Summary Report on Recipient Audit Performed on Gitsegukla Indian Band

Name: Gitsegukla Indian Band
Location: British Columbia
Population: 413 on reserve; 1,000 total registered (Feb 2017)
Default status at time of audit: Recipient Managed and Recipient-Appointed Advisor (previously known as Co-Management)
Current default status: Third-Party Funding Agreement Management
Current Chief: William Blackwater
Time period covered by audit: April 1, 2011 to March 31, 2013
Amount of AANDC funding audited: $6,951,993

BACKGROUND

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC), formally known as Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC), selected the Gitsegukla Indian Band in British Columbia for a Recipient audit based on their 2011-12 risk assessment score and other risk factors.

The objective of the Recipient audit was to provide assurance that funding provided to the Recipient by Canada was spent for its intended purposes and was in compliance with the terms and conditions of the 2011-2012 and 2012-2013 Funding Agreements with INAC. The objective was achieved through:

Samson & Associates, an independent audit firm, was commissioned by INAC to undertake the Recipient audit. The audit procedures were performed on March 10, 2014 to March 20, 2014. The auditor gave a mix of no opinion and unqualified opinions for Grants, Set Contributions and Fixed Contributions, for the period of April 1, 2011 to March 31, 2013 under the financial terms and conditions of the Funding Agreements.

FINDINGS

The procedures performed identified that internal financial control processes are not properly put into place for program administration, financial management and reporting systems. As a result, the Recipient was unable to properly manage their expenditures in accordance with the Funding Agreements.

Governance by Chief and Council

The procedures performed identified opportunities to improve governance in support of programs funded by INAC. The controls surrounding governance were determined to be inadequate. A key recommendation was that the Recipient should take minutes of all Chief and Council meetings to maintain a record of decisions made by the Chief and Council. Another key recommendation was that the Recipient should provide Program Directors and Coordinators with their annual budget and a monthly summary of the corresponding expenses by program area and ensure that Directors and Coordinators are made accountable to manage their program budgets.

Band Management

The procedures performed identified areas where there are opportunities to improve band management in support of programs funded by INAC. The financial controls surrounding band management were determined to be inadequate. A key recommendation is that the recipient should update financial and operations policy manuals. In addition, it is recommended that the payroll register be approved by a manager with appropriate delegation. This will assist in ensuring that costs reported to INAC are supported by adequate documentation.

CURRENT STATUS

A copy of the final report has been sent to the Recipient. INAC and the Recipient are working together to address the findings.

Disclaimer: This audit summary was prepared based on information contained in a Recipient Audit Report on Gitsegukla Indian Band for INAC. The report produced for INAC is intended solely for the information and use of the Recipient and INAC Management. The audit summary only presents limited information on the general findings based on the audit procedures performed and does not provide information on the detailed procedures of findings. Consequently, this summary may not be appropriate for the purpose and use of the reader.

 
 
Date modified:

Rapport sommaire sur la vérification de bénéficiaire concernant la Gitsegukla Indian Band

Nom : Gitsegukla Indian Band
Lieu : Colombie Britannique
Population : 413 personnes vivant dans la réserve; 1 000 personnes inscrites au total (fév. 2017)
Situation de manquement au moment de la vérification : Bénéficiaire et Conseiller nommé par le bénéficiaire (précédemment connu comme cogestion)
Situation actuelle de manquement : Gestion par un séquestre-administrateur
Chef actuel : William Blackwater
Période visée par la vérification : Du 1er avril 2011 au 31 mars 2013
Montant du financement d'AADNC vérifié : 6 951 993 $

CONTEXTE

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC), autrefois appelé Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC), a choisi Gitsegukla Indian Band de la Colombie-Britannique pour faire l'objet d'une vérification de bénéficiaire en raison de son résultat à l'évaluation des risques 2011-2012 et d'autres facteurs de risque.

L'objectif de la vérification du bénéficiaire consistait à fournir l'assurance que le financement fourni au bénéficiaire par AANC a été dépensé aux fins prévues et en conformité avec les modalités des ententes de financement de 2011-2012 et de 2012-2013. Cet objectif a été atteint par deux moyens :

AANC a mandaté le cabinet de vérification indépendant Samson & Associates de procéder à la vérification du bénéficiaire. La vérification a été effectuée du 10 au 20 mars 2014. Les montants visés par la vérification, présentés en détail dans le rapport de vérification, représentent avec justesse, à tous les égards importants, les coûts admissibles pour la période allant du 1er avril 2011 au 31 mars 2013 selon les modalités de l'entente de financement et de ses modifications.

CONSTATATIONS

La vérification a permis de constater que la Première Nation n'appliquait pas correctement les processus internes de contrôle financier pour l'administration des programmes, la gestion financière et les systèmes de production de rapports. Le bénéficiaire ne répond pas aux attentes en termes de gestion adéquate des dépenses qu'il encoure conformément aux ententes de financement.

Gouvernance par le Chef et le Conseil

Les vérificateurs ont cerné des possibilités d'amélioration en ce qui a trait à la gouvernance à l'appui des programmes financés par AANC. Ils ont jugé que les mesures de contrôle de la gouvernance étaient inadéquates. Ils ont principalement recommandé au bénéficiaire de rédiger un procès-verbal de chaque réunion du Chef et du Conseil de manière à tenir à jour un compte rendu des décisions prises par ces derniers. De plus, il a été recommandé de communiquer aux directeurs et aux coordonnateurs des programmes leurs budgets annuels, ainsi qu'un résumé mensuel des dépenses correspondantes, par secteur de programme; et de s'assurer que les directeurs et coordonnateurs rendent compte de la gestion de leurs budgets de programme.

Gestion de la Bande

De plus, la vérification a permis de cerner des possibilités d'amélioration en ce qui a trait à la gestion de la Bande à l'appui des programmes financés par AANC. Les contrôles financiers liés à la gestion de la bande ont été jugés inadéquats. L'une des principales recommandations destinées au bénéficiaire consiste à mettre à jour les manuels sur les politiques financière et opérationnelle. Il est aussi recommandé de soumettre le registre de paie à l'approbation d'un gestionnaire détenant les pouvoirs délégués appropriés. Ces mesures contribueront à assurer que les coûts rapportés à AANC sont appuyés par des documents adéquats.

SITUATION ACTUELLE

Une copie du rapport final a été envoyée au bénéficiaire. AANC et le bénéficiaire travaillent conjointement pour donner suite à ces constatations.

Avertissement : Le présent rapport sommaire a été préparé en fonction des renseignements contenus dans le Rapport de vérification du bénéficiaire visant la Gitsegukla Indian Band pour le compte d'AANC. Le rapport produit pour AANC est réservé à l'utilisation du bénéficiaire et de la direction d'AANC. Le rapport sommaire ne présente qu'un portrait limité des constatations générales tirées de la vérification et ne fournit pas de détail sur le processus de vérification ou les constatations. Par conséquent, il pourrait ne pas convenir au but et à l'utilisation visés par le lecteur.

 
 
Date de modification :