils ont principalement recommandé à la Première Nation d'établir un organigramme assorti d'une description claire des rôles et responsabilités associés à chaque poste; et d'établir un cadre de gestion du risque pour évaluer son exposition aux risques et sa structure de gouvernance.

Gestion de la Bande

La vérification a également permis de cerner des possibilités d'amélioration en ce qui a trait à la gestion de la bande à l'appui des programmes financés par AANC. Principalement, les vérificateurs ont recommandé à la bande de mettre en place des politiques et procédures de comptabilité qui seraient explicitement documentées, communiquées aux employés et mises en œuvre et qui feraient l'objet d'un suivi régulier. Enfin, de s'assurer que tous les achats importants sont soumis au processus d'appel d'offres prévu dans le Manuel des finances afin d'obtenir une valeur optimale.

Situation actuelle

Une copie du rapport final a été envoyée au bénéficiaire. AANC et le bénéficiaire travaillent conjointement pour donner suite à ces constatations.

Avertissement : Le présent rapport sommaire a été préparé en fonction des renseignements contenus dans le Rapport de vérification du bénéficiaire visant Anishinaabeg of Naongashiing pour le compte d'AANC. Le rapport produit pour AANC est réservé à l'utilisation du bénéficiaire et de la direction d'AANC. Le rapport sommaire ne présente qu'un portrait limité des constatations générales tirées de la vérification et ne fournit pas de détail sur le processus de vérification ou les constatations. Par conséquent, il pourrait ne pas convenir au but et à l'utilisation visés par le lecteur.

Date de modification :