Summary of the Agreement on the Cree Nation Governance

Introduction

The Agreement on Cree Nation Governance (Governance Agreement) flows from the Agreement concerning a New Relationship between the Government of Canada and the Cree of Eeyou Istchee of 2008, which sets out a process for negotiations leading to a Cree Nation Governance Agreement and a Cree Constitution. These negotiations were completed in the autumn of 2016, and were followed by extensive consultations with the Cree beneficiaries, Cree First Nations and other interested Cree parties in Eeyou Istchee.

The Governance Agreement and the Cree Constitution have been formally approved by resolution of each of the Cree First Nations and of the Cree Nation Government. Canada also approved the Governance Agreement and authorized its signature. After the signing, the Agreement will take effect when its implementing federal legislation comes into force.

Purpose

The Governance Agreement and Cree Constitution strengthen Cree self-governance on Cree community lands subject to federal jurisdiction (Category IA lands) in the context of the 1975 James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement (JBNQA), the first modern Indigenous land claim agreement and treaty in Canada. Together, they will provide the Cree with greater autonomy and flexibility in governance on these lands. The Governance Agreement will also provide long-term stability for the Cree First Nations and Cree Nation Government in financial arrangements with Canada.

Agreement on Cree Nation Governance

In summary, the Governance Agreement will make existing governance powers and procedures more efficient on Cree Category IA lands. Arrangements regarding Cree local and regional governance on these lands subject to federal jurisdiction will be transferred from the Cree-Naskapi (of Québec) Act, a federal statute adopted in 1984, into the Governance Agreement and Cree Constitution. Once this Agreement takes effect, the Cree-Naskapi (of Québec) Act will no longer apply to the Cree beneficiaries, Cree First Nations or Category IA lands.

The Governance Agreement addresses three main subjects:

  1. Jurisdiction of the Cree First Nations and Cree Nation Government to make laws (instead of by-laws) on Category IA lands. Existing powers will be maintained, but Cree laws will no longer have to be submitted to the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs;
  2. Land regime on Cree Category IA lands, including access and the grant of rights in lands and buildings – existing arrangements will be maintained;
  3. Long-term financial arrangements with Canada in respect of Cree Category IA lands.

Under the Governance Agreement, the Cree First Nations will keep the same local government powers, functions and responsibilities that they have now on Cree Category IA lands. These address matters such as local government management and services, environmental protection, public order and safety, land and resource use and planning and many others. The Cree Nation Government will exercise the same powers that it now has on Cree Category IA lands concerning, for example, standards for essential sanitation and fire protection.

Cree Constitution

The Cree Constitution is an internal instrument of Cree self-governance. It starts with a short statement of key Cree values and principles. It goes on to set out arrangements regarding the exercise of the Cree right of self government in relation to the administration and internal management of the Cree First Nations and the Cree Nation Government on Cree Category IA lands.

These internal governance arrangements are currently set out in the Cree-Naskapi (of Québec) Act and will be transferred into the Cree Constitution. These arrangements concern subjects such as procedures for making laws and resolutions, elections, meetings and referenda, financial administration and amendment of the Cree Constitution.

An important innovation introduced by the Cree Constitution is that it removes the supervision of the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs over Cree governance on Cree Category IA lands. At present, the Cree First Nations must submit certain by-laws to the Minister for review. The Minister also has the power at present to appoint an administrator for a Cree First Nation in case of severe financial difficulty.

The Cree Constitution eliminates this external oversight, and makes the Cree First Nations and Cree Nation Government fully responsible for their self-government.

The Cree Constitution can change over time, if desired by the Cree. This is because, unlike the Cree-Naskapi (of Québec) Act, the Cree Constitution will not be set out in a federal law. Instead, it will be an internal instrument of Cree self-governance. It will not be approved by Canada or Québec.  This means that the Cree Nation can amend their Constitution in the future, without the participation of Canada.

Conclusion

The Governance Agreement, the Cree Constitution and the Cree laws adopted pursuant to them will have the force of law.  Together, they represent another step in implementing Cree self governance in compliance with the JBNQA. They will provide the Cree First Nations and the Cree Nation Government with important tools to assume greater autonomy and responsibility in the governance of Cree Category IA lands.

The Agreement on Cree Nation Governance and the Cree Constitution demonstrate that the Cree Nation Government and the Cree First Nations are mature governments. They are a step towards reconciliation and a respectful nation-to-nation relationship between the Cree and Canada in the spirit of the JBNQA.

Date modified:

Sommaire de l’Entente sur la gouvernance crie

Introduction

L'Entente sur la gouvernance de la Nation crie (Entente sur la gouvernance) découle de l'Entente concernant une nouvelle relation entre le gouvernement du Canada et les Cris d'Eeyou Istchee de 2008, qui prévoit un processus de négociations menant à une Entente sur la gouvernance de la Nation crie et une Constitution crie.  Ces négociations ont été conclues à l'automne 2016, et ont été suivies de consultations approfondies avec les bénéficiaires Cris, les Premières nations cries et d'autres parties cries intéressées dans l'Eeyou Istchee.

L'Entente sur la gouvernance et la Constitution crie ont été formellement approuvées par résolution de chacune des Premières nations cries et du Gouvernement de la nation crie. Le Canada également approuvé l'Entente sur la gouvernance et a autorisé sa signature. Après la signature, l'Entente entrera en vigueur lorsque la législation fédérale pour sa mise en œuvre entrera en vigueur.

