Background on the Faro Mine Remediation Project

Learn about the Faro Mine Remediation Project.

On this page:

What is Faro Mine?

Faro Mine was once the largest open pit lead-zinc mine in the world. Today, it is the site of one of the biggest abandoned mine remediation projects in Canada.

It is located in south-central Yukon, near the Town of Faro, on the asserted Traditional Territory of Ross River Dena Council, Liard First Nation, and Kaska Dena Council and upstream of the Traditional Territory of the Selkirk First Nation. The Faro Mine site is 25 sq. km, an area that is roughly the size of the City of Victoria in British Columbia.

Processing the ore at the mine left behind 70 million tonnes of tailings and 320 million tonnes of waste rock, which have the potential to leach heavy metals and acid into the surrounding land and water. That's enough mining waste to cover 70 football fields, 1 meter deep.

Who is responsible for Faro Mine?

In 1998, after almost 30 years of mining, when the last owner declared bankruptcy, the Government of Canada stepped in to fund the work required to keep the site safe. Today, through a joint project team, the governments of Canada and Yukon are working to provide regular care and maintenance while a plan is developed to remediate the mine.

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) is leading the final design phase of the remediation plan. The Government of Yukon's Department of Energy, Mines and Resources is leading the ongoing care and maintenance of the mine site. All funding for these activities is provided through the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan. Both governments are working closely with the Kaska Faro Secretariat in all phases of the project.

The Devolution Transfer Agreement identifies the First Nations affected by the Faro Mine site as Ross River Dena Council, Liard First Nation, Kaska Dena Council and Selkirk First Nation. A key aspect in managing and remediation planning for the Faro Mine Remediation Project has been ongoing consultation and engagement with these First Nations.

A strong partnership with the Kaska Faro Secretariat

In partnership with the Government of Canada and the Government of Yukon, the Kaska Faro Secretariat was established in 2016 to represent the interests of Ross River Dena Council, Liard First Nation and the Kaska Dena Council in the Faro Mine Remediation Project. The secretariat coordinates Kaska participation in the planning process to further enable the Kaska to be an effective and contributing partner in all phases of the project.

Some of the Kaska Faro Secretariat activities include:

The objectives of remediation

What we're going to do

  1. protect human health and safety
  2. protect and, to the extent practicable, restore the environment including land, air, water, fish and wildlife
  3. return the mine site to an acceptable state of use that reflects pre-mining land use where practicable
  4. maximize local and Yukon socio-economic benefits
  5. manage long-term site risk in a cost-effective manner

The approach to remediation: the "stabilize in place" approach

How we're going to do it

Collect and treat contaminated water: the contaminated water management system will collect, store, transport and treat contaminated water. This system will help protect the downstream environment from contaminants found in seepage and groundwater.

Divert clean water: The clean water system will ensure that clean water is kept away from contaminated water. This will involve diversions and ditches, and may also include some settling or polishing ponds. Reducing the amount of clean water that becomes contaminated will be critical to reducing the volume of water and contaminants that need to be treated by the contaminated water management system.

Covers: Earth and rock covers will be placed across the site to keep ore, waste rock and tailings waste away from humans and wildlife. The covers will also reduce the infiltration of water into the affected areas and provide an area to support new vegetation growth. As with the diversion of clean water, reducing the volume of water and contaminants that are draining from the waste rock dumps and tailings areas will be important to decrease the amount of water needing to be treated.

Adaptive management: Adaptive management means being flexible. The Faro Mine site is complex and experience shows that it is impossible to foresee all problems that can arise. By monitoring the site, we can watch contaminant levels and take action if unacceptable levels of contaminants enter the downstream environment.

Urgent works projects

What are urgent works projects?

The remediation of the Faro Mine is a large and complex project and the development and implementation of a site clean-up will take many years. Two urgent works projects have been identified as needing immediate action in order to protect the health and safety of people and the environment. These projects include the North Fork of Rose Creek Realignment and the Down Valley Hydraulic Upgrades.

