Transparency and accountability engagement: What we heard

Summaries of the face-to-face meetings for the engagement on a way forward with First Nations on mutual financial transparency and accountability will be posted here. These meetings are designed to seek input from First Nations leadership and organizations on the way forward for mutual transparency and accountability.

On this page

Saskatoon, SK: April 5, 2017

Participants

Approximately 11 participants attended this engagement session. The participants were elected and administrative First Nation leaders and tribal council officials. Individuals from the following First Nations and First Nation organizations were present:

  • James Smith Cree Nation (Chakastaypasin)
  • Whitecap Dakota First Nation
  • Ahtahkakoop Cree Nation
  • Fond du Lac Denesuline First Nation
  • The Key First Nation
  • Kinistin Saulteaux Nation
  • Big River First Nation

Priorities and key issues discussed

Here is a brief summary of what was heard at the Saskatoon, SK engagement session:

  • More background context is needed to help inform Canadians on the reality of managing a First Nations community.
  • The federal government should come to an agreement with First Nations on what information should and should not be shared with the Canadian public.
  • INAC should add additional measures to ensure the accuracy of information it shares with the media on First Nations.
  • First Nation reporting requirements should either be reduced or First Nations should be given additional funding to increase their staff and help pay for audit costs so that they can better meet current reporting requirements.
  • First Nation reporting requirements, particularly their reporting requirements to their membership, should be tailored in a manner that allows the majority of members without an accounting background to easily understand the financial information of their communities.
  • The reporting requirements should be generally consistent amongst First Nations, regardless of the size or complexity of their operations.
  • First Nations should communicate financial results to their membership rather than membership having to request this information from INAC.
  • The manner in which First Nations communicate financial results to their membership should be flexible, as long as the information is accurate and clearly demonstrates how the First Nation administration is using the funding.
  • There may be a role for a financial transparency law to support First Nation financial reporting to membership, although there was no consensus on the type or level of reporting, and whether that reporting should be disclosed to the general public. It was not specified what role First Nations governments, First Nation organizations, or the Federal Government would play in the enactment, implementation and regulation of such a law.
  • INAC and First Nations should work together to develop specific outcomes/results relative to the funding provided to their communities. Adding results-based information would make financial reporting more meaningful.

Fort Qu'Appelle, SK: April 10, 2017

Participants

Approximately 13 participants attended this engagement session. The participants were elected and administrative First Nation leaders and tribal council officials. Individuals from the following First Nations and First Nation organizations were present:

  • Muskowekwan First Nation
  • Piapot Cree Nation
  • Yorkton Tribal Council
  • Sakimay First Nation
  • Fishing Lake First Nation
  • Kahkewistahaw First Nation

Priorities and key issues discussed

Here is a brief summary of what was heard at the Fort Qu'Appelle, SK engagement session:

  • INAC should clearly communicate to First Nations why the federal government collects certain financial information and for what other purposes it may be used.
  • First Nations should disclose financial information to their membership and to the federal government, but should not be obligated to publish audited consolidated financial statements on a public website.
  • INAC should explore options to support financial training for First Nations members, which could assist them in holding their governments to account.
  • First Nations should be given more time to review annual funding agreements and to plan for new projects or initiatives.
  • INAC should reduce reporting requirements for First Nations who have demonstrated they are low-risk funding recipients.
  • First Nations should be given the opportunity to develop their own unique financial transparency laws.
  • First Nations should be provided flexibility in how they communicate financial information to their membership.
  • If communities were to pursue their own financial transparency laws, an appeal mechanism would be necessary in the event of non-compliance from First Nations. It was not specified what this mechanism would entail exactly, but could include involvement by the federal government or a First Nation institution.
  • The Government of Canada's accountability requirements to the Canadian public must be balanced with First Nations' requirement to have control over their own information. As an example, First Nations should provide an audit of all federal funding to the federal government for public disclosure, and another audit to their membership that includes own-source revenue.
  • The federal government should clarify how much funding devoted to First Nations is actually spent on federal overhead and administrative costs to provide better context to the Canadian public on the extent to which funding can reasonably be expected to achieve outcomes in First Nations communities.
  • First Nations should only be held accountable for the results in their communities to the extent that they receive sufficient funding to deliver on the expected outcomes.
  • The federal government should proactively disclose more of the salary and travel expenses of federal public servants.
  • INAC should explore the option of a First Nations ombudsman (either regional or community-specific positions).