Objectif

L'Entente sur la gouvernance et la Constitution crie renforcent l'autonomie gouvernementale crie sur les terres de compétence fédérale des communautés cries (terres de catégorie IA) dans le cadre de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois (CBJNQ) de 1975, le premier accord sur les revendications territoriales autochtones et traité moderne au Canada. Ensemble, elles fourniront aux Cris une plus grande autonomie et une plus grande souplesse dans la gouvernance sur ces terres. L'Entente sur la gouvernance fournira également une stabilité à long terme aux Premières nations cries et au Gouvernement de la nation crie en matière d'arrangements financiers avec le gouvernement du Canada.

Entente sur la gouvernance de la Nation crie

En résumé, l'Entente sur la gouvernance rendra les pouvoirs et procédures de gouvernance existants plus efficients sur les terres cries de catégorie IA. Les arrangements concernant la gouvernance locale et régionale crie sur ces terres de compétence fédérale des communautés cries seront transférés de la Loi sur les Cris et les Naskapis du Québec, une loi fédérale adoptée en 1984, à l'Entente sur la gouvernance et à la Constitution crie. Une fois que cette entente entrera en vigueur, la Loi sur les Cris et les Naskapis du Québec ne s'appliquera plus aux bénéficiaires Cris, aux Premières Nations cries ni aux terres de catégorie IA.

L'Entente sur la gouvernance porte sur trois matières principales :

  1. Les compétences des Premières nations cries et du Gouvernement de la nation crie de faire des lois (au lieu de règlements administratifs) sur les terres de catégorie IA. Les pouvoirs existants seront maintenus, mais les lois cries n'auront plus à être soumises au ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord;
  2. Le régime des terres sur les terres de catégorie IA, y compris l'accès et l'octroi de droits sur les terres et les bâtiments – les arrangements existants seront maintenus;
  3. Des arrangements financiers à long terme avec le Canada à l'égard des terres  de catégorie IA.

Sous le régime de l'Entente sur la gouvernance, les Premières nations cries conserveront les mêmes pouvoirs, fonctions et responsabilités de gouvernement local qu'elles ont actuellement sur les terres de catégorie IA. Ceux-ci visent des questions telles que la gestion et les services de gouvernement local, la protection de l'environnement, l'ordre et la sécurité publics, l'usage des terres et des ressources et la planification correspondante et bien d'autres. Le Gouvernement de la nation crie exercera les mêmes pouvoirs qu'il a actuellement sur les terres de catégorie IA  concernant, par exemple, les normes relatives aux services d'hygiène essentiels et aux services anti-incendie.

Constitution crie

La Constitution crie est un instrument interne d'autonomie gouvernementale crie. Elle débute par une brève déclaration des valeurs et des principes essentiels des Cris. Elle poursuit en prévoyant les modalités relatives à l'exercice du droit des Cris à l'autonomie gouvernementale en ce qui concerne l'administration et la gestion interne des Premières nations cries et du Gouvernement de la nation crie sur les terres de catégorie IA.

Ces modalités de gouvernance internes sont actuellement énoncées dans la Loi sur les Cris et les Naskapis du Québec et seront transférées dans la Constitution crie. Ces modalités concernent des sujets tels que les procédures pour faire des lois et des résolutions, les élections, les réunions et les référendums, l'administration financière et la modification de la Constitution.

La Constitution crie innove de façon importante en ce qu'elle élimine la surveillance du ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord de la gouvernance crie sur les terres de catégorie IA. À l'heure actuelle, les Premières nations cries doivent soumettre certains règlements administratifs au ministre pour examen, qui a également le pouvoir de nommer un administrateur pour une Première nation crie en cas de difficultés financières graves. La Constitution crie élimine cette surveillance externe, et elle rend les Premières nations cries et le Gouvernement de la nation crie entièrement responsables de leur autonomie gouvernementale.

La Constitution crie peut changer avec le temps, si voulu par les Cris. Ceci découle du fait que, contrairement à la Loi sur les Cris et les Naskapis du Québec, la Constitution crie ne sera pas énoncée dans une loi fédérale. Elle sera plutôt un instrument interne d'autonomie gouvernementale crie.  Elle ne sera pas approuvée par le Canada ou le Québec. Cela signifie que la Nation crie peut modifier sa Constitution à l'avenir, sans la participation du Canada.

Conclusion

L'Entente sur la gouvernance, la Constitution crie et les lois cries adoptées en vertu de celles-ci auront force de loi. Ensemble, elles représentent une autre étape dans la mise en œuvre de l'autonomie gouvernementale crie conformément à la CBJNQ. Elles fourniront aux Premières nations cries et au Gouvernement de la nation crie des outils importants pour assumer une plus grande autonomie et responsabilité dans la gouvernance des terres de catégorie IA.

L'Entente sur la gouvernance de la Nation crie et la Constitution crie démontrent que le Gouvernement de la nation crie et les Premières nations cries sont des gouvernements matures. Elles constituent un pas vers la réconciliation et une relation respectueuse de nation à nation entre les Cris et le Canada dans l'esprit de la CBJNQ.

Date de modification :