North Fork of Rose Creek realignment

Issue: Contaminated seepage with high levels of zinc that is draining from rocks near the intermediate and main waste rock dumps is impacting the North Fork of Rose Creek at some locations. As the waste rock dumps get older, it is expected that seepage will increase, which will damage water quality and impact fish and their habitat. Environment and Climate Change Canada has called for immediate attention to this issue.

Solution: The realignment of the creek will separate the clean surface and groundwater from the mine-impacted water via a realigned channel. This will result in a lower volume of impacted water which can be effectively captured and treated before being released to the environment.

Down Valley hydraulic upgrades

Issue: When Faro Mine was in operation, Rose Creek was diverted to accommodate the tailings that were created as part of the milling operation. The Rose Creek Diversion Channel and the tailing dams do not currently have the hydraulic capacity to successfully pass a probable maximum flood (a major flood event). This could lead to dam failure and a loss of tailings to the downstream environment. The hydraulic capacity of the down valley system must therefore be increased in order to safely pass a major flood while maintaining the physical stability of the dams. This includes upgrading the dam and building a spillway to divert water around the dam in extreme events.

Solution: The Down Valley Hydraulic Upgrades will increase the flow capacity to modern engineering standards.

Next steps: environmental and socio-economic assessment

Once the selected remediation approach is designed at a conceptual level and the environmental and socio-economic effects of the proposed remediation activities are assessed, then a project proposal summarizing the project and its effects is prepared and submitted to the Yukon Environmental and Socio-economic Assessment Board (YESAB). It is expected to be submitted to YESAB In spring 2018.

Timeline: Faro Mine Remediation Project

1998

  • Faro Mine is abandoned as Anvil Range Mining Corporation seeks protection under the Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act and enters into receivership
  • Deloitte and Touche is appointed by the court to manage the environmental care and maintenance of the mine site

2003

  • Devolution Transfer Agreement takes effect: Faro Mine identified as a shared responsibility between the Government of Yukon and the Government of Canada
  • an oversight committee is formed involving key representatives from the Government of Yukon, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, Kaska and Selkirk First Nations to help develop the Faro Mine remediation plan

2002–2004

  • technical studies begin and continue until 2008 to better understand potential issues at the mine site
  • technical consultation sessions are held to gather input from First Nation communities, the Town of Faro, subject-matter experts, governments, and regulatory agencies

2005

  • the project objectives are selected 12 ‘sample remediation alternatives' are developed which represent the full spectrum of remediation options that are technically possible for the site

2006–2008

  • the remediation options are refined following a series of consultation sessions involving the Kaska, Selkirk First Nation, the Town of Faro, governments, and regulatory agencies and scrutiny by independent experts

2009

  • Government of Yukon takes over responsibility for care and maintenance at the site from Deloitte and Touche, the interim receiver
  • groundwater with high levels of zinc is discovered near a waste rock dump and a system is installed to collect this water for treatment
  • the remediation option is selected and signed off by Canada, Yukon government, the Kaska and Selkirk First Nation
  • public meetings are held to present the remediation approach selected in Faro, Ross River, Pelly Crossing, Watson Lake and Whitehorse

2010

  • Grum sulphide cell constructed with engineered covers to protect environment from contaminants

2010–2015

  • project status updates are provided in communities, primarily relating to onsite care and maintenance activities, while the remediation plan is developed

2011

  • contractor hired to work on research to help with remediation plan design

2013

  • old water treatment plant closed due to health and safety concerns

2015

  • new state-of-the-art water treatment plant in operation
  • seepage collection system installed at the North Fork Rose Creek as a temporary measure to reduce zinc levels in water

2016

  • the Kaska Faro Secretariat is established to coordinate Kaska Nation's participation and interests in the remediation planning process
  • contractors hired to work on regulatory applications and design plans for urgent works and remediation