Miramichi, NB: April 10, 2017

Participants

Approximately 14 participants attended this engagement session. The participants were elected and administrative First Nation leaders. Individuals from the following First Nations and First Nation organizations were present:

  • Buctouche Band
  • Metepenagiag Mi'kmaq Nation
  • Fort Folly Band
  • Eel Ground Band
  • Esgenoopetitj First Nation
  • Pabineau Band
  • Eel River Bar First Nation

Priorities and key issues discussed

Here is a brief summary of what was heard at the Miramichi, NB engagement session:

  • First Nations have no objection to reporting to the public and to their membership on INAC funding. However, INAC should provide First Nations with more resources to support the time and effort required to report financial information that is clear and easy to understand.
  • INAC needs to be clearer on the level of detail and content required from First Nations when reporting on federal funding.
  • INAC should support the capacity of First Nations to generate their financial reports in order to reduce the administrative burden on First Nations governments.
  • INAC should increase support to First Nations self-governance, as recognized in treaties, so that First Nations can administer their own financial processes and requirements.
  • First Nation policies and practices should be taken into account when developing a transparency and accountability framework.
  • INAC should follow the recommendations outlined in previous auditor general reports, specifically in regards to addressing on-reserve needs.
  • INAC and First Nations should develop a mutually-agreeable approach to arrive at funding decisions collaboratively.
  • First Nation community members and the general public need to be continually educated on First Nation funding and spending to avoid misinterpretations.
  • Small First Nations with limited complexity of operations should have reduced reporting requirements as compared to larger First Nation communities.
  • There should be flexibility in how First Nations communicate financial results to their membership. Information also needs to be communicated in a way that is easy for their membership to understand.
  • First Nations should report to INAC solely on INAC funding. Funding received from other government departments should not be included in an INAC audit.
  • As part of a nation-to-nation relationship, the federal government should fund First Nations at the same level as the provinces, ensure an open dialogue, formally recognize First Nations, and honour all treaty agreements.
  • First Nations should be required to follow the same reporting standards as the provinces.
  • INAC should not develop new First Nations institutions until there is further clarification regarding their proposed structure, source of funding, and reporting framework. There was concern that the creation of additional First Nations institutions could lead to a reduction in funding to First Nations or an increase in their reporting burden.
  • There is no role for existing advocacy organizations to play in supporting First Nations transparency and accountability.
  • There may be a role for a federal financial transparency law if it is developed collaboratively with First Nations.

Meadow Lake, SK: April 20, 2017

Participants

Approximately eight participants attended this engagement session. The participants were elected and administrative First Nation leaders and tribal council officials. Individuals from the following First Nations and First Nation organizations were present:

  • Meadow Lake Tribal Council
  • Onion Lake Cree Nation
  • Waterhen Lake First Nation

Priorities and key issues discussed

Here is a brief summary of what was heard at the Meadow Lake, SK engagement session:

  • As part of a nation-to-nation relationship, INAC should be more accountable to First Nations in terms of the provision of adequate funding to support programs and services, and other policy and funding decisions taken.
  • First Nations should only be held accountable for the performance of their programs to the extent that they receive sufficient funding to deliver on their expected outcomes.
  • INAC should prioritize addressing social issues impacting First Nation communities, such as housing and education. Better transparency and accountability will follow.
  • In order to better respond to community needs, First Nations' funding agreements should be more flexible and should provide First Nations with greater control over how they spend federal funding.
  • INAC should provide First Nations with more funding and resources to help increase their financial management capacity, as well as to support them in meeting current reporting requirements. These investments towards capacity development would help support First Nations in being transparent and accountable to their membership.
  • Participants registered concern that the First Nations Financial Transparency Act was put in place to address a problem with a small number of First Nations, where capacity development may have had stronger results.
  • First Nation policies and practices should be taken into account when developing a transparency and accountability framework.
  • First Nation financial reporting requirements should be developed on a nation-to-nation basis between the federal government and First Nations.
  • There may be a role for new First Nation institutions. However, there was concern that the creation of additional First Nation institutions could lead to a reduction in funding to First Nations, or duplicate existing First Nation oversight and assurance functions.
  • The Office of the Treaty Commissioner should be strengthened and be more involved in discussions with the federal government.
Date modified:

Mobilisation sur la transparence et la reddition de comptes mutuelles : Ce que nous avons entendu

Les comptes rendus des réunions en personne visant à mobiliser les Premières Nations sur la marche à suivre en matière de transparence financière et de reddition de comptes mutuelles seront publiés ici.

