A new fiscal relationship

The Government of Canada and the Assembly of First Nations are working together to establish a new fiscal relationship that moves towards sufficient, predictable and sustained funding for First Nation communities.

With the signing of the Memorandum of Understanding in July 2016, a process was established to achieve this goal, which will be a key step in addressing the disparities and inequities in the socio-economic conditions between First Nations and other Canadians.

From October 11 to November 20, 2017, the Government of Canada and the Assembly of First Nations engaged with First Nation chiefs and administrators. Through this engagement, participants were asked to review and provide feedback on options prepared by three working groups to support a new fiscal relationship. Feedback received on working group options has been incorporated into the report: A new approach: Co-development of a new fiscal relationship between Canada and First Nations (PDF 2.8 Mb, 51 pages).  Note: If you are having difficulty accessing the PDF document, please contact us and we will be happy to provide the document in another format.

Canada is also working jointly with First Nation signatories to 22 self-government arrangements to develop a new self-government fiscal policy framework that will enable these governments to realize the full potential of their agreements.

Related links

Date modified:

Une nouvelle relation financière

Le gouvernement du Canada et l'Assemblée des Premières Nations collaborent afin d'établir une nouvelle relation financière qui assurera un financement suffisant, stable et prévisible pour les collectivités des Premières Nations. 

À la suite de la signature du protocole d'entente de juillet 2016  (en anglais seulement), un processus a été établi en vue d'atteindre cet objectif, qui constitue un élément clé afin d'éliminer les disparités et les iniquités socioéconomiques qui existent entre les membres des Premières Nations et le reste des Canadiens. 

Du 11 octobre au 20 novembre 2017, le gouvernement du Canada et l'Assemblée des Premières Nations ont consulté les chefs et les administrateurs des Premières Nations. Dans le cadre de ce processus de mobilisation, on a demandé aux participants d'examiner les options préparées par trois groupes de travail en vue d'appuyer l'établissement d'une nouvelle relation financière, et de fournir ensuite leurs commentaires à cet égard. Les commentaires reçus sur les options des groupes de travail ont été intégrés au rapport intitulé « Une nouvelle approche : Co-développement d'une nouvelle relation financière entre le Canada et les Premières Nations » (PDF 3,4 Mo, 54 pages). Nota : Si vous éprouvez des difficultés à ouvrir le document PDF, contactez-nous et nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous fournir le document dans un autre format

En outre, le Canada collabore avec les signataires des 22 ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale conclues avec les Premières Nations afin d'élaborer le cadre d'une nouvelle politique financière sur l'autonomie gouvernementale qui permettra à ces gouvernements de tirer profit du plein potentiel des ententes conclues.  

Liens connexes

Date de modification :