2017

  • public consultation on key aspects of the environmental and socio-economic assessment process, potential effects and proposed mitigations required for site remediation is initiated with First Nations, Yukoners and other stakeholders

2018

  • construction begins on North Fork Rose Creek diversion
  • environmental assessment process begins
  • remediation plan design at 30% and detailed design work begins

2019

  • construction begins on Down Valley hydraulic upgrade
  • water licence application submitted

2021

  • all regulatory authorizations issued
  • remediation plan design complete
  • construction manager hired for site remediation

2022

  • site remediation begins

History of the Faro Mine site

1953

  • the Vangorda deposit is discovered

1964

  • the Faro deposit is discovered

1969

  • Anvil Mining Corporation begins production at Faro Mine

1973

  • the Grum deposit is found

1982

  • due to low metal prices, mining operations cease

1985

  • Curragh Resources Inc. acquires the property and reactivates the mine facilities

1988

  • development begins at the Vangorda Plateau sites

1990

  • mining begins at the Vangorda Plateau

1993

  • Curragh Resources Inc. is placed into receivership and operations cease

1994

  • Anvil Mining Corporation takes over the mine and resumes mining operations at Vangorda and Grum

1998

  • with the mining of Vangorda deposit complete, Anvil Range Mining Corporation seeks protection under the companies' Creditors Arrangement Act and enters into receivership 
  • Deloitte and Touche, appointed by the court, manages the environmental care and maintenance of the mine site

Key terms

Diversion:  an artificial channel that changes the natural course of a creek or stream. There are three major diversions at the Faro Mine site:

  1.  Faro Creek diversion is a rock-lined channel that allows Faro Creek to flow around the edge of Faro pit.
  2.  Vangorda Creek diversion is a metal half-culvert that allows Vangorda Creek to flow around the edge of Vangorda pit.
  3.  Rose Creek diversion is a 5km long channel that diverts Rose Creek around the tailings storage area.

Milling:  the process used to separate metals from ore. The first stage of the milling process involves crushing and grinding the ore into sand-sized particles. The ground-up ore is then processed in flotation cells. This flotation process uses both chemicals and air to separate the metal containing minerals from the crushed-up ore and produces a concentrate. At Faro, the metal concentrates were transported to a smelter outside of the Yukon for further processing.

Ore: rock containing sufficient quantities of metals or other minerals that make it valuable for mining. The ore at the Faro Mine site contained valuable quantities of lead, zinc, gold and silver. During 29 years of operation, over 70 million tonnes of ore was removed from the ground and processed.

Pit:  a large hole created when ore and waste rock is removed from the ground. The Faro Mine site contains three pits: Faro, Vangorda and Grum. Faro pit is the oldest and largest, covering an area of approximately 1 sq km.

Probable maximum flood:  the largest flood that could conceivably occur at a particular location, usually estimated from probable maximum precipitation, including snow melt, coupled with the worst flood producing catchment conditions.

Remediation plan:  a plan that outlines a specific work intended to address existing and anticipated impacts of a contaminated site.

Tailings:  the waste material left after metals have been removed from ore by the milling process.

Urgent works: specific components of the remediation plan deemed urgent and requiring implementation ahead of the overall remediation plan schedule.

Waste rock:  rock of little economic value that must be removed to access the ore at Faro, for every one tonne of ore mined, four tonnes of waste rock had to be removed; this resulted in nearly 320 million tonnes of waste rock during 29 years of operation.

Date modified:

Renseignements généraux concernant le projet de restauration de la mine Faro

Informations sur le projet de restauration de la mine Faro.

Sur cette page :

Qu'est-ce que la mine Faro?

La mine Faro a déjà été l'une des plus grandes mines de plomb et de zinc à ciel ouvert du monde. Aujourd'hui, c'est le site de l'un des projets de restauration de mines abandonnées parmi les plus importants au Canada.