Sur cette page

Saskatoon (Saskatchewan) : 5 avril 2017

Participants

Quelque 11 participants ont assisté à la séance de mobilisation. Il s'agissait de dirigeants administratifs et d'élus des Premières Nations et de représentants de conseils tribaux. Personnes des Premières Nations et les organisations des Premières Nations suivantes étaient présentes :

  • Nation crie de James Smith (Chakastaypasin)
  • Première Nation dakota de Whitecap
  • Nation crie d'Ahtahkakoop
  • Première Nation dénésuline de Fond-du-Lac
  • Première Nation de Key
  • Première Nation des Saulteaux de Kinistin
  • Première Nation des Cris de Big River

Priorités et principaux enjeux ayant fait l'objet de discussions

Voici un résumé de ce qui a été dit lors de la séance de mobilisation de Saskatoon, en Saskatchewan :

  • Il faut fournir davantage de contexte aux Canadiens pour leur expliquer la réalité de la gestion d'une collectivité des Premières Nations.
  • Le gouvernement fédéral devrait convenir avec les Premières Nations de l'information qui peut ou ne peut pas être diffusée à la population canadienne.
  • AINC devrait prendre des mesures additionnelles pour veiller à l'exactitude de l'information communiquée aux médias au sujet des Premières Nations.
  • Les exigences en matière de rapports des Premières Nations devraient être réduites, ou les Premières Nations devraient recevoir des fonds accrus pour embaucher du personnel et assumer les frais d'audit nécessaires pour s'assurer de satisfaire aux exigences actuelles.
  • Les rapports exigés des Premières Nations, en particulier les rapports qui doivent être soumis aux membres, devraient être conçus de façon à ce qu'une majorité de membres n'ayant pas de connaissances en comptabilité puissent facilement comprendre l'information financière relative à leur collectivité.
  • Les exigences de rapports devraient être généralement uniformes entre les Premières Nations, peu importe l'ampleur ou la complexité de leurs activités.
  • Les membres devraient être informés des résultats financiers par leur Première Nation, et non avoir à demander ces renseignements à AINC.
  • Il faut offrir de la souplesse aux Premières Nations quant à la façon dont elles peuvent communiquer les résultats financiers à leurs membres, pour autant que les renseignements soient exacts et que l'utilisation des fonds par l'administration de la Première Nation soit clairement expliquée.
  • Il pourrait être pertinent d'établir des dispositions législatives sur la transparence financière à l'appui des rapports financiers que les Premières Nations doivent présenter à leurs membres; toutefois, les participants ne sont pas parvenus à s'entendre sur la nature des rapports à produire, sur l'ampleur de ceux‑ci ni sur la question de savoir si ces rapports doivent être divulgués au grand public ou non. En outre, ils n'ont pas précisé quel serait le rôle des gouvernements et des organisations des Premières Nations ou du gouvernement fédéral pour ce qui est d'édicter, de mettre en œuvre et de gérer de telles dispositions.
  • AINC et les Premières Nations devraient travailler ensemble à définir des résultats et extrants particuliers en ce qui concerne le financement des collectivités. L'ajout d'information axée sur les résultats devrait rendre les rapports financiers plus significatifs.

Fort Qu'Appelle (Saskatchewan) : 10 avril 2017

Participants

Quelque 13 participants ont assisté à la séance de mobilisation. Il s'agissait de dirigeants administratifs et d'élus des Premières Nations et de représentants de conseils tribaux. Des membres des Premières Nations et des organisations des Premières Nations suivantes étaient présentes :

  • Première Nation de Muskowekwan
  • Nation des Cris de Piapot
  • Conseil tribal de Yorkton
  • Première Nation de Sakimay
  • Première Nation de Fishing Lake
  • Première Nation de Kahkewistahaw

Priorités et principaux enjeux ayant fait l'objet de discussions

Voici un résumé de ce qui a été dit lors de la séance de mobilisation de Fort Qu'Appelle, en Saskatchewan :

  • Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) doit clairement communiquer aux Premières Nations les raisons pour lesquelles le gouvernement fédéral recueille certains renseignements financiers et expliquer à quelles autres fins ces renseignements pourraient servir.
  • Les Premières Nations doivent divulguer l'information financière à leurs membres et au gouvernement fédéral, mais elles ne sont pas obligées de publier les états financiers vérifiés sur un site Web public.
  • AANC devrait envisager diverses options visant à appuyer financièrement de la formation offerte aux membres des Premières Nations, ce qui pourrait les aider à tenir leurs gouvernements responsables.
  • Les Premières Nations devraient se voir attribuer plus de temps pour passer en revue les ententes de financement annuelles et pour planifier de nouveaux projets ou initiatives.
  • AANC devrait réduire les exigences en matière d'élaboration de rapports pour les Premières Nations bénéficiaires ayant démontré qu'elles présentent un risque faible.
  • Les Premières Nations devraient avoir la possibilité d'élaborer leurs propres lois sur la transparence financière.
  • On devrait offrir une plus grande souplesse aux Premières Nations dans leur façon de communiquer les renseignements financiers à leurs membres.
  • S'il est déterminé que les collectivités assurent leurs propres lois sur la transparence financière, un mécanisme d'appel serait nécessaire en cas de non-conformité des Premières Nations. On n'a pas précisé exactement en quoi consisterait le mécanisme, mais on pourrait demander au gouvernement fédéral ou un établissement des Premières Nations d'y participer.
  • Les exigences en matière de responsabilisation du gouvernement du Canada à l'égard du public canadien doivent être équilibrées avec la nécessité pour les Premières Nations d'exercer un contrôle sur leurs propres renseignements. À titre d'exemple, les Premières Nations devraient fournir une vérification de l'aide financière provenant du gouvernement fédéral et divulguer les renseignements au public, alors qu'une autre vérification des revenus autonomes serait destinée aux membres.
  • Le gouvernement fédéral doit préciser la part des fonds offerts aux Premières Nations qui sert en réalité à financer les coûts directs et administratifs afin de fournir une meilleure mise en contexte au public canadien sur la mesure dans laquelle on peut raisonnablement s'attendre à atteindre des résultats dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.
  • Les Premières Nations devraient être tenues responsables des résultats dans leurs collectivités dans la mesure où elles reçoivent suffisamment de fonds pour pouvoir produire les résultats attendus.
  • Le gouvernement fédéral devrait divulguer de manière proactive les dépenses salariales et les frais de déplacement des fonctionnaires fédéraux.
  • AANC doit étudier la possibilité d'avoir un ombudsman des Premières Nations (soit dans les régions, soit dans des collectivités précises).

Miramichi, N.-B. : 10 avril 2017

Participants

Environ 14 participants ont assisté à cette séance de mobilisation. Ils étaient des membres élus et des administrateurs non élus des Premières Nations. Des participants des Premières Nations et des organisations suivantes étaient présents :

  • Bande de Buctouche
  • Nation Mi'kmaq de Metepenagiag
  • Bande de Fort Folly
  • Bande d'Eel Ground
  • Première Nation d'Esgenoopetitj
  • Bande de Pabineau
  • Première Nation d'Eel River Bar

Priorités et questions clés dont il a été question

Voici un bref résumé de ce qui a été entendu lors de la séance de mobilisation à Miramichi, au Nouveau-Brunswick :