La mine se trouve dans le centre sud du Yukon, près de la ville de Faro, sur le territoire traditionnel revendiqué par le Conseil des Dénés de Ross River, la Première Nation de Liard et le Conseil des Dénés de Kaska et en amont du territoire traditionnel de la Première Nation de Selkirk. La mine Faro couvre une superficie de 25 kilomètres carrés, une superficie comparable à la taille de la ville de Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique.

Le traitement du minerai à la mine Faro a laissé 70 millions de tonnes de résidus et 320 millions de tonnes de stériles, lesquels peuvent laisser filtrer les métaux lourds et les acides dans les terres et les eaux environnantes. Cette quantité de déchets miniers suffirait pour recouvrir 70 terrains de football de 1 mètre d'épaisseur.

Qui est responsable de la mine Faro?

En 1998, après près de 30 années d'exploitation minière, le dernier propriétaire de la mine a déclaré faillite, contraignant le gouvernement du Canada à intervenir afin de financer les travaux nécessaires pour assurer la sécurité du site. Aujourd'hui, grâce à une équipe de projet mixte, les gouvernements du Canada et du Yukon travaillent à assurer une maintenance et un entretien réguliers pendant l'élaboration d'un plan visant à restaurer ce site minier.

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) supervise la dernière phase de mise au point du plan de restauration. Le ministère de l'Énergie, des Mines et des Ressources du gouvernement du Yukon est le principal organisme gouvernemental responsable de la maintenance et de l'entretien continus du site minier. Le financement pour ces activités est fourni en totalité par le Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux. Les deux gouvernements travaillent en étroite collaboration avec le Secrétariat Kaska Faro dans toutes les phases du projet.

Selon l'entente sur le transfert des responsabilités, les Premières Nations touchées sont le Conseil des Dénés de Ross River, la Première Nation de Liard, le Conseil des Dénés de Kaska et la Première Nation de Selkirk. Un aspect clé de la gestion et de la planification du projet de restauration de la mine Faro réside dans la consultation et la mobilisation continues de ces Premières Nations.

Un partenariat solide avec le Secrétariat Kaska Faro

En partenariat avec le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Yukon, le Secrétariat Kaska Faro a été mis sur pied en 2016 pour représenter les intérêts du Conseil des Dénés de Ross River, de la Première Nation de Liard et du Conseil des Dénés Kaska dans le projet de restauration du site de la mine Faro. Le secrétariat coordonne la participation de la Nation Kaska au processus de planification afin de lui permettre d'être un partenaire efficace et important à toutes les étapes du projet.

Le Secrétariat Kaska Faro s'acquitte d'activités diverses, notamment :

Les objectifs de la restauration

Ce que nous allons faire

  1. Protéger la santé et la sécurité de la population
  2. Protéger et, dans la mesure du possible, restaurer l'environnement, dont les terres, l'air, l'eau, les ressources en poisson et les espèces sauvages
  3. Remettre le site minier dans un état d'utilisation acceptable qui cadre, dans la mesure du possible, avec l'utilisation faite des terres avant l'exploitation minière
  4. Maximiser les avantages socioéconomiques pour la localité et le Yukon
  5. Gérer de façon rentable le risque à long terme que représente le site

Approche retenue dans le cadre du projet de restauration : la stabilisation

Comment allons-nous procéde

Recueillir et traiter l'eau contaminée : le système de gestion de l'eau contaminée recueillera, entreposera, transportera et traitera l'eau contaminée. Il aidera à protéger le milieu en aval des contaminants retrouvés dans les eaux d'exfiltration et les eaux souterraines.

Détourner l'eau propre : le système d'eau non contaminée fera en sorte que l'eau propre n'entre pas en contact avec l'eau contaminée par divers moyens, par exemple des dérivations et des fossés de drainage, et peut être aussi des bassins de décantation ou de polissage. Pour réduire le volume d'eau et de contaminants devant être traités par le système de gestion de l'eau contaminée, il sera impératif de réduire en premier lieu la quantité d'eau propre qui devient contaminée.