  • Les Premières Nations ne s'opposent aucunement à rendre des comptes au public ou à leurs membres en ce qui a trait au financement versé par AANC. Cependant, elles croient qu'AANC devrait leur fournir plus de ressources en raison du temps et des efforts nécessaires pour produire des renseignements financiers clairs et facilement compréhensibles.
  • AANC doit indiquer clairement le niveau de détails et le contenu que les Premières Nations doivent fournir dans leurs rapports sur le financement fédéral reçu.
  • AANC devrait appuyer la capacité des Premières Nations à générer leurs rapports financiers afin de réduire le fardeau administratif pour les gouvernements des Premières Nations.
  • AANC devrait accroître le soutien offert à l'autonomie gouvernementale des Premières Nations, comme elle est reconnue dans les traités, afin que les Premières Nations puissent administrer leurs propres exigences et processus financiers.
  • Les politiques et les pratiques des Premières Nations devraient être prises en considération lors de l'élaboration d'un cadre de transparence et de reddition de comptes.
  • AANC devrait suivre les recommandations données dans les précédents rapports du vérificateur général, particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux besoins dans les réserves.
  • AANC et les Premières Nations devraient élaborer une approche qui leur convient mutuellement afin de collaborer pour prendre les décisions financières.
  • Il faut réaliser un travail de sensibilisation permanent auprès des membres des collectivités des Premières Nations et du grand public pour les éduquer sur le financement des Premières Nations et leurs dépenses, et ce, pour éviter de fausses interprétations.
  • Il devrait y avoir des exigences moindres en matière de reddition de comptes pour les petites Premières Nations qui ont un fonctionnement peu complexe comparativement aux grandes collectivités des Premières Nations.
  • Il devrait y avoir une plus grande souplesse sur la manière dont les Premières Nations communiquent les résultats financiers à leurs membres. L'information doit aussi être communiquée de façon à être facilement compréhensible pour les membres.
  • Les Premières Nations devraient avoir à rendre des comptes à AANC uniquement sur le financement d'AANC. Le financement reçu d'autres ministères ne devrait pas être inclus dans une évaluation menée par AANC.
  • Dans le cadre d'une relation de nation à nation, le gouvernement fédéral devrait financer les Premières Nations au même niveau que les provinces, veiller à tenir un dialogue ouvert, reconnaître officiellement les Premières Nations et honorer tous les accords liés aux traités
  • Les Premières Nations devraient être obligées de respecter les mêmes normes de reddition de comptes que les provinces.
  • AANC ne devrait pas créer de nouvelles institutions des Premières Nations jusqu'à ce que soient clarifiés la structure proposée, la source du financement et le cadre de reddition de comptes. Des préoccupations ont été soulevées, à savoir que la création de nouvelles institutions pourrait mener à une réduction du financement pour les Premières Nations ou à une hausse de leur fardeau en matière de reddition de comptes.
  • Les organismes de défense des intérêts existants ne jouent pas de rôle pour favoriser la transparence et la responsabilité des Premières Nations.
  • Une loi fédérale sur la transparence financière pourrait jouer un rôle si elle est élaborée en collaboration avec les Premières Nations

Meadow Lake (Saskatchewan) : le 20 avril 2017

Participants

Environ huit participants ont assisté à la séance de mobilisation. Il s'agissait de dirigeants administratifs et d'élus des Premières Nations et de représentants de conseils tribaux. Des participants des Premières Nations et des organisations suivantes étaient présents :

  • Conseil tribal de Meadow Lake
  • Nation crie d'Onion Lake
  • Première Nation de Waterhen Lake

Priorités et questions importantes abordées

Voici un résumé des points soulevés lors de la séance de mobilisation tenue à Meadow Lake (Saskatchewan) :

  • Dans le cadre d'une relation de nation à nation, AANC doit rendre davantage de comptes aux Premières Nations en ce qui a trait à la prestation d'un financement adéquat à l'appui des programmes et des services et aussi en ce qui a trait aux autres décisions en matière de politiques et de financement.
  • Les Premières Nations ne devraient être tenues responsables du rendement de leurs programmes que dans la mesure où elles reçoivent suffisamment de fonds pour atteindre les résultats attendus.
  • AANC devrait mettre l'accent sur la résolution des problèmes sociaux auxquels sont confrontées les collectivités autochtones, comme le logement et l'enseignement. Il en résultera une plus grande transparence et une meilleure reddition de comptes.
  • Dans le but de mieux répondre aux besoins des collectivités, les ententes de financement pour les Premières Nations doivent être plus souples et fournir aux Premières Nations un plus grand pouvoir de décision sur la façon de dépenser les fonds fédéraux.
  • AANC devrait fournir des ressources et un financement supplémentaires aux Premières Nations afin qu'elles puissent accroître leurs capacités en matière de gestion financière et qu'elles soient mieux en mesure de respecter les engagements actuels en matière de reddition de comptes. Ces investissements en développement des capacités aideront les Premières Nations à être plus transparentes et responsables envers leurs membres.
  • Les participants se sont dits inquiets du fait que la Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations avait été adoptée pour régler un problème qui ne touchait qu'un petit nombre de Premières Nations, alors que le développement des capacités aurait eu des effets bien plus positifs.
  • Les politiques et les pratiques des Premières Nations devraient être prises en considération dans l'élaboration d'un cadre de transparence et de reddition de comptes.
  • Les exigences en matière de rapports financiers des Premières Nations devraient être élaborées sur une base de nation à nation entre le gouvernement fédéral et les Premières Nations.
  • Il pourrait y avoir un rôle pour de nouvelles institutions autochtones. Cependant, on craint que la création d'autres institutions autochtones puisse entraîner une baisse du financement accordé aux Premières Nations ou reproduire les fonctions de contrôle et d'assurance qui existent déjà au sein des Premières Nations.
  • Le Bureau du commissaire aux traités devrait être renforcé et participer davantage aux discussions avec le gouvernement fédéral.
Date de modification :