Recouvrir : le site dans son ensemble sera recouvert de terre et de roches afin d'éviter tout contact des humains et de la faune avec le minerai, les stériles et les résidus. Le recouvrement permettra également de réduire les infiltrations d'eau dans les zones contaminées et de favoriser la croissance d'une nouvelle végétation. Comme c'est le cas pour le détournement de l'eau propre, il sera important de réduire le volume d'eau et de contaminants qui s'écoulent des dépôts de stériles et des zones de résidus afin qu'une quantité moins grande d'eau doive être traitée.

Adopter une gestion adaptative : on entend par gestion adaptative une gestion tout en souplesse. Le site de la mine Faro est complexe, et l'expérience démontre qu'il est impossible d'anticiper tous les problèmes susceptibles de se présenter. La surveillance du site nous permet de suivre de près les niveaux de contaminants et de prendre les mesures qui s'imposent si des niveaux de contaminants inacceptables pénètrent dans l'environnement en aval.

Projets de travaux urgents

Quels sont les projets de travaux urgents?

Le projet de restauration de la mine Faro est un projet complexe de grande envergure, et la planification et la réalisation des activités de nettoyage du site nécessiteront plusieurs années. Cela dit, deux projets urgents en particulier doivent être réalisés dans les plus brefs délais si nous voulons protéger la santé et la sécurité de la population et l'environnement. Ces projets comprennent la dérivation de la branche nord du ruisseau Rose et des mises à niveau des systèmes hydrauliques dans la vallée de Down.

Dérivation de la branche nord du ruisseau Rose

Problème : les eaux d'exfiltration contaminées contenant une forte teneur en zinc qui s'écoulent à proximité des dépôts de stériles intermédiaires et principaux ont des effets néfastes sur la branche nord du ruisseau Rose en certains endroits. Ces eaux d'exfiltration vont sans doute gagner en volume au fur et à mesure que les dépôts de stériles prennent de l'âge, ce qui compromettra la qualité de l'eau et aura des répercussions sur le poisson et son habitat. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada demande que des mesures immédiates soient prises pour remédier à ce problème.

Solution : la dérivation du ruisseau permettra de séparer l'eau de surface et l'eau souterraine propre de l'eau contaminée par la mine en lui faisant suivre une nouvelle voie. Ainsi, le volume d'eau contaminée sera moindre et pourra être recueilli et traité de façon plus efficace, avant d'être retourné dans l'environnement.

Mises à niveau des systèmes hydrauliques dans la vallée de Down

Problème : à l'époque où la mine Faro était en exploitation, le ruisseau Rose a été détourné afin qu'une zone soit aménagée pour entreposer les résidus miniers. Le canal de dérivation du ruisseau Rose et les ouvrages de retenue des résidus n'ont pas, à l'heure actuelle, la capacité hydraulique nécessaire pour résister à une crue maximale probable (une inondation majeure), ce qui risquerait d'entraîner une rupture du barrage et la perte de résidus en aval. Il faut donc augmenter la capacité hydraulique de ces ouvrages afin qu'il puisse résister à une inondation majeure tout en préservant leur stabilité physique. À cette fin, il faut notamment mettre à niveau le barrage et construire un déversoir pour dévier l'eau autour de celui-ci en cas d'événements extrêmes.

Solution : les mises à niveau des systèmes hydrauliques de la vallée de Down permettront d'accroître la capacité de débit conformément aux normes techniques modernes.

Prochaine étape : évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique

Une fois que l'approche retenue dans le cadre du projet de restauration en sera à l'étape de la conception et que les effets environnementaux et socioéconomiques des activités de restauration proposées auront été évalués, une proposition de projet qui explique dans l'ensemble le projet et ses répercussions sera élaborée et présentée à l'Office d'évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique du Yukon (l'Office). Ce document devrait être transmis à l'Office au printemps 2018 selon les estimations.

Calendrier : Projet de restauration de la mine Faro

1998

  • abandon de la mine Faro, alors que l'Anvil Range Mining Corporation demande la protection de la Loi sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies et est placée sous séquestre
  • responsabilité de l'entretien et de la maintenance du complexe minier confiée par la cour à Deloitte et Touche

2003

  • entrée en vigueur de l'Entente sur le transfert des responsabilités : la mine Faro est désignée comme une responsabilité partagée entre le gouvernement du Yukon et le gouvernement du Canada
  • création d'un comité de surveillance composé de représentants clés du gouvernement du Yukon, d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada, et des Premières Nations Kaska et Selkirk afin de contribuer à la mise sur pied du plan de restauration de la mine Faro

2002-2004

  • début d'études techniques qui se poursuivront jusqu'en 2008 afin de mieux comprendre les enjeux potentiels sur le site de la mine
  • tenue de séances de consultation technique afin de recueillir des renseignements auprès des communautés des Premières Nations, de la ville de Faro, d'experts en la matière, de gouvernements et d'organismes de réglementation

2005

  • détermination des objectifs du projet
  • élaboration de 12 « propositions d'options de restauration » qui représentent tout l'éventail des options de restauration techniquement réalisables pour le site

2006-2008

  • les options de restauration sont peaufinées à la suite d'une série de séances de consultation avec la Nation Kaska, la Première Nation de Selkirk, la ville de Faro, les gouvernements et les organismes de réglementation et d'un examen par des experts indépendants

2009

  • prise en charge par le gouvernement du Yukon de l'entretien et de la maintenance du site qui incombait auparavant à Deloitte et Touche, le séquestre intérimaire
  • découverte d'une forte contamination de zinc dans les eaux souterraines près d'un dépôt de stériles et installation d'un système de collecte de cette eau aux fins de traitement
  • choix et approbation de l'option de restauration par le Canada, le gouvernement du Yukon, la Nation de Kaska et la Première Nation de Selkirk
  • tenue de réunions publiques à Faro, Ross River, Pelly Crossing, Watson Lake et Whitehorse afin de présenter l'approche de restauration retenue

2010

  • pour protéger l'environnement des contaminants, construction d'un recouvrement sur une cellule du dépôt de stérile du secteur Grum contenant des stériles à haute teneur en sulfure

2010-2015

  • des mises à jour sur l'avancement du projet sont communiquées aux communautés, principalement en ce qui a trait aux activités d'entretien et de maintenance, pendant que le plan de restauration est mis au point

2011

  • embauche d'un consultant pour examiner les solutions possibles et aider à la conception du plan de restauration

2013

  • fermeture de l'ancienne usine de traitement des eaux en raison de préoccupations liées à la santé et à la sécurité

2015

  • mise en service d'une nouvelle usine de traitement des eaux à la fine pointe de la technologie
  • mise en place d'un système de collecte des eaux d'exfiltration à la branche nord du ruisseau Rose à titre de mesure temporaire pour réduire la teneur en zinc dans l'eau

2016

  • établissement du Secrétariat Kaska Faro pour coordonner la participation et les intérêts de la Nation Kaska dans le processus de planification de restauration du site
  • embauche des consultants pour les travaux liés aux applications réglementaires et aux plans de conception pour la restauration et les travaux urgents

2017

  • les consultations publiques sur les principaux aspects du processus d'évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique, les effets potentiels et les mesures d'atténuation proposées qui sont requises pour la restauration du site ont été amorcées auprès des Premières Nations, des résidents du Yukon et d'autres intervenants

2018

  • début de la construction de la dérivation de la branche nord du ruisseau Rose
  • début du processus d'évaluation environnementale
  • achèvement à 30 % des travaux liés à la conception du plan de restauration et début des travaux de conception détaillée

2019

  • début de la mise à niveau des systèmes hydrauliques dans la vallée de Down
  • présentation de la demande de permis d'exploitation hydraulique

2021

  • délivrance de toutes les autorisations réglementaires
  • achèvement de la conception du plan de restauration
  • embauche du directeur des travaux de construction pour la restauration du site

2022

  • début de la restauration du site

Histoire du site de la mine de Faro

1953

  • découverte du gisement Vangorda

1964

  • découverte du gisement Faro

1969

  • début de la production à la mine Faro, par Anvil Mining Corporation

1973

  • découverte du gisement Grum

1982

  • arrêt de l'exploitation minière en raison des faibles prix des métaux

1985

  • acquisition de la propriété et reprise de l'exploitation minière par Curragh Resources Inc.

1988

  • début de l'aménagement au plateau Vangorda

1990

  • début de l'exploitation minière au plateau Vangorda

1993

  • mise sous séquestre de Curragh Resources Inc. et arrêt de l'exploitation

1994

  • reprise du complexe minier par Anvil Range Mining Corporation et des activités aux sites de Vangorda et Grum

1998

  • par suite de l'arrêt de l'exploitation du gisement Vangorda, Anvil Range Mining Corporation demande la protection de la Loi sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies et est placée sous séquestre
  • la responsabilité de l'entretien et de la maintenance du complexe minier est confiée par la cour à Deloitte et Touche

Termes clés

Dérivation :  voie artificielle qui change le cours naturel d'un ruisseau ou d'un cours d'eau. On compte trois grands canaux de dérivation au complexe minier Faro :

  1.  Celui du ruisseau Faro, qui est une voie creusée dans le roc permettant au ruisseau Faro de contourner la fosse du même nom;
  2.  Celui du ruisseau Vangorda, qui est un demi-ponceau de métal permettant de détourner le ruisseau Vangorda et de lui faire contourner la fosse du même nom;
  3.  Celui du ruisseau Rose, qui est un canal de cinq kilomètres de long détournant le ruisseau Rose pour qu'il contourne la zone de stockage des résidus.

Traitement du minerai : processus utilisé pour séparer les métaux du minerai. La première étape du processus, le broyage, consiste à concasser et à réduire le minerai en particules fines comme du sable. Le minerai broyé est ensuite traité dans des cellules de flottation. La flottation utilise à la fois des produits chimiques et l'air pour séparer les minéraux métallifères et le minerai broyé et produire un concentré. À la mine Faro, les concentrés de minerai étaient transportés à une fonderie située à l'extérieur du Yukon pour subir la prochaine étape de transformation.

Minerai :   roche qui contient des quantités suffisantes de métaux ou de minerais pour permettre l'extraction rentable. Le minerai à la mine Faro contenait des quantités précieuses de plomb, de zinc, d'or et d'argent. Pendant les 29 années de l'activité d'exploitation du site, plus de 70 millions de tonnes de minerai ont été extraites du sol et traitées.

Fosse :   grand trou créé lorsque le minerai et les stériles sont extraits du sol. Le complexe minier Faro compte trois fosses : Faro, Vangorda et Grum. La fosse Faro est la plus ancienne et la plus grande et sa superficie est d'environ un kilomètre carré.

Crue maximale probable :  l'inondation la plus importante qui pourrait en théorie se produire à un endroit précis, habituellement estimée à partir des précipitations maximales probables, fonte des neiges comprise, conjuguées aux pires conditions de captage de l'eau diluvienne.

Plan de restauration :  plan qui définit des travaux précis prévus pour remédier aux effets actuels et anticipés d'un site contaminé.

Résidus :  déchets produits par l'extraction des métaux par le traitement du minerai.

Travaux urgents :  composantes précises du plan de restauration considérées comme étant urgentes et nécessitant une mise en œuvre avant le début du plan de restauration de l'ensemble du site.

Stériles :  roche de faible valeur économique qu'il faut enlever pour accéder au minerai. À la mine Faro, pour chaque tonne de minerai extrait, quatre tonnes de stériles devaient être enlevées, ce qui explique les quelque 320 millions de tonnes de stériles accumulées au fil des 29 années d'exploitation de la mine.

Date de modification :